Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drunk on a bike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

The UK government are considering creating a new offense of causing death by dangerous cycling with a maximum penalty of two years imprisonment.

Currently the maximum penalty in the UK for causing death by dangerous driving is fourteen years.

Apparently people are more dead when they get killed by a driver ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

you can't get done for drink driving anyhow

a lot of people out the country cycle after drink rather than risk the vehicle

i do it myself and it's great craic:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

It is no different a drink driving offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

I'd like to see a cop or a judge stop ME riding my...... what's this thread about again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,742 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I was arrested in rathmines for drunk cycling. Three of us in total wete done. Apparently we were causing a nuisance on the road between rathmines and rathgar. We fell againest a few parked cats ;) no charge just a night in the cells. To top it off it was on my 18th birthday and had only gone across to the station at six for a drink after work, ended up staying till close

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

ted1 wrote: »
    I was arrested in rathmines for drunk cycling. Three of us in total wete done. Apparently we were causing a nuisance on the road between rathmines and rathgar. We fell againest a few parked cats ;) no charge just a night in the cells. To top it off it was on my 18th birthday and had only gone across to the station at six for a drink after work, ended up staying till close

Parked cats, did their alarms go off miaoww style?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I done it once, I absolutely would never do it again, I cycled from the Phoenix park to Coolock and must have heard every horn along my route, utter madness and very dangerous, but hey I was young and pissed and I made it intactish, I did fall off my bike a few times and when I got in, my ma belted me for being so stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

I am perfectly capable of cycling safely where there is no traffic up to a limit of 6 Pints and 2 whiskies. But with traffic, I'd chance it on up to 5 Pints.

Fortunately, out here in the developing world, the last rookie police officer who DARED stop me got the face eaten off him by the local chief superintendent who I happen to drink with and I am on the same pool team as him. Whats up?

Rookie cop "Were you drinking"

Me "Your damn right I was"

Rookie cop "Can I see your ID"

Me "Sure, but do you want a drink or a transfer" (gets phone and calls Chief Super Rodwan.....smiling.....the same smile a shark gives when he sees a nice tasty mackerel)

Rookie cop "Did you see the arrows"

Me "Follow the arrows.....I did'nt see any Indians" (police officer laughs nervously) Phone ringing

(Ah Rodwan, Dermo here, small little problem on the way home with badge C186P. Hahaha.....yeah I know......why do you think I use a bicycle instead of a car. Besides, its only 3km on a quiet back road. Oh......hes just out collecting cash for Eid (Muslim New Year). Put him on.....sure)

Me "Officer.....phone call for you"

Cop on my phone (Yes sir, yes sir.....ok....yes sir)

Copper "Sorry Mr Dermo"

Me "No problem, have a good evening"

(*thinks.....bet the poor bugger would never suspect a pissed white guy on a bike knew his boss)

Its a bit like a liberal tropical version of the Ireland I used to know before I left. The Ireland where common sense prevailed, before lawyers, Health and Safety freaks, and jobsworths took over and screwed it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Broads.ie

dermo88 wrote: »
    I am perfectly capable of cycling safely where there is no traffic up to a limit of 6 Pints and 2 whiskies. But with traffic, I'd chance it on up to 5 Pints.

Fortunately, out here in the developing world, the last rookie police officer who DARED stop me got the face eaten off him by the local chief superintendent who I happen to drink with and I am on the same pool team as him. Whats up?

Rookie cop "Were you drinking"

Me "Your damn right I was"

Rookie cop "Can I see your ID"

Me "Sure, but do you want a drink or a transfer" (gets phone and calls Chief Super Rodwan.....smiling.....the same smile a shark gives when he sees a nice tasty mackerel)

Rookie cop "Did you see the arrows"

Me "Follow the arrows.....I did'nt see any Indians" (police officer laughs nervously) Phone ringing

(Ah Rodwan, Dermo here, small little problem on the way home with badge C186P. Hahaha.....yeah I know......why do you think I use a bicycle instead of a car. Besides, its only 3km on a quiet back road. Oh......hes just out collecting cash for Eid (Muslim New Year). Put him on.....sure)

Me "Officer.....phone call for you"

Cop on my phone (Yes sir, yes sir.....ok....yes sir)

Copper "Sorry Mr Dermo"

Me "No problem, have a good evening"

(*thinks.....bet the poor bugger would never suspect a pissed white guy on a bike knew his boss)

Its a bit like a liberal tropical version of the Ireland I used to know before I left. The Ireland where common sense prevailed, before lawyers, Health and Safety freaks, and jobsworths took over and screwed it up.

Wtf.... this isn't a travel blog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭idunnoshur

When myself and the lads were about 16 we went on the lash in one of the local drinking spots.

Most of us only had a 10-15 minute walk but Joe lived about 20 minutes away so he was cycling, we all got pissed and the friend that cycled got pulled on the way home. The Guard threw his bicycle over a wall, brought him home and made him go in and get his parents and tell them what he had done.

He didn't hear any more about it from the Guards but the parents wouldn't let him out for weeks after.

It didn't put him off drink driving at all and he got put off the road last month, this time for driving a car.

I done this years ago, I wouldn't say I was pissed but definitely well oiled. People never, never, never again, I can't begin to tell you how dangerous it was coming up the quays in rush hour and my balance off key to say the least. From there right to Coolock I must have been beeped about 20 times. It was totally irresponsible and I was a danger to myself and others. It really is not worth it whether it is legal or not.

