Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM Class of 2011- the continuing challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Name|Weeks Sessions|Weeks Total|Monthly Total|Yearly total|Comments
    BobMac104|||76.6|76.6||
    Younganne|4|21.21m|21.21m|21.21m|delighted to be back on the roads:D|
    red face dave|4|19.5|54|54|Good week
    Nules10 |||58|58
    Conseng||||
    run44|||61.5m|61.5m|
    shazkea|||48|48
    KittyMittens|||20.3|20.3||
    Cutex||||
    sunflowerro|||| |
    Jimh|||| |
    Kit3 ||||
    Alitoast|||9|9|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Hi Folks

Raheny this week which means we will keep it light this week and keep you fresh. For anyone Not racing the second table is for you:

|Mon|Tue|Wed|Thur|Fri|Sat|Sun|
    |Rest|3m|5m|3m|rest|10 min light jog + strides|RACE

The light jog should be roughly a mile or so at most and the strides @ race pace these should not feel hard its just to get your legs used to the pace for the race the day after. To those who are running Raheny best of luck and I hope to see a few of you out there as I am running myself

|Mon|Tue|Wed|Thur|Fri|Sat|Sun|
    |Rest|5m|Fartlek|5m|rest|5 miles easy + 6x80m strides|75mins

Fartlek: 1 mile easy, 6x3 min @ 10k pace, 2 min off recovery, 1 mile easy

@ RedDave Well done on the race great result especially with the wind there is plenty more to come. You will be glad to know that the plan is progressive so as you guys get fitter the sessions will be adapted to keep stressing the body to insure continued performance improvement so dont worry

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭alitoast

BobMac104|||76.6|76.6||
    Nules10 |||58|58
    Conseng||||
    run44|||61.5m|61.5m|
    shazkea|||48|48
    Cutex||||
    sunflowerro|||| |
    Jimh|||| |
    Kit3 ||||
    Alitoast|4|19.1|28.1|28.1|

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭run44

BobMac104|||76.6|76.6||
    Nules10 |||58|58
    Conseng||||
    run44|3|11|75.5|75.5m|Missed LSR this week due to moving. Am more tired after that than any LSR! Running to and from work now at least three days a week, so hopefully that'll help me keep up the midweek miles|
    shazkea|||48|48
    Cutex||||
    sunflowerro|||| |
    Jimh|||| |
    Kit3 ||||

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Cutex

BobMac104|||76.6|76.6||
    Nules10 |||58|58
    Conseng||||
    run44|3|11|75.5|75.5m|Missed LSR this week due to moving. Am more tired after that than any LSR! Running to and from work now at least three days a week, so hopefully that'll help me keep up the midweek miles|
    shazkea|||48|48
    Cutex|3|10|23.8|23.8|yippeeee back running:D
    sunflowerro|||| |
    Jimh|||| |
    Kit3 ||||

Back properly at last! Been keeping an eye on you all but it's lovely to join in again. 6m run on the cards for tonight cause I missed yesterday's run due to kiddie issues, then back to doing whatever Ecoli says :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

BobMac104|8|51.2|127.3|127.3|Hard week but very enjoyable.|
    Nules10 |||58|58
    Conseng||||
    shazkea|||48|48
    sunflowerro|||| |
    Jimh|||| |
    Kit3 ||||

Really good week for me. looking forward to the 10m in waterford next sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭run44

Wow Bob, well done! You got some serious miles in this week!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

+1 Bob, great mileage...you will have no probs next week

today my legs are fantastic:D...don't even feel like i was out running yesterday...will definitely be keeping up the cold baths after any run longer that 8m... wish i felt as good...completely knackered since last friday...the interval sesion lunchtime thur, 75min kettlebells thur evening and then a very, very late night Friday night(4am..i'm so not able for socialising):eek: can't wait for early night tonight!!!!

lost two more toenails, big toe and one beside it..that's 6 gone and 2 to go...since DCM, the 2 little toenails never seem to be affected!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭KittyMittens

Nules10 |||58|58
    Conseng||||
    shazkea|||48|48
    KittyMittens|1|1.5|22.8|22.8|Feeling very unfit these days, but did have a lovely run last night|
    sunflowerro|||| |
    Jimh|||| |
    Kit3 ||||

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Finished my first race of 2012. Did the Heath 10k this morning and got a new pb by 7 mins. Finished in 50 mins I am delighted . Wind was a bloody nightmare. Enjoyed racing a shorter distance.

Felt very strong the first two miles so I pushed on as much as I could. The 5th mile I was having a little break in hoping to do a quick 6th, was hoping to do the 6th mile in 7.30 and maybe just get under the the 50 minute mark but just missed out. Overall very happy on a tricky enough course.:). May start doing more of Ecoli sprints.
    1 8:05.6
    2 7:46.6
    3 8:10.2
    4 8:17.0
    5 8:32.4
    6 7:59.3
    7 1:52.3

Now what's next.
    Nice running there dave. well done. Cork marathon next ;)

Nules10 |4|26.42|84.42|84.42|tough week last week
    Conseng||||
    shazkea|||48|48
    KittyMittens|1|1.5|22.8|22.8|Feeling very unfit these days, but did have a lovely run last night|
    sunflowerro|||| |
    Jimh|||| |
    Kit3 ||||

Thanks Nules. I was thinking about Cork but cant face the training just yet and it would have to be on my own as my training partner retired after Dublin.

I like running the shorter distances for now (lazy). What race are ye planning after Raheny?

