Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Messi Or Ronaldo?

One is a Footballer and one is a Poser, i will let you choose which.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Spazdarn wrote: »
    It does carry a little weight though as he's never reproduced the same form for Argentina.

Yeh just got them to a WC Final...

Ronaldo got them to.... The group Stages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

People saying Messi hasnt produced for Argentina, biggest bullshít ive heard in my life. The man is exceptional for Argentina. People making that comment definitely do not watch Argentina.

He has got 95 caps for Argentina, has scored 45 goals. Fairly brilliant in my opinion.

And 44 of those caps were when he was under the age of 21 and still establishing himself at Barcelona. When you look at his international performances between 2009 - 2014 (the time he was at peak club form) he has been as good with Argentina with 32 goals in 52 appearances.

Please dont use the "Messi isnt as good for Argentina argumemt". Its simply not true.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Messi wasn't amazing at the finals either really, flashes of his usual brilliance.

The team Ronaldo plays with at Portugal are poor enough compared, and definitely not on the same level as the Argentinians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Here come the 'Ronnie' was injured arguments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

JavierMascheranoArgentina2-NetherlandsWorldCup2014-ISIPhotos.jpg

Javier would like a word...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

He sure was on the field when they got to the world cup final, no doubt about that.

La Liga Hat-Tricks

Ronaldo - 23
    Messi - 21

Hat-Tricks not including penalties

Ronaldo - 9
    Messi - 17

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

This debate will never be 100% in anyone's favour.

One naturally gifted.
    The other made himself what he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

One is a Footballer and one is a Poser, i will let you choose which.

haha messi all day

Ronaldos penalty secret is out.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

La Liga Hat-Tricks

Ronaldo - 23
    Messi - 21

Hat-Tricks not including penalties

Ronaldo - 9
    Messi - 17

Messi is clearly shite at penalties ;)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Messi is clearly shite at penalties ;)

Ronaldo is clearly unreal at diving ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

brevity wrote: »

Seriously? It's a nice touch and all but the fact CR7 is engraved on it would piss me off to no end.

Bit of a strange one alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Goal 31 of the season by Ronaldo.

What a machine.

...and Goal 32 of the season.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

He had a shocker to be fair, but he kept trying to make chances and get in scoring positions right to the end, and was rewarded with the two goals.

23rd game of the season and he has 32 goals and 14 assists. 25 goals in the league by mid-December, mental.

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭yohan the great

Player A has been at an impossibly high standard for the entire year.

Player B was great, then his form dipped, now he is great again.

In some peoples minds that makes Player B most deserving of the award. And makes me wonder about their judgement.

World cup not count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Well Ronaldo played **** tonight for 75 minutes. Messi did likewise against Valencia. Ergo, they're both sht.

Logic of this thread.

Messi will be remembered as the better player. Thats what counts in the end. He has more natural genius than Ronaldo (the little flicks, mazy dribbles, exceptional vision). Whereas Ronaldo is more power, pace, goals than intricate beautiful play.

Messi is easier on the eye, and ultimately is more naturally talented.

Greatest ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Messi will be remembered as the better player. Thats what counts in the end. He has more natural genius than Ronaldo (the little flicks, mazy dribbles, exceptional vision). Whereas Ronaldo is more power, pace, goals than intricate beautiful play.

Messi is easier on the eye, and ultimately is more naturally talented.

Greatest ever.

Pretty much my thoughts on the whole thing. Both tremendous athletes but Messi will always look better on the highlight reels. He's this generations Maradona. Whereas Ronaldo will be remembered as a world class goal scorer. Which isn't exactly a bad endorsement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭larchielads

I get the op asked who would ye vote for to win the ballon do. But some have argued who is better out of the two. I know it's all personal opinion and no one's ever gonna be right but to throw a little curve ball in it u have 6 games left to stay in the league and by some miracle u can afford the 2 of email but only allowed by one then which one to save your season.
    Don't say well buy none cos it costs too much blah blah or whatever. U can only pick onew.
    or
    who do u reckon would be missed the most from their teams? Who'd finish higher real or barca?

See, the problem there is Madrid are the better managed side. Barca are more dependent on Messi but only because they don't look sure of themselves.

If Messi and Ronaldo swapped clubs Barca would still be the one's lacking.

Madrid currently have the better team, better manager and are far more enjoyable to watch.

If messi get's injured Barca are deep sht, unless Enrique figures out the team's identity. If Ronaldo get's injured Madrid will be fine. Just obviously not possessing the same fear factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭larchielads

Well who do u pick to save your season?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Well who do u pick to save your season?

Messi because he's better at linking up play.

Presumably Ronaldo would struggle to get any supply. Messi's game involves dropping deep. Ronnie less so. And I can't see a team struggling for survival being able to launch coherent counters that penetrate the opposition defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

Ronaldo is definately better looking than messi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭chicorytip

pudzey101 wrote: »
    who do you guys rate as better?
    Alot of people i know think Ronaldo is a god :confused:
    Has to be Messi though :)
    But who do you vote for?!

Rooney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,561 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Can't get onto Twitter here. What is the stat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

CSF wrote: »
    Can't get onto Twitter here. What is the stat?

Ronaldo's best year:
    61 goals 22 assists

Messi's worst year:
    58 goals 22 assists

That isn't messi's worst year, it cant be as he hasnt got that every year since he's joined so what timeline is it referring to?

Ronaldo's best year:
    61 goals 22 assists

Messi's worst year:
    58 goals 22 assists

That isn't messi's worst year, it cant be as he hasnt got that every year since he's joined so what timeline is it referring to?

You're right. Maybe it's since both were competing in La Liga together?

It's especially interesting as Messi had 41 goals and 11 assists last year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,561 ✭✭✭✭CSF

You're right. Maybe it's since both were competing in La Liga together?
    I still don't think its correct.

I think it refers to people going on like last year was a bad year for Messi when in reality it was anything but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

CSF wrote: »
    I still don't think its correct.

I think it refers to people going on like last year was a bad year for Messi when in reality it was anything but.

That's probably it in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,609 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

They're picking the Ballon d'Or tonight, I think Messi should get it.

Messi says he's staying at Barcelona.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/30773367

If he was to leave I think the only possible place for him to go to would be Bayern Munich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Bayern couldn't afford to either buy him or pay his wages. They're famously stingy.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,609 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Bayern couldn't afford to either buy him or pay his wages. They're famously stingy.

If that's the case he'll remain at Barca.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Ronaldo favourite at the moment

Can only be him based on the last year really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Ronaldo favourite at the moment

Can only be him based on the last year really

Ronaldo all day long this year and I'd be a bigger fan of Messi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,977 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Personally I think Neuer will get it given he was on a World Cup winning team and he deserves it too imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

come on the #sweeperkeeper.

4a2f3bab40f94ed64c04148733b4123568b197a3b4cd2cdb2a75e3a735605e41.jpg

Ronaldo (37.66%) wins with more votes than Messi (15.76%) and Neuer (15.72%) combined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Billy86 wrote: »
    Ronaldo (37.66%) wins with more votes than Messi (15.76%) and Neuer (15.72%) combined.

Then he goes and reacts like this:

https://vine.co/v/ODiFLTrFiZJ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

L'prof wrote: »
    Then he goes and reacts like this:

https://vine.co/v/ODiFLTrFiZJ

Completely uncalled for.

It's crap like that, that makes him difficult to like for a lot of people.

Classy reaction.

Deserved the award though without a doubt