Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Road "Drifting"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

Wow most of the people in this thread genuinely haven't a clue, they really really haven't.

Great video, well edited. Cars were in complete control at all times, both drivers I know well and are very talented.

Any time something like this is uploaded of course you'll have the do gooders ****ting on about it being done on public roads etc. No matter what people do, there will be drifting, there will be street racing, there will be lads doing donuts and going around with loud exhausts. This has been the case for many many years in any country in the world. Laws can be brought in but people will always find a way around these things. Thats life.

People need to stop worrying about this so much, anything that went on in this video did not negatively affect a single member of the public.

Should be locked and deleted imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Flyer1 wrote: »

Nope, it's staying open for now.No reason to be deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Turnstyle wrote: »
    CianRyan wrote: »
    And running cars like these is expensive so it's no surprise really that the lads can't afford to rent a track.
    You'd have to gather 45 people to make it €100 for the day and that's probably more people than I know would be interested.

ah sur its totally understandable then alright, €100 could get you another set of tyres or a few new peaked caps like... After looking at the video a second time I have changed my mind, these guys are so underground and cool they should be given grants and special permission by the RSA..

No one's asking for the laws to be changed.
    €100 is of you find 45 people to join you, or a realistic figure, let's say 10 would cost €450. no matter what way you look at it, that's not a weekly or even a monthly thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Great video, well edited. Cars were in complete control at all times, both drivers I know well and are very talented.
    Not a great video. Its grand but trying to hard to make it like a trailer for a movie. Yeah the editing is grand for what it is.
    Very talented? ???? Not really doing anything spectacular in fairness.
    There's way better drifters than them in Waterford.
    Go out that abandoned place out near portlaw and have a laugh doing it.
    I was a bollox on the road meself in the past so I'm not going to be hypocritical and say its bad, bla bla bla.
    Eventually one of ye will get caught. Hopefully it will be just for acting the sack and not after having an accident. Enjoy yourselves anyways while your at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Wexfordian

Cars were in complete control at all times, both drivers I know well and are very talented.

Me arse. Even on the edited highlights of that vid there are two complete spin outs.
    Any time something like this is uploaded of course you'll have the do gooders ****ting on about it being done on public roads etc. No matter what people do, there will be drifting, there will be street racing, there will be lads doing donuts and going around with loud exhausts. This has been the case for many many years in any country in the world. Laws can be brought in but people will always find a way around these things. Thats life.

If by do gooders you mean those that don't particularly want to share the roads with some of these fools, then yes. And yes I understand that you will always ignore the laws, and yes I know you don't care.

People need to stop worrying about this so much, anything that went on in this video did not negatively affect a single member of the public.

You know last year during the cold snap a group of drifters in civics spent about 2 hours speeding up a hill in my town and drifting around the corner at the top. They did this until the road was too slippery for them to get up anymore. For the next day cars were coming down the hill and just sliding straight off onto the pavement at the end.

But sure they were drifters and thats fine, they found a way around the laws (actually they found their way around any sort of cop on) as apparently was their right.

The general attitude of the drifter heads on here has got me thinking they shouldn't be stopped from drifting, they should be removed from cars entirely, because they blatantly couldn't give a b*ll*cks.

Wexfordian wrote: »
    You know last year during the cold snap a group of drifters in civics spent about 2 hours speeding up a hill in my town and drifting around the corner at the top. They did this until the road was too slippery for them to get up anymore. For the next day cars were coming down the hill and just sliding straight off onto the pavement at the end.

You know civics are FWD?
    You know you can't drift a FWD car?

What you saw were idiots, not drifters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

RoverJames wrote: »
    If ye are so sure it's fine why do the heroes doing it blank out their reg on the videos?

Of course the drifters don't care, neither do junkies or rapists for the mostpart.

Probably because they know it's illegal. What a stupid fúcking question.

Wow, so that's what the comparison has come down to? unbelievable.
    No, they don't, but then its an inherently selfish hobby. Why though is there this sense of entitlement that the drifters come out with? Its your hobby, you pay for it. Why do you feel its up to others to "make it affordable"? Its called personal responsibility, it seems the drifting scene could do with a dose of it.

