Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raw 14/11/11 *Spoilers*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CoolHat

Isnt it a bit stupid the way he already came out earlier for a few seconds?

It was kinda like WWE knew by leaving his segment till the end they could annoy fans. So bring him out an hour into it thus making them watch till the end.

I see what you did there wwe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Lose the special lights,it's not Sin bloody Cara!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Rocky is fecking class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭BlackRoom

these comebacks are always rubbish.

Was The Rock really filming GI JOE 2 today? :pac:
    Like he says he got to Boston at 5.45pm.

Do you really think WWE would lay an important 3 hour raw special in the hands of Planes being not being delayed. :pac:
    Why do you lie to me rock :(

What is with the constant references to twitter? Pretty annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

2nd time tonite F**K Twitter

Private Jet I'd say!

What the hell is he shíting on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

The Rock has lost it imo...nothing he says has nearly as much effect since he became Captain America.

Private Jet I'd say!

What the hell is he shíting on about?

forgot about that :(

He's only out there five minutes and the crowd have a new chant.

''Boots to asses!''

Why does The Rock have any issue with Miz or Truth?

Regretting staying up for this now!

Truth is awesome!

Posts merged and Coolhat banned from PW boards for 7 days for inappropriate language.

Rock got greedy.

Dear lord that booking was IDIOTIC. Are we meant to believe Awesome Truth are a threat now.

That was crap!

Rock was a big disappointment altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

So, does that make any of you out there in internet land want to buy this PPV on Sunday?

So, does that make any of you out there in internet land want to buy stream this PPV on Sunday?

Fixed it for you :pac:

So, does that make any of you out there in internet land want to buy this PPV on Sunday?

How could you I won't be buying it thats for sure €22 more into the moneypot for Skyrim. Unless Cena and Rock want to spend the next month belittling dragons as a threath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I thought the last segment was quite good. Rock and Cena still have good chemistry which bodes well for their match, but wow Miz can't do menacing or threatening at all. He's like Karl Pilkington when he gets angry. The way it was booked suggests Miz and Truth will get the win at SS. Otherwise they just buried them the entire feud.

Overall though the show was terrible I thought. Only good parts were the Sheamus/Swagger match and the final segment. Those are the only bits worth checking out. The show was a dud.

Not in the slightest!

They probably should've just saved Rock's comeback til Survivor Series instead of having him come back tonight on Raw and blather on about Twitter.At least then there might have been some sort of mystique about his return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Pentecost

What was with that non stop Twitter crap? Are they trying to get sponsorship or something? Really annoying. It was way more than usual even

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

Pentecost wrote: »
    What was with that non stop Twitter crap? Are they trying to get sponsorship or something? Really annoying. It was way more than usual even

i read recently that Vince loves twitter and has instructed the commentators and superstars to mention it alot, because he feels it brings the wwe alot more mainstream publicity when it gets mentioned on it, so i presume when Rock was banging on about it last night, The Rock and wwe raw would be a big hit on it, which in turn, might bring in viewers who might not normally watch raw to watch it.

and is'nt it great to see that del rio has tweaked his finishing move to make it more painfully submissive again, because after night of champions i taught he might have to find a new one, on that night he tried it on a man called john cena, but john cena just lifted him up and dropped him down to the mat, and proved once again, if there was ever any shadow of a doubt, that he is no ordinary man.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I know its getting negative responses here, but I loved The Rock's role tonight on Raw.

I've come to terms with the fact that Sunday is basically an advert for Mania; Miz and Truth are secondary to the larger Cena/Rock feud. But I still mark out for The Rock and he still has me sitting there with a big smile on my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Did anyone else think Rock fluffed up a few of his lines last night?

He seemed a little lost when he was talking about "Right now" and there was a pause but thankfully the crowd started chanting "Thank you rock", seems like that gave him enough time to remember what he was saying.

There was another moment when there was the standoff between all four and Cena delivered his line and Rock seemed to either be very hesitant about saying his line or he forgot it.
    It was made feel all that longer because Cena was pulling a weird face to the side with the hard camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

Pretty shit Raw overall. None of the matches did much for me, and the whole thing was overshadowed by expectation that The Rock would somehow right all the atrocious booking of the last few weeks.

The Rock's appearance pretty much went as I thought it would, a couple of decent moments but falling flat overall. I think The Rock still has it, but there's just nothing for him to work with at the moment. The Miz and Truth have lost all credibility and personality in the last few weeks, so much so that even WWE themselves seem not bothered in putting them over as a threat anymore. I'm a big Rock fan but I actually didn't want to see him back last night as the current story lines are just not good enough to live up to the hype around him. He's good, but he's not the miracle worker WWE think he is.
    The Mick Foley thing was odd too. Very odd. John Cena Sr. was hilarious! And the Rock Bottom on Mick was deserved.

One small positive, I found Rock and Cena's bit of interaction together pretty enjoyable so hopefully the build up to WM is ok.

