Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you shop someone to "de social"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Since you keep mentioning him, do you have some sort of repressed guilt for voting for his delusion and the bullshít he peddled?

So if €20 Billion is being paid out yearly for SW, how much of this is associated with fraudulent claims then? How can you associate what is necessary, with that which is unnecessary?

To elaborate for you, we bailed out the banks and pumped billions into them. Financial mismanagement and fraud occurred on a global scale. This was totally unnecessary, because if the Bankers were properly regulated and monitored from the outset, then this crisis would have never occurred.

The rising Social Welfare budget is a symptom of this financial collapse, the nationwide redundancies, the closures. So if anyone was to suggest that social welfare fraud, is on a similar scale to the Banking fraud that ruining this country? Then they would have to be seriously delusional? It was Bankers debts that forced us into the arms of the IMF and not any Social Welfare budget.

Still not addressing the questions asked because you can't, so go on a rant about bankers. Social responsibility seems a foreign concept so I'll leave it there.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

No I wouldn't, not under most circumstances anyway.
    Sounds to me like you just have something personal against this woman.
    Think about it - shop her and what do you achieve?
    It doesn't help you and your financial situation at all does it?
    I know it's illegal, but I personally stand by my own morals over the law with most things, and ethically, I just could not do it.

You have a funny view on ethics.
    willie o'dea is that yourself ?
    fedor.2. wrote: »
    None of your business though is it? There are people employed to look in to welfare fraud, your ratting could cost them their jobs, like that would ya?

Yeah and even though there are Gardaí employed to chase and catch criminals, it is your duty as a citizen to tell them of criminal activity.
    Let me guess you don't believe in calling the guards either.

Why do I believe you are on social welfare. :rolleyes:
    44leto wrote: »
    To report the defrauders is now the moral thing to do.

Morals, ethics and honesty don't suddenly change due to economic circumstances. :rolleyes:
    Going after the weakest in society is a disgusting spectacle,we all know who caused this and they walk away into the sunset.

BS grade A.
    You know who are the weakest in society?
    It is the normal fooking taxpayer.

They get screwed by those at the top with fancy payoffs and pensions on retirement, bailouts and those who get to walk away from their debts ala the quinns.
    On the other side they get screwed by the so called disadvantaged (e.g the long term unemployed, the single mothers, the criminals who can't get work) who often have never bothered to get off their ar**es their whole lives.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I can't get over how many people on this thread are against informing the state of welfare fraud....us Irish are all into moaning about this and that and all the wrongs performed against us and here you are, with a perfect opportunity to take a stand against fraud in general and there is the school yard mentality of "nah, I'm not going to "rat" them out"... :rolleyes:

As someone said in an earlier post - every euro going to these fraudsters is one less euro that could be going to a school, special needs assisstant, hospital, etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭pbowenroe

most focking definitely. i was on the bus going to galway from cork in front of two travellers from buttevant in cork and they were talking loudly and as if they didn't care who heard them about going to the galway city to collect the dole. made me fking sick and i was tempted to go to galway just to tip off the dole office

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Social Welfare should be done away with altogether.
    If you don't work then you shouldn't get any money unless you're disabled or have a serious illness.

Anyone able bodied should be out working and if not should not be getting free money full stop. If you don't work, you shouldn't get to eat, simple as.

You would soon find all the un employed out looking for work.
    The very LEAST i would like to see is anyone that is on SW out picking up rubbish on the M50 9-5 mon - fri or something equally as horrible.

Make the scum work for their free money.

If only I knew someone in the passport office I would have 10 different identities claiming the dole through 10 different post office's on a rotating 20 county scheme.

If ye can't beat them, ye mite as well just join them.

OP - PM me their details and I will report them for you.
    Sick of my money going to scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    Social Welfare should be done away with altogether.
    If you don't work then you shouldn't get any money unless you're disabled or have a serious illness.

Anyone able bodied should be out working and if not should not be getting free money full stop. If you don't work, you shouldn't get to eat, simple as.