Of course it's selfish.
    Welcome to the world.

You know civics are FWD?

lol, ok, I'll accept that, probably why they waited for ice. But still from an outside perspective you can see how it guys in kit cars doing stupid things on the road? Any reason why I shouldn't lump them together?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

I think what you are seeing here for the most part is the difference between ordinary joe soaps who have a passing interest in cars and fellas who are seriously into cars, involved in drifting, rallying, track days etc. Lads who thinik this is boyracerish and disgraceful generally fall in the latter catagory (not always).

Theres not one real enthusiast on here (im looking at you here RoverJames) who can say they havent given their car a good spanking in 1st, 2nd, 3rd gear (im talking proper performance cars here not diesels) on a slip road or dual carriageway, driven their cars on a bit on backroads or let their tail slide out on the odd junction/roundabout. I know rally lads who like to drive their daily cars on a good bit - older fellas in their late 30's with families and sensible cars aswell as weekend machines, proper pro drift licenced drivers who compete (2 in particular) who like to have a bit of fun the odd time not on track.

Weve all done it, were all guilty. Why else would you have a taxed and insured road worthy performance car? Thats not to say that we are all driving around like lunatics and causing general mayhem for the public. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Why did I bother reading all 18 pages... :pac:

Cool video, but very irresponsible. I mean, what if there were little (delinquent) kids out trying to vandalise stuff in the port and happened to run out in front of them? Or if someone had broken down on the roundabout after they'd checked if it was clear?

As for lack of tracks, why not close a huge car park every weekend in a random location round the country and let loose, go bananas there?

My 2 cents :pac:

You know civics are FWD?

lol, ok, I'll accept that, probably why they waited for ice. But still from an outside perspective you can see how it guys in kit cars doing stupid things on the road? Any reason why I shouldn't lump them together?

Well in my opinion we have two groups of people here.

Group one: The drifters.
    They partake in their sport in the wee hours, in empty industrial estates with precautions in place to avoid any run ins or accidents with the general public.
    The biggest threat to the public is noise pollution and black marks on a black road.

Group two:
    They are uneducated in the sport and are reckless in treturous weather conditions in a housing estate during the day. There is likely to pedestrians, other traffic and childeren around and they care about none of them.

To me, these seem like pretty big differences and it is by far enough for me to separate them into different groups, would you not agree?

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    You know civics are FWD?

You can drift a FWD, shows how much you know!

Alright it is possible but I doubt the lads in the snow are capable of performing a drift in normal conditions.
    Also, it wouldn't be a "true drift", would it? More of a power slide.

................... both drivers I know well and are very talented.

Why should it be deleted?
    SV wrote: »
    Probably because they know it's illegal. What a stupid fúcking question.

Excellent response.

So essentially we have loads of folk here trying to defend illegal activity ;)
    stupid fúcking indeed :cool:

Group one: The drifters.
    They partake in their sport in the wee hours, in empty industrial estates with precautions in place to avoid any run ins or accidents with the general public................

Never on public roads no???

Excellent response.

So essentially we have loads of folk here trying to defend illegal activity ;)
    stupid fúcking indeed :cool:

Seriously, it took you that long to get to this point?
    It's almost worth getting banned.

Seriously, it took you that long to get to this point?
    It's almost worth getting banned.

To get to what point?
    What are you on about? It will hardly be overly profound anyway in fairness.

To get to what point?

Have you never been guilty of driving your car on a little spiritedly James? Genuinely i knows its the internet and even worse boards but the windup is a little silly especially when you know yourself youre not guilt free.

To get to what point?

To get to the point that it's illegal activity being defended.
    If it wasn't illegal then there wouldn't be a discussion.

Jaysus, it's not even going to be slightly profound. It is you I'm talking to after all. I'll keep it simple.

and yeah, it was worth it

Never on public roads no???

Clearly they have done in this video but how many times have you driven onto a motor way interchange to be greeted by a few cars flying sideways?
    The vast majority of these lads stick to the industrial estates.

