Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

chainsaws - how dangerous is it cutting up a felled tree?

• 25-10-2011 7:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭

A partially rorren tree fell over in a field and Im tempted.

I dont have the $for safety equipment as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

No safety equipment? Forget it.
    Seriously, If you haven't got the gear hire someone who has to do it for you.
    Medical bills are a lot more expensive than firewood.
    Ever seen chainsaw injuries? They aren't nice, they tear more than cut.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Im sure you could ask a friend for some safety gear, not worth the risk IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Bigus

They're deadly especially if they snag ... look at a few safety videos.

would a good Bush man hand saw do the job

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,333 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

If you don't know how to use one stay away from it please and call a tree surgeon. Have a reed of this.
    http://www.chainsawsafetytraining.com/training.php

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

I've cut up dozens of trees with an old homelite without a chain-brake, standing in the bucket of a front-end loader, with only a pair of goggles safety-wise. Thats how it was always done before the Celtic Tiger H&S boys invented jobs for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

newmug wrote: »
    I've cut up dozens of trees with an old homelite without a chain-brake, standing in the bucket of a front-end loader, with only a pair of goggles safety-wise. Thats how it was always done before the Celtic Tiger H&S boys invented jobs for themselves.

Just because you took stupid risks doesn't mean OP should :mad:
    If OP is even asking the question then using a chainsaw is not advised..

Too many people are hurt and injured every year from thinking they'll just give it a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

And that's how auld tigers find themselves limping on the only remaining leg or bleeding to death in a field :eek: You see idiots do all sorts of stupid stuff, just because they all don't fall on their sword doesn't mean you won't fall on yours.

Not only is there a risk from the chainsaw itself but a felled tree poses other risks. If the tree is cut in the wrong way a bough could kick or the trunk could roll over you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I felled and cut up many trees when I was younger. I did read all the safety manuals beforehand. Reading this I am lucky that I came out without any cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Have a look and think is it really worth it?
    Chainsaws are unique in that they have no safety guards at all compared with most power driven equipment.

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

Im never going to use a chainsaw, I like my limbs too much.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭dp639

I've used a chainsaw for a few years now and the most important thing is too respect how dangerous it is.

Never take any short cuts, it might a pain to turn it off, walk to another part of the fallen tree, crank it up again - but safety first.

Use with care and appropriate gear (I've a pair of chainsaw leggings).

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Git101

Jaysus, I thought I'd heard it all but that brings bad practice to a whole new level :eek:

Here's another clip - can happen so easily.

WARNING: Not very pleasant. Don't watch if you are disturbed by broken bones, nasty wounds or gross stupidity

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

Git101 wrote: »
    Jaysus, I thought I'd heard it all but that brings bad practice to a whole new level :eek:

WARNING: Not very pleasant. Don't watch if you are disturbed by broken bones, nasty wounds or gross stupidity

Cant watch that video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

You were lucky, you had goggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

2 stroke wrote: »
    You were lucky, you had goggles.
    Ye dont know ye are born..

We had to walk five miles barefoot and cut the tree up with a pointy stick, nothing but stale bread and no butter for lunch....

Irish people love a hardship competition.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,765 ✭✭✭creedp

bbam wrote: »
    Ye dont know ye are born..

We had to walk five miles barefoot and cut the tree up with a pointy stick, nothing but stale bread and no butter for lunch....

Irish people love a hardship competition.. :rolleyes:

To be fair, I don't think using chainsaws without safety equipment, including goggles, is any hardship type story being alluded to here. Obviously Im older that I care to give credit for but when I was younger, say 15 years ago!, no one I know used any safety equipment (possibly ear plugs to protectthier ears from the noise not the blade) and regularly used chainsaws in all kinds of compromising situations, including standing in tractor loader buckets. People got injured thats fair enough but I think its fair to say they still get injured maybe not as much with chainsaws anymore but from other forms of less necessary activity (think skiing, mountaineering (by bike and foot, cave exploring, any kind of adventure sport, you name it. A lot of people these days are big into H&S to the extent that nobody can do anything anymore without investing in significant safety gear and therefore have to hire professionals to do the most simplistic of jobs. Nothing wrong with that in itself but I think its a bit much to tell somebody not to dream using a chainsaw as it will maime or kill you. So would a lawnmower if you drove it over you foot! The issue with chainsaws as is the case with any dangerous item is to treat it with respect and not act the ejit. I actually witnessed a guy cutting a branck on a tree while standing on the outside of the cut!! Very hard to combat against that kind of madness.

