Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Movie dilemmas

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Source Code:
    At the end, Jake Gylenhall walks off into his new life with Michelle Monaghan in the other reality.
    Yet he's inhabiting the body of her boyfriend. Won't it be horrible for him always having to pretend to be him, especially in front of his family?
    And what happens to the "soul" of her boyfriend in this reality? Is he dead so Gylenhall can inhabit his body?
    I think the ending is meant to be like that: apparently simple and happy but really more complicated and disturbing.

Terminator Salvation: Spoilers for this and the original film:
    Skynet kidnaps the young Kyle Reese to use him as bait to lure John Connor, knowing they're father and son. How does Skynet know Reese is his father, and why not just kill him to prevent him fathering Connor?
    Having Reese at its mercy is a much better situation for them in terms of preventing Connor being born than sending the terminator back to kill Sarah Connor, but Skynet doesn't take advantage of it.
    And of course there's the ridiculousness of the impromptu heart transplant in the middle of the desert with two perfectly compatible patients.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Films along the vein of poltergeist etc, if a house tells me to leave and starts throwing things at me. I leave, film over.

4leto wrote: »
    Films along the vein of poltergeist etc, if a house tells me to leave and starts throwing things at me. I leave, film over.

That's what I hate about Paranormal Activity. Early on, the idiot boyfriend says they should just go, but the girlfriend says there's no point as the demon will just follow them.
    But surely your instinct would override logic and you'd just want to get out of the house.
    And wouldn't it be better to be haunted in a nice hotel or surrounded by lots of family and friends?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭k4kate

jester77 wrote: »
    I've never used a machine gun, but even though they can shoot out a lot of bullets in just a few seconds, it still seems to be near impossible to actually hit someone even when they are only 20 feet away :confused:

How about the 20 bad guys with machine guns cannot hit the hero but the one hero kills 3 or 4 with every burst?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

I could never understand in The Human Centipede, that stupid bint who ends up in the middle has the opportunity to escape and plenty of time to do so but decides to try and rescue her unconscious mate.

Run and get the police and let them save her! Obviously your heroics did her no good.

Stupidest movie ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

how come as slow and steady michael myers walks, no matter how fast his victim runs away he always always gets to them? :rolleyes: ive thought this for ages, yes im horror movie geek :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

In Never Let Me Go, why not just go on the run with each other? What was stopping them exactly?

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

krudler wrote: »
    once you start thinking about the multiple delorean theory it'll melt your brain. think about it, there are upwards of 4 deloreans in the same place at one time throughout the trilogy, in 1955 theres the original one Marty travels back in, the one from part 2 where biff goes back, the one that Marty uses to travel back to part 1 in part 2 to get the almanac and the one buried in the cave since 1885. but this goes against the idea that in time travel the thing you use to perform time travel cant be in mutiple places at one.

dont get me started on Primer, that film could cause you to go schizo if you think about it, taking a time machine back in time inside a time machine? my brainnnn!

Hmm, I'm not sure about that one.

Let's label them for the sake of argument:
    Delorean A: One from first film
    Delorean B: One Old Biff uses
    Delorean C: One Marty uses to retrieve almanac
    Delorean D: In cave from 1885

Fair enough, A, B, and C would be in 1955 at the same time, but D is a different case. It is only in the cave the instant that the Doc gets struck by lightning. It wasn't present in the cave before that, because the Doc wasn't in 1885 before that. So, D enters the timeline the instant C exits it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭k4kate

Lot of obsessions with Back to the Future!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Oceans 12

If they had what they wanted at the start of the movie why the f*ck did they make up sit through and hour and a half of crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Neo and all are supposedly the goodies in the Matrix but they want us all to live on a nightmare ****hole occupied by awful robots... we're good, thanks, lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

Why didn't the eagles just carry Frodo and the ring to Mordor. :pac:

Not a dilemma, just an observation, I am a scifi head although these films are meant to be set in the future, but did you ever notice, nothing dates quicker then science fiction.

So old Sci Fi which I thought was great at the time it was new rapidly looks like pants as time goes by.

The guy wrote: »

Pedantic Pete here.

I thought that myself and looked it up online, and discovered that apparently someone asked J.R.R Tolkein about this back in the day, and he said that for most of the events of the books Mordor was too well guarded and the Nazgul or one of Sauron's many beasties would have killed the eagles as soon as they got near.

At the end
    when Sauron's been killed and the place is in disarray and all the monsters were dying and fleeing, the eagles were able to get in safely.

Though that does sound like a solution created after the books were published and someone pointed out the problem to him.

A little like the Citizen Kane one actually.

The whole plot revolves around the journalist trying to figure out what "Rosebud" means.