You can drift a FWD, shows how much you know!

cpoh1 wrote: »
    Have you never been guilty of driving your car on a little spiritedly James? Genuinely i knows its the internet and even worse boards but the windup is a little silly especially when you know yourself youre not guilt free.

Most definitely, I don't go around reckoning I should be provided with cheap facilities to go drifting in nor would I ever advocate and organised illegal drift meeting regardless of where it is.

Jaysus, it's not even going to be slightly profound. It is you I'm talking to after all. I'll keep it simple.

I'm sorry?
    Care to elaborate on the bit in bold?

By PM is fine as I don't want you being banned on my account.

Clearly they have done in this video...............

So what group do the lads in this video fall into?

Most definitely, I don't go around reckoning I should be provided with cheap facilities to go drifting in nor would I ever advocate and organised illegal drift meeting regardless of where it is.

Who here does reckon they should be provided with track facilities? I dont ayway.

If you call a couple of mates meeting up for a spin with a bit of sideways action an illegal drift meet thats cool. Id call it a couple of lads meeting up late at night and having a bit of fun with no harm done.

Would you be ok with it if it was one car on its own with a lad in the passenger seat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

If you can't back up your opinion with facts rather than insults, you really shouldn't get into a debate. Less of it

If you call a couple of mates meeting up for a spin with a bit of sideways action an illegal drift meet thats cool. Id call it a couple of lads meeting up late at night and having a bit of fun with no harm done. ..........

The video has quite a number of spectators, also if you read the thread more than one poster has said that there would be less of this illegal drifting is there were more facilites. One chap actually brought up hotel expenses for a Mondello trip as reasons why it's not cost effective to do it legally. Another mentioned €4500 to rent a track for a day. Have you not read the thread, seriously, I'm not going through it to pick out the bits for you.

Clearly they have done in this video...............

So what group do the lads in this video fall into?

I'd say they land somewhere in between.
    I would have had a lot more respect for the lads in the video if they didn't dick around on the motorway.

Why did you quote me on that? I know you can drift FWD hence why I made that statement.

Apologies, read your post, was backing you up, went to quote the other post and got it totally wrong, had a very long night you see... :o

Back to the topic :)

Whats the legality on closing a car park and using it for drifting?

Group one: The drifters...............................
    Group two:
    They are uneducated in the sport ...................by far enough for me to separate them into different groups, would you not agree?

You're not a very consistent sort of chap when having a discussion, I would have thought given that the thread originated by a video of the folks you are referring to below that you wouldn't have omitted them from your two groups, we now have a nice new subsection for them :pac:

Seems as they have used a motorway for dicking about I would put them in your Group2
    I would have had a lot more respect for the lads in the video if they didn't dick around on the motorway.

dgt wrote: »
    Why did you quote me on that? I know you can drift FWD hence why I made that statement.

Apologies, read your post, was backing you up, went to quote the other post and got it totally wrong, had a very long night you see... :o

Back to the topic :)

Whats the legality on closing a car park and using it for drifting?

Should have been me and yes I was wrong.

With regards to the carpark, if it's your car park then you can do what you like in it. It's private property.

Noise pollution.......

The video has quite a number of spectators, also if you read the thread more than one poster has said that there would be less of this illegal drifting is there were more facilites. One chap actually brought up hotel expenses for a Mondello trip as reasons why it's not cost effective to do it legally. Another mentioned €4500 to rent a track for a day. Have you not read the thread, seriously, I'm not going through it to pick out the bits for you.

Stick to the video, its a couple of lads hanging around beside their cars with a few others going sideways around a bend. Its your opinion that its an illegal drift meet - i disagree and thats down to opinion.

Whether this issue would be lessened by getting time on track doesnt mean people are demanding it. On cost, im not sure how may track days you have done but for me and my experience with mondello the one time i drove there this was the cost:

Cost of track day ~250 (roughly 20 cars)
    Travel costs (fuel) ~90 (getting to Dublin in a car that does about 12mpg!)
    Car costs ~120 (track fuel, oil change)

Plus i bought track tyres and m1155 race pads which in fairness i still have and can reuse (the pads arent bad on the road in fairness). Thats a large chunk of money for a day on track so yeah its expensive. Track days on better tracks in the uk when i lived there was closer to £60 from memory. Closer to where i lived too so much more manageable.

