Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade Talk 24/7/365

• Registered Users Posts: 8,876 ✭✭✭Steve X2

A new arcade/emu frontend/dash for the original Xbox.
    It's in early dev at the moment but the guy doing it seems to be making progress.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Excellent, I hope to move my Xbox on from media streaming duties, might make a great "insertion" into the Ikea cab!
    Must buy another Xbox though, to do the gaming stuff, get Sparks to mod it, if he can avoid electrocuting himself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Those of you with jtags/rgh's in your cabs should seriously look at the new FSD3 out. It has coverflow :cool: Installed it this evening on my two jtags & by god is it sweet!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

Any must have Neo Geo games that aren't on the 161 in 1 cart but should be considered for separate purchase?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,972 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Is the first Shock Troopers game on it? Just looking through a list and it seems to be missing.

One of the best games on the system, so if it's not there I'd put that to the top of the list.

No Metal Slug 5 either.

First shock troopers isn't there.
    Will check for metal slug 5

Edit: metal slug 5 defo not on there

Master of the Universe

It's not better than Metal Slug 1,2,X, 3...but it's still a good game. Takes the series in a different art direction. There are a lot of new different sprites.

It's a right shame Shock Troopers isn't on there, it's far better than the sequel. Really lovely looking game.

Make sure to turn on gore in the dip settings if you ever give it a go, it's off by standard.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

Just installed the fixed chassis into the machine i got of logie, working perfect now, also wired up the degauss as it wasnt working before. Just have to add the side art and moulding to the left of it. heres a pic of my kitchen wall as it currently looks, will be doing up the whole kitchen soon with an arcade theme, we are painting that back wall black and putting space invaders stickers on it. anyways here is a pic for those interested!

IMG_3538.jpg

Multiple cab brilliance, your own personal arcade man! Now keep it lit, another few cabs by this time next year ok? :D

o1s1n wrote: »

It's a right shame Shock Troopers isn't on there, it's far better than the sequel. Really lovely looking game.

Make sure to turn on gore in the dip settings if you ever give it a go, it's off by standard.

Thanks. Won't rush out and buy those games but if they pop up at the right price.....!

Nearly the first thing I always do is hit the dip settings. Because I'm useless and need to reduce the difficulty!

EnterNow wrote: »
    Multiple cab brilliance, your own personal arcade man! Now keep it lit, another few cabs by this time next year ok? :D

Thats the plan. Doing up the whole house now the wedding is over. That big corner is getting painted etc, space invaders stickers on the wall, getting big blackboards im going to have high scores on from when people come over and going to get some leds to go on the wall behind the cabs. Im going to buy a couple of sofas and put them in there facing the cabs with the cocktail in the middle when its fixed.

Lucky in a way, the kitchen is fairly big, that area in front of those cabs currently has the kitchen table, to the left as you look at the cabs there is a set of double doors to a sunroom thing, so we are doing that up first then putting the kitchen table in there out of the way. cant wait to get stuck into it and do it up. Hoping to get another 3 cabs this year, see how it goes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭safetyboy

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Jesus, the Zaxxon one is very upsetting. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Casey120

safetyboy wrote: »

That's a real nice Japanese Arcade photo book made in a small print run , Rancor got his hands on a couple of them and is selling them for $ 17,- on his site .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

So lads,
    Was in London for the week and checked out the arcade "Casino".
    Some quality games there, But it broke my heart.
    I was there for two hours and only 3 people in the place in total!!
    It makes me weep, arcade scene is officially dying a sad death,I expected a good crowd in this arcade.
    It's well renowned for SHUMP and SF scene.
    I managed to get a good few games on SFIII with some young "blood" who knew his stuff... and battered a few college students on SF4 who didn't know there arse from there elbow!!!

I cried that the top class SF4 setup they had was empty..6 cabs linked..and one solo..all arcade edition.
    Maybe I just was there at the wrong time,probably heats up on the weekend.

Anyway here's some snaps...Few nice SHUMP setups...Progear,Castle of Shigami,ESP and so on
    Also some of the cabs monitors are in bits with no love given to them ..check out the Raiden one and the SFIII rear projection monitor

img201211131944511.th.jpg
    img20121113194448.th.jpg
    img20121113194335.th.jpg
    img20121113193113.th.jpg
    img20121113192229.th.jpg
    img20121113192312.th.jpg
    img20121113192058.th.jpg
    img20121113190815.th.jpg
    img20121113190825.th.jpg
    img20121113190906.th.jpg

Last time ill post about this one i swear, finished the other side of the Donkey Cab so its done now, chassis fixed and working, wired up the deguass to the power supply and put on the last side artwork and tmolding today. i hate applying tmolding!

anyways.. before..

before.jpg

4to6weekslater.jpg

IMG_3551.jpg

IMG_3552.jpg

I know i posted about this a lot, im done now 100%!! I can concentrate on the cocktail restores now.