Hmm I hear you having to face into marathon training. I have signed up for the meath spring half in march (sub 2attempt again :rolleyes:) and conn half for fun. And maybe only maybe cork full will leave that to closer to the time to decide. I can't do DCM this year :(

Yeah that craic of three weekends in a row running 20 miles every Saturday has scared me for life :).

You will defo get under 2 hours next time out. Keep up that work you are doing and you will have no problem.

Hope to do Dublin again this year, I have unfinished business with Dublin Marathon:).

Trying to pick a race to aim for at the moment.

have to agree the thoughts of a 20mile LSR scares the be jaysus out of me right now :eek: especially since i got injured after the last one i did. You would think it would be a case of older and wiser and never do it again :rolleyes: ahh sure i will keep trying for sub 2 of not next time maybe the one after that.

Morning all, has anyone done Raheny before, whats the best time to get there at (race starts at 3pm), presume its just a general line up, no wave starts or anything? Feel like its a long time since I did a race that wasnt DCM related so feeling a bit nervous. Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Morning all, has anyone done Raheny before, whats the best time to get there at (race starts at 3pm), presume its just a general line up, no wave starts or anything? Feel like its a long time since I did a race that wasnt DCM related so feeling a bit nervous. Thanks!

30 minutes early should be fine, and there aren't any wave starts or anything like that.

RayCun wrote: »
    30 minutes early should be fine, and there aren't any wave starts or anything like that.

Thanks Ray, I'm excited and unfit in equal measure, cant wait though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

It's a nice race - fairly big but not crazy busy, lots of spectators around the course (not compared to the marathon, but more than most other races) and lots of sweets in the bag at the end :)

RayCun wrote: »

Whats the story with parking or where exactly is the location...i don't know the area at all and i'll will be coming in from m50 direction (if i can find it):rolleyes: any landmarks to watch out for???

are we going to try and do a meet up?

I'm hoping to be there around to 2 or earlier.

went out at lunch today and the wind was very strong and it really was a battle a some points on North road running straight into it, but at least it kept my pace down a bit....
    5.47m in 0:55:20 @ avg pace 10.07/159 avg HB

forget my question re parking etc...:o

I just went to the thread for the race and lots of info there......

Loads of options. Park at back of Supervalu in raheny (down slope). short hop to pick up number. Park in the church. Park in the Library (need to be early). Park along the road up from Black banks. First two options are best. Raheny is good for parking and the Shamrock folk do things well you will be ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

run44 wrote: »
    Wow Bob, well done! You got some serious miles in this week!
    Younganne wrote: »
    +1 Bob, great mileage...you will have no probs next week

QUOTE]

Thanks guys i wish i could say things were going as well this week. Been travelling with work so only have a poxy 4.5m done. Back to it tonight now but still.... I hope the rest will end up being like a taper for dungarvan.

Younganne wrote: »
    are we going to try and do a meet up?

Meet up sounds good, so whats the plan?

Did my first real fartlek session today. Bloody hell I am nearly dead, found it very tough. Could only manage 5 of them a mixture of wind snow and hills means I could not get the last one done.

Are you supposed to do them on a flat course because I did them on a hilly course and it nearly killed me.:)

But good to try something new bring on next week :eek:

Meet up sounds good, so whats the plan?

Someone who knows the area might make some suggestions as i haven't a clue!!
    Did my first real fartlek session today. Bloody hell I am nearly dead, found it very tough. Could only manage 5 of them a mixture of wind snow and hills means I could not get the last one done.

Are you supposed to do them on a flat course because I did them on a hilly course and it nearly killed me.:)

But good to try something new bring on next week :eek:

Well done Dave, ye they are great fun:eek:...doing them on hilly course will turn you into superman!!;)

I'm telling you Anne it was hell, but I enjoyed it in a weird way.

Do you do any training bar the running. I want to try maybe strength training also.

I'm telling you Anne it was hell, but I enjoyed it in a weird way.

Do you do any training bar the running. I want to try maybe strength training also.

i do the kettlebells once a week...class is 75mins and its great for strength & the core and i definitely feel it has helped me with staying upright when i get tired running instead of slumping which leads to better intake of oxygen so helps that way too.... Bob was thinking of starting it...wonder how it went for him...GalwayHooker started last week too...wonder how she got on.... i didn't go this evening as i had a dicky stomach:mad:

i'm not going to make Raheny afterall tomorrow...best of luck to everyone running it and Dungarvan

went out for run earlier 5.21m in 49.46 @9.33 avg pace, 164 avg H/B...it was very cold and my backside was frozen and my head sweating but i wouldn't take off the hat as there was a good stiff breeze which i didn't want to get into my ears!!!! Hping to 10/11m tomorrow in the morning before i have to head off..this will test the dedication. :rolleyes:

Dave get yourself to a yoga or pilates class. I have tried both and have to say i am preferring yoga at the moment as it does incorporate alot core and strength work. But i am not sure a pennys fearing man like yourself will go to a yoga class ;) a few men go to the one i go to and we don't laugh too much at them :D:D ah no seriously we don't at all

• Registered Users Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭meijin

I'm working my way through Convict Conditioning book - body weight exercises with many progression steps, starting with very easy ones, for example it starts with wall push-up and leads you to one arm push-ups ;) And the main thing is that I can do them all at home.

PS not going to make the Raheny race today... I've been sick with colds and sore throat this month on and off. It's all gone by now, but I didn't run enough to go for a race :(