Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bruce Springsteen General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Just back from Kilkenny, that was.... fcuk, I don't even know what it was. I've run out of superlatives at this stage. I'm going to bed....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭dixiefly

What a fantastic gig (again). Highlights for me were the Born To Run album played in full,Wild Billy's Circus Story, American Skin(41 shots), American Land and the final song an acoustic version of This Hard Land.

In fact this European Leg of the tour commenced on April 29th with an acoustic This Hard Land so he bookended the tour in a way.

Myself, I have been lucky with the 3 gigs I went to this year. Darkness in Wembley, Born To Run tonight and a Belfast setlist with a big influence from Nebraska and The River.

Overall, for me, tonight was the highlight. Imelda May was great. I really enjoyed LAPD as I am a big fan of theirs but I am not sure if the venue was suitable for their music. I was told that the support on Saturday were even better (John Ritter, Damien Demosey and Glen Hansard)

On a side note Bruce spoke briefly at the end and said that they really enjoyed the tour even though they hav lost a few along the way. He said that he will be doing this 50 years this July and that he is enjoying it as much as ever.he said "The older you get the more it means" and actually repeated it a bit later.

All in all it has been a blast. Some other friends have been at a lot more of the gigs than myself and we all met some amazing other fans on the way. People at these concerts are a dream to meet and socialise with but it all has to end. Bruce was quite upbeat about returning so lets ope he is true to his word.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Yea really enjoyed the gig , couldnt fault it at all . Still think Limerick was a tiny bit better (think just for the atmosphere)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

How he physically does it I don't know. I've been to a lot of gigs and this tops them all. My only complaint is this was my first time seeing him! To the blonde girl and friend who were stuck beside the drunken nordies, you're a babe even though I blocked your view initially. :-\

• Registered Users Posts: 38,416 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

every other gig i go to from now on is just Meh compared to Bruce. The man puts on a 3 hour show.

Seeing Billy Joel in Nov and hopefully U2 and ACDC in the future so hopefully they will life up to expectations. saw so many of my heros and im only 23

• Registered Users Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

It's all over, once again.

I'd be happy out if Kilkenny had been the only gig I'd been at but I'm just ecstatic with the trilogy I got (Limerick, Cork and Kilkenny Sunday). A combination of setlists that just ticked every box although Leeds would have made it entirely!

I'm not going to dwell on it too much because I can see how it can come across as elitist (even if I don't agree that it is) but we are coming very close to losing our reputation as gig crowds to be proud of and it's the 20 to 30 year old bracket that's killing us. Twerps showing up at gigs just because their mother and father have raved about how great such and such a gig was thirty odd years ago and they've no interest whatsoever in the music. We were left of the sound desk looking towards the stage and the group of, no better description, bottom feeders that had gathered there caused untold havoc for those around them. They were hammered from Imelda May, took jumping around and having fun to the new extreme of essentially moshing, shouted Kilkenny hurling references all through the quiet tracks and in general have actually left me with bruising on my back from constantly smashing into me. There was a prize heffer amongst their group and on several attempts she just happily planted herself right in front of me in order to get photos of the dregs she was there with. I can barely remember The River being played, spent the entire song engaged in heated rows.

I'm not a fragile snobby gig attendee, I just cannot tolerate being beside a crowd who are so obviously after spending ninety quid to drink in a stadium. The "bring back the band for f**s sake" declaration from one of them during "This Hard Land" took the biscuit. Won't be going to any Springsteen gig again without queuing for the pit that's for sure.

As for the gig well, Born To Run in full twice in ten days, can't ask for more. Was my first time being at a tour finisher too and the vibe was good. Wild Billy and Man at The Top, This Hard Land, can't ask for more.

In all its been one hell of a summer for music. Lots of new venues, ironically all hosting old acts in the context of how many times I've seen them, and there's still so many gigs left but as usual Bruce has ruined them all!

And finally, 9 gigs and 4 Junglelands, jaysus I'm spoiled!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,285 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Guys, i've been totally consumed by the Bruce mania!! :pac: I have really enjoyed reading this thread over the last 2 weeks or so - just can't believe I have only really "discovered" Bruce now :( It's a bit late in the game at this stage!!

I swear, the number of females I know that have only been to one of his shows for the first time like myself is unreal! They are all now obsessed too!!

