Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Big "beautiful" women, are some overweight women really this delusional?

• 14-11-2011 5:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭dilbert2

Now I'm not attacking anybody for been overweight and don't really consider it any of my business. However, I cannot help but comment on the increasing use of "bbw", or "big beautiful women" by many overweight women to describe themselves, particularly when it comes to looking for men. No offence, but anybody who is overweight, male or female, is not only in an unhealthy state, but is also generally considered (perhaps unfairly) to be unattractive by the opposite sex when it comes to dating.

I have never, once heard an overweight man refer to himself as a "big handsome man". Most seem to just accept that they are overweight and either laugh about it, or decide to lose to access weight. However a lot of overweight women seem to be living in a fantasy world were "to be big is to be beautiful". When on earth did been overweight and unhealthy become associated in the minds of many women with beauty and attractiveness to the opposite sex. Even worse is the cocky and arrogant bbw's, as if they weren't at enough of a disadvantage when it came to dating already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I always though bbw was big boobed woman.

Which of course would be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

What annoys me more is the use of the word fat when it should be obese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

In fairness by mentioning it they are probably aiming for that sector of the opposite sex that do find big beautiful..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭The Assistinator

dilbert2 wrote: »
    Now I'm not attacking anybody for been overweight and don't really consider it any of my business. However, I cannot help but comment on the increasing use of "bbw", or "big beautiful women" by many overweight women to describe themselves, particularly when it comes to looking for men. No offence, but anybody who is overweight, male or female, is not only in an unhealthy state, but is also generally considered (perhaps unfairly) to be unattractive by the opposite sex when it comes to dating.

I have never, once heard an overweight man refer to himself as a "big handsome man". Most seem to just accept that they are overweight and either laugh about it, or decide to lose to access weight. However a lot of overweight women seem to be living in a fantasy world were "to be big is to be beautiful". When on earth did been overweight and unhealthy become associated in the minds of many women with beauty and attractiveness to the opposite sex. Even worse is the cocky and arrogant bbw's, as if they weren't at enough of a disadvantage when it came to dating already!
    I think the term bbw acctually is used more for porn sites than the ladies themselves in the same way as milf i dont hear many ladies calling themselves milfs(if anything most ladies would find it creepy):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

What really gets to me is the use of the word curvy.
    I am curvy, but the healthy weight for my height and build.
    Fat women could well be curvy underneath the fat, but you just can't tell because they are just fat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

So, OP was red carded by a fat bird at the weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

I don't think it is as bad as the over-use of the "bubbly personality" classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Oh it's supersized popcorn time.

Oh and extra butter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I don't think it is as bad as the over-use of the "bubbly personality" classic.
    They tend to use the phrase 'outgoing' instead...as in 'outgoing to the chip shop'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭EarlyStorms

Be careful the last time I expressed views like this a BBW punched me in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Paparazzo wrote: »
    So, OP was red carded by a fat bird at the weekend?

what is comonly described as 'Not pulling his weight'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

BBW is a porn catagory. End of.

What may make this thread useful is a group definition of curvy. Skeletal shape or body fat induced?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Yeah, can't get enough of those bubbly personalities :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Be careful the last time I expressed views like this a BBW sat on my face.

fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Some men do like that to varying degrees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

Zebra3 wrote: »
    What annoys me more is the use of the word fat when it should be obese.

Why? Incorrect language? Suggestion it's a perjorative term?
    prinz wrote: »
    In fairness by mentioning it they are probably aiming for that sector of the opposite sex that do find big beautiful..

Some women go for fat guys though. For some reason in that dynamic people dont mind acknowledging it's usually a comfort thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I might as well be blunt...
    its large women trying to use a term as "BBW" to feel more sexy about themselves. Which nothing wrong with that on the surface. Who am I to say that someone shouldnt try and feel good about themselves.

But alot take it too far ... "i'm big and sexy. I'm a real woman. Most men cant handle a woman like me. This is sexy" - :rolleyes: which goes beyond making yourself feel good and into delusional territory that your big gut hanging down is sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

aido179 wrote: »
    BBW is a porn catagory. End of.

What may make this thread useful is a group definition of curvy. Skeletal shape or body fat induced?

An obvious waist would be a start. i.e. a waist measurement smaller than hips and bust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

Women being slightly bigger than the average women doesn't stop them being beautiful.

Its more of a problem with you that you can't see that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

LighterGuy wrote: »
    I might as well be blunt...
    its large women trying to use a term as "BBW" to feel more sexy about themselves. Which nothing wrong with that on the surface. Who am I to say that someone shouldnt try and feel good about themselves.

But alot take it too far ... "i'm big and sexy. I'm a real woman. Most men cant handle a woman like me. This is sexy" - :rolleyes: which goes beyond making yourself feel good and into delusional territory that your big gut hanging down is sexy.
    nail on the head there I think. Some people use it as a euphemism rather than buying into the sort of nonsense being described here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

LighterGuy wrote: »
    "i'm big and sexy. I'm a real woman. Most men cant handle a woman like me"

"Course I can't handle ya luv, I can't get my arms around ya."

Fat is a fact not an opinion

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Giruilla wrote: »
    Women being slightly bigger than the average women doesn't stop them being beautiful.