CMpunked wrote: »
    There was another moment when there was the standoff between all four and Cena delivered his line and Rock seemed to either be very hesitant about saying his line or he forgot it.

was that ''are you wearing make up'' line to the miz, i'd say Rock could'nt believe what he heard, i mean what a way to open a standoff.

What annoyed me about that line is that I reckon all four of them probably were, being honest <_<

well Miz looked like he was anyway, looked overly tanned to, but still, there was no need for a stupid line like that, the other 3 had built up some sort (not alot but it was a little bit) of tension and then he comes down and says that, for me the segment died at that point, and it definitely was'nt great to begin with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

very weak show, the only good bit being Cena Snr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

the fact is, WWE do not believe that the public believe that Truth and Miz can win the match...so from their point of view, why would they try to push that as the selling point?

the easiest selling point to push is the Cena/Rock dynamic.

IMO, it's a sad indication of where the business is, as well as a sad result of not building up the undercard properly as actual threats to the elite superstars. they should never be in a position where a returning Superstar, no matter who they are, has to bludgeon two of your top heels because it can't be believed that the heels can overcome him.

it's ridiculous carry on.

Cena's facials were excellent, and as much as anything sold the issue. but why would Rock bother Rock Bottoming Foley? nailing Cena would have made sense, but yet again, this is evidence that Vince has lost the plot, lost his focus, and would rather a cheap shot on Foley than build the feud properly.

it's officially a full blown soap opera now, with the matches themselves becoming rather meaningless. they're just a means of pushing the story, rather than the story pushing the matches.

it's very close to unwatchable, and only the talent of a select few are keeping me from giving up entirely for the time being (i'm not foolish enough to say i'd ever give up forever - wrestling fans are the most loyal fans, and will always give second chances to the business :pac:).

Man them pasting Awesome Truth was a real NO,NO,NO WTF are you doing moment so the only people now tempted to buy that match sunday is people who always have been buying the ppv's regardless off how bad wwe has been building them up OR you have to be HUGE Rock mark like the guy beating his Chest like a Gorilla when Rock came out drop Mick Foley/put him back in his place in Vince's warped mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

I'm kind of annoyed I stayed up to watch it (partly cause I was late for work but anyway)
    Some of The Rock's lines were funny but my god the 'this is your life segment?' That to me looked like WWE were getting desperate and trying to get the older lads to like Cena. They take the highest rated segment in raw history and try to use it on Cena.. No Just No !
    The first 15 minutes , dear god I really dont know why JR subjects himself to this anymore. WWE should be ashamed
    Biggest problem was ofcourse the end. We now have no credable belief that Awsome Truth are a threat to Cena/Rock.

Cara/Kofi vs Cody/Hunico was good,as was Sheamus vs Swagger.

Everything else was a bit of a flop,especially The Rock's bit at the end.Haven't been impressed by him since his first return when he was anounced as the host of Mania,don't know what he was prattling on about last night,twitter,trending and all that shíte.

I suppose if SS garners a decent buy rate all will be forgiven.I'm not so sure it will though.I'll be dl'ing it anyways

GTR63 wrote: »
    the only people now tempted to buy that match sunday is people who always have been buying the ppv's regardless off how bad wwe has been building them up OR you have to be HUGE Rock mark

*Raises hand while blushing*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Why the push back of Clay's "redebut" :confused: I'm thinking he will be part of Johnny Ace's stable or a bodyguard for Ace himself perhaps or back with Del Rio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Why the push back of Clay's "redebut" :confused: I'm thinking he will part of Johnny Ace's stable or a bodyguard for Ace himself perhaps or will he be back with Del Rio

Clay to cost Team Orton the Match during at SS???

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

“Boots To Asses” and “Cena’s lady parts” were trending worldwide on Twitter this week during the final segment with The Rock, John Cena, The Miz and R-Truth.

Shortly before The Rock went out live, he wrote the following on Twitter:

“Seconds from electrifying RAW. Time to feed the beast and make 3 words trend worldwide.. #BootsToAsses”

– WWE’s shop website is now selling The Rock’s new “Boots To Asses” shirts

The man who played John Cena’s Little League coach on this week’s RAW was independent wrestler Fabulous Johnny Vegas.

– On this week’s RAW, Dolph Ziggler was announced as Christian’s replacement in the Team Orton vs. Team Barrett Survivor Series match. The match will now be Wade Barrett, Cody Rhodes, Jack Swagger, Hunico & Dolph Ziggler vs. Randy Orton, Sheamus, Mason Ryan, Kofi Kingston & Sin Cara.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Rock rock bottoming Foley had to be the funniest **** I've seen on WWE tv in a long time.

“Boots To Asses” and “Cena’s lady parts” were trending worldwide on Twitter this week during the final segment with The Rock, John Cena, The Miz and R-Truth.

