Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade Talk 24/7/365

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

o1s1n wrote: »
    Good place to get fluorescent bulbs for these cabs is pet shops. One in my candy is for a fish tank :D

Am I right about the size?
    I know a great pet shop that had everything, might call in today

• Registered Users Posts: 34,956 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'm not sure about the length of the one in the atomiswave. I'd assumed they were all the same size, but the one in my Pony is shorter than the one in the SNK cab.

So open up the marquee/light section and take a measuring tape to it. Should give you a good approximation of which one you need to get.

You also need to make sure you have the correct diameter. The diameter sizes are measured in eights of an inch. A T8 bulb is an inch - from what I remember, I'm pretty sure that's the standard size for candy cabs.

So for example you may need a 58cm T8 bulb.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

I have my cab out in the open. Every now and cab my young lad (20 months) grabs hold of both joysticks and practically starts swinging off them.

Not good for the heart.

He also likes stuffing raisins and apple slices down the coin slot.

I found a cheese sandwich in my VHS player not too long ago.
    A broken Ps1 game in a Ps2. Looked like it had been eaten by the Ps2
    And last night, a ton of elastic bands in my snes.

I gotta keep a better eye on the young lad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

My family had issues with the VCR back in the day, had to wait till I came back from Sligo on leave to fix it, turned out to be a silvermint!

Kerbdog! J'accuse!

Master of the Universe

One of my parents dogs pissed in their VCR not long after they bought it (and it was new enough tech at the time)

Still worked grand for a good 20 years afterwards.

Would love to see how a modern blueray player would stand up to such punishment. I doubt it would :D

Lads what would you pay for a burn free 20" hantarex polo?
    I'm talking realistic money not adverts money!

Master of the Universe

€150 maybe? Not really too sure to be honest! Isn't Mitch selling them? Isn't say he'll give you a good price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

o1s1n wrote: »
    €150 maybe? Not really too sure to be honest! Isn't Mitch selling them? Isn't say he'll give you a good price.

I'd have said about €70/€80 max, I seen videotronics selling 28" Polos before for €140ish

I got a few off mitch,
    unfortunately there all busted.
    got 3 off him so will try get the 3 working and sell two.
    if i do get them going they'll be going for A&R prices ;)

Master of the Universe

Ahhh, when you said 'burn free 20" hantarex polo' and I knew that you'd previously bought busted monitors from mitch, I put it together and thought you were buying a new 20 inch hantarex from him (he mentioned before that he can get them in for about that price)

If they're refurbs then yeah, my estimation is way over the mark.

I got the last few of mitch for free,
    ended up chucking most of them tbh
    I got one 13"/14" with light/medium burn out of the lot.
    tis a nice little monitor in the end!

might have another going for free if anyone wants it?
    will test it later,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Yep I'll take it, need an arcade screen for testing out some stuff so doesn't need to be perfect.

sound,
    I'll test it later and see what it does!

Working on the the old school cab last night,
    still waiting on parts.I dont know why I'm so eager to finish it!
    It never had a marquee light so I had to do some "woodwork" to make it work.
    Got the harness in and got the monitor up and running.
    I dont plan on leaving this monitor in it.It squeals like a pig when ever theres a lot of white on the screen.
    going to squeeze a 20" vertical into it!

2013-07-24+20.23.10.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,216 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Applied the marquee to the plexi.

The way it's printed means that it's clear and see through (no white either).

Here I am prototyping it with just A4 paper as a light difuser. Seems to work rather well!

2013-07-29+18.52.30.jpg

Fiest of the polo back in action!
    a handy flyback swap!:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

urbanledge wrote: »
    2013-07-29+18.52.30.jpg

Fiest of the polo back in action!
    a handy flyback swap!:D:D

do you mind me asking where you got the flyback transformer? I've a similar monitor myself in need of repair - most likely a flyback and cap kit will fix it. looking for somewhere online to buy the parts

The photo of the naked CRT puts me immediately in mind of Terry Gilliam's Brazil....
    Buttle or Tuttle?