Bruce is an amazing showman and he's not looking too shabby for 63 either ;):D

Roll on the next tour - please let there be a next tour!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭Goreme

Digitalism wrote: »
    Setlist from tonight

19:25 Start

01. This Little Light Of Mine
    02. My Love Will Not Let You Down
    03. Badlands
    04. We Take Care of Our Own
    05. Adam Raised a Cain
    06. Death to My Hometown
    07. American Skin (41 Shots)
    08. The Promised Land
    09. Wrecking Ball
    10. Spirit in the Night
    11. The River
    12. WILD BILLY'S CIRCUS STORY
    13. MAN AT THE TOP
    14. EVERY TIME THAT YOU WALK INTO THE ROOM

** Born To Run Full Album ** (For Jimmy Iovine - In attendance tonight)
    15. Thunder Road
    16. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
    17. Night
    18. Backstreets
    19. Born to Run
    20. She's The One
    21. Meeting Across The River
    22. Jungleland

23. The Rising
    24. Land of Hope and Dreams

25. Born in the USA
    26. Bobby Jean
    27. Seven Nights to Rock
    28. Dancing in the Dark
    29. American Land
    30. Shout
    31. This Little Light of Mine [Reprise]
    32. This Hard Land [Acoustic]

22:45 finish

What's amazing about this set list is that there is only 12 songs here i think that overlap with the previous night's setlist. What a man/band - that's great value there for so little overlap alone. Great set list. Was there on Saturday myself fantastic night, delighted to get a full album, delighted to get BITUSA, but Sunday with American Song, Wild Billy's Circus, plus others, a bit more meat, less 'Shake' etc - but just shows you, when you think the man can't get any better he does with the Sunday night!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

Well Sundays audience didn't get the kid singing sunny Day, so that's a first for this tour I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I did Cork and the two Kilkenny shows. I've seen Bruce 7 times now and every show gets better and better.

He's just amazing, anyone who has never seen him- seriously do not miss him next time. He's still fit as a fiddle and hungry for more but he's not going to be around forever.

No other performer will ever compare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

tommy2bad wrote: »
    Well Sundays audience didn't get the kid singing sunny Day, so that's a first for this tour I think.

Id say he didnt do it cause the setlist was already alot like limerick, thats my thought anyway..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Goreme wrote: »
    What's amazing about this set list is that there is only 12 songs here i think that overlap with the previous night's setlist. What a man/band - that's great value there for so little overlap alone. Great set list. Was there on Saturday myself fantastic night, delighted to get a full album, delighted to get BITUSA, but Sunday with American Song, Wild Billy's Circus, plus others, a bit more meat, less 'Shake' etc - but just shows you, when you think the man can't get any better he does with the Sunday night!

I've just done the maths, between Limerick, Cork and Kilkenny Sunday he played 49 different songs with all the setlists adding up to 94 in total. Count Thunder Road Acoustic as a different song and he did 50 different songs amidst 94. Fantastic!

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭Goreme

Lucky them!

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭ankaragucu

Concur with all that's been said about how amazing Bruce and band have been and also about the ridiculously high number of apparently uninterested drunken fools about.Front of pit for Limerick and Belfast so had to steel myself for being well back on Sat, due to being with a big group of friends, and being seated last night though they were good seats.Don't want to dwell on the idiots though as Kilkenny,the vibe and the town made for a wonderful weekend.
    Only wanted to add that Bruce's comments near the end certainly were very positive about coming back again.
    And did you notice that he damaged a finger during the encores and it was bleeding heavily for the whole of This Hard Land.
    Emotional as always.Thanks again Bruce.See you next time!

Was Dancing in the Dark the only song played in all gigs on the tour?

dixiefly wrote: »
    Was Dancing in the Dark the only song played in all gigs on the tour?

