Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade Talk 24/7/365

• Registered Users Posts: 34,934 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Quick one for you lads as I've never wired up a kick harness before.

Buttons need to be grounded. I assumed I'd need to daisy chain the grounds together on the extra 6 buttons and then wire up the kick harness to the board.

However, my kick harness came without any grounding wires, just the 6 wires to go to the board.

The seller's notes say that grounding isn't needed, just wire the 6 buttons with the given cables :confused:

Tried to give that a go and obviously it doesn't work.

I'm assuming if I go with my original daisy chain idea it'll work... or am I completely misunderstanding how this functions?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

In my case when i got my kick harness for mortal kombat and street fighter 2, i already had the 6\5 button setup and they where grounded as normal using a daisy chain around all the buttons and joysticks, so i just had to add the kick harness to the buttons. you dont have to earth them seperatly or anything to the board, you just daisy chain all buttons etc together as normal. you do need to earth them though.

i think when it says you dont need to earth them, it means seperatly from all the other buttons\joysticks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

I would assume that's exactly what you do, just daisy off your existing 3 buttons

Master of the Universe

Cheers lads, I thought I was going mental yesterday for a moment :pac:
    keithgeo wrote: »
    i think when it says you dont need to earth them, it means seperatly from all the other buttons\joysticks.

Upon reading the ad again, You're spot on. Bit of info lost in translation as the seller is French.

On a related note, SF2 looks absolutely insanely nice on the Aero. I did go ahead and play a bit with 3 buttons. Many hadoukens were had :D

Cool, i had the same thing myself when i got mine, thinking do i need to do them seperatly, where does the earth wire go into the pcb haha..

• Registered Users Posts: 9,027 ✭✭✭Doge

VectorMAME running on a Vectrex monitor...

http://www.zektor.com/zvg/zvg_vpix.htm

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Doge wrote: »
    VectorMAME running on a Vectrex monitor...

http://www.zektor.com/zvg/zvg_vpix.htm

That's fecking amazing!

Master of the Universe

That's excellent!

I really miss having a Veccy, magical little machine. Really is nothing like it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I must repair mine, still have to see about replacing the sound chip that also fictions as part of the IO setup.
    Must talk nicely to Kerbdog....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Anyone know the exact name of this type of cabinet?

An Electrocoin ...?

img20121113192312.jpg

Thats an electrocoin Duet, great cabs! would love one if i had any room left!

If I ever get a cab, it's the one I want.

Reminds me of Leisureplex Tallaght.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Dat bezel...

Brings back so many memories!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭airmax87

Where is that cab ?

Master of the Universe

There are two on freeplay in Bray bowl if that's any use to you.

One has an LCD though :(

airmax87 wrote: »
    Where is that cab ?

Pretty certain the photo was taken a few years ago by Unky Chop Chop in Goodge Street Casino, London.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,781 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Ok i need monitor advice.

I got my kortek chassis fixed by gunblade but the 26" monitor is shot, wont get any brighter, confirmed by tv repair man.

So i have a spare Sony Trinitron 26" but its widescreen.

Any advice on taking it apart and making a new bracket to fit in the cabinet?
    I have its manual and i am aware of the voltage dangers. Just the bracket making part really?

I decased a 14" monitor recently to go in my cocktail table. I just used the brackets off the old monitor and drilled new holes to fit the new monitor with a dremel. make sure you ground it properly when you put it in your cab.

Thanks Optimus, the thing weighs a ton, so i thinking safety on that front too.
    Gonna be difficult angle it and make bracket if you know what i mean.
    I was tempted by a lcd but feck it ill do this first.

Any other ideas welcome

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Mitchomagic

eddhorse wrote: »
    Thanks Optimus, the thing weighs a ton, so i thinking safety on that front too.
    Gonna be difficult angle it and make bracket if you know what i mean.
    I was tempted by a lcd but feck it ill do this first.

Any other ideas welcome

You tried the adjustment on the hv unit or just the finger board?

I might have a spare tube, only recycled 10 monitors last week, but I kept a few tubes

You tried the adjustment on the hv unit or just the finger board?

I might have a spare tube, only recycled 10 monitors last week, but I kept a few tubes

Yeah tried the HV unit and finger board and got a tv repair guy to take a look.

What sizes are they? 26"?

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Mitchomagic

Yeah tried the HV unit and finger board and got a tv repair guy to take a look.

What sizes are they? 26"?

Yep should have a 26 will have a look

Great thanks Mitch.

A quick hyperspin question,
    I have a Jaguar emulator running nicely on via Hyperspin, albeit not using Hyperlaunch.
    I had written a script of sorts to wrangle the key presses into something the Ipac can handle.
    But the emu, T2K, starts in windowed mode everytime, and I can't seem to find any commandline instructions to force it to run in fullscreen.
    Any one help me out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    A quick hyperspin question,
    I have a Jaguar emulator running nicely on via Hyperspin, albeit not using Hyperlaunch.
    I had written a script of sorts to wrangle the key presses into something the Ipac can handle.
    But the emu, T2K, starts in windowed mode everytime, and I can't seem to find any commandline instructions to force it to run in fullscreen.
    Any one help me out?

Is it the latest Hyperspin/Hyperlaunch build? If so, you ideally should configure hyperlaunch to run everything, as it has options for all the emus along with their settings etc. Makes life much easier

Myrddin wrote: »
    Is it the latest Hyperspin/Hyperlaunch build? If so, you ideally should configure hyperlaunch to run everything, as it has options for all the emus along with their settings etc. Makes life much easier

Noooo!
    I can't go through that sh1te all over again!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Noooo!

I would say just make your life even easier by dumping all that emulation lark and get a few pcbs you want to play :P, but that's probably not an option at this stage. Can't remember, did you ever manage to get the 2P cp sorted for Robotron goodness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Noooo!

Seriously, it's a lot easier than what's made out. There's a comprehensive set of instructions out there, I think they're linked to on my bartop thread somewhere. It's a mindblock thing people have with HS imo, the actual difficulty curve is a lot less that you'd think, if you follow the instructions step by step. Go on, give it a shot....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Ok i need monitor advice.

I got my kortek chassis fixed by gunblade but the 26" monitor is shot, wont get any brighter, confirmed by tv repair man.

So i have a spare Sony Trinitron 26" but its widescreen.

Any advice on taking it apart and making a new bracket to fit in the cabinet?
    I have its manual and i am aware of the voltage dangers. Just the bracket making part really?

I made a wooden bezel for my old TV to fit, something like this
    wg_with_bezel_board.JPG
    Would you not be better off using a 4:3 monitor to save the aspect ratios?
    plenty of freebies on adverts, here's a 24"
    http://www.adverts.ie/tv/24-inch-philips-crt-tv/7202671

I made a wooden bezel for my old TV to fit, something like this
    wg_with_bezel_board.JPG
    Would you not be better off using a 4:3 monitor to save the aspect ratios?
    plenty of freebies on adverts, here's a 24"
    http://www.adverts.ie/tv/24-inch-philips-crt-tv/7202671

Thanks Cathal, yeah the 4:3 thing would be better but had that 26" inch widescreen one already from the parents gaff.
    Nice bracket BTW.
    Ah i dont know what to do