Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GTA V Pre-release Discussion - ***DO NOT POST SPOILERS*** (Mod warning in first post)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Carroller

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Carroller wrote: »

totally legit!!!

Also RDR is still a cracking looking game.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

dreamers75 wrote: »
    totally legit!!!

Also RDR is still a cracking looking game.

You do realise they are bullet holes that the guy shot into the wall himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

With all the graphical links to the currency it has to be Washington. That's where the dollar is designed and the home of the main printing factory.

Plus there's a wealth(!) of opportunity for storylines involving corrupt government employees, gamers would lap that up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Could the font looking like the five dollar bill possibly mean another trip to Las Venturas?

IMO a full scale Las Vegas would be unreal. Casino's, brothels, plus a desert setting so countryside could easily be incorporated. I always thought LV wasn't used to its potential in GTA:SA

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Hogzy wrote: »
    So just because they have the font of USA money means its going to be in Washington?

IMO all this suggests is that it is going to be somewhere in the USA and the game will involve copious amounts of money (as it always does). Nothing More, Nothing less.

Besides Washington is one of the most boring cities in the USA, it is an entirely administrative city with not much else going on apart from political crap. I seriously doubt GTA V will be set in Washinton. I think it will be based on a multi city format similar to San Andreas, Or else it will be one large city surrounded by country side and smaller towns.

I would be shocked if it was Washington.

Now this is going out on a limb here, but this is what I think GTA V will be about:

In Vice City there were sub-stories/plots involving corruption with senators etc.

Now, given everything which has dominated the world since the release of the GTA IV, namely the global financial crisis, and given that the '5' in the title is almost certainly alluding to money, I can see them basing the next game around this scenario - crooked politicians and senators.

When you think of it, Washington DC would make sense for a game with the above setting. But then again, Washington DC is hardly as exciting as Vice City, San Andreas etc (nay, not exciting at all).

But hold me to this - it will definitely focus on the financial crisis and the corruption that goes with it. All that remains to be seen is the setting; I wouldn't write off Washington just yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

this one trailer has me more exited than the entirety of e3 2011 says a lot about the gaming industry tbh, rockstar north are about the only dev team i have complete faith in these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I've been saying it all along, a new version of Vice City would rock. I hope they don't go real city, thats grand for Yanks if it's set in America, but it's boring for us where having the exact same corner shop in the exact same place means nothing to us.

Anyway, more freedom with a made up city. Base it on somewhere, like all previous games, but make it fun.

This. Absolutely no need to copy a real city. A complete waste of time imho. Just design one with whatever features you want to make for good gameplay.

Wasn't a fan of IV either. Definitely need more fun missions. Bring back spanked up suicide bombers. Would love if you could go into first person shooter view too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

gta ireland would kick ass :D this reveal has brought out my inner rocktard again

Been done already;)

Seriously can't wait for this!!

This shit just got interesting.....http://www.gamersmint.com/grand-theft-auto-v-character-details-leaked

The list of characters is intriguing...'James Pedeaston' appeared in GTA IV, so this is very slimly likely GTA-related.

http://www.grandtheftwiki.com/James_Pedeaston

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Macers

Missed the business interests that used to be in Vice City. Where you could make money and not have to visit and collect...

Wasn't the same in the other versions since.

+1 on mountains...more diverse scenery the better. Love the city and country...

Hogzy wrote: »
    You do realise they are bullet holes that the guy shot into the wall himself.

No way?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,845 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Which do ye think will be the better game gta 5 or saints row 3?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Mafia 3

• Registered Users Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

This shit just got interesting.....http://www.gamersmint.com/grand-theft-auto-v-character-details-leaked

The list of characters is intriguing...'James Pedeaston' appeared in GTA IV, so this is very slimly likely GTA-related.

http://www.grandtheftwiki.com/James_Pedeaston

So wait, we've got JAMES PEDEASTON – (40-45 Male United States) A man-boy love activist who just got released from an Indonesian prison and ANTHONY – (10-15 Male United States) A young, fast-talking boy fighting for the right of young boys to drink alcohol and have sex - wtf sort of game are they planning :eek:

Honestly with what rockstar have learned from making GTA4 and RDR i cant see saints row 3 touching gta5, this game should be similar to the jump in quality from gta3 to vc or sa which means it will be awesome, saints row three will be great fun nevertheless but this is gta5 we are taking about :D

JohnK wrote: »
    So wait, we've got JAMES PEDEASTON – (40-45 Male United States) A man-boy love activist who just got released from an Indonesian prison and ANTHONY – (10-15 Male United States) A young, fast-talking boy fighting for the right of young boys to drink alcohol and have sex - wtf sort of game are they planning :eek:

the kind priests lay awake dreaming of :D nah this kind of black humor is always in gta

I really, really, really, really hope it's not L.A. :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I really, really, really, really hope it's not L.A. :(

me too :-|

• Registered Users Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Kotaku - Linky are looking at the best options for which city to set it in... Have to say the idea game set in a Texas type city close to the Mexican border is intriguing. Cartel wars, big expansive areas, possibility of including more cities and even crossing the border etc. Sounds good to me

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Just went a bit mental there, sorry... I'm looking forward to the amount of over-analysing of EVERY.LITTLE.DETAIL. on this this thread and the internet as a whole over the next week, not that that hasn't happened already! :pac:

aaronh007 wrote: »
    Kotaku - Linky are looking at the best options for which city to set it in... Have to say the idea game set in a Texas type city close to the Mexican border is intriguing. Cartel wars, big expansive areas, possibility of including more cities and even crossing the border etc. Sounds good to me

That could work. A San Diego type city with a Tijuana type city beside it sounds good too. Smaller towns in between. Stick a mountain at the edge of san diego and we're all happy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

the kind priests lay awake dreaming of :D nah this kind of black humor is always in gta

Yeah thats true I suppose I'm just surprised they'd go this far :p

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

They had the money storyline too in Vice City so it could be a return to that, with the print makers. Loved that storyline and of course the money from it.

Vegas imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

Nailz wrote: »
    Just went a bit mental there, sorry... I'm looking forward to the amount of over-analysing of EVERY.LITTLE.DETAIL. on this this thread and the internet as a whole over the next week, not that that hasn't happened already! :pac:

You should see it at gtaforums.com That site is a fan site that started relatively small. The the V section where the trailer was announced I posted on page 5 of the topic about about 1pm. It's now on page 95 or something with over 60, 000 views and over 1,800 replies. Mental.

Well, I'm gonna look at the official trailers from the official site and try ignore everything of this game so when it comes out it will all be a surprise.

Doubt I'll stick it thorugh but here's to trying! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

People are SERIOUSLY over analysing this money logo.
    GTA is to do with Crime. What is the only thing criminals care about??? MONEY!!!!

People are putting 2 and 2 together and getting 10. Its mental.

A user ('jnzooger') over on gtaforums.com, back in January, said this regarding the possible location(s):
    Simple. DC, London, and Paris all in the same game set in the 70s using the Concorde jet as the main travel between continents.

This is based on dialog and general feel of the previous games.

Interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,177 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Every single GTA set in Liberty City has been followed by Vice City. Heck even the first game had Vice City right after liberty. If it's not Vice or San Andreas I'm disappointed (I'll still buy and love it though).

then again, they probably wouldn't have called it V if they were going the old rotation route...