No, Dancing, BTR, Thunder road,and 10th avenue along with sunny day were in all the shows, sunny day being the exception in KK getting dropped. I think this little light as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Bruce and the guys were amazing last night, Born to Run start to finish was unreal and the missus is now a convert so a great night was had

the only negatives i could point to were the venue, didnt like it at all! and there was more idiots there then normal, though it was to be expected really given the festival feel to it and the all day drinking...

due to circumstance beyond our control we only arrived at 5 so no chance for the pit sadly, worked our way up to the barrier though so not too bad.

he always amazes me with his energy and clear love of performing even at his age and even though he has done it all before time and time again. it is incredible how often he has played here for such a huge artist and he has vowed to return. cannot wait! i stopped timing during the encores but we definitely passed the 3 hour mark anyway, puts younger acts to shame! i was exhausted leaving dunno how he does it!

niallon wrote: »
    It's all over, once again.

I'd be happy out if Kilkenny had been the only gig I'd been at but I'm just ecstatic with the trilogy I got (Limerick, Cork and Kilkenny Sunday). A combination of setlists that just ticked every box although Leeds would have made it entirely!

I'm not going to dwell on it too much because I can see how it can come across as elitist (even if I don't agree that it is) but we are coming very close to losing our reputation as gig crowds to be proud of and it's the 20 to 30 year old bracket that's killing us. Twerps showing up at gigs just because their mother and father have raved about how great such and such a gig was thirty odd years ago and they've no interest whatsoever in the music. We were left of the sound desk looking towards the stage and the group of, no better description, bottom feeders that had gathered there caused untold havoc for those around them. They were hammered from Imelda May, took jumping around and having fun to the new extreme of essentially moshing, shouted Kilkenny hurling references all through the quiet tracks and in general have actually left me with bruising on my back from constantly smashing into me. There was a prize heffer amongst their group and on several attempts she just happily planted herself right in front of me in order to get photos of the dregs she was there with. I can barely remember The River being played, spent the entire song engaged in heated rows.

I'm not a fragile snobby gig attendee, I just cannot tolerate being beside a crowd who are so obviously after spending ninety quid to drink in a stadium. The "bring back the band for f**s sake" declaration from one of them during "This Hard Land" took the biscuit. Won't be going to any Springsteen gig again without queuing for the pit that's for sure.

As for the gig well, Born To Run in full twice in ten days, can't ask for more. Was my first time being at a tour finisher too and the vibe was good. Wild Billy and Man at The Top, This Hard Land, can't ask for more.

In all its been one hell of a summer for music. Lots of new venues, ironically all hosting old acts in the context of how many times I've seen them, and there's still so many gigs left but as usual Bruce has ruined them all!

And finally, 9 gigs and 4 Junglelands, jaysus I'm spoiled!

Man, that is an absolute bummer. I have had my share of idiots at gigs over the years but haven't experienced it at Bruce gigs. Ticket prices are too expensive these days to put up with that. I remember having to contend with a drunk idiot at Stevie Wonder a few years ago at the O2 and, incredibly, one of the women he was with defended him and took it out on me!

We were so lucky to get down early, get some of the last numbers and get into the pit. My wife and 2 daughters came along and, though the cost does add up, I am really glad that they got the opportunity to see him from the pit. The people in the pit were all sober and, I suppose, the queuing required to get in there meant that it was mostly Bruce fans or at least those going for the music that were there.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭Gavlor

dixiefly wrote: »
    Man, that is an absolute bummer. I have had my share of idiots at gigs over the years but haven't experienced it at Bruce gigs. Ticket prices are too expensive these days to put up with that. I remember having to contend with a drunk idiot at Stevie Wonder a few years ago at the O2 and, incredibly, one of the women he was with defended him and took it out on me!

We were so lucky to get down early, get some of the last numbers and get into the pit. My wife and 2 daughters came along and, though the cost does add up, I am really glad that they got the opportunity to see him from the pit. The people in the pit were all sober and, I suppose, the queuing required to get in there meant that it was mostly Bruce fans or at least those going for the music that were there.

Seemed to me that every g*b****e in kilkenny was out in force last night! By far and away some of the drunkest, most disinterested people that I've seen at a springsteen concert. Summed up by one fool arguing with a steward the this was "my park, I've been going here since i was 3 and I'll go in through whatever f*cking gate I want"

That said, another class performance by bruce! the man is a true legend.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,129 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Gavlor wrote: »
    Seemed to me that every g*b****e in kilkenny was out in force last night! By far and away some of the drunkest, most disinterested people that I've seen at a springsteen concert. Summed up by one fool arguing with a steward the this was "my park, I've been going here since i was 3 and I'll go in through whatever f*cking gate I want"

Sorry to hear that. I was there on Saturday night and didn't have any issues, but I was far enough up that most people were into the gig, I'd imagine the drunkards were further back.

