Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaming culture on the Late Late Show

• 11-11-2011 11:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 17,341 ✭✭✭✭

On now. Oh boy.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

No.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I think this will be a mature, intelligent discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭Dunder Mifflin

This is horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Yer man is ok, Tubridy is a tard

• Registered Users Posts: 26,400 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Thought it was balanced.

The guy in college will find he can't game as much when he gets a job.

The mother is worried her 16 year old plays Xbox as soon as homework is done and until he goes to sleep nearly everyday - completely right to be concerned as well.

Still a little bit too much of portraying the extremes as if they were the norm.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

wonder how many people will think playing games a few hours a night is addiction will spend their enitre friday night slouched in front of the tv watching quality RTE programming

• Registered Users Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Must say the addiction expert did come across quite well especially when he pointed out, so what if they play for 4,6,8,10 hours as long as it's not to the detriment of their lives.

He actually made a good effort to point out the difference between addiction and enthusiastic players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Hmmmm so Gaming = bad

Losing 3 hours of my life every friday watching a talking string bean = good

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Fortunately I multitasked and watch it while playing skyrim and posting in the late late show tv thread, that surely must have canceled out the negative gaming effects :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

For anyone that didn't see it, it's up on the RTE Player here. The segment starts at 57:20.

Jesus..... wouldn't it be worse if we were out doing drugs or in the pub for six hours straight?

I wonder if that mother who has a problem with her 16 playing the 360 would sit down at the weekend, watch the X-Factor for 2.5hrs, then the Xtra Factor for another hour.

The addiction expert was brilliant though. Very fair and unbiased. It's all about balance. Over Christmas when I've nothing to do I'll happily put in 12hour days. But. now I'm doing college work, and the 360 is sitting right beside me on the desk but has been plugged out for the last two weeks.

Tubs is a complete Tw@ though. Would it have killed him to do a bit of research into it and not sound like an old man when talking about "the little box".

EDIT: Hah!!! Dara O'Briain ripping the piss outta Tubs over the games segment. 1:34:00. :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Thought the addiction expert was excellent. Handled everything that was thrown at him.

Tubridy was annoying - especially his last comment, "well, that's an interesting take on things". HE'S the professional Tubs...And his logic made sense.

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

eugh cringe worthy, i suppose those mothers would have no problem with watching eastenders/cornation street for a night :rolleyes: just because ye dont understand something doesnt make it automatically evil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭BrianOFlanagan

Just had a look at it, the expert was great. I loved the stereotypical second mother tubs interviewed, I DON'T UNDERSTAND IT THEREFORE IT'S BAD DIE GAMES DIE!!!!!

Despite that there were some very good points made by all parties involved. For me there are so many other things such as facebook, television, books and magazines which if the same standards that we base gaming addiction on were applied to them we would call each of those an addiction as well. However it's just much handier to make gaming the scapegoat for BAD PARENTING. Bloody hypocrites!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,074 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

To me it seemed like they were stuck for something for 20 minutes, so done a half ar$ed segment on the evils of gaming. No research, 2 people for vs 1 person against and a person who, albeit unbiased, is researching the addiction of gaming which in itself would lead uneducated viewers to believe that it's evil from the off.

Would love to have gone on it, i was waiting for a phone in section.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

What a snide and sarcastic start to the subject by asking that gamers questions at the start and basically taking the piss out of them and setting the tone for rest of the subject for the audience.

Turbidy is an awful, awful biased host on many subjects, this is no different.

The funny thing about gaming is that a mother's opinion holds more weight than gamers, developers, and researchers :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

I dunno, this skyrim is more addictive than meth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Duggy747 wrote: »

The funny thing about gaming is that a mother's opinion holds more weight than gamers, developers, and researchers :pac:

It's the late late show, entertainment for a brain dead audience with a brain dead host. You didn't expect a reasonable debate about games from an overpaid beanpole who wishes he was 70 did you? :D

DarkJager wrote: »
    It's the late late show, entertainment for a brain dead audience with a brain dead host. You didn't expect a reasonable debate about games from an overpaid beanpole who wishes he was 70 did you? :D

I actually felt sick clicking on RTE player to check out this one segment, 1st time I've watched something RTE related in months since I don't have a TV............*shudders*................never again.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭murphm45

At least it appears i'm not the only one who feels a bit insulted by the piece! Although if the "host" wasn't disgracefully biased the validity of the guy from Nottingham's points might have gotten lost, Tubirdy seemed intent on undermining everything he said.

It reminded me of that Panorama program that was done last December, someone ignorant of the inner working of something trying to give advice on a subject!

I'm i the only one sick to death of being made into so kind of a pariah because i playing computer games? i appreciate this is off topic but every other week i see/read something that prortrays people who play games as some sort of anti-social monsters responsible for societies ills!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

murphm45 wrote: »
    At least it appears i'm not the only one who feels a bit insulted by the piece! Although if the "host" wasn't disgracefully biased the validity of the guy from Nottingham's points might have gotten lost, Tubirdy seemed intent on undermining everything he said.

It reminded me of that Panorama program that was done last December, someone ignorant of the inner working of something trying to give advice on a subject!