I bet the last things that were trending was Miz or Truth but maybe #afterthought was. Good job this week wwe you trended which I know means so much to you these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

SlickRic wrote: »
    Cena's facials were excellent, and as much as anything sold the issue. but why would Rock bother Rock Bottoming Foley? nailing Cena would have made sense, but yet again, this is evidence that Vince has lost the plot, lost his focus, and would rather a cheap shot on Foley than build the feud properly.

it's officially a full blown soap opera now, with the matches themselves becoming rather meaningless. they're just a means of pushing the story, rather than the story pushing the matches.

Yeah I didn't care for that Rock Bottom moment whatsoever. I think a lot of people would have hoped for some back and forth banter with Rock and Foley which would have made far more sense seeing as it's been so long since they were in a WWE ring together. The more I think about it the more I realise how pointless and wasteful it was.
    SlickRic wrote:
    it's very close to unwatchable, and only the talent of a select few are keeping me from giving up entirely for the time being (i'm not foolish enough to say i'd ever give up forever - wrestling fans are the most loyal fans, and will always give second chances to the business :pac:).

I think I'd actually have quit already if not for the fact I knew Rock and Foley were returning and the road to Wrestlemania is on the horizon. The actual writing of the show lately is as bad as I can ever remember it being.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Rock Bottom to foley was a nice reminder of how unpredictable Rock is.

Also asks the question if thats what he does to his friends and as he has form for screwing Cena, will he do it again to Cena at Survivor Series?

Then again Cena might just screw Rock first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭deisedude

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Rock Bottom to foley was a nice reminder of how unpredictable Rock is.

Also asks the question if thats what he does to his friends and as he has form for screwing Cena, will he do it again to Cena at Survivor Series?

I'm hoping one Cena or Rock screws the other at Survivor Series. It would be the only good thing out of this shambles and would lead up well to Wrestlemania

WWE has been going downhill from the moment Kevin Nash was brought back IMO. Which is a shame as I was so excited for the future after MITB and they have pissed all that momentum away :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

DM-ICE wrote: »

The Rock is just about the only person over enough to facilitate a full blown Cena heel turn. I think it's a case of now or never.

I think Cena will screw Rock but not to facilitate a heel turn; more in return for their Mania moment.

Yeah Cena ain't going full blown heel,not yet anyway. Who'd he feud with then ADR and Punk is going to be a long term heel what other main event faces are on Raw besides Punk and Cena at the moment. I wonder are wwe nervous of Rock's ring rust 7 years is a long time for anyone. I know he's been training with Miz and Truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I doubt he'll screw him. I'd say they'll win the match and the Cena will AA him. Boring and predictable.

It's a shame the WWE has wasted the last few years and produced so few new stars. At least CM Punk, Sheamus and potentially Ryder may offer some hope of new faces.

Raw was poor enough. I enjoyed Cena Sr though :pac: Punk pretty much summed up everybodies thoughts about Cole as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

WWE Raw on Monday, November 14 featuring The Rock's TV return scored a 3.25 rating for all three hours and a 3.37 rating in the standard two hours.

The 3.37 rating would have been the highest since May 23, which was the Raw after Randy Savage's death and a Raw followed The Rock guest-starring on the Tough Enough lead-in to Raw.

Raw averaged 4.74 million viewers for all three hours and 4.95 million viewers for the standard two hours. Raw's bonus first hour averaged 4.31 million viewers, followed by 5.00 million viewers in the standard first hour (second overall), and an average of 4.91 million viewers in the final hour.

It marked the ninth week out of the last 12 where Raw's final hour has dropped from the standard first hour. However, the second hour averaged the most viewers in 16 weeks dating back to the July 25 episode.

-- On cable TV Monday night, Raw ranked #2 behind ESPN's Monday Night Football game in overall viewers and key male demographics. Among males 18-34 & males 18-49, Raw's regular two hours drew the best numbers since WrestleMania season.

-- On a week-to-week comparison to last week's dreadful ratings, Raw was up significantly in the adult demos, but not as much with teen male viewers. Raw was up 20.0 percent in a18-34, up 25.0 percent in a18-49, up 35.7 percent in m18-34, up 30.6 percent in m18-49, up 30.1 percent in m12-34, and only up 14.8 percent in m12-17.

Caldwell's Analysis: Rock helped deliver a strong number for Raw considering the show had been in a slump for the better part of the last three months following Summerslam Season. Whether that translates into Survivor Series buys remains to be seen, but it certainly helps on the TV side when USA Network has all kinds of bragging rights over NBC and it helps boost the network's quarterly average for Q4-2011.

http://pwtorch.com/artman2/publish/WWE_News_3/article_55195.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Rjd2 wrote: »

Caldwell's Analysis: Rock helped deliver a strong number for Raw considering the show had been in a slump for the better part of the last three months following Summerslam Season.

raw after vengence (oct 24th) drew a 3.31 and a 3.25 on october 10th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

i want to know what the "this is your life" segment drew!

and oi oi oi keep a lid on that 'turn cena heel' talk! :mad: