Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best web browser for windows 95.

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,679 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

just upgrade the god. damn. hardware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,031 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Maybe he's working for the North Korean missile program:

http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/borowitzreport/2013/04/north-korean-missile-test-delayed-by-windows-8.html
    Intelligence analysts said that the announcement gave rare insight into the inner workings of North Korea’s missile program, which until last year had been running on Windows 95.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭RodgersLFC

Windows 95 in this day and age? Christ. Does this mean we're going to be seeing threads like this with people looking for browsers for Windows XP in 2020? :o

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

RodgersLFC wrote: »
    Windows 95 in this day and age? Christ. Does this mean we're going to be seeing threads like this with people looking for browsers for Windows XP in 2020? :o

This wouldn't actually surprise me ;)

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,239 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Lads I have a Commadore Amiga A600 at home... does anyone have a Google Chrome installer for it?

I'd like to get it online with my surprisingly really existing PCMCIA wifi card.

Cheers dudes, any and all help appreciated.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Achilles wrote: »
    Lads I have a Commadore Amiga A600 at home... does anyone have a Google Chrome installer for it?

I'd like to get it online with my surprisingly really existing PCMCIA wifi card.

Cheers dudes, any and all help appreciated.
    This is the windows forum :mad:

you probably want all things retro ;)
    IIRC there is an amiga forum somewhere on boards , or at least threads

Where's Amigaman when you need him ?

pcmcia drivers will be difficult, check out the old DOS point enabled ones for more info (maybe)

easiest thing to do is to get an emulator and try candidate browsers on it

Anyway
    http://www.amiga.org/forums/archive/index.php/t-54251.html

This is the windows forum :mad:

you probably want all things retro ;)
    IIRC there is an amiga forum somewhere on boards , or at least threads

Where's Amigaman when you need him ?

pcmcia drivers will be difficult, check out the old DOS point enabled ones for more info (maybe)

easiest thing to do is to get an emulator and try candidate browsers on it

Anyway
    http://www.amiga.org/forums/archive/index.php/t-54251.html
    Ahh ok well how do I install Windows 95 on my Amiga then?

• Registered Users Posts: 33 raxor

Alright lads, just thought I'd give this thread a bit of further life, it's been quite interestin and informative so far!

So in college, some of the testing machines and presses etc. are still run on W95. They wouldn't need to be networked as far as I know, since it's just one computer for each bit of machinery.

My question is, excluding virtual machines etc. for the moment, how hard would it be to make them work on a modern computer with a modern operating system (Windows 7 for example)? Are the main issues hardware or software? Don't get me wrong, this is probably never gonna happen, but I'm interested in a purely hypothetical way.

My (mediocrely techie, but no experience with this type of thing) thinkin, is that if somethin could work on hardware that old with W95, then surely to jaysus there must be a way to make it work on W7? Would it involve writin the software from scratch or somethin similar? I might be way off here but I was always interested to find out if/how it could be done!

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Patrick 1

raxor wrote: »
    then surely to jaysus there must be a way to make it work on W7?

Ah if only, as operating systems update the fundamental ways that they address software and hardware also change. This means how a w95 machine processes data is vastly different to windows 7.
    Also, in a lot of cases these legacy machines are in use because of specialist software purchased for a bulk sum as a one time deal. This deal may have been great back then but the lack of updates or support for them now are a major problem. The best solution I've seen was a creative route, where a computer running 95 gave results, saved to a floppy. This floppy put into XP, format updated and transferred to usb, then onto windows 7. It was hilarious, the file formats back then opening on a modern PC look like a pile of gibberish.

TL:DR W95 wasn't made that forward compatible, a complete software/hardware overhaul is the way forward.

oh, and google dosbox, that'll teach yerr.

Baring a VM? I think you're pushing it there, as far as I remember Windows 95 was a 16bit OS with a vastly different API as to what Windows 7 has now, not to mention Windows 7 being designed by 32bit and 64bit processors.

You could *try* and make the software work with all manner of hacks but it really REALLY wouldn't be worth your while. Having a CPU with on board virtualisation would pretty much be all you would need, all of the actual hardware in the more modern machine can be made to interact with the Windows 95 virtual machine as far as Windows 95 will support, ie you won't be able to use USB on Win95 for instance.

Yeah... erm... what are these companies going to do when these machines eventually stop booting? At some point they'll realise that they need a new solution for this day and age.

Software can be purchased that does that one particular job and does it well by modern standards, you can also purchase support contracts that would entitle you to future program updates etc.

Really... running an old Win95 machine to run plant equipment in this day and age whilst I can understand why it's there also makes absolutely no bloody sense whatsoever.

If these machines get exposed to the Internet then really all people do is create canon fodder for a bored script kiddie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Yeah... erm... what are these companies going to do when these machines eventually stop booting? At some point they'll realise that they need a new solution for this day and age.

I know of at least one company that has several identical computers just in case the current one goes bang. They're probably set for at least the next 20 years.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

raxor wrote: »
    Alright lads, just thought I'd give this thread a bit of further life, it's been quite interestin and informative so far!