The very LEAST i would like to see is anyone that is on SW out picking up rubbish on the M50 9-5 mon - fri or something equally as horrible.

If only I knew someone in the passport office I would have 10 different identities claiming the dole through 10 different post office's on a rotating 20 county scheme.

If ye can't beat them, ye mite as well just join them.

OP - PM me their details and I will report them for you.
    Sick of my money going to scum
    Would you feel the same if you lost your job tomorrow???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

god damn i love this world where there is full employment and jobs for all, it's great, we're a great little country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Techno_Toaster

What attitude?

The single mother getting opfa and also minding kids a few days a week - leave her at it.

Why is it presumed that just because someone has a child they are instantly entitled to screw the system. Noone is forced to have kids, if your going to bring a child into the world at least be able to support them. I understand accidents can happen/ relationships can break up but these days it's happening all to often.

Not everyone who is on Job-seekers Allowance is scum, some genuinely cannot find work. Not everyone is out to do social welfare fraud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Are we talking about the social welfare authorities?

Why the mortifying Roddy Doyleesque approximation of same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

K-9 wrote: »
    Still not addressing the questions asked because you can't, so go on a rant about bankers.

I'm pretty certain I covered everything in your diversionary posts. So don't flattery yourself here, there are no outstanding questions. You still clearly can't grasp what I said, this despite my quite deliberate attempts to make it very clear for you. I suggest you read posts correctly, yet somehow I know my plea falls on deaf ears.

My very first post in this thread mentioned perspective and putting this issue in context. Despite your self-delusion, unfortunately it is Banking scum that have put us in the hole we are in. Keep your head in the sand all you want, it doesn't change the fact that our SW budget is a symptom of a problem that originates on the doorsteps of our Banks. Blaming the symptom and not the diseases is absolutely ridiculous.
    K-9 wrote: »
    Social responsibility seems a foreign concept so I'll leave it there.

Grasping at straws and trying to muddy the debate again. Social responsibility? Well now that's a whole new can of worms here and is a very broad concept. Christ, don't get me started on social responsibility though because I could spend hours writing one post alone on that subject matter.

I haven't condoned SW fraud but I did make it clear that I'm not bothered by it. I can certainly understand why some do it and until I am in a similar situation financially I will refrain from passing judgement. Again it's all about perspective here and I am more interested in burying scum like Seanie. Because him and his ilk are the disease whose symptoms we are all paying for.

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Would you feel the same if you lost your job tomorrow???

Hell NO, I would be like, where the f**k is my Social Welfare but that is me and you is you and that is a different kettle of fish altogether.......

At least I'd like to see them doing community service for the dole, or some sort of job. Free money is not right full stop.

Not everyone who is on Job-seekers Allowance is scum, some genuinely cannot find work. Not everyone is out to do social welfare fraud.

I have just noted this down in my notepad and will study / revise it tonight.

Another cop out. Wtf has bankers got to do with a lad working on the QT and signing on? How does Seanie Fitz make it any more acceptable or contextualise it? That is what you are trying to do and I'm pointing out the stupidity of it.

What you're doing is using something completely unrelated to try and morally excuse it. SW fraudsters always exist, if it wasn't the bankers they'd have some other vague rant to excuse it. The excuses always change, a fraud is a fraud and that's a constant.

It's simple. If you are lucky enough to get a full time job, sign of and pay your taxes like the vast majority of honest people. Don't claim money of the Government and then evade paying tax and then say "sure look at Seanie". If you do, be honest, admit you're a leech and just get on with it! :D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

At least I'd like to see them doing community service for the dole, or some sort of job. Free money is not right full stop.
    I don't know the unemployment numbers but lets say half a million people are unemployed,where do you get half a million jobs for them to do in a time where people have to leave the country to work???

You're also calling them scum,so I'll put the question another way,if you lost your job tomorrow would you then become scum???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

jmayo wrote: »
    You have a funny view on ethics.
    BS grade A.
    You know who are the weakest in society?
    It is the normal fooking taxpayer.

On the other side they get screwed by the so called disadvantaged (e.g the long term unemployed, the single mothers, the criminals who can't get work) who often have never bothered to get off their ar**es their whole lives.