Hay 80's
    actualy ended up getting the flyback on flea bay from Germany.

it was 35e delivered
    I just asked one of the lads over on J+ what model i needed and they sent me in the right direction.
    I think I could have gotten it a bit cheaper if I had of looks around more.
    Another update!
    cab.jpg

where once was 13" is now 20"
    fits nicely.I'll sort out a cardboard bezel tomorrow and new glass.
    Unfortunately the original glass was vandalized so is useless.
    Thats part of the reason I changed the monitor size too.
    strangely the glass is rectangular so was hori only anyway so made sense to change it.

got a 60-1 vert jamma for it!keeping it oldschool.:D

Not sure what thread this question belongs in really but anybody know any cheap (not arcadeguns) IR based usb guns that could be obtained to use with my arcade cabinet?

I'd love to be able to play House Of The Dead via NAOMI on the cab or some of the older stuff like Time Crisis or Terminator 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭safetyboy

Ronni has a windy in stock

File:Konami_Windy.jpg

I had an ultimarc one before.
    It was good (at times)
    seemed like it needed to be calibrated a lot.
    dont think it was cheap tho.I sold it on adverts in January

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevin2me

Achilles wrote: »
    Not sure what thread this question belongs in really but anybody know any cheap (not arcadeguns) IR based usb guns that could be obtained to use with my arcade cabinet?

I'd love to be able to play House Of The Dead via NAOMI on the cab or some of the older stuff like Time Crisis or Terminator 2.

Gun Games are nightmare I find depending on what you want.

For Mame I bought Top Gun III for 50e, works great with anything you can run in Mame,
    Recoil is pretty Cool too, and reason I didnt get Ultimarc guns.
    http://www.play-asia.com/EMS_TopGun_III-paOS-13-71-1i-49-en-70-4e7s.html
    You wont be able to get likes Time Crisis Working as too slow in Mame.
    But some great Lightgun games like Police trainer and such.

If you got Kit for Naomi, it be worth getting arcade LightGuns.
    then could switch between few games by switching Carts or NetDimm
    Naomi 1 & 2 Guns games work great like
    Confidential Mission
    Lupin 3
    Maze of Kings
    Death Crimson DX

HOD2 is different story as you need BIOS on Motherboard, there is a special BIOS for HOT2.
    Ive seen others planning on netbooting it. Unfortunately this is one of the few games that can't be netbooted.
    They ended up having to buy the whole HOTD2 cage with the inbuilt Naomi mobo. "

Also could buy CHIHIRO MB and try get VCop 3, HoD3 and such working.

I probably should have said via a NAOMI emulator.

This a Hyperspin / MAME / Console emulator cab.

Yeah I was just about to order a TopGun III there via Play Asia until I saw shipping of just over $20 which is a little outside my spare cash fun right now.

Don't suppose you fancy selling yours if it's so much hassle? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevin2me

I probably should have said via a NAOMI emulator.

Don't suppose you fancy selling yours if it's so much hassle? :P

Emulator naomi, That be fun, never tried that, must look it up :)
    Aint selling it, Im a Hoarder :) haha

Master of the Universe

Ok I got over myself and just purchased an EMS TopGun III from Play Asia.

The recoil that has been known to cause black eyes appeals to me alot.

Just put my order through though and although I filled out my address correctly on the site when I went to pay via PayPal (again with the correct address details) it filled in my address as Monkstown, Hong Kong.

****. I was either going full retard and missed that or the site itself fecked it up. I hope they take the shipping address that is correct on their site and not the one from paypal. It doesn't even say Dublin on it, just Hong Kong.

Grr.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

Put my newly sprayed parts back on the tetris cab im doing last night. Looks good i think. Just have to put the bezel artwork and glass on now. Ill post a pic of the finished cab, before and after when its done. hope to do it tonight or tomorrow.

Edit: pic is from Instagram which is why it looks faded.. aka hipsterish.

20130730_222539.jpg

Looks gorgeous keithgeo!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

Looks gorgeous keithgeo!

Thanks, im dying to finish it now so i can get stuck into the cocktail table, ive wanted one of these since i was a kid. first arcade game i ever played, in the reception of the sacre cour hotel in salthill!