Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Amazon's Black Friday Lightening - Starts Monday 22nd November!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

AHA My First Black Friday purchase arrived today:

Kipling Shoulder Bag. I'm happy with it. Let's hope "herself" is impressed with it as much.

BTW How the hell do you wrap a handbag in wrapping paper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Sim free ZTE Skate up next:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Beer Baron wrote: »

Kipling Shoulder Bag. I'm happy with it. Let's hope "herself" is impressed with it as much.

Wrap the delivery box.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭Kajor

How much did the Yamaha guitar set go for?

Cheapest price historically was £79.99, did they beat that??

TomCo wrote: »
    Wrap the delivery box.

Can't. It's fecking massive. Bigger than the box my laptop and all the accessories came in.

The ZTE Skate is going for £150. I thought this was meant to be a sale? :confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭5500

Grabbed a skate myself, worked out at €175 delivered which has to be good in comparision to others in the price range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭luvlyjubbly

Got a pair of those rockport shoes for £33, they didn't sell out fast, but fairly good value...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

From the Amazon twitter:
    #BlackFridayUK grand finale tomorrow, surprise deals on TVs, video games and film.

http://twitter.com/#!/amazonUK/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Who puts perfume on their wang?

Silly Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

5500 wrote: »
    Grabbed a skate myself, worked out at €175 delivered which has to be good in comparision to others in the price range

Unfortunately not, the Monte Carlo is almost the exact same phone and a lot cheaper in the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

dont ship over here

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

refuse_01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭5500

Corholio wrote: »
    Unfortunately not, the Monte Carlo is almost the exact same phone and a lot cheaper in the UK

€151 for the monte carlo not including delivery vs €175 delivered, not that much cheaper if at all after delivery or a spin up the north. Either ways It'l do as a spare over a htc wildfire s :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Who puts perfume on their wang?

Silly Amazon.

mmmmm, feel the burn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,036 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Amazon.com will be selling seasons of Mad Men on Blu-ray (Region-Free) for $8.99 / €7 (ex shipping) at 12.30am..

.. could pick up all 4 seasons for about €28.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

They have Samsung 50" plasma coming up within the hour. It's only HD ready though so no 1080p picture quality.:C

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

hd ready is the same as saying I am flight ready. Now I jsut need my wings adaptor. Pile of **** that is. wouldnt ever bother with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Basq wrote: »
    Amazon.com will be selling seasons of Mad Men on Blu-ray (Region-Free) for $8.99 / €7 (ex shipping) at 12.30am..

.. could pick up all 4 seasons for about €28.
    Any idea how much shipping is? I've the first two on bluray and would pick up some more at that price.
    Alsao, the bluray version is cheaper than DVD! :confused::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭RayCon

They have Samsung 50" plasma coming up within the hour. It's only HD ready though so no 1080p picture quality.:C

Careful now .....

samsung tv 9pm

Initial post: 24 Nov 2011 19:45:53 GMT
    rosie says:

goode one

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse
    Do you think this post adds to the discussion?

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 19:46:21 GMT
    B. A. Chatzis says:

has it dissappeared now though? i saw it then it vanished

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 19:52:52 GMT
    Last edited by the author 16 minutes ago
    Peter Stanley says:

Seen it now, it's this one, you can buy it for £550 via marketplace sellers.

Samsung PS50C450 50-inch Widescreen HD Ready 600Hz Plasma TV with Freeview

This is the newer model which is £500.

Samsung PS51D450 51-inch Widescreen HD Ready Plasma TV with Freeview

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

transparent-pixel._V167145160_.giftransparent-pixel._V167145160_.gif
    Posted on 24 Nov 2011 19:55:45 GMT
    Last edited by the author 14 minutes ago
    M. Brindley says:

There is a newer version of the telly for £495 which is a lot cheaper.
    Samsung PS51D450 51-inch Widescreen HD Ready Plasma TV with Freeview

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 19:55:49 GMT
    jamiemac1988 says:

you can buy the newer version of amazon for 495 Samsung PS51D450 51-inch Widescreen HD Ready Plasma TV with Freeview

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 19:56:42 GMT
    K. R. Steer says:

It will go on sale for £399

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 19:57:23 GMT
    Joe Curran says:

jokeshop!