Tarring people with the same brush, nice ethics :rolleyes:

ps: I fall into both bolded catergories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭foreverandever

If you look at any jobs that have non-EU people working them it means no EU person who was qualified for the job applied. And if you look at the jobs they're doing it's broadly jobs that don't need qualifications eg cleaning, waitressing etc. Surely there should be questions why people claiming the dole in whatever town these jobs are in didn't apply?

There should be no way it's more beneficial to be on the dole than to be working. OP- you should report them. I know it's a really tough decision but the problem is too many people are turning a blind eye to these situations

I don't know the unemployment numbers but lets say half a million people are unemployed,where do you get half a million jobs for them to do in a time where people have to leave the country to work???

You're also calling them scum,so I'll put the question another way,if you lost your job tomorrow would you then become scum???

Perhaps Scum is a harsh word to use here. Let me instead refer to anyone that claims the dole as leeches as that is what they are doing, sucking the money / life out of the ordinary decent worker.

In relation to your first paragraph the idea is pretty simple. Get out onto the motorways, dualers, anywhere etc.... & start picking up the rubbish.
    Once you have filled up 20 black bags over the course of a day hand in said bags to a lorry waiting on the M50. You get 1 star per bag and 1 star can be redeemed at the post office for 1 euro. That is how the dole should work.

It would clean up the country and make it look nicer at the same time demoralising the people who are doing it who would work harder to find a job faster etc..

Pretty clear cut to me. Anyone over 60 doesn't have to do it, anyone disabled or serious illness doesn't have to do it.

But sure Hey, nahh, why do that let's just hand free money out & hope the problem goes away ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Tarring people with the same brush, nice ethics :rolleyes:

ps: I fall into both bolded catergories.

Notice the part about ...
    "who often have never bothered to get off their ar**es their whole lives"

BTW that I meant the ones that have never bothered working a day in their lives thus I would be excluding people like you, would I not ?

You and I both know there are some girls/women who decide to have multiple kids, sometimes with multiple fathers, never work and manage to get numerous handouts.
    And to even twist it further they are claiming to be living alone whilst often living with the father of their kid(s).

In certain areas it is deemed a lifestyle choice.
    I used to share with a girl from a particularly rough area of Limerick who one night said most if not all of her old classmates were now pushing prams.
    Now how come she was able to go out, get a job and build a life whilst her classmates were sponging off the taxpayers.

BTW I don't see how my comment is ethics related. :(
    Accuse me of the old chestnut of being politically incorrect if you want to accuse me of anything.

I am not allowed discuss …

In relation to your first paragraph the idea is pretty simple. Get out onto the motorways, dualers, anywhere etc.... & start picking up the rubbish.
    Once you have filled up 20 black bags over the course of a day hand in said bags to a lorry waiting on the M50. You get 1 star per bag and 1 star can be redeemed at the post office for 1 euro. That is how the dole should work.

It would clean up the country and make it look nicer at the same time demoralising the people who are doing it who would work harder to find a job faster etc..

Pretty clear cut to me. Anyone over 60 doesn't have to do it, anyone disabled or serious illness doesn't have to do it.

But sure Hey, nahh, why do that let's just hand free money out & hope the problem goes away ???
    it's just not that simple,there's such thing as minimum wage so you can't send someone out to work for less than that unless you increase social welfare.

Also I would want at least as much as I'm on now for that kind of work :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Perhaps Scum is a harsh word to use here. Let me instead refer to anyone that claims the dole as leeches as that is what they are doing, sucking the money / life out of the ordinary decent worker.

Serious you would have half a million people picking up paper, how about build a pyramid OK half a million people could build 10 pyramids with no machinery.

I hate this workhouse mentality that raises its head during a recession when there are NO JOBS. Where was this attitude when there was virtually full employment.

Besides what you get when a whole lot of people are working for dole or free is competition with people who are in employment doing this type of work.

it's just not that simple,there's such thing as minimum wage so you can't send someone out to work for less than that unless you increase social welfare.

