Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sexy Halloween costumes...zzzzzzzz.

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Yeah, time to put an end to this witchhunt now, it passed beyond the realm of personal insult pages ago.

And just a note to the posters attacking the OP, you're coming across as being just as "bitchy" as you claim her to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

In all fairness it's pretty difficult to remain easygoing when people read a completely different tone of voice than the one you are trying to portray. I wore what could be seen as a 'sexy' batgirl costume, shop bought but wasn't in the slightest bit offended by the OPs opinion. Everybody likes different things, that keeps things interesting.

I really don't see how the bitchy comments were justified and think Eve did the right thing in using her ignore button because that is what adults do ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Could the mods close this thread now please? Too much bitching and sniping going on here. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

There's no need to lock the thread - there's still time to save it and turn it into what it should have been!
    jackie1974 wrote: »
    I wore what could be seen as a 'sexy' batgirl costume

Pics? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Just an FYI to Dearg and Miss Olenska, this was the intent of Windsock with the post that you agreed with. Windsock agree with me and she meant tongue-in-cheek. By agreeing with her original post which you took seriously, you believe I'm jealous and bitchy. To make those kinds of judgements about me without even knowing me and ganging up on me like that, says more about you then me, I'm afraid.

Actually Eve, I was never one of the people who said you were jealous. My issue came from the fact that you said your main problem with the costumes was that they nothing to do with Hallowe'en... because a box of Cornflakes does? :confused: If that's your rationale, you can see why other posters might thing you have an ulterior motive for objecting.
    Jaxxy wrote: »
    ...And just a note to the posters attacking the OP, you're coming across as being just as "bitchy" as you claim her to be.

Not all of us accused her of being bitchy though. I just thought she was contradicting herself - which she was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

I never claimed to be easy going (I've always claimed to be the opposite on boards actually). Why did you put easygoing in commas like you're quoting me? I never said that. I never said i ignore the people who disagree with me. I said I ignore those who irritate me. Many people do it. Now your reverting to actually making stuff up about me. Jesus. And you wonder why I come across as defensive?

Uh you used the word relaxed, it's hardly a jump to get to to easygoing now is it? But ok, if you prefer, i change easygoing to relaxed. Based on what you've posted you don't come across this way.
    Just an FYI to Dearg and Miss Olenska, this was the intent of Windsock with the post that you agreed with. Windsock agree with me and she meant tongue-in-cheek. By agreeing with her original post which you took seriously, you believe I'm jealous and bitchy. To make those kinds of judgements about me without even knowing me and ganging up on me like that, says more about you then me, I'm afraid.

Once again, we can only judge based on what we read. I don't know you at all. My point is, based on what you've posted you appear to be taking it too seriously, gettin too offended, and yes, honestly, a little bit jealous. Also, 'ganging up on you'? for reals?!

If you don't wish for people to comment on and judge your opinions, don't post them on a public message board

I presume Miss Olenska is directing her venom at me. Obviously not understanding the "ignore" function. :rolleyes:

My issue came from the fact that you said your main problem with the costumes was that they nothing to do with Hallowe'en... because a box of Cornflakes does? :confused: If that's your rationale, you can see why other posters might thing you have an ulterior motive for objecting.

Cornflakes are pretty scary. Have you read their nutritional info lately.

I presume Miss Olenska is directing her venom at me. Obviously not understanding the "ignore" function. :rolleyes:

The idea of ignoring someone is that you don't acknowledge them.

jackie1974 wrote: »
    In all fairness it's pretty difficult to remain easygoing when people read a completely different tone of voice than the one you are trying to portray. I wore what could be seen as a 'sexy' batgirl costume, shop bought but wasn't in the slightest bit offended by the OPs opinion. Everybody likes different things, that keeps things interesting.

I really don't see how the bitchy comments were justified and think Eve did the right thing in using her ignore button because that is what adults do ;)

In life, different people will always take things up differently, especially when it comes to text, and we don't have facial expressions etc to go on. It doesn't mean my interpretation or yours is wrong, but we both take somethign different from it.

I'm not particualrly fond of the 'sexy' costumes but my point was that OP needs to relax, she is takin everythign said in thsi thread too persoanlly, taking offence etc, I think she's comin across quite badly. Now you disagree with me, and thats fine, I'm only expressing my opinion. No witchhunt, just expressing an opinion, same as OP did, and same as everyone else in the thread did.
    Could the mods close this thread now please? Too much bitching and sniping going on here. Thanks.

and starting a thread complaining about people weraing sexy costumes doesn't count as bitching?

dearg lady wrote: »
    Uh you used the word relaxed, it's hardly a jump to get to to easygoing now is it? But ok, if you prefer, i change easygoing to relaxed. Based on what you've posted you don't come across this way.

