Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great Limerick Run May 6th 2012

• 02-11-2011 5:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭

I have a few questions regarding the GLR – first off, is 60 euros too much to pay for what it is?

I’ve done the half twice already and feel that it is improving each year, but it’s still a far cry from being as well organised as the Dublin one.

The lack of a finishers t-shirt as promised on the web site, felt a bit ripped off by that last year. And it’s still mentioned on the site today, can this be believed?

Or is 60 euros a fair price? I know its a company running it and profit is king, and I don't disagree with that.

Last year's thread
    Half marathon profile
    Marathon profile
    Race website

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Ask yourself what are you getting for the 60 euros and see how much of that is swallowed by running costs. Bear in mind people run events for a quarter of that price which include tech tops, food, chip timing, marshals etc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

was thinking of this myself - Dublin was 68 so this is cheaper but would worry about the organisation. If they deliver on what they say they will then I'd be happy to pay the 60 quid.

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    was thinking of this myself - Dublin was 68 so this is cheaper but would worry about the organisation. If they deliver on what they say they will then I'd be happy to pay the 60 quid.

What race was €68?

My next HM will be Waterford, €22 entry, run by an athletics club with a reputation for putting on well run events. An easy decision IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

macinalli wrote: »
    What race was €68?

My next HM will be Waterford, €22 entry, run by an athletics club with a reputation for putting on well run events. An easy decision IMO.

The Dublin Marathon was 68, and the Limerick Marathon is 60 - I guess you were looking at the HM aspect of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭bonaparte2

from the belfast marathon FAQ 2012
    • Marathon Run - £33
    • Marathon Walk - £22
    • Team Relay - £80 (per team)
    • Wheelchair Marathon - £33
    • Fun Run - £11 (adults) and £9 (seniors and children aged 18 and under).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

i have ran in Limerick the last two years. I ran the 10k, and then the Half last year. Its a great day out and, like all events, it has its problems.

The Goodie bag is shocking , tshirt is poor, but you get a really good medal.
    When i did the 10k there was only2 mileage signs on the whole course, not to mention the Footbridge !!! and only 1 water station.

The Half last year, was better organised. And i dont think i could find any major faults. Maybe a few more Marshalls, and a couple more Gel stations.

Its is a bit expensive, but its a very good event. And the Apres run is excellent too :D

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

greenspurs wrote: »
    i have ran in Limerick the last two years. I ran the 10k, and then the Half last year. Its a great day out and, like all events, it has its problems.

When i did the 10k there was only2 mileage signs on the whole course, not to mention the Footbridge !!! and only 1 water station.

The Half last year, was better organised. And i dont think i could find any major faults. Maybe a few more Marshalls, and a couple more Gel stations.

Its is a bit expensive, but its a very good event. And the Apres run is excellent too :D
    I can understand the t-shirt and goody bag comment t a certain extent and the milage signs deffo. But more than 1 water station in a 10k amd a couple gel stations in a half is a bit excessive.

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭bonaparte2

you mean you ran the 9.4k, ,

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

bonaparte2 wrote: »

you mean you ran the 9.4k, ,

Was it 9.4K? I thought it was 9.1..........

Oh jaysus !! How did i forget that !! Yeh, what a cock up that was !!!!

Not as bad a cock up as Howard Webb :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

I hear the pacers are outstanding this year :D

@yflyer
    u a Spurs man too?

Webb is an utter cnut .......
    Is he running in Limerick ?? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

I did the 10K last year and there were quite a few mile markers, and two water stations....I also agree with the goodie bag and T Shirt comment.....Lovely medal alright !!

@yflyer
    u a Spurs man too?

Webb is an utter cnut .......
    Is he running in Limerick ?? :P

Yes I'm a fellow Spurs head.

If he was, he better be fast :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

In for the half marathon, could get worse before it gets better, but it gets better, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

In for the half marathon, could get worse before it gets better, but it gets better, right?

Ah i'm sure they will iron out more of the creases for this year. Last year was noticably better than 2010. Those bloody bollards gave me nightmares both times.

Just a heads up, the entry price goes up at midnight tonight for anyone thinking of running;

http://www.greatlimerickrun.com/registration.html

Entered for the Half..... :)
    and i have pulled 6 others with me to run ...
    So, roll on May bank hol..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

Just noticed from the web site that there are two start times for the marathon: 8 and 9 am with the earlier time for wallkers.

From posts from previous years congestion along the course seemed to be a problem where full road closures were not in place. People were forced outside the traffic cones into traffic in order to pass.

Having ran races where weaving between and around 4-abreast walkers is a must I question the wisdom of clogging the course for what I assume allows the organisers to open the roads an hour earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Marty09

Have signed up for half marathon this year having done the 6 mile the previous 2 years.
    Supporting local Limerick event.

I think it is expensive at €55 and there is also a hidden €2.65 handling fee when you book
    making it €57.65.
    The organisers of the event should try to reduce costs and handling fees etc should be included in the already expensive entry costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

dev123 wrote: »
    Just noticed from the web site that there are two start times for the marathon: 8 and 9 am with the earlier time for wallkers.

From posts from previous years congestion along the course seemed to be a problem where full road closures were not in place. People were forced outside the traffic cones into traffic in order to pass.

Having ran races where weaving between and around 4-abreast walkers is a must I question the wisdom of clogging the course for what I assume allows the organisers to open the roads an hour earlier.

The congestion issues have been well-flagged over the past few years. It's not a priority for the organizers, so no reason to expect anything but clogged streets and congestion. This isn't a race, its a fun-run, the priority is to maximize the revenue from the event, and that means getting as many runners/joggers/walkers entered and around the course, however that may happen. You getting an uncongested run isn't a huge consideration; profit comes before that.
    Marty09 wrote: »
    Have signed up for half marathon this year having done the 6 mile the previous 2 years.
    Supporting local Limerick event.

I think it is expensive at €55 and there is also a hidden €2.65 handling fee when you book
    making it €57.65.
    The organisers of the event should try to reduce costs and handling fees etc should be included in the already expensive entry costs.

There's loads of other, better, cheaper, events, that you could have entered. Its a commercial event, they will charge what the market will bear, and you're part of that market. Bit late now to complain about the price.

The congestion issues have been well-flagged over the past few years. It's not a priority for the organizers, so no reason to expect anything but clogged streets and congestion. This isn't a race, its a fun-run, the priority is to maximize the revenue from the event, and that means getting as many runners/joggers/walkers entered and around the course, however that may happen. You getting an uncongested run isn't a huge consideration; profit comes before that.

Thanks for the heads up DNHP. After looking at the staggered starts for the marathon, half marathon and 6 mile race, all run on parts of the same course I can see where you are coming from with the organisers trying to get as many people out on the course at the same time.

The event has seemed to improve over the last few years AFAIK and it's convenience location wise was the reasoning behind entering. I would have thought that for an event to grow the organisers would have to put "people before profit" (to borrow a phrase); at least in the early years to engender some good will towards the event. Although, maybe the attitude of grabbing the fast buck doesn't lend to a long-term view.

dev123 wrote: »

The event has seemed to improve over the last few years AFAIK and it's convenience location wise was the reasoning behind entering. I would have thought that for an event to grow the organisers would have to put "people before profit" (to borrow a phrase); at least in the early years to engender some good will towards the event. Although, maybe the attitude of grabbing the fast buck doesn't lend to a long-term view.

Yeah I accept that there have been some improvements- but this is an event that is very expensive to enter, doesn't really care about proper measured courses, will allow as much congestion as they can get away with (participant safety is compromised in many areas), and still gets thousands signing up to enter. Profit is most definitely the overriding motive for this race, they keep getting people signing up, so there's no reason for them to change what they are doing.