To me you have answered your own question in your post.

First all change the law, the dole should not be considered a wage and therefor should not fall under the minimum wage law and if it does should be done away with.

The second and more important point is your last sentance.
    "Also I would want at least as much as I'm on now for that kind of work"

Exactly, who the hell would want to pick up rubbish for that money, no one, but if you had to do it for the dole money from your answer above you wouldn't be doing it for long so there ye go, problem solved.

NEXT

To me you have answered your own question in your post.

First all change the law, the dole should not be considered a wage and therefor should not fall under the minimum wage law and if it does should be done away with.

The second and more important point is your last sentance.
    "Also I would want at least as much as I'm on now for that kind of work"

Exactly, who the hell would want to pick up rubbish for that money, no one, but if you had to do it for the dole money from your answer above you wouldn't be doing it for long so there ye go, problem solved.

NEXT
    You just don't get it.
    Bye!!

You just don't get it.
    Bye!!

Oh, i think i see how it is now ?
    he must be signing on lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

I would definitely report someone.

All this "Please think of the children" talk is just stupid. The parents were irresponsible enough to break the law and the blame lies with them if being found out has any negative effect on the children.

There are 2 people I would like to report (one-parent family payment, daddy living with them, daddy claiming dole for 3 days when he works full time (employer diddling the books) and does nixers on the weekend) but I don't have their full address (the important part, like the first line of address) or their surname (as only know the girlfriends surname and not the daddy).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Monife wrote: »
    I would definitely report someone.

All this "Please think of the children" talk is just stupid. The parents were irresponsible enough to break the law and the blame lies with them if being found out has any negative effect on the children.

There are 2 people I would like to report (one-parent family payment, daddy living with them, daddy claiming dole for 3 days when he works full time (employer diddling the books) and does nixers on the weekend) but I don't have their full address (the important part, like the first line of address) or their surname (as only know the girlfriends surname and not the daddy).

Question,
    lets say you did report them. fair enough. But it comes back on you. Then what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Question,

Then who gives a toss? Using the reasoning abouve you'd never report a crime, ever.

Going after the weakest in society is a disgusting spectacle,we all know who caused this and they walk away into the sunset.

So people on social welfare payments AND fraudulently claiming other payments they are not entitled to/doing nixers, are the weakest in society? Get a grip. I know a hell of a lot of people on the dole and a few that are fraudsters, and the fraudsters having a pretty nice life, much better than my own. Nice 3 bedroom house, 08 BMW, holiday every year. I haven't been on holiday abroad since 2009 and before that it was 2005.

I might have took your comment seriously if you had said social welfare recipients (not fraudsters), but even then, they ARE NOT the weakest in society.

All fraud should be reported. Who cares if they know you reported it? It is illegal. It is taking money out of people's hard earned pay cheques which have already been raided by the government.

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Question,

Who cares? I certainly wouldn't. I am very open on my views of this sort of thing and people know it and if reported, probably would point the finger at me, but I don't give a fuck! I wouldn't have done anything wrong, it is they who have done wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

if i was defrauding the social welfare system by making false claims or working while claiming then yes i too would be classed as scum.

if on the other hand i had simply lost my job and was claiming welfare and spent every waking hour looking for work, upskilling by using services like FAS etc then no i wouldnt be a scumbag. i'd be unfortunate to be unemployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

No you're not.
    You're tiny amount of tax goes into a large pool of money, which the government then decide what to do with.

If it actually did mean that there would be more put into health, education, special needs etc etc etc... I might think differently on the matter.

But in my mind, it is the government, the banks, and other such powers that are to blame here.
    They are the bigger criminals.

Go for the drug lords, not the casual drug users.

Feckin Joe Duffy generation and your "my wages pay for their dole" crap..
    Would you ever just cop on like

And the award for the most retarded comment of the day goes to......

You should get some grinds in economics before you should start slating someone else.

ALL wages pay ALL dole - you should think before you post.
    It makes your online persona look like a dope.

