Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sexy Halloween costumes...zzzzzzzz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

To be honest, I'm tired of feeling like a tramp for showing off a bit of leg.
    Who said that?
    My self-esteem is sh*t low and its pretty rare I feel sexy. When I'm hit on I do. And seeing as how I can't dress like that all the time
    Why not?

In my opinion, it's not the outfit, it's the flirty, silly, coy yet naughty sh1te, which annoys both men AND women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭lesserspottedchloe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RPPsf-Mi8FY

This should provide you some insight :)

OP I don't get why you're pissed off? Who cares if they want to dress like tarts-who exactly are they hurting? They could argue that cornflakes have even less to do with Halloween than slutty cats/vampires-at least they have something to do with the traditional idea of Halloween. I'm not the type that enjoys dressing slutty for halloween (or on regular days!) and I see your point about lack of origionality/boring costumes like this but I still don't think it's fair to hate on others if this is their idea of Halloween fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

Dudess wrote: »
    Who said that?

Why not?

In my opinion, it's not the outfit, it's the flirty, silly, coy yet naughty sh1te, which annoys both men AND women.

I come from a small town hun, I've had rumours spread about me because of the colour of my shoes, not to mind showing a bit of thigh ;)

I don't have the confidence to endure dirty looks from people on nights out. Some are genuine, some I'm sure are in my head, but all the same it's good to know for the one night I can just wear whatever the hell I want.

I most definitely don't do the coy flirty air-head bit though :S I'm far too sarcastic for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I read to page 6 of this thread. Could not go any further. Fcuking hell.

FWIW Eve, I agree(ish!). I guess I just thought Halloween was about being scary, not going out in your underwear telling people, "Oh, I'm a sexy cat/nurse/vampire/whatever". I wouldn't say it grates on me, mainly because I'm not a Halloween fan so I don't particularly care, but I know if I was gonna dress up, I certainly wouldn't be prancing about in next to nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

To be honest, I'm tired of feeling like a tramp for showing off a bit of leg. My self-esteem is sh*t low and its pretty rare I feel sexy. When I'm hit on I do. And seeing as how I can't dress like that all the time, I don't get why its such a big deal if I do one night of the year.

Yeah its boring as hell but sometimes, I just wanna get my feckin legs out.

Respect for all the guys and gals putting time and effort into original costumes though.

If you rely on guys hitting on you to boost your self esteem, well you'll be waiting a hell of a long time to feel good about yourself!!

You need to learn to like yourself more.

If you rely on guys hitting on you to boost your self esteem, well you'll be waiting a hell of a long time to feel good about yourself!!

You need to learn to like yourself more.

I know :D imma go download 'sexy and I know it' and sing it at myself in the mirror :P

All jokes aside I know that's not right (and I'm an idiot for posting that in AH of all places) but such is life and atm that's how I feel atm. Don't have many female friends to share compliments with, guy friends don't do it really and my mother only ever tells me I've put on weight and I need a new hairdresser >.<

Even though I throw a dirty look to someone who wolf-whistles, I am complimented.

Do other gals (or guys for that matter) not take it as a compliment when they're hit on?

I know :D imma go download 'sexy and I know it' and sing it at myself in the mirror :P

All jokes aside I know that's not right (and I'm an idiot for posting that in AH of all places) but such is life and atm that's how I feel atm. Don't have many female friends to share compliments with, guy friends don't do it really and my mother only ever tells me I've put on weight and I need a new hairdresser >.<

Even though I throw a dirt look to someone who wolf-whistles, I am complimented.

Believe me - you are miles ahead of the vast majority of girls out there.
    You are aware of what you are doing, and you are aware that it is the wrong way to go about things.
    Most girls are doing the exact same thing, but just don't think about why they are doing it.
    And there's absolutely nothing wrong with enjoying a compliment or two every now and again! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Even though I throw a dirty look to someone who wolf-whistles, I am complimented.

