Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The positivity thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭TheyKnowMyIP

Roddy Doyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

The mods haven't yet found out about the hard core porn I've been sharing via PM's. That's a positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

That is probably one of the only "cheery" radiohead songs I've ever heard. Most of their stuff would drive somebody to Depression. Seriously though, dreary stuff normally. I don't like RadioHead too much.

Another plus, we have a very rich cultural heritage. I can't even count the number of Americans I have encountered claiming to have "irish blood":)

You listened to that song and said this song is cheery?

A song with the line "I hope your rules and wisdom choke you?"

and closes with the repeated line "We hope that you choke".

And "Now we are one in everlasting peace" as both the subject and the author are both dead? (Romeo and Juliet effectively)

Yeah............ cheery :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I have 2 jobs!

I have food.

Football Special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

The mods haven't yet found out about the hard core porn I've been sharing via PM's yet. That's a positive.

:mad: why have I not gotten any yet?

ok positives...... am....

I am reasonably physically healthy now.
    I have an apartment in a good location for decent rent.
    For the first time ever I have a group of real friends.
    Financially I'm ok (even though that is likely to change soon)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭TheyKnowMyIP

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Rega

If we qualify for the European Championships nobody will give a shíte about the recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,509 ✭✭✭cml387

Brian Cowen will never be taoiseach again.

The pleasure our rugby team has given us.

A summer night in the Irish countryside.

Mary Black singing "Song for Ireland"

Dick Warner's television programme on the Royal Canal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 547 ✭✭✭HugoBradyBrown

And Marty Whelan announced to the nation yesterday morning that preparations on the National Selection Process leading to the Eurovision Grand Prix Song Contest in Baku, Azerbaijan, are well-advanced within Montrose. There is a sense of Spring in the air when we think of the Eurovision Grand Prix. (And if we do better this year and win, we have the 2013 Grand Prix Contest to look forward to in Dublin!)

More of this is to be had on Marty in the Morning, on RTE Lyric FM, on weekdays from 7am to 10 am.

Hugo Brady Brown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭ynul31f47k6b59

Positive:

Won a fiver on a scratchcard today.
    Have lost 30.5lbs since June.
    Going shopping tomorrow with a friend.

Good times!

And Marty Whelan announced to the nation yesterday morning that preparations on the National Selection Process leading to the Eurovision Grand Prix Song Contest in Baku, Azerbaijan, are well-advanced within Montrose. There is a sense of Spring in the air when we think of the Eurovision Grand Prix. (And if we do better this year and win, we have the 2013 Grand Prix Contest to look forward to in Dublin!)

More of this is to be had on Marty in the Morning, on RTE Lyric FM, on weekdays from 7am to 10 am.

Hugo Brady Brown

Are you.....Marty?

cml387 wrote: »
    Are you.....Marty?

Am I Marty Whelan??!!! No. Why? I imagine he's too busy, what with one thing and another, to have time for Boards.

(I do love Marty in the Morning on RTE Lyric FM, though: weekdays from 7 to 10 am.)

Hugo Brady Brown

Am I Marty Whelan??!!! No. Why? I imagine he's too busy, what with one thing and another, to have time for Boards.

(I do love Marty in the Morning on RTE Lyric FM, though: weekdays from 7 to 10 am.)

Hugo Brady Brown

Do you love him at night too?

Stupid User Name

Do you love him at night too?

Stupid User Name

Good point, but because he's on so early (RTE Lyric FM from 7 to 10 am weekdays), I usually try to get an early night, so that I don't miss any of it. But thanks for asking. I think he would be excellent if we scheduled him then too: nice jazz, some Peggy Lee, a bit of Puccini - something like The Blue, only funnier, I suppose.

Hugo Brady Brown

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭seamusmcspud

I've no willy!!!

When is Marty on radio again?

cml387 wrote: »
    When is Marty on radio again?

Now, now, don't be taking the Michael!

But he's on TV on every Saturday with what he laughingly tells us here are "The Streakers"!!! There's Positivity for you, with a capital P!

Hugo Brady Brown

p.s. - Marty in the Morning, RTE Lyric FM, 7 to 10 am, weekdays. (With special broadcasts every Thursday from Dundrum Shopping Centre, where Santa Claus arrived tonight! And with Neven Maguire the Michelin Chef every Friday around 9 am.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Ah here, there's nothing positive about Marty Whelan - how did he end up in the positivity thread??

Good point, but because he's on so early (RTE Lyric FM from 7 to 10 am weekdays), I usually try to get an early night, so that I don't miss any of it. But thanks for asking. I think he would be excellent if we scheduled him then too: nice jazz, some Peggy Lee, a bit of Puccini - something like The Blue, only funnier, I suppose.

Hugo Brady Brown

So what you're saying is you'd like to be able to love him every night?

Ah here, there's nothing positive about Marty Whelan - how did he end up in the positivity thread??

With respect, I feel that nobody who had listened to a mere 30 minutes of Marty in the Morning (7 - 10am, RTE Lyric FM, weekdays) could say that with any sincerity or with a straight face. I suspect some sophisticated 'trolling' may be going on here, since Marty is positivity personified.