Group one: The drifters...............................
    Group two:
    They are uneducated in the sport ...................by far enough for me to separate them into different groups, would you not agree?

You're not a very consistent sort of chap when having a discussion, I would have thought given that the thread originated by a video of the folks you are referring to below that you wouldn't have omitted them from your two groups, we now have a nice new subsection for them :pac:

Seems as they have used a motorway for dicking about I would put them in your Group2

You're right, really. Given what we have we'd have to put the video Lads in group two although, that's no reason to tar every drifter with the same brush.

Stick to the video, its a couple of lads hanging around beside their cars with a few others going sideways around a bend. Its your opinion that its an illegal drift meet - i disagree and thats down to opinion. ................

... don't forget the bit about the motorway.
    There was 10 to 20 people spectating, a couple is two ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

seanybiker wrote: »
    Not a great video. Its grand but trying to hard to make it like a trailer for a movie. Yeah the editing is grand for what it is.
    Very talented? ???? Not really doing anything spectacular in fairness.
    There's way better drifters than them in Waterford.
    Go out that abandoned place out near portlaw and have a laugh doing it.
    I was a bollox on the road meself in the past so I'm not going to be hypocritical and say its bad, bla bla bla.
    Eventually one of ye will get caught. Hopefully it will be just for acting the sack and not after having an accident. Enjoy yourselves anyways while your at it.

Its the best ireland has brought out up till now in regards to the night life/drift car scene in Ireland.

Look sure people know the risks, people know the risks and punishment if caught.

The abandoned place out in portlaw is full of shams and wrecks. The cars in this video have had silly amounts of money spent on them, they aren't going to go wrecking them on such a rough surface like the one down below. Its a great option for people who want to just go wrecking a shítter of a car but for a proper street car its useless.

To people saying go do it on a private track, not everyone has €500 to blow on a day of drifting. Stick €20 petrol in your car and do a bit of sliding is far more appealing to be honest.

FWD cars do not drift, you can slide them on the handbrake but they can not drift properly.

I'm wondering what people want to acheive out of this topic anyway ?

People doing it know its wrong, people watching it know its wrong. it's simply a video highlighting what people do to have a good time.

Some of ye would get mangled in a court :pac:

Noise pollution.......

Quiet exuasts would help as it seems that's what gets people the most.
    If it's done durIng the day when most people are in work there's less people to hear it.

Back stepping here again, James.
    Solutions, not problems.

Quiet exuasts would help as it seems that's what gets people the most.
    If it's done durIng the day when most people are in work there's less people to hear it.

Back stepping here again, James.
    Solutions, not problems.

Ok, private car park, great idea for the owner of it if he wants to go drifting, or his friends who he won't charge, and of course no members of the public will be there so it's happy out.

All drifters need to befriend an owner of a large, private carpark.

That's more like it, now we just need to convince the owner of the City West Hotel to get into drifting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 pole drift

I love this video, no one was hurt, everyone had a good time and went happy home to bed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

"From an outside perspective" is the problem, due to your ignorance on the topic you tared one group of people based on the actions of an entirely different set of people doing something different. IMO you have shown your entire view on this is more invalid than just skewed.

"Guys in cars doing stupid things on the road". :rolleyes: That would be virtually everyone else then right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Look sure people know the risks, people know the risks and punishment if caught.

The abandoned place out in portlaw is full of shams and wrecks. The cars in this video have had silly amounts of money spent on them, they aren't going to go wrecking them on such a rough surface like the one down below. Its a great option for people who want to just go wrecking a shítter of a car but for a proper street car its useless.

To people saying go do it on a private track, not everyone has €500 to blow on a day of drifting. Stick €20 petrol in your car and do a bit of sliding is far more appealing to be honest.

FWD cars do not drift, you can slide them on the handbrake but they can not drift properly.
    Oh didn't know that. Only seen pics on Facebook. The cars they where using where fairly shyte in fairness .