But if you watch the start of the film, when Kane says it, there doesn't seem to be anyone in the room with him, so how does everyone know that "Rosebud" was his last word?

The officialish explanation is that his butler was there and we just weren't shown him (though that still doesn't explain why he apparently didn't react when Kane died and dropped the snowglobe).

Personally I don't buy that, as we can see a good chunk of the room, but the film's so fantastic that I don't mind the error.

Apparently a journalist pointed this plot hole out to Orson Welles shortly after the release of the film. Welles paused for a moment, then said something like "Don't ever mention that to anyone!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Can anyone explain what happened for the entire duration of inception?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

orourkeda wrote: »

This

http://chud.com/articles/content_images/5/inceptionruined.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭tadcan

The guy wrote: »

Because they are stuck in the hotel California.

Never repeat never fall asleep watching inception.

A team enters someone's dream to steal industrial or any secrets.

But what I couldn't understand is Leo did it to get back to America, why didn't he just go back to America as he did in the end.

PS: I absolutely loved that film, but still a bit baffled by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭tadcan

But what I couldn't understand is Leo did it to get back to America, why didn't he just go back to America as he did in the end.

He was wanted on suspicion for murdering his wife. He could have had the kids flown out to live with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,160 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Because he needed to do the job so that he could get through customs. By doing the job he got a clean sheet in the states and was allowed back in.
    That is of course if the end was real and not just a dream

How is it possible to love a film yet not fully understand it?

I think he would've been arrested at immigration because he was wanted there.

But because he did the job, Saito used his contacts to allow him to pass through safely, and possibly get the police off his back permanently.

Probably why Michael Caine couldn't fly the kids to France. Knowing that Leo had a French wife, the cops would probably have suspected the kids were being taken to him if they wanted to get on a flight to France, so they'd either stop them or follow the kids to get to him, if they could set up an extradition deal with the French.

How many women got f*cked in the ass in ass collectors?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

At the end of planet of the apes (remake).
    The statue of abe lincoln is actually an ape (ape lincoln).
    If abe lincoln was famous for freeing the slaves (black slaves, white slavers).
    And if everyone was an ape in this world.

What was ape lincoln famous for ?

Spunge wrote: »

He did the Cadbury's ad where he played the drums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

He was also famous for being the PotUS..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Quazzie wrote: »
    Look at a Serbian Film and the human centipede won't have any effect on you anymore. ;)

I *attempted* it but did not get far, I know what was going to happen which just psyched myself out. That Salo movie as well :( Never watched it, never will but I've heard alllll about it.

Human centipede 2 .... now that, that's a .... well ... words are beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

Human centipede 2 .... now that, that's a .... well ... words are beyond me.

There's a human centipede 2???

That's what I hate about Paranormal Activity. Early on, the idiot boyfriend says they should just go, but the girlfriend says there's no point as the demon will just follow them.
    But surely your instinct would override logic and you'd just want to get out of the house.
    And wouldn't it be better to be haunted in a nice hotel or surrounded by lots of family and friends?

The demon possessed her and made her say that to him, remember number 1 before the climax of the movie, she was possessed they were about to leave.

There's a human centipede 2???

Yes.
    Trust me, It's awful, truely awful. Look it up if you dare, IMDB has a great page for it, parents guide is your friend if you want details

Freeing the monkies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

Yes.
    Trust me, It's awful, truely awful. Look it up if you dare, IMDB has a great page for it, parents guide is your friend if you want details

I doubt I'll bother, didnt even watch the first one after seeing the trailer! It just looked so god don aweful!! But i've heard its a bit of a laugh though.

First time I watched it I was horrified, second time I laughed.
    third time was because there was absolutly nothing else on :rolleyes: It's hilarious to be honest, the limited script is so unbelievably amateur and stupid. Whenever it's on, my facebook get spammed with many of the one liners :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Boom_Bap wrote: »

CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyoooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnneeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxppppppppppppppppppppllllllllllllllllllllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatttttttttttttttttttt hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaappppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnneeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeedddddddddddddddddddd ffffffffffffffffffffoooooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr tttttttttttttttttttthhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnttttttttttttttttttttiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiirrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee dddddddddddddddddddduuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaattttttttttttttttttttiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiioooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn ooooooooooooooooooooffffffffffffffffffff iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnncccccccccccccccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeppppppppppppppppppppttttttttttttttttttttiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiioooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn????????????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭spankmaster2000

Raiders of the Lost Ark:
    Indy apparently survives being submerged and holding onto the top of a submarine for a trip across the Mediterranean!

Who says that the submarine actually ever went underwater?

Also; we don't know where exactly that island was, so maybe it was just a 2 hour journey?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082971/faq#.2.1.4

Who says that the submarine actually ever went underwater?