While both the half (€55) and the 6 miler (€25) are definitely at the (rediculously) high end of the spectrum I would have that the marathon at €70 was reasonably priced (It was cheaper before the 1st of January, €60 I think). It seems that the 2 shorter distance races are covering the cost of the marathon.

I suppose Limerick and its environs has the population to sustain the race. I wonder how much repeat business they are getting? I think the marathon entry was around 750. Will be interesting to see if it is up this year.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

In fairness to the organiser(s) of this race they were a lot more interested in participants in 2011 than they were in 2010. Take into account they were novices in 2010 and were trying to find their feet. The took on a lot of the criticism and ideas that were handed to them after their debut year.

That and, unlike a lot of other commercial events the prizes in Limerick are pretty impressive, or so I'm told anyway.

They do seem like they want to make Limerick into a major marathon. Their prizes are no higher than DCM. Smaller events won't get the sort of sponsorship or merchandise that the likes of DCM will get.

They really should drop the 6 mile race or whatever it is though, but, it seems to be enjoyed by many. Most serious runners will google a race or at least ask friends/clubmates about a race before committing to it so I'd imagine the 'serious' runners don't touch that race in the series anyway.

In fairness to the organiser(s) of this race they were a lot more interested in participants in 2011 than they were in 2010. Take into account they were novices in 2010 and were trying to find their feet. The took on a lot of the criticism and ideas that were handed to them after their debut year.

A marathon that sets walkers onto its course an hour before the runners isn't a race, its a fun run. Expecting the leaders to weave around walkers...? You really think this is putting the interest of participants first? Or maximizing the amount of entry fees that can be funneled through the half-closed roads in the minimum time?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

They really should drop the 6 mile race or whatever it is though, but, it seems to be enjoyed by many. Most serious runners will google a race or at least ask friends/clubmates about a race before committing to it so I'd imagine the 'serious' runners don't touch that race in the series anyway.

The prize money on offer is substantial in comparison with other local 10K/5 mile races, so a lot of the serious club runners will run it.
    A marathon that sets walkers onto its course an hour before the runners isn't a race, its a fun run. Expecting the leaders to weave around walkers...? You really think this is putting the interest of participants first? Or maximizing the amount of entry fees that can be funneled through the half-closed roads in the minimum time?

Agree there will be some serious issues particularly those at the business end of the race when they start to encounter walkers 4-5 abreast.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Or maximising the amount of people who can take part and trying to work around the awkward times they're awarded for road closures? How many walkers are they going to get? a handful? who, most likely, won't be all walking in a line across the road. It is highly unlkely that the amount of walkers that would be taking part in this race would be a hindrance to the front runners who will also(I assume) have garda/pushbike/some sort of escort ahead of them to alert the walkers to move out of the way.

You're making assumptions here as to the reasoning behind the walkers starting an hour before the main field, that happens in a lot of road races and marathons. Why not email them and ask them instead of guessing and criticising?

They made huge improvements last year on what they provided in 2010.

And yeah Ger just checked out the prize money. That's impressive for the 6 mile race. :eek:

You're making assumptions here as to the reasoning behind the walkers starting an hour before the main field, that happens in a lot of road races and marathons. Why not email them and ask them instead of guessing and criticising?

Because previous times I've emailed them, I've either gotten wrong answers, or no response. Additionally, I addressed multiple congestion issues with them in a meeting, and these concerns were either dismissed or ignored. The for-profit rather than for-participant motive for this marathon was emphasised beyond question. Nothing wrong with that mind, its a market, and if they can get people willing to pay up every year, they've built a nice business; good luck to them.

I don't really care too much, I won't be doing the race, my comments are addressed to those questioning the cost and congestion issues above, who are still going to enter.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

A marathon that sets walkers onto its course an hour before the runners isn't a race, its a fun run.

That's a rather sweeping statement. Connemara does the same and is definitely a serious race.