So please explain how the nearly 1 billion in savings they have made from fraud and wrong payments in the last year will not make a difference to schools and hospitals,
    and please dont bang on about the banks and politicians - everyone is well aware of this
    what i want is your explanation of how catching 12,000 scamming wont make a difference
    it is OUR money - everyone's
    so when one person robs from the state they are taking from your wage

Faolchu wrote: »

if i was defrauding the social welfare system by making false claims or working while claiming then yes i too would be classed as scum.

if on the other hand i had simply lost my job and was claiming welfare and spent every waking hour looking for work, upskilling by using services like FAS etc then no i wouldnt be a scumbag. i'd be unfortunate to be unemployed.
    He was calling anybody that received benefit from social welfare excluding people with disabilities/old age scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Im always facinated by the detailed level of knowledge some people seem to have regarding other peoples financial affairs.

Do people who defraud the welfare really go around telling everyone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

dj jarvis wrote: »
    It makes your online persona look like a dope.e

This comment is hilarious!
    It's like you're attacking me, without attacking me personally, so it's okay!

You have your opinion, and I have mine.
    You think my online persona comes across like an idiot, and I think your online person comes across as an idiot.

And all is well with the world again.

This comment is hilarious!
    It's like you're attacking me, without attacking me personally, so it's okay!

You have your opinion, and I have mine.
    You think my online persona comes across like an idiot, and I think your online person comes across as an idiot.

And all is well with the world again.

LOL- well it can hardly make your " real world self " look stupid can it ??
    if you post idiotic " opinions " on line you will be picked up on them.
    Im sorry but your post was ill conceived and just factually wrong.

I base my comment on economic fact, where as your is based on a rant
    if you don't want to be picked up on it then don't post crap

and while we are having this dialogue fancy answering the questions i asked you?

and if you do, how about some based fact instead of pointless ranting
    otherwise people will challenge you on it ,
    and if you don't like that, well don't post sh1te in future - only my OPINION
    but they are like assholes - every gobsh1te has one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

dj jarvis wrote: »
    LOL- well it can hardly make your " real world self " look stupid can it ??
    if you post idiotic " opinions " on line you will be picked up on them.
    Im sorry but your post was ill conceived and just factually wrong.

I base my comment on economic fact, where as your is based on a rant
    if you don't want to be picked up on it then don't post crap

and while we are having this dialogue fancy answering the questions i asked you?

and if you do, how about some based fact instead of pointless ranting
    otherwise people will challenge you on it ,
    and if you don't like that, well don't post sh1te in future - only my OPINION
    but they are like assholes - every gobsh1te has one

I have made my thoughts on the matter clear in further posts.
    I have no idea what it is that you want me to answer that I haven't already said somewhere in this thread.

Your online persona is a bit of a narky Ned.
    Maybe your online persona needs a chill pill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I would shop anyone who steals from me, including those who steal via false claims for benefits to which they are not entitled. Can't understand the mindset of those who would not report any crime.

I have made my thoughts on the matter clear in further posts.
    I have no idea what it is that you want me to answer that I haven't already said somewhere in this thread.

Your online persona is a bit of a narky Ned.
    Maybe your online persona needs a chill pill
    ?

narky ned sometimes but not today :D
    if you cant answer the question then grand - your choice

i have read the entire thread and you have not come close to justifying your statement with a answer - just so you do understand,
    if you say something as incorrect as you did - you will get pulled up on it and asked to clarify and correct

this is not me being a narky ned - its your dodging the question
    i have ABSOLUTELY no issue with you - just your stupid statement

now you have yourself a swell night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭pbowenroe

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Im always facinated by the detailed level of knowledge some people seem to have regarding other peoples financial affairs.

yes. see this post:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=75463608&postcount=155

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

For social welfare fraud phone. 01 7043000
    For revenue fraud ................ 01 6474000

Just do it, it's your money they're stealing

headmaster wrote: »
    For social welfare fraud phone. 01 7043000
    For revenue fraud ................ 01 6474000

Just do it, it's your money they're stealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭jonevin

I know there are cases of fraud but do you folks realise that a single mother can earn up to 400 euro and still entitles to 50% of her payment each week. Therefore a lot may be paying tax and in fact are doing nothing illegal

Mike 1972 wrote: »

i would not say people advertise but people in the community will know irregardless - me i know of 2 not far from me , also LOADS of single mams with some chancer living with them

the thing that really boils my blood is the hypocritical sh!te the comes from these criminals - giving out about the bankers and politicians scamming yet they are fleecing the system blind

and your point about other peoples financial affairs - well if they are scamming the dole out of my money that i would prefer was used for decent honest people who have lost jobs, then it MY ****!NG business where my money goes.

this does not excuse bankers and developers for justice but this thread is about SW crimes so people constantly banging on about the bankers is a red herring - SW fraud is a crime - no matter who does it or why

if they managed to stop the large amounts of fraud maybe just maybe they might not have to start cutting the benefits of those who need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

No I wouldn't, not under most circumstances anyway.
    Sounds to me like you just have something personal against this woman.
    Think about it - shop her and what do you achieve?
    It doesn't help you and your financial situation at all does it?
    I know it's illegal, but I personally stand by my own morals over the law with most things, and ethically, I just could not do it.

Thanked by cruiser178, Makikomi, Tonto86

So your morals and ethics are to tolerate theft, and all that goes with it in these circumstances?
    • More taxes needing to be paid by people already struggling
    • Less social welfare money to those that actually need/deserve it
    • Fckuing up this country more than it already is

Wow, with morals like that, you make Bertie look like the second coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Yes by all means report someone - Frau Merkel needs all those spare euros. While you're waiting for the phone to be answered ask yourself this - did you vote for a criminal enterprise (FF) ? Do you feel happy about paying your taxes to shore up the pensions of Cowen, the Lenihan estate, Ahern, the Haughey estate et al. ? Why not report them - they do nothing and sponge from the state. Blatantly.

Your bosses robbed from you..not the people who are losing out and have always done so. If you fell for the Celtic Tiger pornography and are suffering now, cut up the credit card and sell the jeep you never really could afford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

When i see the people who caused this economic disaster led away in handcuffs and then jailed,then and only then will i lift the phone to report social welfare fraud.
    Well, these social welfare cheats and the people you are referring to are one and the same - only thinking of themselves and fcuk the consequences for everybody else.

Your bosses robbed from you..not the people who are losing out and have always done so. If you fell for the Celtic Tiger pornography and are suffering now, cut up the credit card and sell the jeep you never really could afford.
    What's that got to do with benefit fraud???

Yes by all means report someone - Frau Merkel needs all those spare euros. While you're waiting for the phone to be answered ask yourself this - did you vote for a criminal enterprise (FF) ? Do you feel happy about paying your taxes to shore up the pensions of Cowen, the Lenihan estate, Ahern, the Haughey estate et al. ? Why not report them - they do nothing and sponge from the state. Blatantly.

guess you did not see that this was a thread about SW fraud and reporting
    one does not justify the other

your comparison is pointless - you want a debate of the merits of stringing up politicans ??? start a thread and ill feckin join ya
    but this is not the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

The point is your target is wrong. SW fraud is miniscule compared to misrule. It makes good headlines but solves nothing underlying. So - you get one idiot running 3.3 mil. through his accounts. That is a disgrace, yes. It is not the guy next door who does a few nixers on the side. Our fatcat politicians would love it if we all assumed the jobless got us into the mess we're in. They didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭foreverandever

The point is your target is wrong. SW fraud is miniscule compared to misrule. It makes good headlines but solves nothing underlying. So - you get one idiot running 3.3 mil. through his accounts. That is a disgrace, yes. It is not the guy next door who does a few nixers on the side. Our fatcat politicians would love it if we all assumed the jobless got us into the mess we're in. They didn't.

But why are they allowed to do this and not everyone else? What gives them the right? I can't believe the amount of people who'd turn a blind eye to this sort of carry on

So basically fraud was wrong before the bailout and FF feck ups? Now it's okay. Is that the point people are making?