Also; we don't know where exactly that island was, so maybe it was just a 2 hour journey?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082971/faq#.2.1.4

I thought that too, but recently I read this article, which shows that the onscreen map indicates it was about a 50-hour trip!

Though in fairness, as it's Indiana Jones, I'm willing to suspend disbelief enough to accept that he could survive such a trip on top of a u-boat without dying of exposure!

How is it possible to love a film yet not fully understand it?

So many reasons, it was a visual feast, the cast and the acting was class, the action sequences were spectacular and the score was easily in my top 10 scores in films. I remember being exhausted after watching it, but I still had a lot of questions about it.

Not a film, some wont even remember it, but even as a kid I sussed that if Steve Austen the 6 Million Dollar Man was to lift a car with his left bionic arm his human spine would explode.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

In The Matrix 1, Cypher the guy who rats out the rest of the crew goes into the matrix alone at night when everyone is asleep or playing cards or whatever, No. 1: Who plugs him in to the computer does he jack that horrible thing in himself?
    No. 2 Who gets him out of it, it shows countless times you need an operator but he can just jump in and out as he pleases :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,442 ✭✭✭weemcd

In The Matrix 1, Cypher the guy who rats out the rest of the crew goes into the matrix alone at night when everyone is asleep or playing cards or whatever, No. 1: Who plugs him in to the computer does he jack that horrible thing in himself?
    No. 2 Who gets him out of it, it shows countless times you need an operator but he can just jump in and out as he pleases :confused:

good question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

Mulholland Drive — sweet Crunchy Nut Jesus what the dickens was going on in that movie?!!! Great film all the same but... Urghflurbl :confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

whubee wrote: »
    makes me wonder - when, in some films they are do a sexytime scene, and theyre mostly naked and grinding, does yer man not get a boner.
    and if so does he not try to throw it in maybe...by accident.

this was on boards before it think...n/m

Some of them wear special tight underwear to prevent this from happening
    Otherwise, I believe the business world calls these 'benefits in kind' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Superman might be able to leap tall buildings with a single bound, but what if he and Lois Lane ever wanted to take their relationship to the next level? It's not as easy as it might sound. Have a read: Man of Steel, Woman of Kleenex. Quote:
    One can imagine that the Kent home in Smallville was riddled with holes during Superboy's puberty. And why did Lana Lang never notice that?

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Mulholland Drive — sweet Crunchy Nut Jesus what the dickens was going on in that movie?!!! Great film all the same but... Urghflurbl :confused::confused::confused:

Actually, what the Bergman was going on in that movie?

IMHO, talented but pretentious con-man pukes his sub-conscious mind out onto to celluloid and then his equally pretentious fans lap it up eagerly and declare it genius.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

bnt wrote: »
    Superman might be able to leap tall buildings with a single bound, but what if he and Lois Lane ever wanted to take their relationship to the next level? It's not as easy as it might sound. Have a read: Man of Steel, Woman of Kleenex. Quote:

Something like this then?

* takes deep breath *
    At the beginning of the film, Naomi Watts' character (I won't use the character names as they get swapped around too much!) falls asleep and has a dream (the first image after the dancing couples is a POV shot of a head moving onto a pillow). Most of the film is the dream, up until the visit to Club Silencio. What happens after that is a flashback to what had really happened.

What really happened: Naomi Watts' character had come to Hollywood and got into a relationship with Laura Harring's character. Things went sour, as Laura Harring's character's career took off while Naomi Watts struggled. Eventually she got a big role they were both going for, and she got involved with the director.
    A distraught and jealous Naomi Watts ordered a hit on Laura's character which is carried out successfully. Wracked with guilt, she goes to sleep and dreams a fantasy in which people are trying to kill Laura's character but fail, and Naomi Watts imagines herself as an idealised version of herself, and enters into an idealised Nancy Drewesque relationship with Laura's character. All of the characters and events of the dream are based on reality (the cowboy and the women who owned the apartment building were guests at the party we see at the end, the hitman reappears but instead of doing his job he messes up in a comical fashion, the drive to the party appears in the form of the two shady characters in the car with Laura's character).

This is her manner of forgetting about reality and creating a fantasy world where the two women can be blissfully happy together and never have to face reality.
    But unfortunately reality keeps intruding and after Club Silencio, Naomi Watts wakes up, we get to see fragments of the less-than-ideal reality, and then she kills herself.

Any unresolved weirdness like the guy behind the café can be explained by "it was weird because it was a dream!"

Except for the fact that when they go to find Diane Selwyn (which I think was Naomi Watts' character's real name) and see her dead body, it appears to be the REAL dead Diane Selwyn (ie Naomi Watts) even though she's dreaming the dream and is therefore quite alive!

Phew!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

* takes deep breath *

Phew!

Intredasting...