Do other gals (or guys for that matter) not take it as a compliment when they're hit on?

I say fair play to you for being honest. The majority of girls I know are exactly the same. Recognising that this is how you boost yourself esteem is key, so many people are in denial about it and the vicious circle continues.

And to answer your question, I'm always flattered when someone approaches me.

EDIT: Snap flutterflye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Eve, I didn't have to go scouring through the thread, I remembered you said that, you know with my brain and short-term memory and shít? No need to take it out on me because you're embarrassed you were caught out. Grow the hell up.

Nice one - you just gave me reason to use the 'report post' button for the first time. No need to be so abusive to the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

FWIW Boom, I'm much the same. It's not good, but obviously many do have self esteem issues, and perhaps that's why most girls do dress like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

dearg lady wrote: »
    Some people aren't as bothered about halloween so it's no surprise they'd go for 'boring' 'unimaginative' costumes. I find the over the top sexy thing a bit yawny too, but seriously OP, relax. I just read the thread from start to finish,and in spite of saying you mean it to be light hearted, you're the one taking it the most seriously. Putting people on ignore and takin offence all over the place.

Fair enough. You're entitled to your interpretation and reading what you want from my posts but you're wrong. I'm totally relaxed. Not losing any sleep over this. Believe me.

Edit: By the way, the ignore function is used by many users for posters that bug them in AH. I used the ignore function for people whose incorrect interpretation of the kind of person I am or how I'm feeling and feeling I have to try and convince a complete stranger of my intent and who I am. NO offence here...more getting irritated. There's a difference.

I'd be offended if there was some truth to it, but there's not.

To be honest, I'm tired of feeling like a tramp for showing off a bit of leg. My self-esteem is sh*t low and its pretty rare I feel sexy. When I'm hit on I do. And seeing as how I can't dress like that all the time, I don't get why its such a big deal if I do one night of the year.

Yeah its boring as hell but sometimes, I just wanna get my feckin legs out.

Respect for all the guys and gals putting time and effort into original costumes though.

Now I NEVER used the word tramp or even implied that. Not once. Unoriginal and boring were the words I used. NOT tramp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Here's a connundrum for you, OP. What if there was a sexy hot woman in an imaginative home made costume, and a less attractive woman in a boring store bought revealing pirate costume?
    Which one would you be the mose jealouses of and avoid talking for the night while shooting disapproving looks and bitching bitterly to your mates behind your hand every time they walk past. Hmmm?

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Now I NEVER used the word tramp or even implied that. Not once. Unoriginal and boring were the words I used. NOT tramp.

I wasn't quoting or referring to you :S

More society in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I saw two Teletubies been put into the back of a Garda car last night.. The two of them were swearing profusely at the guards as it was happening.:D
    Couldn't stop fcking laughing at the two twats.
    My ribcage is killing me today.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Rebel021

and not a single pic was posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Rebel021 wrote: »

Indeed. Thread fails to deliver.

Rebel021 wrote: »
    Ficheall wrote: »
    Indeed. Thread fails to deliver.

Porn is free on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

All jokes aside I know that's not right

It's not 'wrong' either. Most people get a bit of a self esteem boost from being attractive to members of the opposite sex (or the same sex for the gheys I guess). It's perfectly natural and acceptable and you shouldn't let other people project their own personal crap onto you and make you feel like there is something not right about enjoying the attention of the opposite sex and letting it improve your confidence in yourself as a sexual being.

laylah wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RPPsf-Mi8FY

This should provide you some insight :)

OP I don't get why you're pissed off? Who cares if they want to dress like tarts-who exactly are they hurting? They could argue that cornflakes have even less to do with Halloween than slutty cats/vampires-at least they have something to do with the traditional idea of Halloween. I'm not the type that enjoys dressing slutty for halloween (or on regular days!) and I see your point about lack of origionality/boring costumes like this but I still don't think it's fair to hate on others if this is their idea of Halloween fun!