I used the word "relaxed" to describe myself? Are you joking me? I never in my life claimed to be a relaxed person. Off with your lies!
    Once again, we can only judge based on what we read. I don't know you at all. My point is, based on what you've posted you appear to be taking it too seriously, gettin too offended, and yes, honestly, a little bit jealous. Also, 'ganging up on you'? for reals?!

If you don't wish for people to comment on and judge your opinions, don't post them on a public message board

So people have called be jealous and I get defensive? Ye wha? Off you go...

As I stated before, I'm not jealous and never have been jealous. I've nothing to be jealous of.

And I remember in a thread not so long ago Miss Olenska being accused of the same...and defending herself :eek:

My God...the fecking cheek of her! What a bitch. How dare she!

and starting a thread complaining about people weraing sexy costumes doesn't count as bitching?

You agreed with me though . All I said is a certain kind of sexy costume is boring and unoriginal. You stated the same, love. And many people agree with me...how come it's only me that's the bitch??

So people have called be jealous and I get defensive? Ye wha? Off you go...

As I stated before, I'm not jealous and never have been jealous. I've nothing to be jealous of.

And I remember in a thread not so long ago Miss Olenska being accused of the same...and defending herself :eek:

My God...the fecking cheek of her! What a bitch. How dare she!
    defend away, it's all part of it! :)
    I will re-iterate again tho, you appear over the top defensive, this thing of putting people on ignore but then responding to them is incredibly childish. and contradicting yourself a couple of times, makes for a pretty poor argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Also, 'ganging up on you'? for reals?!

Ah you are now. I clicked on this and kept reading because I thought "ooh two women tearing into each other. Add a bitta mud to the proceedings and we're laughing,"

But nah, Miss Olenska is like a dog with a bone at this stage. And you yourself are trying to scrutinise every single word the OP says and use it against her. And over what? Halloween costumes?? Is that really important enough to fall out over? Something else must be up here...

You agreed with me though . All I said is a certain kind of sexy costume is boring and unoriginal. You stated the same, love. And many people agree with me...how come it's only me that's the bitch??

not quite, I mentioned I'm not keen on them, I didn't start a thread about it. I couldn't care less what people wear. I didn't call you a bitch, I said your taking it too seriously and gettin too easily offended. It's your attitude on the thread that I would have a problem with.

leggo wrote: »
    Ah you are now. I clicked on this and kept reading because I thought "ooh two women tearing into each other. Add a bitta mud to the proceedings and we're laughing,"

But nah, Miss Olenska is like a dog with a bone at this stage. And you yourself are trying to scrutinise every single word the OP says and use it against her. And over what? Halloween costumes?? Is that really important enough to fall out over? Something else must be up here...
    and what about all the people giving out to me and Olenska...'ganging up' grow up, it's a public messge board.

edit, why is it Olenska like a dog with a bone, Eve is still replying too...

But nah, Miss Olenska is like a dog with a bone at this stage.

As is Eve.

defend away, it's all part of it! :)
    I will re-iterate again tho, you appear over the top defensive, this thing of putting people on ignore but then responding to them is incredibly childish. and contradicting yourself a couple of times, makes for a pretty poor argument.

Hey, it's After Hours. Childishness is how we roll in here hence the reason I posted about something that really isn't something that keeps me up at night in here and not Humanities or somewhere else for serious discussion.

People who complain about childishness in AH make me laugh. Look around you, ffs.

Your being childish too...making all kinds of presumptions about someone who you don't know. You're not being fair and your stating I'm jealous. So I defend myself because it's not a nice thing to be called. How would you like to be called something that's simply not true?

I didn't go to a party full of super models last weekend...it wasn't a room full of hot sexy women and me the ugly munter in the corner. People presumed that was the case but it wasn't. I've nothing to be jealous of. Jealousy is not where this post originated.

and what about all the people giving out to me and Olenska...'ganging up' grow up, it's a public messge board.

edit, why is it Olenska like a dog with a bone, Eve is still replying too...

No, I'm replying to you. I can't read Olenka's posts.

Hey, it's After Hours. Childishness is how we roll in here hence the reason I posted about something that really isn't something that keeps me up at night in here and not Humanities or somewhere else for serious discussion.

People who complain about childishness in AH make me laugh. Look around you, ffs.

Your being childish too...making all kinds of presumptions about someone who you don't know. You're not being fair and your stating I'm jealous. So I defend myself because it's not a nice thing to be called. How would you like to be called something that's simply not true?