Don't mind people giving out about it. That's the good thing about forums. People have opinions. Opinions vary all over the place. If everyone thought the same then life would be boring. Take the good and take the bad.

Yes its illegal. Tis dangerous. But its done now and nobody was hurt. Its all good.
    Not really into it meself but sure I'd watch the video anyways. Load of the lads I know are mad into the drifting, some are brutal at it and some are fair good

When I get me license back I'll keep and eye out for ye and wheelie passed ye for the craic. ( I won't really) lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 pole drift

Matt Simis wrote: »
    "From an outside perspective" is the problem, due to your ignorance on the topic you tared one group of people based on the actions of an entirely different set of people doing something different. IMO you have shown your entire view on this is more invalid than just skewed.

"Guys in cars doing stupid things on the road". :rolleyes: That would be virtually everyone else then right?

Iv seen more people overtake dangerously in the middle of rush hour traffic with lots of oncoming traffic causing more danger to the public then what these two lads have done!!

That's more like it, now we just need to convince the owner of the City West Hotel to get into drifting.

NAMA iirc
    In receivership anyway.

NAMA iirc
    In receivership anyway.

:/
    Any other large private ground that'd be good for drifting?
    (Not Mondello)

Matt Simis wrote: »

Sorry mate, but thats weak, very weak. Apparently I don't know the difference between a power slide and a drift. Fair enough. Does that take those guys off a major public road going sideways? No. Does that not make them ignorant for going through residential areas with deliberately unmuffled exhausts? No. Does that make the difference between these, guys doing donuts and guys doing power slides significant? No. I'm afraid jumping on this to make my view "invalid" is a bit feeble.

I'm actually surprised you "liked" it as well Cian, your the only one on the pro-sliding side that's shown any serious thought so far.

pole drift wrote: »
    Iv seen more people overtake dangerously in the middle of rush hour traffic with lots of oncoming traffic causing more danger to the public then what these two lads have done!!

And they should similarly be busted for reckless driving. Its not one law for one another for others. That's basically the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Dori Dude

I enjoyed the video. I'm quite the fan of Neil's work.

Regarding more places for drifters to go, well, a place opened in Limerick over the summer, I think they got two drift days in before it was shut down? Same with many other places, they don't last, and what good is that? The drifters are left with nowhere else to go after that.. Mondello isn't available all the time, the days are actually very limited.

But anyway, as Seanybiker said, "Yes its illegal. Tis dangerous. But its done now and nobody was hurt. Its all good."

Keep Drifting Fun.

Dori Dude wrote: »
    I enjoyed the video. I'm quite the fan of Neil's work.

Regarding more places for drifters to go, well, a place opened in Limerick over the summer, I think they got two drift days in before it was shut down? Same with many other places, they don't last, and what good is that? The drifters are left with nowhere else to go after that.. Mondello isn't available all the time, the days are actually very limited.

But anyway, as Seanybiker said, "Yes its illegal. Tis dangerous. But its done now and nobody was hurt. Its all good."

Keep Drifting Fun.

I kind of asked this before but didn't really get an answer, but what did it get shut down for?

Sorry mate, but thats weak, very weak. Apparently I don't know the difference between a power slide and a drift. Fair enough. Does that take those guys off a major public road going sideways? No. Does that not make them ignorant for going through residential areas with deliberately unmuffled exhausts? No. Does that make the difference between these, guys doing donuts and guys doing power slides significant? No. I'm afraid jumping on this to make my view "invalid" is a bit feeble.

I'm actually surprised you "liked" it as well Cian, your the only one on the pro-sliding side that's shown any serious thought so far.

He made the same point as me really, just in a different way.
    If you can't differentiate between these different groups of people than your view on things is going to be messed up.

My mind is starting to feel a bit melted as we move into the third day of this and my actions aren't as sharp as they were when this thread started.

That's what I'm wondering, and if when they set it up they didn't insist on muffled exhausts. Do the larger exhaust actually contribute anything (genuine question)?

He made the same point as me really, just in a different way.
    If you can't differentiate between these different groups of people than your view on things is going to be messed up.

Sure you yourself agreed the lads in the video were in group 2, not group 1.