For the love of God...who says I'm pissed off?? I'm merely commenting on others lack of originality...I don't HATE them. Jesus!

As I said in one of my threads, a friend of mine dressed as a sexy tiger last night (fluffy tiger ears, tail pinned to her skirt, whiskers and a nose drawn on her face). Unoriginal but I don't HATE the girl for it! Where did you get that from??

WindSock wrote: »
    Here's a connundrum for you, OP. What if there was a sexy hot woman in an imaginative home made costume, and a less attractive woman in a boring store bought revealing pirate costume?
    Which one would you be the mose jealouses of and avoid talking for the night while shooting disapproving looks and bitching bitterly to your mates behind your hand every time they walk past. Hmmm?

I'm not the kind of person to do that. Never was. There's your answer.

By the way, the women at the bar the other night weren't all super models. Why presume they were? In fact as I said in a previous thread, a friend of a friend who is very, very hot dressed in an imaginative sexy nurses outfit, was there and not an ounce of jealousy passed through my veins. I told her she looked great and complemented her on her costume. That's how I roll.

This comment wasn't necessary and was downright nasty. I'm not that kind of person at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    its because 99% of the female race nowadays are total sheep

there opinon is formed by what other girls like

typical girls answers to questions...

Favourite tv show : x factor

Favourite singer : Adele

Favourite movie : sex and the city

Favourite sportsperson : christiano ronaldo

Next year all the ladies should dress as sheep cos thats what most of you are

... sexy sheep off course baaaaaaaaaaaaa

Finally! us culchie sheep shaggers catch a break!! Go forth and worry that flock, my brethren!!!

This comment wasn't necessary and was downright nasty. I'm not that kind of person at all.

Eh, it was meant as tongue in cheek. It wasn't to imply you were even jealous at all, just to present a situation that'd confuse the obvious haters who think you are.

Ah okay. Sorry! Confused between the lovers and haters...didn't put you down as one and was a little stunned. Sorry.

What a ****ing thread. Never starting one again or contributing to one the relates in any way to women whatsoever. Bunch of feckin party poopers....

Porn is free on the internet.

That's true.
    One was nevertheless hoping that more people would be inclined to post sexy pictures of themselves in Hallowe'en costumes as you did elsewhere.
    It would certainly have been more entertaining, no offense intended to Eve, than the colossal yet pointless bitching session it seems to have turned into instead.

That's true.
    One was nevertheless hoping that more people would be inclined to post sexy pictures of themselves in Hallowe'en costumes as you did elsewhere.
    It would certainly have been more entertaining, no offense intended to Eve, than the colossal yet pointless bitching session it seems to have turned into instead.

Me? The pictures I posted last year? Hardly sexy...I can post one of me in the cornflakes box if ye like!

Just to add, there's probably an element of me feeling like a bit of a fool dressed up as cornflakes in a room of women dressed sexy. Like walking into a party you believed was a fancy dress theme but was, in fact, a sophisticated dinner party.

Edit: Oh you mean OTHER people, not me.

Me? The pictures I posted last year? Hardly sexy...I can post one of me in the cornflakes box if ye like!

That would not doubt be wonderful, but I was actually referring to boomkatalog, who I had quoted. It doesn't really matter. Fire away though. I <3 Cornflakes.

Ah okay. Sorry! Confused between the lovers and haters...didn't put you down as one and was a little stunned. Sorry.

What a ****ing thread. Never starting one again or contributing to one the relates in any way to women whatsoever. Bunch of feckin party poopers....

Ah come on now, don't let the dastards brag you down. There's always the muppets waiting in the sidelines and jumping in to call you bitter when they are the ones who expose themselves with the usual boring unimaginative diatribe.

They are the unimaginative, they are the bitter, don't even try to explain your position to them as they've already their minds made up. There are also some fun responses in this thread. Reply to them, disregard the bitches.