Please all, listen to the programme tomorrow morning (7 - 10 am), even just this once, and see the most positive outlook possible on the world being projected by a professional broadcaster who combines the best of Gay, of Terry Wogan, of Mike Murphy, of Tommy O'Brien and so forth with the most impressive knowledge of classical popular music; all this he leverages using his facility with language and his rapid yet gentle wit, to produce radio that amounts to a modest work of art. His listeners, at least, turn off their radios feeling happier, gayer and more ready to confront the world: Marty in the Morning is like a dose of Positive Medicine, doled out free of charge for three hours daily, every weekday.

Hugo Brady Brown

So what you're saying is you'd like to be able to love him every night?

But, clearly, if we had him at night, we couldn't have him in the morning. In practical terms of Positivity for the nation, I think Marty is a better rooster than an owl: he gets us up, bright-eyed, bushy-tailed and laughing into our Shredded Wheat, and enables us to face the streets, smiling to ourselves, with a spring in our step and with joy in our hearts.

At night, he might just possibly get the pulse racing, and keep us energetically awake, thoughts racing through our heads. No, for night time, we need someone like Paul Herriott or Eamonn Lawlor; undemanding radio, with somniferous, soporific voices. Each to his own, of course, and let the cobbler stick to his last.

Hugo Brady Brown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

The rain is a positivity ;) Met an American from Wyoming that loved the rain, now you think wtf but that person loved all the greenery and wet climate, guess its mostly unspoilt that attracts them here.

Weather ain't too cold or too warm, its actually quite alright. Actually there are Irish people that like the weather, me included as we hate the sun as it burns our skin to red blisters even if you had sunblock factor 1000 applied! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

mates that take the p1ss all the time, pass remarks in public that would get you locked up, work like trojans and party like demons, drink the pub dry and yet still get up for work at 6am, take nothing seriously, love their mammies and their missus'es and their kids, whinge all day long but get on with it like no-one else- only in Ireland and all positives. Wouldn't swap for the world. Been and worked all over the world, still love coming home. To me, best country going.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Haven't read personal issues in a few weeks looking for 'inspiration' so that's always a good sign things are good :)

I have just remembered RTE Lyric FM's slogan or motto : "Where Life Sounds Better" !

Great stuff!

Hugo Brady Brown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

The mods haven't yet found out about the hard core porn I've been sharing via PM's. That's a positive.
    :mad: why have I not gotten any yet?

I don't have any of that type of porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

If you're on facebook at all you should look at 'Success Nation', especially their video links.

This will pull at your heart-strings :)

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭Recognition Scene

maximoose wrote: »
    Radiohead tour dates, BAM!

Heading to the Dallas and Houston gigs! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

1. We are not greek
    2. Georgia Salpa:D

And the highly successful Ronan Collins tribute show to Joe Dolan will be in the Wexford Opera House later in the month: surely the highlight of the month there! It should be on TV in time for Christmas as a Special.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭pbowenroe

you really are something, hugo

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

I'm listening to Abbey Road.

A good album from top Irish rock group, the Beatles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Probably the most uplifting experience I've ever had was when I got talkin to a guy at a bus-stop. Started slagging him because he was wearing a Liverpool jersey and after a few minutes the conversation let him mention he'd had a heart transplant 6 weeks earlier. To meet someone who went through all that (and more that I could never understand) and was walking around with hardly a bother on him put a smile on my face for weeks. :)

I don't have any of that type of porn.

>_>

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭crank_1975

Dublin have the Sam....even though it happened 2 months ago it still brings a smile to my face every time I think back to that day in Croker :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Right, the Eurocrats and the banks have a great pull over a vast number of Irish people, and things are bad at present. Despite these big setbacks, what positives can you pluck from this sea of constant negativity?

1: We still have very nice natural scenery. No amount of money can replace billions of years of natural shaping.

2: We don't drink that ****e UHT milk our EU seem to love so much as your man from Father Ted mentioned.

3: I actually like bad weather, anywhere that is too humid with sun splitting the rocks is a no go area on my watch.

4: Resilience. Most are smart enough to understand that protesting won't lead to much real change.

5: We still have a 12.5% tax rate. Last time I checked, Intel hasn't left.

List some more. I am sure there are some, despite what the media fear mongering machine might lead you to believe:)
    mickrock wrote: »
    A good album from top Irish rock group, the Beatles.

I love our charming Irish way of missing the point of a thread :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

We still have Joe Duffy looking out for us. Sure we'll be grand :)

Wattle wrote: »
    We still have Joe Duffy looking out for us. Sure we'll be grand :)

Yes, there's a lot of truth in that. Joe has, in a very real sense, filled the void left by the Ombudsman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭pbowenroe

WE'RE GOING TO ****ING POLAND AND UKRAINE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Scenery is nice I suppose but fuk all use if you can't pay your gas bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Wattle wrote: »
    Scenery is nice I suppose but fuk all use if you can't pay your gas bill.
    It is actually beyond astounding that you managed to take a compliment about our scenery, and draw a parallel with not being able to pay a gas bill.
    Thinly veiled attempt to complain in a positive thread!

On topic:
    Have to say that I was in Dublin really early this morning at sunrise and it looked great! I know people complain about not having skyscrapers and stuff but I like that the city has character with a mix of old and new buildings as you look down along the quays.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Malpaisian

Everything is just fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Red Lemonade

Suck it europe :pac:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 250 ✭✭DuPLeX