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse
    0 of 1 people think this post adds to the discussion. Do you?

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 19:58:31 GMT
    Victoria Smith says:

It needs to be cheap to compare with other prices online!!!

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 19:58:55 GMT
    A. J. R. Pereira says:

Power Consumption (Max.): 280W

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse
    1 of 1 people think this post adds to the discussion. Do you?

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 20:00:48 GMT
    Last edited by the author 10 minutes ago
    DM Bunny says:

it was £ 499 on the black friday sale 2 days ago so anyone buying it for that price when the newer model is £ 5 more brand new needs their head examined !

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 20:03:46 GMT
    Daniel Castro says:

400 for this is kind of a bad deal isnt it?

http://uk.camelcamelcamel.com/Samsung-PS50C450-50-inch-Widescreen-Freeview/product/B003DNSJDG

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse
    1 of 1 people think this post adds to the discussion. Do you?

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 20:05:40 GMT
    Lexon123 says:

How does that site come to the conclusion £792 is a good deal? Strange.

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

In reply to an earlier post on 24 Nov 2011 20:08:01 GMT
    Daniel Castro says:

yeah, if it sold in june last year for £549.99, how come its almost 900 now?

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 20:08:45 GMT
    MCLOVIN says:

Because if you look you will see that on that site it tells you that amazon had this tv on sale in april for £450 so they just inflated the price to make it look like a good deal!

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

Posted on 24 Nov 2011 20:10:26 GMT
    Daniel Castro says:

god, amazon is reaching a low point here

Reply to this post
    Permalink | Report abuse

Your reply to cdAuthorNamePlaceholder's post:
    [URL="javascript:void(0)"]insert-link-blue._V192562121_.gif[/URL] To insert a product link use the format: ASIN:[I]ASIN[/I] [I]product-title[/I] (What's this?)

You are already tracking this discussion.
    Receive e-mail when new posts are made

[URL="javascript:void(0);"] [/URL]
    Guidelines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭positron

lo, Amazon were selling that TV for £450 back in May. Now they have it up at £875. I am sure they will sell it with an "impressive" 50% reduction! :D

positron wrote: »
    lo, Amazon were selling that TV for £450 back in May. Now they have it up at £875. I am sure they will sell it with an "impressive" 50% reduction! :D

9:00 PMSamsung 50" Widescreen HD Ready 600Hz Plasma TV£878.63 Find Out SoonDeal starts in: 00:45:29

Deal not starting til 9.00pm. Sale price not known till then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If it was free postage, it would be almost as good as the Book Depository sale.

Yeah wouldn't touch it myself. I'm after on of those Samsung Smart LED HDTVs, they are business, a 32" would do me fine.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    If it was free postage, it would be almost as good as the Book Depository sale.

It is free, I got a HDTV delivered a year or so back with free delivery.

9:00 PMSamsung 50" Widescreen HD Ready 600Hz Plasma TV£878.63 Find Out SoonDeal starts in: 00:45:29

Deal not starting til 9.00pm. Sale price not known till then.

Well, unless they are giving it away for less than £200, I wouldn't call that a deal. And jacking up the price double to sell it on a deal - or trying to exaggerate the 'deal' - never the mark of an honest deal.

It's a shame, I used to love amazon - this is a new low.

Any idea how much shipping is? I've the first two on bluray and would pick up some more at that price.
    Was charged $8.97 / €6.99 for two seasons shipping..

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭cactus10

http://uk.camelcamelcamel.com/Samsung-PS50C450-50-inch-Widescreen-Freeview/product/B003DNSJDG

I havent ever seen anything rise so dramatically in price except hard drives :rolleyes:.

Cant wait to see their 'bargain' and the poor suckers who jump on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

Is that 50 inche 50 any good

£399, lol. Joke. What is that 20% off from the retail price? And they claim it's a 54% down deal. Poor show by Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

Have it in my basket for £399. Just seen this now. Anyone give me a quick indication as to whether its worth it?

£400.00. Not a bad deal at all. But will they ship to Ireland????

£399, lol. Joke. What is that 20% off from the retail price? And they claim it's a 54% down deal. Poor show by Amazon.