That would not doubt be wonderful, but I was actually referring to boomkatalog, who I had quoted. It doesn't really matter. Fire away though. I <3 Cornflakes.

Yep. Just realised that (I too posted photos of myself at Halloween last year. Not sexy).

I wanna see the cornflake costume!!!

Mine was soooo boring this year.
    Really could have made more of an effort.
    But I had no money to buy one, and no energy to make one.
    So, I was a witch :(
    None of this slutty sexy lark for me though - my skirt went half way down my thigh :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Susie_Q wrote: »
    Nice one - you just gave me reason to use the 'report post' button for the first time. No need to be so abusive to the OP.

And thank you for informing me of that fact on-thread.

My post wasn't abusive.
    IIn fact as I said in a previous thread, a friend of a friend who is very, very hot dressed in an imaginative sexy nurses outfit, was there and not an ounce of jealousy passed through my veins.

So, you liked this particular sexy outfit, even though it has nothing to do with Hallowe'en like you complained about earlier? And what made it so imaginative? You're all over the gaff, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Pineapples aren't sexy??

:o

Says who???

6036-Adult-Sexy-Pineapple-Dress-Costume-large.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Says who???

Mmm...leafy...

Says who???

That's actually just a deadly dress. I'd wear that out on a weekend night...doesn't look like a costume to me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

I was a zombie bride. With red lippy (blood) stains around my mouth. It was a dress I pulled out of the wardrobe etc. I scared the bejaysus out of a few people - Job done.
    If anyone found that sexy they are strange creatures!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You're complaining about a sea of sexiness?
    Personally it's my favourite time of year for that very reason. >_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

They are the unimaginative, they are the bitter, don't even try to explain your position to them as they've already their minds made up.

I'm dressing up as one of those next year. I need to whip up some sort of closed-mind costume. I might bring a few signs with me saying "Careful now" and "Bítches be hatin'". Coz you know, any girl complaining is automatically jealous/ugly/lonely/bitter/sewer monkey :P

I'm mildly torn on the boring costume thing. Yes it is obviously dull, bland and banal. I can see why somebody wearing a quirky, original costume might feel like a goon in a room full of sexy cats and witches. But sometimes you have no time to make something original and need to get something to do the job. Hopefully next year I have definite plans in advance and do something a bit better than this years pathetic attempt.

I've no problem at all with girls dressing sexily (being a straight man, seeing boobs, legs, stomachs and ass will always gladden my heart!). But a bit of imagination or something mildly different from the crowd is nice to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Says who???

About fricken time!!!!

sewer monkey :P

A my coined phrase is catching on...you need to use the whole thing though....a hideous sewer monkey from hell.
    I'm mildly torn on the boring costume thing. Yes it is obviously dull, bland and banal. I can see why somebody wearing a quirky, original costume might feel like a goon in a room full of sexy cats and witches. But sometimes you have no time to make something original and need to get something to do the job. Hopefully next year I have definite plans in advance and do something a bit better than this years pathetic attempt.

I understand that and I get that. Fair enough. I spent 7 or 8 hours on mine. Slightly excessive perhaps.
    I've no problem at all with girls dressing sexily (being a straight man, seeing boobs, legs, stomachs and ass will always gladden my heart!). But a bit of imagination or something mildly different from the crowd is nice to see.

And I've no problem with women showing these things and like to show them myself (and HAVE to show them myself as I live in a hot country...It's a matter of survival). Most women like to look sexy (whatever that means to them) on occasion and I get that but I'm really talking about a specific kind of sexy costume and it just seemed to be more prevalent than normal at this particular party.

I just believe if you have a chance once a year to be creative and do something you can't do on a normal day (go to work dressed as Lloyd Grossman....even a sexy Lloyd Grossman....at least it's funny), then you should cease it. I suppose I don't understand how it's always men who do and women less so.

