Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM Class of 2011- the continuing challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Cheers Ecoli. Tough week ahead. Really enjoying doing the different types of running and I started in the gym this week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Name|Weeks Sessions|Weeks Total|Monthly Total|Yearly total|Comments
    BobMac104|6|50.5m|84.4m|256.8m|Tough week again, trying hard but enjoying it|
    Younganne|||71.36m|71.36m||
    red face dave|||16|91|
    Nules10 ||||128.2|
    Conseng||||
    run44|||116|116m||
    shazkea|||64|64|
    KittyMittens|||38.8|38.8||
    Cutex|||19|58.5|
    Alitoast|||65.0|65.0||

Good week. was feeling it big time on wednesday but managed to keep it going ok. Long run with the club lads yesterday was more like a race for me but enjoyable and legs are great this morning. I have a step back week planned for the week after this one so looking forward to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭run44

red face dave|||16|91|
    Nules10 ||||128.2|
    Conseng||||
    run44|4|32|49.8|147.9m|Longest LSR since DCM on Saturday, perfect weather and really enjoyed it|
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex|||19|58.5|
    Alitoast|||65.0|65.0||

red face dave|4|21|37|112|Tough week but enjoyed it all the same
    Nules10 ||||128.2|
    Conseng||||
    run44|4|32|49.8|147.9m|Longest LSR since DCM on Saturday, perfect weather and really enjoyed it|
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex|||19|58.5|
    Alitoast|||65.0|65.0||

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Younganne|3|14.7|34.22m|86.09m|only got out for 3 sessions this week, lots going on|
    Nules10 ||||128.2|
    Conseng||||
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex|||19|58.5|
    Alitoast|||65.0|65.0||

I've a lot going on at the moment and i missed the 3 miles on Thursday but added them into my sat session but missed the LSR on Sunday, so hope to get back on schedule, 3 week to the half so need to get a few long runs in!!:eek:

Managed the hills on sat but way too fast, nearly got sick on the 7th one, and got out for the 4m today and it was great...legs were fresh and i was really relaxed and did them avg pace@9.08 so was very happy with that as it didn't feel too fast!!!

nearly got sick on the 7th one,

now thats training!

What half are you doing Anne? sorry if i missed it.

BobMac104 wrote: »
    now thats training!

What half are you doing Anne? sorry if i missed it.

But the proof that i'm a real runner...i did the 8th just to finish out the session;):D

Meath Spring Marathon on March 4th in Bohermeen in Navan....

ah rite. Hopefully no pukeing on the day!

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Cutex

I'm off running this week cause I had crown lengthening done. Its bloody sore:(
    No running til next week and reading your posts makes me want to go out so badly. Ah well it's for the greater good as they say. Hope I won't fall too far behind with the new hill & interval training!

SOrry to hear that cutex! you wont fall back at all. just put this one down as a step back week maybe

Really starting to feel the benefits of all this training, done 4 miles both yesterday and today and 8.20 pace and found it quiet comfortable and was well able to keep conversation. Enjoying running at the moment.

Well done Anne you are back on track the half in Navan will be no problem to you. Cutex you will be grand the rest could be the best thing for you when you come back you will be flying it. Enjoy the break :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭alitoast

Younganne|3|14.7|34.22m|86.09m|only got out for 3 sessions this week, lots going on|
    Nules10 ||||128.2|
    Conseng||||
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex|||19|58.5|
    Alitoast|3|18.94|34.11|83.94|missing too many ru ns!!|

Best of luck in navan younganne, out the day before in kinvara, looking forward tot the race report (and writing my first!)

Having a good week so far. Ran everyday this week did my LSR today ran 9.5 miles in 83 mins at a nice a handy pace of 9.20.

Seem to have tweaked a muscle in my gluteus maximus:D but its not to bad. Hope to finish off the week tomorrow with a easy 4 miles. I know its not ideal way to train but cant be helped this week. Don't think I have ever trained for 5 days in a row.