So in college, some of the testing machines and presses etc. are still run on W95. They wouldn't need to be networked as far as I know, since it's just one computer for each bit of machinery.

My question is, excluding virtual machines etc. for the moment, how hard would it be to make them work on a modern computer with a modern operating system (Windows 7 for example)? Are the main issues hardware or software? Don't get me wrong, this is probably never gonna happen, but I'm interested in a purely hypothetical way.

My (mediocrely techie, but no experience with this type of thing) thinkin, is that if somethin could work on hardware that old with W95, then surely to jaysus there must be a way to make it work on W7? Would it involve writin the software from scratch or somethin similar? I might be way off here but I was always interested to find out if/how it could be done!

Life would be easier for university sysadmins if that were the case.

Factors you've got to deal with:
    • The hardware interface supported/required by the machinery
    • The add-in cards available to provide that kind of hardware interface on a PC
    • Driver support
    • Availability of official software that works with the hardware & interface
    • OS Support from official software
    • Compatibility requirements for new software stemming from original configuration/design documents used with equipment
    • Available funds

The place where I work still has some experimental equipment controlled by an old crapbox of dubious provenance running FreeDOS, because the equipment requires DOS or FreeDOS for the control software. Upgrading the software requires upgrading the interface card, which in turn requires upgrading parts of the equipment so that, in the end, you're talking about spending £20K. (The equipment in question cost somewhere north of £100K, so this is not as horrible as it might sound - but it's not something that's going to happen just because a sysadmin got stroppy about someone's FreeDOS install).

Short answer: If I had to guess I'd say probably not. If it was as easy as you'd like to think for someone non-technical to do this, someone non-technical would have tried it by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

This is why I think there is a niche in SCADA Pen testing. The phrase fish in a barrel springs to mind.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

syklops wrote: »
    This is why I think there is a niche in SCADA Pen testing. The phrase fish in a barrel springs to mind.

Stuxnet has already demonstrated this - there was an interesting breakdown of exactly how it works in a recent issue of 2600 and while it made use of various components it was specifically targeted at industrial equipment of a defined make & model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

syklops wrote: »

I remember reading some very scary numbers about web exposed PLCs and other automation equipment. The majority of which were left with the default access settings.

Unfortunately, companies are painfully reluctant to pay for any kind of security testing. I put together a rough outline of security issues facing one client and their response was basically, "Sure, we know its bad".

I demonstrated another vulnerability in a system to the manager of a hospitality chain, and they defended the system by saying "Well, you probably can't do very much with that access". Which is manager speak for, "I'm not prepared to spend money on finding out".

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Ahh ok well how do I install Windows 95 on my Amiga then?
    All you need to do is figure out how to run javascript on it and then use a 386 emulator :rolleyes:

http://www.geekosystem.com/linux-kernel-pc-emulator-javascript/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Traitor

So, in reply to the OP...

NT3.51 and Win95 binaries of Mozilla SeaMonkey 1.1.20pre, Firefox 2.0.0.22pre, and Thunderbird 2.0.0.25pre patched to support "HTML5" are available.

http://toastytech.com/files/95browsing.html

Traitor wrote: »
    So, in reply to the OP...

NT3.51 and Win95 binaries of Mozilla SeaMonkey 1.1.20pre, Firefox 2.0.0.22pre, and Thunderbird 2.0.0.25pre patched to support "HTML5" are available.

http://toastytech.com/files/95browsing.html

Ohh god... WHY does this exist?!

This by far has been one of my favorite threads that gets accidentally bumped once in a while.

I love the internet.

I remember reading some very scary numbers about web exposed PLCs and other automation equipment. The majority of which were left with the default access settings.

Google Shodan. Its a search engine but instead of being for websites, its for services running on other ports. Some of the things that it has found connected to the internet is really scary. It goes way beyond printers and cctv camera. Pumps in water treatment plants, wind turbines, refrigerators. You name it. Its not free(thankfully), but for about $40 you can scan and find all sorts of things.

Overheal wrote: »
    This by far has been one of my favorite threads that gets accidentally bumped once in a while.

I love the internet.

Sorry I can't seem to load your comment on my Nokia 3210. What were you trying to say?

Sorry my 3650 is too advanced for you.

Thats right. I won that mother****er on a coke label in Ennis

• Registered Users Posts: 7 mister_minn

Perhaps this cloud based solution would suffice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

All you need to do is figure out how to run javascript on it and then use a 386 emulator :rolleyes:

http://www.geekosystem.com/linux-kernel-pc-emulator-javascript/

So.......I might eventually get to run Grand Prix 2 on my current machine ! :cool:

Actually the game is still running on my Packard Bell, 120MHz PC, 8MB ram, 1GB HD, 1997 (internet virgin) computer. It was a great game, and could be modded till the cows come home !

Grand_Prix_2_Coverart.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I love this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Traitor

PropJoe10 wrote: »
    I love this thread!

Glad I bumped it. :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D