The reality is people crave danger, some people satisfy this lust carerring out of control down a mountain on a bike, other use a chainsaw without chainmail trousers and goggles. Personally, I know which one I think is more risky but I don't hear people screaming H&S about it. Bottom line if you use a chainsaw know how to operate it and be careful. Alternatively buy a mountain bike and getting someone to cut your tree!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

Smoking and drinking cause a lot more mayhem than chainsaws, time for some cirrhosis / lung cancer pictures:(

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,333 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Carlow52 wrote: »
    Smoking and drinking cause a lot more mayhem than chainsaws, time for some cirrhosis / lung cancer pictures:(

Would you advise a friend or family member to take up drinking and smoking because there is a chance that may not come to any harm.:rolleyes:

fergal.b wrote: »
    Would you advise a friend or family member to take up drinking and smoking because there is a chance that may not come to any harm.:rolleyes:

Do I take it from the above that you would advise your family, friends, etc not to engage in any activity which might pose a risk to their health/life? Do you draw the line anywhere? Driving a car, walking across a busy street, using an electric carving knife? Most things we do in life pose an element of risk to that life but dwelling on that all the time or not engaging in an activity because it might pose such a risk would mean you would never leave your house or maybe even your bed. Not withstanding that as pointed out already, using a chainsaw is a dangerous activity and all precautions should be taken mitigate this risk, including for some people getting someone else to do the job. That doesn't mean that you would advise a person not to use a chainsaw..

creedp wrote: »
    Do I take it from the above that you would advise your family, friends, etc not to engage in any activity which might pose a risk to their health/life? Do you draw the line anywhere? Driving a car, walking across a busy street, using an electric carving knife? Most things we do in life pose an element of risk to that life but dwelling on that all the time or not engaging in an activity because it might pose such a risk would mean you would never leave your house or maybe even your bed. Not withstanding that as pointed out already, using a chainsaw is a dangerous activity and all precautions should be taken mitigate this risk, including for some people getting someone else to do the job. That doesn't mean that you would advise a person not to use a chainsaw..

I would not advise anyone to go driving a car without first getting a lesson on how to use one first, just like most things in life if there is danger involved you will find an instructor be it a parent,teacher,boss,co worker or friend to help take away most of the risk and show you how to do things right. I would not tell someone to pick up a chainsaw and go and use it without any instruction on how to work one.

fergal.b wrote: »
    I would not advise anyone to go driving a car without first getting a lesson on how to use one first, just like most things in life if there is danger involved you will find an instructor be it a parent,teacher,boss,co worker or friend to help take away most of the risk and show you how to do things right. I would not tell someone to pick up a chainsaw and go and use it without any instruction on how to work one.

Absolutely get advice/assistance on how to use something and read and follow the instructions carefully at all times before you use a chainsaw for the first time. That's certaintly good advice to the OP. The same applies to many many tools and equipment you can purchase off the shelf in any DIY or specialist equipment store without the need for training or a licence. In the end of the day however, its up to the end user to follow advice and safety precautions, and there's many an experienced operator who gets injured because of carelessness or over familiarity or because unexpected event occurrs. But back to the OP, cutting a fallen tree with a chainsaw is not normally a life threatening activity so if you are going to do it yourself just be careful and heed the advice given.

Git101 wrote: »

Ah that clip isnt that bad! Not a drop of blood in it, and in fairness, the chainsaw didnt cause the harm, the tree did!

Aswell, no amount of "chainsaw trousers" or face-shields would have stopped that from happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭dhoun

Goggles and good gloves (and hard hat) are the first consideration. If you concentrate and use your cop on you should have no trouble. When cutting up branches etc. remember to keep your feet and legs as far away as possible from the saw. With no prior experience and using a light electric chainsaw, I was able to fell a few dozen 30 foot high Lelandiis and then saw them up. That's my experience, it's up to yourself to decide ...

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Git101

Ah that clip isnt that bad! Not a drop of blood in it, and in fairness, the chainsaw didnt cause the harm, the tree did!

I posted the clip as an example of the stupid things people do when using a chainsaw. Take the quote below as an example.

Aswell, no amount of "chainsaw trousers" or face-shields would have stopped that from happening. !

Well spotted sir.