Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bruce Springsteen General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Why did the flood lights come on so early? I thought they would only come on after the gig was over?

I saw someone say somewhere that it was because of the screens, the lights make them easier to see?

I wondered if it was a signal to the band, as it was posted on here that they came on at 10pm on Friday, they came on earlier last night and the gig finished earlier. I noticed when they came on, Hill 16 started filling up with people in high vis jackets and hard hats, I actually got a bit concerned for a few minutes :rolleyes: When the gig finished, they moved in to start dismantling the stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

muddypaws wrote: »
    I saw someone say somewhere that it was because of the screens, the lights make them easier to see?

I wondered if it was a signal to the band, as it was posted on here that they came on at 10pm on Friday, they came on earlier last night and the gig finished earlier. I noticed when they came on, Hill 16 started filling up with people in high vis jackets and hard hats, I actually got a bit concerned for a few minutes :rolleyes: When the gig finished, they moved in to start dismantling the stage.

yea, I seen those guys too, it was a bit of a buzz killer, as you knew the gig was nearly over! Shouldn't have anything to do with the screens, its the first "stadium" did I've seen the lights come on so early!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭muddypaws

yea, I seen those guys too, it was a bit of a buzz killer, as you knew the gig was nearly over! Shouldn't have anything to do with the screens, its the first "stadium" did I've seen the lights come on so early!

Me too, I would have thought they would show up better in the dark.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,417 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

we wernt dancing in the dark anyway when the house lights came on :p:p:p:p

id be amazed if the tours europe late 2016/spring 2017 supporting his rumoured new solo album. He might release the album before christmas and similar to this tour he mite tour US venues in the winter/spring and then hit a few euro cities in the summer or take the summer off and tour europe autumn 2017.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭liz lemoncello

dixiefly wrote: »
    I was thinking about this and his comment "We'll be seeing ya". I think that, at this stage he just doesnt know. I suspect he has no plans to return and realises that they are all getting on for producing this type of show, I also suspect that he may have been influenced to extend the tour seeing so many artists passing on and the obvious fact that he wont be in a position to do this in this format for too many years.

There has been quite a bit of emotion in his last couple of irish gigs, remember This Hard Land on the Sunday in Kilkenny.

So, here's hoping that they all stay healthy. Rumours of a new album also.

His parting comment has made people wonder as, throughout the whole NA leg of this tour, and I believe, most of the European dates so far, he has been saying, "[insert city name here}, The E Street Band Loves You".

I agree that he just doesn't know. Hopefully, there will be a solo tour when the new album comes out, but when there are so many other band members to consider, he can't possibly make any promises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

20-30 mins?? Not at all, I went to the toilet a few times, I was back in 5 mins (i was on the pitch). I stopped drinking from around 7:45, as I didn't want to be peeing all night! The queue for the ladies was a lot longer in fairness.

OK, but where I was when people would leave to go to the jacks, they'd be gone for at least 20 mins, maybe cos I was at the front of the regular pitch.

Probably grabbing some beers too ... point is , it's strange to miss so much when one needed to be there since around 1630 to get these spots.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

OK, but where I was when people would leave to go to the jacks, they'd be gone for at least 20 mins, maybe cos I was at the front of the regular pitch.

Probably grabbing some beers too ... point is , it's strange to miss so much when one needed to be there since around 1630 to get these spots.

fair enough, understand what you mean. If i was in the queue since 4:30, wouldn't be drinking either in fairness. how fast did the pit passes go I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Did he do theatrical band introductions at the Dublin gigs? He rushed them through at the very end in Barna.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 pmurf

Why did the flood lights come on so early? I thought they would only come on after the gig was over?