To be fair its £50 lower than its previous best ever price, but it also shows you how purposely misleading the entire campaign is.

All this talk of a 50" TV and I'm pretty sure Amazon won't ship anything over 32" here..

Basq wrote: »
    All this talk of a 50" TV and I'm pretty sure Amazon won't ship anything over 32" here..

**** it ill try check out and see what happens!

Nope cant be shipped

cactus10 wrote: »
    To be fair its £50 lower than its previous best ever price, but it also shows you how purposely misleading the entire campaign is.

Let me get this straight - you are saying I am intentionally trying to put people off with some sort of grudge against Amazon? Eh, okay, if you say so. It doesn't deny the fact that Amazon jacked up their own price by about 60-70% and then gave you a 54%, which in the end about 12-14% cheaper than their own price. And I am trying to derail the campaign?! Right so! :cool:

If you think it's a good deal and if you got it, congratulations and enjoy the TV.

Makes no odds now they dont ship to Ireland. Can you point me to a better 50 inch for the price though as im still looking for a 50 now

Have it in my basket for £399. Just seen this now. Anyone give me a quick indication as to whether its worth it?

No Mheg 5. Its Hd ready and has only plain Freeview, so will not have Saorview. Not an issue if you have $ky or UPC or a FTA box or a Saorview box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It is free, I got a HDTV delivered a year or so back with free delivery.

That's because it's more than £25:(

I am still annoyed by the comment from cactus10! :D

£399 for a chunky plasma from early 2010. That too just 720p. Not even full HD. Jarvis here gave us 720p like in 200-fecking-7 I think it was!

And have a look at this LG. Full HD and 3D! Just another £200!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/LG-50PZ250T-50-inch-Widescreen-Freeview/dp/B004XXMCLU/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1322168985&sr=8-3

Okay, I am feeling better now! :D

And Disco - do have a look at avforums. There's another LG, 55 inch I think, for around 650 sterling, that's very well reviewed and hugely popular there.

No Mheg 5. Its Hd ready and has only plain Freeview, so will not have Saorview. Not an issue if you have $ky or UPC or a FTA box or a Saorview box.
    Use Sky so no need for Saorview

I am still annoyed by the comment from cactus10! :D

£399 for a chunky plasma from early 2010. That too just 720p. Not even full HD. Jarvis here gave us 720p like in 200-fecking-7 I think it was!

And have a look at this LG. Full HD and 3D! Just another £200!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/LG-50PZ250T-50-inch-Widescreen-Freeview/dp/B004XXMCLU/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1322168985&sr=8-3

Okay, I am feeling better now! :D

And Disco - do have a look at avforums. There's another LG, 55 inch I think, for around 650 sterling, that's very well reviewed and hugely popular there.
    Cheers most of what I watch wouldn't be over 720 anyway and the PS3 so looking for a cheapish one or it'd just be wasted. No interest in 3D. Seearch continues......

Let me get this straight - you are saying I am intentionally trying to put people off with some sort of grudge against Amazon?

Where on earth did you get that idea? Unless you work for amazon i dont see how you made that from my reply :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 01jqob

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 01jqob

They won't ship anything as big as 50in to Ireland.
    I checked before the deal started by adding the item then attempting to checkout but got the message "this item cannot be shipped to the address blah....."
    Also checked the 32ins and they're fine!:)

Use Sky so no need for Saorview

You'll be looking for full HD so. Try Power City on the web. They usually have an excusive web deal or 2 running. Maybe not now in the run-up to Crimbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Let me get this straight - you are saying I am intentionally trying to put people off with some sort of grudge against Amazon? Eh, okay, if you say so. It doesn't deny the fact that Amazon jacked up their own price by about 60-70% and then gave you a 54%, which in the end about 12-14% cheaper than their own price. And I am trying to derail the campaign?! Right so! :cool:

If you think it's a good deal and if you got it, congratulations and enjoy the TV.

Ha that's a mental interpretation of a simple straightforward post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭farrelli

Ha that's a mental interpretation of a simple straightforward post.

Definitely, its funny to see how they are misinterpreted and then get ppl pi**ed off.