I'm i the only one sick to death of being made into so kind of a pariah because i playing computer games? i appreciate this is off topic but every other week i see/read something that prortrays people who play games as some sort of anti-social monsters responsible for societies ills!

give it another 10-20 years and the minority will be non gamers

• Registered Users Posts: 55,517 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

There was a gaming feature on RTE Radio 1's The Business this morning with two guys who started gaming companies. I think the host was a bit outside his comfort zone, but it was a good interview (and positive for a change). It's the first item on the show, so it's straight after the news.

http://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/rteradiowebpage.html#type=radio&rii=9%3A3108039%3A172%3A12%2D11%2D2011%3A

Remember when George Hook done a segment on Newstalk? Before it aired we all thought he was going to go off on a ramble.

Turned out he gave his guests plenty of time to talk, showed at least some sort of interest in what they were talking about & where the industry was going and didn't undermine them like this plank did last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,128 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Just when gaming was starting to get some positive light in this country with more jobs etc and tubridy has to come along and **** it all up... ohh wait nobody watches the late late anymore so its probably grand

• Registered Users Posts: 7,870 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Watching this clip back now, I think i may have developed an addiction to work in the past. I used to work for up to 9or10 hours a day it took away from my social life, my family time, i even lost sleep when i would set my alarm clock to force myself to get up just so i could go to work. Employers would use sneaky tactics to keep you working like if you worked up to 40 hours you would get a reward.

Luckily i have now kicked the habit. :D

I didn't think the piece was too bad but that's because that Alan Tichmarch (or what ever his name is) piece was so bad it set a precedence. When they had to former editor of the Sun moralizing about gaming.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

VinLieger wrote: »
    ohh wait nobody watches the late late anymore so its probably grand

god i wish that were true

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Watching this clip back now, I think i may have developed an addiction to work in the past. I used to work for up to 9or10 hours a day it took away from my social life, my family time, i even lost sleep when i would set my alarm clock to force myself to get up just so i could go to work. Employers would use sneaky tactics to keep you working like if you worked up to 40 hours you would get a reward.

Best. Post. Ever. :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Spunge wrote: »
    I dunno, this skyrim is more addictive than meth.

Try meth and then come to that conclusion :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

Duggy747 wrote: »
    ...Who'd probably then go home and play Farmville for ages (there's nothing inherently *wrong* with FV, but if you complain that addiction to games is bad, then spend ages on casual games (I'd say there are some people that do this), there's something wrong here..).
    "Gaming is EVIL!!!@ - Now will you water my crops?"

I logged on to boards this morning specifically to see if anybody had started a thread about this, as i needed to have a good rant about it.

I haven't watched a full Late Late show in many years, and certainly not since Tubridy took over, so i had no idea what to expect, but i was in on Friday evening, busy doing something else, the telly was on in the background, and the gaming piece caught my attention.

I have never seen a more ill informed, alarmist, polarised cheap shot debate based on the furthest extremes of a medium that's struggling to find social acceptance than the late late show's team put out that night. If it wasn't for the addiction expert giving a sense of balance and general "cop-on and calm the feck down about it", the whole thing would have done nothing but serve to ridicule and pigeon hole gamers even further, when the vast majority of them are perfectly sensible, normal, well adjusted, balanced people.

The interview subjects the show trotted out in the audience were insulting, and were the most polar examples of the negatives associated with the hobby. Even the gaming advocates they gave speaking time to for the most part were detrimental to gaming's reputation as a medium. The stereotypical college-nerd gamer with no girlfriend and too much time on his hands playing 36 hour gaming marathons (who fell hook line and sinker for tubridy's wholly biased leading questions btw) or the mother from a generation when kids went outside and played with a hoop and a stick who's heart was broke because her son just wouldn't get off that bloody xbox or whatever it was called..??..

Really, can't they give their viewers more credit than that?

Where was my representation in the audience? Where was the speaker on behalf of the main demographic for the video game market? Where was the thirty-something adult with a home, a family, a job, disposable income, other commitments, who plays a couple of hours of games every couple of evenings, and maybe a bit more at the weekend when he has spare time, whose marriage isn't falling apart, who's wife doesn't want to kill him, who's not getting sacked from his job and developing a nervous breakdown??

Where was the representative for the vast majority of ordinary well adjusted people who have no problem at all with video games? Why make an issue out of something based on poor examples from the worst extremes of it, and paint everybody with the "addict" brush?

The piece was a poor effort at sensationalism by RTE, and an attempt to hype up a legitimate pastime that has a perfectly balanced place in the lives of the vast majority of the people who enjoy it. I was just hoping that Dara O'Briain, who was also on that show in a later slot, and who is himself an avid video gamer, was going to take Tubridy to task over his biased, ill informed approach, but alas, aside from a few light hearted, non confrontational quips, he didn't. I've heard O'Briain speak before about how despite the fact that gaming is the biggest and most heavily funded and successful medium in the world, it would be less socially embarrassing to admit to most people that your hobby was enjoying hardcore pornography than it would be to own up to being a serious video gamer.

Way to go RTE. It's nice to see our TV license money is being wasted just as much as the rest of our taxes are...:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Tubridy is a noob.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,400 ✭✭✭✭noodler

zero19 wrote: »
    Tubridy is a noob.

Just logged into thank that post and say how hilarious I found it.

Kudos.