It seems to be a thing on this tour (and even the last few I think) - as soon as the "encore" starts (usually Born to Run) the house lights come on and stay on for the ermainder of the gig - been like that for the whole tour. It was the same in Thomond Park in 2014

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭rebel without a clue

They need to stop selling alcohol at gigs or put a limit on it. Its pathetic that people cant get by for a few hours without a drink. There was a huge queue near where I was for about 2 hours. The Boss was on stage for a good 30 minutes and the amount of people facing Hogan Stand waiting for a drink was ridicules.
    Could the organisers even separate the drinkers from the non drinkers; like maybe when people are buying tickets they tick a box to say that they'll be drinking and then just have secregated parts? ok I know its sounds a bit silly but is there anything that can be done to keep p*ss heads away!!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

They need to stop selling alcohol at gigs or put a limit on it. Its pathetic that people cant get by for a few hours without a drink. There was a huge queue near where I was for about 2 hours. The Boss was on stage for a good 30 minutes and the amount of people facing Hogan Stand waiting for a drink was ridicules.
    Could the organisers even separate the drinkers from the non drinkers; like maybe when people are buying tickets they tick a box to say that they'll be drinking and then just have secregated parts? ok I know its sounds a bit silly but is there anything that can be done to keep p*ss heads away!!

I honestly don't see how it is such a problem that people may want a few drinks at a concert? For many people, myself included, this was a night out and a departure from what was a busy week at work. The weather was fab, I was in good spirits and with friends I hadn't seen in months. People shouldn't be made feel bad about having a few drinks at a concert. Sure, there's always a few loud ejits who can ruin bits for everyone; but the majority of people I saw who had drinks in their hands were having a good time and enjoying themsleves. Absolutely nothing wrong with that.
    Also what makes you think people were queuing solely for alcohol? Maybe they were getting a fizzy drink or water, it was very hot there yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭rebel without a clue

anna080 wrote: »
    I honestly don't see how it is such a problem that people may want a few drinks at a concert? For many people, myself included, this was a night out and a departure from what was a busy week at work. The weather was fab, I was in good spirits and with friends I hadn't seen in months. People shouldn't be made feel bad about having a few drinks at a concert. Sure, there's always a few loud ejits who can ruin bits for everyone; but the majority of people I saw who had drinks in their hands were having a good time and enjoying themsleves. Absolutely nothing wrong with that.
    Also what makes you think people were queuing solely for alcohol? Maybe they were getting a fizzy drink or water, it was very hot there yesterday.

The queue that I saw was purely for beer. The guys with massive coolers bags were selling beer on the pitch. Look, I totally get what your saying regarding chilling out after a week of work. I just think that there are a lot of people that drink to excess at gigs and their antics can ruin it for people that paid big money for a ticket. I like all types of music and go to a lot of gigs and I see this a lot. I'd only ever have 2 drinks for the simple reason that id have to keep going to the toilet!! Its just not worth missing out on what is performing up on stage.

Oh and they put the feckin houselights on again last night as soon as it started to get remotely dark. What the hell is that all about. Only really ever seen that happen at indoor gigs when a band is going over the curfew and it's the venue's way of saying get off the stage (Pearl Jam @ The Point for example).

All the talk of the house lights on reminded me of PJ, good to see I wasn't the only one. Yep, once PJ go over the curfew which happens regularly, the house lights come up for the last few songs. Even when they don't go over the curfew, Eddie asks for the lights up often so that he can see everyone for the last few songs. It's tradition and expected to be experiencing at least the closing song at a PJ show with the house lights up.

However, if it isn't the norm at a Bruce show or any other show, I could see it being distracting. It would for me momentarily anyway. From my reading of the thread, the house lights came on quite early in Croker? Does anyone know if this happened for any of the gigs there last year? Unless it's a new safety precaution employed by the stadium, then it's at the request of the performer, in this case Bruce.

Could be possible that at this point in his career, he simply wants to see the faces of his audience as much as possible. Looking out from a lit stage into a darkened audience, with a spotlight on you, you can't see anything. It's like staring into a void, a very loud, roaring void in The Boss's case. Turning on the house lights negates this. In my opinion, either Croke Park has a new policy installed, or Bruce just wanted to see all you beautiful people. Even the ones retching when Bono came out :D
    Unless they spend three hours screeching and roaring at the top of their voices, they're highly unlikely to distract you enough to prevent you from hearing a song.

People whinging about it are as bad as the "ssssh!" lads at rugby matches.

Very general statement there which goes against the reality of each person's own experience at gigs. Ssshhers in many cases rank down there with olé-olérs for me at most events, but from my experience and evidently that of others there are people who would be clearly better off just going to the pub with their mates for the night.

