Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FAI Ford Cup Final - Shelbourne FC v Sligo Rovers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Really looking forward to the pre-match pints.

In true Shuttle style Zebra! :D

The nerves just went there.

Just left my mates 21st, who was about to head back to his house loaded with free drink, in order for me to be ready for tomorrows session, the things we do.

5 years of travelling through the sticks of Ireland, and all in one season we get promoted and to a Cup Final in Lansdowne, not in my wildest dreams could I have thought this up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

As I type from the jacks pot.......I realise my hole has a heartbeat! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

and to a Cup Final in Lansdowne

The Cup Final. ;)

Bring it on!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Anyone know if rte.ie is viewable outside Ireland? Really want to see the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

It says here that it's worldwide online;
    RTÉ Sport on Two: FAI Ford Cup Final

Shelbourne v Sligo Rovers (Kick-off 3.30pm). Peter Collins presents live coverage of the 88th staging of the showpiece match, held at the Aviva Stadium
    03:00:00 Worldwide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Anyone know if rte.ie is viewable outside Ireland? Really want to see the game.

Should be, there's no rights issue like with the rugby or international football so you should be sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

All the Shels and Sligo lads on here. Enjoy the day. Looks like a cracking day for a final.

Would love to be sinking the first cup final beer right now. Bring on next year and number 25! :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I hope Sligo get a goal in the 94th min to win the cup..... bit of déja vu there!

Seriously, I hope it's firstly a good game of ball, in front of a big crowd and does the domestic game proud. I think Sligo will probably shade it - something like 2-1 maybe.
    It would be tough on Shels to lose two huge games in a week, but they got what they wanted ( promotion) so they had a good season even if they do lose.
    Sligo are capable of playing some great football and have the edge on experience.
    Looking forward to putting the feet up and enjoying the game.
    Best of luck to both teams!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭holidaysong

Heading along as a 'neutral' today, but I wouldn't mind seeing Shels winning as they've some of the key players with them now from our promotion year - Philly, Cassidy and Ian Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

can you buy tickets at landsdowne today?

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Friend had a spare ticket for this. Can't make it out there though :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

No ticket information on the FAI website, what complete arseholes they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

naughtb4 wrote: »
    can you buy tickets at landsdowne today?

Apparantly you can from kiosks around Landsdowne..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

I just got a freebie, without even beginning to look for a ticket, there must be plenty about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

The S, The S, The S F C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

I feel sick - but that's just the hangover :o Gonna be a nightmarish bus journey into town.. I hope Shels can make up for it in Lansdowne :)

G'wan Shelbourne

One of these today please -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Ndo is out with a hamstring injury!

Shels: Dean Delaney, Andrew Boyle, Sean Byrne, Stephen Paisley, Ian Ryan, David Cassidy, Barry Clancy, Kevin Dawson, Brendan McGill, John Sullivan, Phillip Hughes.

Subs: Karl Bermingham, Conan Byrne, Philip Gorman, Colm James, Gareth Matthews, Chris Mulhall, Paul Skinner.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

monkey9 wrote: »
    Ndo is out with a hamstring injury!

A huge loss, as he is a serious good footballer. A big boost for shels.

Great build up on RTE, especially the Dermot Keely interview. Says choking on the last day to Limerick a couple of seasons ago killed him and that anyone backing Shels today has lost the plot.

Guess who has money on Shels...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Damian Richardson is some man for the big fancy words isnt he??

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Damian Richardson is some man for the big fancy words isnt he??

He had a whopper description of N'do. "Beletic ellegance" or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

He had a whopper description of N'do. "Beletic ellegance" or something like that.

Should present nationwide or something. Still better than that Pat Dolan muppet tho :D

Get the fuck in!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Shels deserve that. Been the better side and showing great committment so far.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Sligo have to react now, been poor so far.

Edit: Idiotic from Clancy, blatant dive.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Jaysus looked like a peno to me.

Sets it up well now.

10 men shels will have alot of defending to now, 2 yellows in a minute!!

That's an absolute joke. FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Felt a touch, went down like a tonne of bricks. He was mad to try something like that on a yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

wow that was a bad decision by the ref. Went down too easy doesn't make it a dive, it's just not a penalty. There was definitely contact so not sure why he got a second yellow for it.... :S

Dotrel wrote: »
    Felt a touch, went down like a tonne of bricks. He was mad to try something like that on a yellow.

Sometimes you get a pen, sometimes a yellow - given he just got a yellow, it was pretty stupid.

Dotrel wrote: »

If there was a touch it wasn't a dive though?

Very harsh IMO. I'd have given a peno myself, but to not do so AND book him is mad - there was clear contact.

Lol, "Ian Paisley" is playing for Shels :pac:

flahavaj wrote: »
    He touches his arm and it's a foul? Not for me.

Very harsh IMO. I'd have given a peno myself, but to not do so AND book him is mad - there was clear contact.

but I don't think the touch was enough to knock the fella to the ground - hence the dive and the yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

Can't agree with that. If I place my hand on your back with no force but you fall down, it's a dive. If the touch isn't sufficient to cause a player to lose his feet, he has dived in my opinion.

Moving at the speed yer man was I'd still have given it tbh. Maybe I've being watching too much La Liga or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

jive wrote: »
    wow that was a bad decision by the ref. Went down too easy doesn't make it a dive, it's just not a penalty. There was definitely contact so not sure why he got a second yellow for it.... :S

Contact does not always equal a foul or in this case a penalty. This is a contact sport. Did the player get fouled? I personally don't think so. Did the player go to ground very easily? Yes, i think so. Was he unlucky to go off? Yes i think so.

Highly entertaining first half as a neutral anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Wasnt a penalty or a dive, its a contact sport. There was contact but no intent to foul. I wonder have half the people on here ever played football..?

Richie Winter is a ****ing idiot.

Going to be a horrible second half :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭WindmillWarrior

Going to be a horrible second half :(

Only watched it from the Shels goal and its fairly buzzing along as a contest. 2nd half could well be a lot more tactical, but should still be decent I reckon, Sligo to try and break them down, and shels to hit on the break...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

2nd yellow or not lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

GET IN..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Yessssssssss!!!! Go on Rovers!!!

Terrible 'keeping.

SantryRed wrote: »
    2nd yellow or not lads?

More often or not, no but it has changed the game.

Good finish 1-1

1-1. Hard for Shels now.