Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork words you just don't hear anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Great thread.

I have moved to Dublin recently and can't get over the blank looks i get when I use some words that I assumed were common place. Main ones that get blank stares are;

Jointed
    Bazzer
    Gat/Gatting

I wouldn't expect them to know jagging and more cork specific ones but thought the above were universal Irish.

Do kids these days still shout "Up for the baa" when they throw their Premier League stickers in to the air? Thems were some great times!

Also, does anyone know the origins for how being stood up is a 50?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

D-Generate wrote: »
    Great thread.

great question - I'd like to know that too..........the dubs just don't get it like - try to crow-bar 'haunted' into a sentence and watch the blank look on their faces, it's gas!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,284 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

cjmcork wrote: »
    I didn't think they used those phrases in Montenotte like! :p

Montenotte isn't the only place on the Northside!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,284 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Great thread.

I have moved to Dublin recently and can't get over the blank looks i get when I use some words that I assumed were common place. Main ones that get blank stares are;

Jointed
    Bazzer
    Gat/Gatting

I wouldn't expect them to know jagging and more cork specific ones but thought the above were universal Irish.

Do kids these days still shout "Up for the baa" when they throw their Premier League stickers in to the air? Thems were some great times!

I use jointed all the time! I wouldn't think it's a Cork phrase so I'm suprised they didn't know it in Dublin:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭dhoun

Keep it going lads. By the way, what would ye think is the most well known (most regularly used) Cork phrase?

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭seamusmcspud

another one from the scout days is ......

a dose of the 'scutters'! - diarrhoea

• Registered Users Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

50% of the people involved in the date didn't show up.

dhoun wrote: »

stall the ball there feen! I reckon it's probably 'langer' since Radio Jay and Radio Roy unleashed it on the rest of the country

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Steamer = queer, before they were called gay.
    Ould doll = wife/girlfriend.
    On the lang = mitching from school.
    A drag of a fag = a puff on a ciggy.
    Drop the hand = to get your hand between a girls legs.
    To go all the way = to have a ride.
    Washers = money.

I claim ya - I'll fight you!

Can I have the uks of that - can I have the last bit of your chocolate bar, etc....

I won't even start on 'flah' - which is a noun, verb and adjective (I think)!

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭seamusmcspud

we used to call it the 'undie grundie' now commonly know as the wedgie

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Before you leave the pub..................Hang on dere a minute boy, I must have a damper.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

johnayo wrote: »
    I'm hitting the sack.(off to bed)

That's not a Cork thing :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭PeefsPixie

Im not far off 21 and cork slang is definitely going strong!! Half the time Id say its used seriously and the other half its used mockingly to mock the people who use it seriously... LOL. Beoir, baii, like, feen, fla, gowl... Hear them everyday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

dhoun wrote: »
    'whatchamacallit'
    oh god thats my fav
    mik_da_man wrote: »
    This may be one that people on here still use but I am totally confused by it...

"Your Haunted" - meaning your very lucky :confused:
    I have never heard it in any other part of the country but seems to be used by a few people I work with.

Anyone know how that one came about?

this thread is brilliant :)

• Registered Users Posts: 23 trynabe

go way ya mog ,,,,,go away

the other fella ,,,,, anyone

the other place ,,,,,any place

get a bazzar ,,,,,haircut

ya plank ,,,who knows

me conjon box.... money box

done a legger ,,,ran away

ive yer one up the pole ,,,,ive someone pregnant

shes a fine half ,,,,shes good looking

thats dacent ,,thats good

id a jag last nite but yer 1 was a nawful yoke
    hahaha i could do this all day ,,,me n my friends use all theese words ,,sometimes just for a laugh ,,the older 1s are class ,,,
    ya spadgy :)

just heard someone callin another a goul ,,or gowel ,,great cork word ,,,like gom ,,hes a gom ,,love em

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Bazz = Pubic hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Mr Bloat

Gom or Gombeen isn't a Cork word: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gombeen_man

My Grandma used to call a snail a shelltihorn, I still use that today.
    Some other words that I still use are:

Septic, meaning loving yourself. "Your man is septic"

Rake, meaning a lot of. "I have a rake a work to do"

Bulb off, meaning looking like someone else. "Yer wan is the bulb off her mam"

There's probably loads of other words that I use in general conversation that are Cork slang words that I don't know of, I just assume they are universal. As others have said, it's only when you go outside Cork and use them that it become apparent that nobody knows what you're on about!

Mr Bloat wrote: »
    Gom or Gombeen isn't a Cork word: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gombeen_man

in true cork slang

what are you " a know all "

now lamp this ya gimp :D:D:D

http://www.corkslang.com/gom.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

Gatch - gis a gatch of that = show that to me

ponny, its a word we use (macroom area) to describe a container that doesn't have a name of its own. I have a ponny for nails, a timber box I made out of scrap timber. Farming neighbour gives a ponny of milk to new calves. Kind of a generic name.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭murphym7

Anyone remember the word "FEEK" - used to describe a savage old doll?

Maybe its a Northside thing - I remember it well from younger years.

"See your Wan over there - what a Feek!"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

Snedger - a pervert who gets his kicks from sniffing women's bicycle seats. :pac::pac:

Was it actually such a big problem one time that a word had to be coined for it? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭ofcork

murphym7 wrote: »
    Anyone remember the word "FEEK" - used to describe a savage old doll?

Maybe its a Northside thing - I remember it well from younger years.

"See your Wan over there - what a Feek!"

I remember that well it was like the other f word,could be used in different ways eg i feeked her,what a feek etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

Dunna's - Dunnes Stores

Feek's a new one on me! Our one was 'lasher' (As in 'What a lasher!)

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭discostu1

When your hungry but dont know what you want to eat

!I' craw sick today"

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Banker

My mother had loads of um...

Yer wan there is a fierce "conny shurrer" = That woman is a terrible gossip
    She's a doll in Cashs window = That child is very good looking
    He's very cute = He is very intelligent
    Yer wan there is a fierce "craw thumper" = That woman is always in the church

If a teenager was saucy he was called a caffler.
    If someone burped or was rude he was called a "ca boge" (not sure of the spelling)
    She called Danish pasties "snickles"

Cabog (with a fada over the o)