I didn't go to a party full of super models last weekend...it wasn't a room full of hot sexy women and me the ugly munter in the corner. People presumed that was the case but it wasn't. I've nothing to be jealous of. Jealousy is not where this post originated.

And again, not everyone was calling you jealous. Yeesh!

not quite, I mentioned I'm not keen on them, I didn't start a thread about it. I couldn't care less what people wear. I didn't call you a bitch, I said your taking it too seriously and gettin too easily offended. It's your attitude on the thread that I would have a problem with.

I've got a problem with YOUR attitude and I'm defending myself. You're coming across worse than me here by the way, love and I'm not the only one who thinks so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

Another point of view regarding the sexy Halloween costumes...

Of course people are allowed to wear whatever they want, but if ALL the girls went out looking cheap on Halloween what message would that send to even younger girls?? Wouldn't it be good if at least a few of these slutty-looking (yes, I'm sorry I can't come up with anything better to describe it with) would think it through first? Otherwise the next generation of girls might grow up thinking those costumes are what they're meant to wear...

Won't somebody please think of the children!?! :pac:

I can say it again, I am forming that opinion PURELY BASED ON WHAT YOU'VE WRITTEN. I said that is how you are coming across. If you don't want to hear it, or even acknowledge it, fine.

Seems like you change your argument every few minutes to suit yourself. Anyways I'm sick of repeating myself to someone who just doesn't listen, think I might make use of that ignore function, you truly have nothing interesting or relevant to say for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

But nah, Miss Olenska is like a dog with a bone at this stage.

As is Eve.

I'm just saying what I see and that's you two on the attack, her on the defence. An argument that stopped being entertaining 5 pages ago and nothing particularly worth arguing about.

Now can someone PLEASE post some sexy Halloween pics! Ahem.

I can say it again, I am forming that opinion PURELY BASED ON WHAT YOU'VE WRITTEN. I said that is how you are coming across. If you don't want to hear it, or even acknowledge it, fine.

Seems like you change your argument every few minutes to suit yourself. Anyways I'm sick of repeating myself to someone who just doesn't listen, think I might make use of that ignore function, you truly have nothing interesting or relevant to say for yourself.

Oh you're going to use it because you don't agree with me?

Or because maybe your jealous of me?

Which one? Those are your options.

Edit: You want to acknowlege I'm jealous? No. Acknowledge I'm defensive? Yes.

Happy now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

No one is going to convince anyone of anything. LET IT DIE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

You see, some girl wears a sexy costume and all of a sudden it's Bitchfest 2011!*

*T&C's: You may wish to ignore this comment as I a raging chauvinist with women issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I personally don't think Eve is being inconsistent with her posts at all. She clarified her original point when it appeared that other posters seemed to be taking her opinion personally, thinking she was making an attack on what people chose to wear on Halloween. All she said was that she wasn't a fan of a particular type of costume.

I've worn exactly the type of costume she was referring to on numerous occasions myself, but I haven't felt the need to defend my choice of scanty attire here, or pick apart all of the OP's post in an effort to pwn her with semantics. It's only an opinion after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Thread needs more pillows. And mud. Or cooking oil or something.

lookit, if I am coming across as 'attacking' then I apologise, i really didn't mean it. But if soemone posts on a message board about their opinion, there WILL be people who disagree. There was plenty of people who agreed as well, I don't see the big deal.

if soemone posts on a message board about their opinion, there WILL be people who disagree. There was plenty of people who agreed as well, I don't see the big deal.

Yes, sure, but don't you think this is getting a little bit over the top and out of hand? :rolleyes:

Jaxxy wrote: »
    She clarified her original point when it appeared that other posters seemed to be taking her opinion personally, thinking she was making an attack on what people chose to wear on Halloween.

That's not it at all. She was being inconsistent. Doesn't like sexy costumes because they're not Hallowe'en related and they're dull. Likes her friend's sexy nurse outfit. Goes as an non Hallowe'en-related box of Cornflakes. Just general :confused::confused::confused:

Yes, sure, but don't you think this is getting a little bit over the top and out of hand? :rolleyes:

I honestly don't see how but fair enough. It's just in circles now anyway so pretty yawny :)

It's just in circles now anyway so pretty yawny :)

Exactly my point. Someone has to let this go soon.
    It's 16 pages of 3 people ranting. No one else can put in their opinion... :p

Exactly my point. Someone has to let this go soon.
    It's 16 pages of 3 people ranting. No one else can put in their opinion... :p

But but but I only started posting at page 10!!! :)

That's a fair amount of pages anyhow :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Halloween is over.