Master of the Universe

Man, it looks absolutely class. Post as many pictures of it as you want. In fact, I don't think you've posted enough :D

How was putting on the side art? Must be a right pain trying to line it up properly.

Man, it looks absolutely class. Post as many pictures of it as you want. In fact, I don't think you've posted enough :D

How was putting on the side art? Must be a right pain trying to line it up properly.

It was grand once my mate told me the best way to do it is to use a drop of washing up liquid mixed with water in a spray bottle. spray a mist of it on the sticky and you can reposition it all you want while its wet. He gave me a credit card sized tool to squeegee it on while its still wet. it works great doing it this way.

The tmolding took hours to get on, the channel was wrecked from multiple tmolding put on and pulled off. i burned myself a few times with the hot glue i used that much of it.

came out grand in the end, im happy with it. plus the chassis is fixed too.

Looks perfect, I'd love to own it :)
    If you decide it's not your style I can adopt it and give it a loving home.

Steve SI wrote: »
    Looks perfect, I'd love to own it :)
    If you decide it's not your style I can adopt it and give it a loving home.

haha cheers, think ill be hanging onto it for a while! i done well out of it considering i got that cab with internals for nothing, the artwork printed for nothing too. the only things i paid for where tmolding, buttons, chassis repair and a 60in1 pcb. im delighted with how it turned out.

keithgeo wrote: »
    haha cheers, i done well out of it considering i got that cab with internals for nothing, the artwork printed for nothing too. the only things i paid for where tmolding, buttons, chassis repair and a 60in1 pcb. im delighted with how it turned out.

So your saying I can collect it in the morning?
    It can stay in my mothers place in Athy for a while if that makes it any easier to say goodbye to it :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Yeah excellent worth Keith, she looks great! Can't remember if you mentioned before but is that an original DK pcb in there or a multi-game board?

Three woodies in a row, like a real life Cho Aniki fantasy for retr0. :P

/Edit: You just answered my question, cool stuff. :)

Master of the Universe

keithgeo wrote: »
    It was grand once my mate told me the best way to do it is to use a drop of washing up liquid mixed with water in a spray bottle.

Now there's a tip! Will definitely remember that one :)

Yeh he works in a printers, they do murals and stuff for google and places like that. it really works well especially with the tool thing he gave me. heres a pic of it, kinda like soft on one side so you dont damage the stickers.. it squeegees the water and bubbles out from behind it then it drys in about 15 mins, but if its not lined up right first time it comes off easy.

IMG_2854.jpg

Master of the Universe

Two model 3 sit down cabs in Louth (Sega Le Mans), 200 each buy it now! And you can make an offer!

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/sega-l-e-mans-24-Boardset-/271089487114?pt=UK_Video_Games_Coin_Operated_MJ&hash=item3f1e314d0a#ht_721wt_1139

Two model 3 sit down cabs in Louth (Sega Le Mans), 200 each buy it now! And you can make an offer!

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/sega-l-e-mans-24-Boardset-/271089487114?pt=UK_Video_Games_Coin_Operated_MJ&hash=item3f1e314d0a#ht_721wt_1139

I'd love a twin sit down racer like that :( Price is excellent, its the getting it home & through the house bit which stops me

God damn it...I NEED SPACE.
    Great deal for 200 bob...I've my heart set on driving cab now.
    Really wanted that stand up le mans cab on eBay recently.
    Funny thing..I was on flight for last bids on it and asked the missus to put through final bid up to 250.

Did she f**k...she "forgot"..convenient seeing she hates the idea of another cab.
    Gutted it went for 150.
    Still tempted..even to buy it,split it and leave one half in storage for a while.

He He heeee...chuffed

Managed to get that Sega Touring car cab that was on ebay last week.
    seller mailed me to say the deal fell through and that he'd sell it to me :).
    Just been up to inspect it and seal the deal...Ill pick it up at wknd.

Working fine...discolouration on monitor at top but otherwise seems a ok.

Looked inside and got the fright of my life...JVS driving cabs look mad.
    I may as well been looking into a bush!

Master of the Universe

Congrats!!

150 notes as well...not bad at all.