I think you can be done, if not, it should be absolutely against the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

If you get passed slightly tipsy its worth getting a taxi just leaving your bike locked somewhere..
    but oh no's what will happen to my bike.

Well if its a piece of shít like my old one you can leave it locked to a railing on Leeson street for a week and nothing will happen to it, maybe I was lucky :D

But if you do find yourself trying to cycle home after a few unexpected drinks even walking the bike home is worth it, you will walk some of the drink off ya too, and well if you can't manage to walk it just nestle in you and your bike into a nice bush for the night, wink wink wink twitch twitch wink...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Cycled a bike locked before, also knackered tiered as I has worked at least 2 solid weeks. Anyone know Knockmaroon hill in Chapelizod? Went down it on the bike locked & in the dark. How I didn't kill myself I will never know, I do remember having a very bad wobble.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

Cycled home drunk one night recently. Garda car pulled up beside me and rolled down the window. I had no lights and they said that's why they stopped me. They could tell I was a little bit too drunk. They were generally pretty grand about it. Told me to be careful, cycle on the path the rest of the way and get some lights.

I wish all Guards were as sound as these lads. Anyway I got myself some lights and plan to cycle home more often, cheaper than taxi and the fresh air sobers you up a bit. Now I just cycle on the path, which after a few pints is more like a video game as you try to avoid the lamp-posts or try keep between those concrete lines, you know the ones where the rip up the path to lay new cables and then fill it in again...it makes a little track specifically designed to keep me entertained on the cycle home.

Cycling on the path is grand too as long as you wait till you get out of the centre, at 3am there's nobody walking so I'm a danger to no-one.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

doovdela wrote: »
    It is no different a drink driving offence.

Yes it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Used to cycle back from town on nights out pretty regularly, and I woke up back at home with my bike sitting outside and no memory of cycling back more times than I'd care to admit. Never wore a helmet so how I didn't kill myself or someone else over the years I'll never know. It was either my mad skills or retarded luck

I was once drunk and I was walking home to the hostel in Skibberine it was jet black and all I could make out was the line in the middle of the country lane. So anyways I walked right into a cyclist, and yes he had lights.

I picked myself up and said my apologies and got back to the hostel. I woke up the next morning in bits and not really remembering the incident. So I became convinced that the barman was slopping the Dub with the bad porter, then I noticed the bruising in the shower and it then dawned on me what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Brother did it in England. Hit a kerb, broke his cheek bone, lost his eyesight in one of his eyes. He was so inebriated, he thought he could walk it off and was found by the police walking his bike home with his eye partially hanging out...bloody idiot!
    He was lucky the cable was still attached to the eye socket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

dermo88 wrote: »
    ...........why do you think I use a bicycle instead of a car. ....

No idea. Is it a magical bicycle?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Here in Austria, they stamp down on it frequently.
    Often see police checkpoints on cycle paths stopping to check for lights, tyre condition and for cycling over the limit. God forbid them for riding on a footpath or going through a red light!

A waiter I worked with was caught riding home after a few pints, he was fined more than 1000 and banned from driving his car for 2 months and forced to attend a psychology course.

In return for these sanctions though, cyclists are given a fantastic cycling network with great road rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Happened to my mate in Germany, was drunk cycling home and he got his bike took off him and banned from the road for a year... A bit harsh I think.

Why harsh? He was a danger to other road users and some poor unfortunate innocent driver could have crashed trying to avoid him.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Why harsh? He was a danger to other road users and some poor unfortunate innocent driver could have crashed trying to avoid him.

Same could happen with a drunk pedestrian in fairness, should the same rules apply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭thebullkf

Same could happen with a drunk pedestrian in fairness, should the same rules apply?

the same bull$hit arguments pop up.... ffs.

being drunk on a bike is completely different to walking drunk. you know this.

thebullkf wrote: »
    the same bull$hit arguments pop up.... ffs.

being drunk on a bike is completely different to walking drunk. you know this.

There's not a significant difference in the ability to cause a road accident.

can you back that up with stats?

thebullkf wrote: »
    can you back that up with stats?

Obviously that's impossible. How many times have you heard of road fatalities caused by drunk cyclists?

I know when I did it I nearly cause my own fatality, now I am sure if I was killed, that would deeply effect the motorist who would have hit me.

then why say it:confused:

cycling and walking are two completely different things, being drunk whilst engaging in either also different.

for one cyclists (mainly) cycle on the road = greater risk..balance and speed for a start..plus the fact your bike can turn into a weapon .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

One is primarily on the road the other primary on the path.

Thats a pretty significant difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

Lad in Galway a few years ago - Gets on the bike after a blast of porter - spotted by the patrol car

Garda - What's your name?

Guy on bike - Bond, James Bond

He gets an escort home - Needless to say the wife isn't impressed when she answers the door and theres the bauld hero with the boys in blue! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭DanTheMan91

My friend was cycling home from a house party a few years ago, the guards pulled him for drunk driving, but they were laughing and joking, they left him cycle on as if nothing had happened, but it makes for a funny story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Friend of mine was cycling home one night after too much to drink. The guards pulled up beside him, and saw he was obviously drunk. They just told him to stop cycling and walk the bike home. He walked a little bit and got back on the bike. They pulled up again and this time just took the bike, put it in the back of their van and told him to collect it in the morning! Fairly sound of them.

I have been in Poland a good bit, and you can't go near a bike after a few drinks. They treat it the same as if you were in a car. Their drink drive limit is low too.