Anyway how is everyone else week going.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Good going there Dave. I am not a fan of running the 5 days in a row but as you said if it's the only way to get it done so be it. Have to say I found the intervals yesterday really tough going. Have you plans for another race shortly

Cheer Nules. Cant seem to find a race. I hope to do 5k Portlaoise on Paddy's Day but I have a very busy 2 weekends before that so don't know what kind of shape I will be in. My main goal for the spring is the Ballina half in May want to break into the 1.40's. But need to find other races before that.

What's your plans? Navan and which marathon ?

Navan next month and then thinking cork in June can't do DCM this year :( am gutted but the sis is getting married in west cork the Saturday of the bank holiday.

Great stuff. Our paths may cross before the end of the year.:) Might join the group in the park some weekend for a run during training for Dublin.

Sure you would have loads of time to get back to Dublin for the marathon. Bloody sisters;)

Bloody sisters is right two of them getting married this year wrecking my running calendar :D I am going to do the training for DCM anyway and do the race series so will definitely see you at some of the Saturday runs. Although I don't see many of the speedy people for too long ;)

I was just thinking about the race series alright. Might do one or two of those

From what I can remember it was a great price for the 3 races. 5mile 10 mile and half for 50e I think... But don't quote me on that ;)

ye the race series is great but the numbers are huge now..great value and great tshirts after every race...i have done the 10m & half for the last 2 yrs but missed the 5m on both occasions but hoping this year to make all three!!!

Hope to at least do the 5 miles in June might try and get the wife to do it also small chance of that happening. Think she is catching the bug slowly.:D

BobMac104|||84.4m|256.8m||
    Younganne|4|26.78|61m|112.87m|4 sessions, better week this week:D|
    red face dave||37|112|
    Nules10 ||||128.2|
    Conseng||||
    run44|||49.8|147.9m||
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex|||19|58.5|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94|missing too many ru ns!!|

Did my LSR of 12m yesterday with company and it was lovely to be able to run and chat!! boy did we have all kinds of weather, sunshine with a bit of heat in it, wind, rain, hailstones and snow...and boy do hailstone hurt when hitting you straight in the face:eek:

red face dave |4|21.5|58.5|133.5|
    Nules10 ||||128.2|
    Conseng||||
    run44|||49.8|147.9m||
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex|||19|58.5|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94|missing too many ru ns!!|

I was having a good week until Thursday night when I got sick and that wrecked my weekend plans. Going to put in a good one this week and aim for 5 to 6 days training.

hope you're feeling better soon Dave, Seems to be a lot of bugs going about at the min.....

That's exactly what it was it knocks the stuffing out of you but good to go now.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭run44

red face dave |4|21.5|58.5|133.5|
    Nules10 ||||128.2|
    Conseng||||
    run44|3|24.1m|73.9|172m|Nice runs this week, going to build up the miles again next week|
    shazkea|||64|64|
    Cutex|||19|58.5|
    Alitoast|||34.11|83.94||

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Hi Folks

Another week down another few miles in the bank. Hopefully everyone got on ok with the two sessions this week. I know there are a few bugs going around at the moment so best to err on the side of caution if you need to. Its better to miss a day with sniffles than a few weeks with a chesy infection

Here is the plan for this week
    |Mon|Tue|Wed|Thur|Fri|Sat|Sun|
    |Rest|4m|1 mile easy, 6x600m @ 5 mile Race pace w / 90 secs , 1 mile easy|4m|rest|1mile easy, 8x1 min hills 1 mile easy|90 min easy

For those of you who are running the meath Half the following week I want you to do similar week to this but cut the volume a bit and hopefully let the legs get a bit more freshness into them:

|Mon|Tue|Wed|Thur|Fri|Sat|Sun|
    |Rest|3m|1 mile easy, 4x600m @ 5 mile Race pace w / 90 sec , 1 mile easy|3m|rest|1mile easy, 6x1 min hills 1 mile easy|75 min easy

Hows everyone doing..
    i changed things around a bit this week, did the 3m run, the intervals and the hills so far and hope to do the LSR tomorrow and the other short one on Sunday......
    Have to say i am loving the different types of training and an definitely finding the pace quickening!!!

Having a good week but low mileage. Have done 3 runs during the week. Did my sprint training yesterday it has to be one of the hardest bits of training I have ever done and that includes 20 miles before the marathon. Might have to give the LSR run a miss tomorrow but hope to do the hill training on Sunday