A prime example of this for me happened at Fleetwood Mac in 2013 in the then O2. Standing among us near the front of the stage was a group of 5-6 middle-aged women who had no more interest in watching 95% of the concert than they would in watching a shít football match. Fine, that's no problem up to this point. It's when during each song, the quiet ones, the stories between songs, where they are shouting at the top of their voices in conversation that this becomes a problem for those who want to enjoy the actual show. I mean, you can't discern Stevie Nicks and Lyndsey Buckingham's words out of a wall of line-array speakers from 20 feet away because of this.

They were clearly having a catch-up, and about 70 of us in the crowd around them were privy to this catch-up. They had a young relative with them who would get sent to the bar and back to supply the drinks. Each time he would have to shuffle by us to get back to them near the front with a tray of drinks. That's cool, people do that at gigs, but I'm saying this to convey that the group were purely out on a session, and not for the concert.

Before 'Landslide', a gem of a tune and a well known one, Stevie Nicks was telling an anecdote about how the song came about. One of the offending group randomly shouted out, with her back turned to the stage "Just sing something Stevie". It was at this point, many heads turned in their direction and they got some STFU comments. Still though, by the second verse of Landslide they were back to their own party, completely detached from the concert, not even singing along.

Finally when the concert came to the last few songs, the group joined the rest of us at it and faced the stage when FM played 'Go Your Own Way'. During the night, they noticeably pissed off quite a few around them. I wasn't even right beside them, they were a couple rows closer to the stage than where I was. In this section, you'd expect people/fans who want to take part in the concert and who would have a respect for, if not the fellow punters around them, the artists onstage. Out on the fringes of the standing section, that's where you'd expect transient movers, lads doing origami with their bodies, groups of friends dancing in circles in their own world etc. This group didn't even belong there. I don't know why they didn't just get a few bottles of wine, stay at home and put on a CD. How they managed to fully enjoy that catch-up with all of us trying to enjoy a concert and some musicians making noise around them, I'll never know.

Translate that to being stuck beside similar while Bruce played 'Independence Day' or something like that yesterday. I wasn't there but by some accounts there were a lot of people at the gig who have no interest in hearing or partaking in the majority of a concert, just going for the sesh. You get some people like this at concerts all around the world, but I find that in Ireland especially we go to town on this. We are event junkies, and a popular concert like Bruce and the E Street in Croke Park will attract many of them. No problem in theory - You don't have to be a hardcore fan or even any level of fan to go to a concert, I myself found quite a few 'new' bands by going to the gig just knowing a song or two, and coming away from the experience with the intention of buying some albums. It's when the reality comes down to the sight of many people, younger and older, passed out, vomiting, using stable structures to hold themselves up, all while the main artist is playing a blinder onstage. This is unfortunately there to see at many popular outdoor concerts in Ireland, not just Bruce over the weekend. Bon Jovi in Slane a few years back is a notable example of this, hell, any artist in Slane any year is a notable example of this.

From my own experience of gigs here, the U.K., various countries around Europe and a few states in the U.S., the use of a concert as an excuse to solely go and get hammered is unfortunately very prevalent here. The crowd in the 3 Arena last Thursday night for Hans Zimmer were among the best and most respectful I've experienced, to thankfully say something positive, but it's like chalk and cheese. The outdoor concerts with mainstream artists, especially those with a long wait at the venue or with a few support bands before the main artist (i.e. lots of time to get tanked), create an attractive vibe for people to go on an all-day session, whether they can handle it or not, even if their only choice is warm bottles of Carlsberg flung out of a rucksack for €6.

In many instances, it's easy for fans just to walk past/over the human debris and of course there are a few unfortunate fans among the debris who did go to enjoy the concert, but just drank too much beforehand (I was there once :o) However when it genuinely detracts from others experience of the concert which is the reason most go in the first place, it is okay to point out and wonder why some go just to end up in a heap. Those of them who remain vertical and find their way into the front of the crowd more often than not end up píssing people off, even if those people are trying their hardest to focus on the concert and are really not looking for something to get upset about.