I'd imagine people too drunk would ruin an evening alright.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Yea we had 3 lads beside us , 1 tried to get to the barrier (we were about 4/5 rows back) even though there was no room and were not gonna get any closer and people kept telling him he kept trying . Eventually they went back and ended up standing behind me and just kept laughing and talking for the rest of the gig . During the start of Jungleland they were talking really loud until a woman told them that everyone is trying to listen to the music he turned around and said " oh right dont worry ive got this on tape" :mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,285 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Jesus Christ there are some serious d***heads around - pity ye had to listen to that crap while trying to enjoy the amazing performance from Bruce :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭Gavlor

We didnt let it ruin the gig!! My throat is a bit sore from all the singing!!

RDS was never as bad and nor was cork. I reckon it was the novelty factor for some locals of having a superstar concert on their door step, it probably didnt matter to some who was playing or what type of music it was.

Should point out by the way that I've been to all sorts of gigs over the years from Neil Young to Faithless. You expect lads falling all over the place at the likes of faithless or chilly peppers, but not acts like bruce. Each to their own I guess!

We didnt let it ruin the gig!! My throat is a bit sore from all the singing!!

RDS was never as bad and nor was cork. I reckon it was the novelty factor for some locals of having a superstar concert on their door step, it probably didnt matter to some who was playing or what type of music it was.

Should point out by the way that I've been to all sorts of gigs over the years from Neil Young to Faithless. You expect lads falling all over the place at the likes of faithless or chilly peppers, but not acts like bruce. Each to their own I guess!

Nail and head, though we have had some smaller acts like Bob Dylan and Paul Simon, I didn't see the same level of muppetry at those ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

A big thank you to the lovely couple we met from monaghan and tgeir friends who helped out when an argument with a particularly ignorant drunk almost got out of hand!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Seemed to me that every g*b****e in kilkenny was out in force last night! By far and away some of the drunkest, most disinterested people that I've seen at a springsteen concert.

Yup, plenty idiots around me too. One lady in particular seemed to not care less what was going on ans spent 2 hours of the show with her back to the stage talking into the ear of the OH. No interest whatsoever. I don't get it. 90 euro spent to do that? Sure you can do that at home. She wasn't even drunk. No appreciation of the performance she was witnessing.

Done my head in, I had to move before I lost the plot.

• Registered Users Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

very very similar issues in belfast.

I was in the pit, but still most of the crowd were disinterested. also, during the accoustic Thunder Road, two women yapping at the height of their voice were told numerous times to shut the fck up..........

I think the problem is that the hardcore / even standard Springsteen fans have been spreading the gospel of how good a gig we get everytime the boss hits our shores, which has now caused a helluva lot of bandwagon jumpers......

to the bandwagoners, can you please all pi** off back to wherever you came from and leave the loyal fans to enjoy the boss in all his splendour, and stop ruining it for everyone else.....its not like these tickets were a tenner, or he'll be playing here again next week.............

Where was security last evening when the drunkards were ruining it for everyone? In the pit, a dad beside us had his daughter on his shoulder for a few minutes and was approached by a security guy to put her Dow (security guy was nice about it in fairness).

You would imagine that the focus of security would haven been these idiots. Overall, I had no problems with the organisation yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

I heard this morning, that there was no running water on Saturday and that the portyloos couldnt function and got shut down??

Horrendous stuff from Aiken if true.....i know were experiencing a drought but come on..........

• Registered Users Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I was in the pit and had no issues but you'll always get a percentage of one-gig-a-decade animals at Irish gigs. No idea how to behave in public. Fat sweaty messes jumping on each other and spilling beer all over the place.

Slightly less offensive are posh girls with the plastic flower headband things at festivals hitting peace signs when their photo is taken and looking all "hippy" when in reality they've just read what to wear out of the "festival style" part of some fashion mag and they drop 300 quid in Karen Millen every Saturday.

I saw some clown throw a glass bottle at the Sex Pistols a few years ago at the Picnic.

All sorts. No worse crowd than a bad Irish crowd but no better crowd than a good Irish crowd!