Tis a shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

bringing the sexy back

Aishae wrote: »
    bringing the sexy back

Ahahahhaaaa!! Fan-feckin-tastic!! That's brilliant. You made me laugh...wish you were at the party the other night....

Zulu wrote: »
    About fricken time!!!!

Yeah that's totes me in it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

And I've no problem with women showing these things and like to show them myself (and HAVE to show them myself as I live in a hot country...It's a matter of survival). Most women like to look sexy (whatever that means to them) on occasion and I get that but I'm really talking about a specific kind of sexy costume and it just seemed to be more prevalent than normal at this particular party.

Just in case you think I was saying it, I wasn't implying you think there is anything wrong with girls dressing sexily. I know you don't have an issue with it! I tried to cover all parts of the shít storm the idiotic responses your your post caused...so I briefly covered everything and left half my thoughts out!

Like I said, the kind of costumes you are complaining are boring and bland. But my point was more tongue in cheek that if I see boobs or legs, I will not immediately complain. But seeing something creative or funny is ten times better. I see sexy girls every weekend, I don't see really creative costumes every weekend.
    I understand that and I get that. Fair enough. I spent 7 or 8 hours on mine. Slightly excessive perhaps.

I'd have no issue spending 7 or 8 hours on a costume. Only reason I didn't this year was because I was sick all week and wasn't sure if I was heading out until the day itself. I say kudos to the creative.

Anyway, to steal Windsock's awesome phrase (I steal phrases, it's my thing!), don't let the dastards brag you down. I'll try and use sewer monkey phrase in its entirety next time. Maybe I'll dress up as a hideous sewer monkey from hell next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Aishae wrote: »
    bringing the sexy back
    At least you know what to wear at holloween ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭jamiecoins

i put loads of effort into my costume but apparently michael higgins costume was the wrong choice:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

Fair enough. You're entitled to your interpretation and reading what you want from my posts but you're wrong. I'm totally relaxed. Not losing any sleep over this. Believe me.

Edit: By the way, the ignore function is used by many users for posters that bug them in AH. I used the ignore function for people whose incorrect interpretation of the kind of person I am or how I'm feeling and feeling I have to try and convince a complete stranger of my intent and who I am. NO offence here...more getting irritated. There's a difference.

I'd be offended if there was some truth to it, but there's not.

Well I can only go on what I read, I don't know you, but I am merely letting you know how you are coming across to many people.
    I've never seen anyone go on and on quite so much about how 'easygoing' they are, it portrays quite the opposite.

I'd never known of this ignore function until now, but your description is wonderful, ignore the people who disagree with you on a discussion board...so you only want to see the replies that agree. Do you also put your fingers in years and sing lalala when someone says soemthing you don't like? Get your head out of the sand OP, and at least acknowledge how you appear to some people.

dearg lady wrote: »
    Well I can only go on what I read, I don't know you, but I am merely letting you know how you are coming across to many people.
    I've never seen anyone go on and on quite so much about how 'easygoing' they are, it portrays quite the opposite.

I'd never known of this ignore function until now, but your description is wonderful, ignore the people who disagree with you on a discussion board...so you only want to see the replies that agree. Do you also put your fingers in years and sing lalala when someone says soemthing you don't like? Get your head out of the sand OP, and at least acknowledge how you appear to some people.

I never claimed to be easy going (I've always claimed to be the opposite on boards actually). Why did you put easygoing in commas like you're quoting me? I never said that. I never said i ignore the people who disagree with me. I said I ignore those who irritate me. Many people do it. Now your reverting to actually making stuff up about me. Jesus. And you wonder why I come across as defensive?

Just an FYI to Dearg and Miss Olenska, this was the intent of Windsock with the post that you agreed with. Windsock agree with me and she meant tongue-in-cheek. By agreeing with her original post which you took seriously, you believe I'm jealous and bitchy. To make those kinds of judgements about me without even knowing me and ganging up on me like that, says more about you then me, I'm afraid.