At a concert like Bruce, Fleetwood Mac, Pearl Jam, where there are quiet moments and poignant songs and stories to enjoy, it can get distracting all too easily when there's a person or group in their own world doing their best to talk over the amplified sounds for a prolonged period.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭Dero123

His parting comment has made people wonder as, throughout the whole NA leg of this tour, and I believe, most of the European dates so far, he has been saying, "[insert city name here}, The E Street Band Loves You".

I agree that he just doesn't know. Hopefully, there will be a solo tour when the new album comes out, but when there are so many other band members to consider, he can't possibly make any promises.
    Nils, Jake and Gary all have their own music coming out, in fact Nils had to cancel planned concerts in America when Bruce decided they were going to tour. I agree that he just doesn't know but you would imagine that if they all remain healthy they can't go without a final greatest hits tour.
    A solo album next with a small scale tour in indoor venues I would image will be the next time we see him here, after that who knows but I hope we get the opportunity to see them again

I must be the only one who enjoyed having the house lights on! I think it accentuated the electric and exhilarating environment

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Before 'Landslide', a gem of a tune and a well known one, Stevie Nicks was telling an anecdote about how the song came about. One of the offending group randomly shouted out, with her back turned to the stage "Just sing something Stevie". It was at this point, many heads turned in their direction and they got some STFU comments. Still though, by the second verse of Landslide they were back to their own party, completely detached from the concert, not even singing along.

Surprised she even knew her name ! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

What can I say.... The energy of Springsteen and the band. Some of the best shows I have seen. On Friday night we had seats in the Davin stand and the sound was dreadful. Really bad. The set list was outstanding and while the sound was distracting I really enjoyed the show.

Last night, we had seats in the lower hogan stand, sound was bad, not as bad as Friday but still dreadful. About 15 minutes in I PMed Aiken on Facebook and asked to be moved after 15 minutes they got back to us and asked us to come to a customer care point. We did and they give the option of different seats or to go into the pit. We chose the pit and was escorted into the pit by a Aiken rep and a security guard to just before the main stage, slightly to the right hand side 4 rows from the back from the stage. We felt guilty as it was clear that people who had waited in line for hours has been moved to let us in so we moved towards the left of the stage. Great view of the stage and of Bruce and he came past. Was delighted and the sound was perfect.Great atmosphere and the sound was perfect.

It was annoying the signs went up every time Bruce was near and I couldn't see a thing but a fantastic experience. Very little drinking around us.

I did think Bruce look very tired and to me seemed to be finding it hard going. I wonder is he doing to much for a man of his age? I also can't help but wonder if this is the last E Street tour. As was said before they aren't getting any younger.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 hmw

So thats why we could not move an inch..i was in that area and i think it was so unfair to us. I was ip since 10 am to get into pit and it is all made so unconfortable for us because u were not happy with ur seat. Real unfair.

hmw wrote: »
    So thats why we could not move an inch..i was in that area and i think it was so unfair to us. I was ip since 10 am to get into pit and it is all made so unconfortable for us because u were not happy with ur seat. Real unfair.

A few pages back a poster said security were letting in people that they knew, so maybe that's why you were squished. I'd have no qualms about sharing the pit with a fan who genuinely couldn't hear the concert and was offered a spot in the pit, who would turn that down? Your gripe should be with those who security let in just because they knew them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,165 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

What can I say.... The energy of Springsteen and the band. Some of the best shows I have seen. On Friday night we had seats in the Davin stand and the sound was dreadful. Really bad. The set list was outstanding and while the sound was distracting I really enjoyed the show.

Last night, we had seats in the lower hogan stand, sound was bad, not as bad as Friday but still dreadful. About 15 minutes in I PMed Aiken on Facebook and asked to be moved after 15 minutes they got back to us and asked us to come to a customer care point. We did and they give the option of different seats or to go into the pit. We chose the pit and was escorted into the pit by a Aiken rep and a security guard to just before the main stage, slightly to the right hand side 4 rows from the back from the stage. We felt guilty as it was clear that people who had waited in line for hours has been moved to let us in so we moved towards the left of the stage. Great view of the stage and of Bruce and he came past. Was delighted and the sound was perfect.Great atmosphere and the sound was perfect.

It was annoying the signs went up every time Bruce was near and I couldn't see a thing but a fantastic experience. Very little drinking around us.

I did think Bruce look very tired and to me seemed to be finding it hard going. I wonder is he doing to much for a man of his age? I also can't help but wonder if this is the last E Street tour. As was said before they aren't getting any younger.

The signs will always be there as long as Bruce encourages them,which he been doing for a long time now.Unless they are banned the annoyance will continue.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 hmw

We were not able to move our elbows even. Not fair. Yes I think thete were tugs left in also as there was a fight on the left before end of show

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I think thete were tugs left in also

Well, it is The River tour.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,417 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Christy Moore always closes the bars in the venues he plays but there's always a few gob****es who sneek in drink in there bags etc.

Alcohol company's prob sponsor big events in Ireland are not going to lose revenue by limiting amounts per person.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭dixiefly

We were not able to move our elbows even. Not fair. Yes I think thete were tugs left in also as there was a fight on the left before end of show

I didnt see that and we were pretty close to the front. To be honest we must have been lucky as the space around us was not that bad.

I have no objectio to people been brought down from the stand but moving people aside at the front to accomodate them is a bit much. If I had been offered a place in the pit as an alternative to poor sound in a seat in the stand I would have been happy with that. Seems like the Aiken guys went a bit ott there, carolinespring probably would have been happy with that and also more flexibility to avoid the signs.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭8mv

Last night, we had seats in the lower hogan stand, sound was bad, not as bad as Friday but still dreadful. About 15 minutes in I PMed Aiken on Facebook and asked to be moved after 15 minutes they got back to us and asked us to come to a customer care point. We did and they give the option of different seats or to go into the pit.

I'm astonished that such a thing is possible - maybe I'm just too ready to put up with ****. I won't be accepting second rate seats anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭8mv

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Christy Moore always closes the bars in the venues he plays.

Went to Joe Jackson in Dolans, Limerick a couple of months ago and he requested the same. Bars closed about 10 mins before showtime and opened again afterwards. Made for a comfortable gig for everyone - people could stock up a couple of pints if they wanted and then stayed put while the show was on. I presume he requested the same in the Olympia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Can't blame the sound solely on the stadium.

I've been to a few gigs in croker and it was never as bad as last night.

I was standing in the middle of the pitch and most of the songs were fuzzy, so much as to make them unrecognisable.
    It seemed to get better as the night went on buy very poor show altogether.

Croker Park has been used as a venue for years so sound optimization should be well sussed out by now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

eeguy wrote: »
    Can't blame the sound solely on the stadium.

I've been to a few gigs in croker and it was never as bad as last night.

I was standing in the middle of the pitch and most of the songs were fuzzy, so much as to make them unrecognisable.
    It seemed to get better as the night went on buy very poor show altogether.

Croker Park has been used as a venue for years so sound optimization should be well sussed out by now.

I thought that too to be fair. Moved to back of pitch hoping we were too close to speakers or something up front but no. Not Bruce fault, really enjoyed it but sound wasn't great. Would like to see him in punchestown or similar

As I said WE moved to the left of the stage as WE ourselves felt it was unfair on people who had waited in line all day. If you read my post it was not a case of not happy in my seat, the sound was dreadful, It was a good few seconds into each song before I could hear what it was. We paid €131 to hear the show.

The sound was dreadful and yes, I wanted to hear and enjoy the show. I was happy to get into the pit where I could enjoy the show.

dixiefly wrote: »
    I didnt see that and we were pretty close to the front. To be honest we must have been lucky as the space around us was not that bad.

I have no objectio to people been brought down from the stand but moving people aside at the front to accomodate them is a bit much. If I had been offered a place in the pit as an alternative to poor sound in a seat in the stand I would have been happy with that. Seems like the Aiken guys went a bit ott there, carolinespring probably would have been happy with that and also more flexibility to avoid the signs.

Totally, as a life long fan I was happy as long as I could hear the show. We felt it was unfair and moved to the left side as a person beside me has a low number on her hand and it was clear that everyone around us had stayed in a line all day.

Also when we were in the centre of the stage, still loads of room to move. It wasn't hemmed in or uncomfortable in any way.