You are totally right - somebody can be totally beautful and still be fat. They can have a really pretty face, and have a great personality and all that...............but can anyone really put a pair of monstrous thighs beside a pair of crackin legs and say "you know what I'll have the monstrous thighs"............or the same with a saggy arse or a monstrous belly - on either a man or a woman?

It's like you get a really beautiful woman and you get a picture of her years ago when she was in great shape and you get a picture of her years later with stacks of extra weight - could you honestly say you wouldn't rather her when she was in great shape?

and the above goes for men too.

.............and this isn't even touching on the health implications of being overweight

rambutman wrote: »
    ...............but can anyone really put a pair of monstrous thighs beside a pair of crackin legs and say "you know what I'll have the monstrous thighs"............or the same with a saggy arse or a monstrous belly - on either a man or a woman?

Obviously some people can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Depends on how big they are. Some girls are quite curvy in the real sense, but are at a healthy weight and are still unfairly called fat just because they're not supermodel skinny. Then of course there are women who are just overweight and could not be considered "big and beautiful" despite claiming to be. I know girls who are "bigger", but everything looks in proportion and they're healthy. However, they've still been called fat, which they aren't.

I think it's a mixture of some women being delusional, and some people having a very skewed image of what can truly be considered overweight and what isn't.

Obviously some people can.

Really? Or are they settling for it? and i meant above with all other things being equal

Fat girl with personality VS Stunner with none

Fat girl wins out everytime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

It's just advertising/marketing brainwashing people use to get what they want. Slim people use it too but concerning different problems other than weight. On a human level , I guess If you can't lose weight no matter how hard you try then you've got no option but to learn to live with it positively. However also on a human level I fekin hate advertising and attempted brainwashing and ''morketing speak''. It doesn't change my perception of beauty/the product for sale and it never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Some of them think they're 'gawwwwjuss' :rolleyes:

On a more serious note however, I know girls who are size 12/14 who people call fat cows when they're not, they're fully in proportion, fit and eat healthily, that's just their natural body size. not everyone is naturally supermodel skinny and it's not fair to tar everyone with the same brush.

Sure if we were all supermodel skinny there'd be no individuality in the world, it would get boring really fast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

martyo wrote: »
    I think the term bbw acctually is used more for porn sites than the ladies themselves in the same way as milf i dont hear many ladies calling themselves milfs(if anything most ladies would find it creepy):D
    My friend's mum once called herself a milf when a bunch of us were around. The room went deathly quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I thought it meant they are overweight but confident and carry it well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

The looser the waistband, the deeper the quicksand. Or so I have read..

Really? Or are they settling for it?

Couldn't you say the dame for almost anything depending on your own prejudices? :confused:

Don't quite follow you :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Rubenesque women used to be in vogue. It's largely down to the tastes of the time. When everyone gets to the state of the fatties from Wall E, we'll probably find fat women\men more alluring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

Sure if we were all supermodel skinny there'd be no individuality in the world, it would get boring really fast!

because then we wouldn't have the obese for entertainment ?

Don't quite follow you :)

Let's say you're more into blonds than brunettes/or white girls more than asian girls.

Are you still going to say incredulously 'would anyone really choose a brunette over a blond/Or an asian girl over a white girl all other things equal?...

Answer - of course they are. Just because it doesn't appeal to you, doesn't mean it doesn't appeal to someone else. Or else you are saying weight/size is a completely different category to hair colour/eye colour/skin colour/height/ etc etc etc which is nonsense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

From a purely personal aethsetic, I like woman who are confident in their skin, regardless of their size. Confidence is attractive.

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭Shattered Dreamer

I find them absolutely revolting! Not to sound shallow but looking that unhealthy is a massive turn off for me. The one's who actively go around talking about how sexy they are make me wanna reach for a shotgun

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Personally, I suppose it's all a matter of taste. Some guys like their women with a good bit of flesh on their bones. Whatever get's y'awf and all that!;);)

BTW, I once heard this definition of frustration: two big bellies and a short pr1ck.:):)

I find them absolutely revolting! Not to sound shallow but looking that unhealthy is a massive turn off for me. The one's who actively go around talking about how sexy they are make me wanna reach for a shotgun

Man turns gun on women for not achieving his standards shocker!

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Personally, I suppose it's all a matter of taste. Some guys like their women with a good bit of flesh on their bones.

Just to clarify I find that super skinny skin & bones look just as disgusting. Neither are healthy so therefore unattractive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Overweight is subjective.

Obviously some people are obese and whatnot, but the range of women you would (or I would) find attractive varies in size: sometimes it's very slim women and sometimes women that are larger than that.

Some women can carry weight, espeically when it's in proportion and look great. It really depends on each individual woman.

There is also the factor of not expecting female partners to attain a level of physical perfection that I have not yet attained. Not that stops half the men here doing so, I'm guessing.

old hippy wrote: »
    Man turns gun on women for not achieving his standards shocker!

lol given how low my standards are generally I wouldn't be too shocked :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

I don't think they really think they are beautiful but they are just using a term that they hope attracts a certain type of guy that is into bigger women.

Most I would assume have low self esteem due to their extra weight, and if they need to use such a term to make themselves feel better then let them.

Yes I agree it’s a little delusional on their part but they are really only kidding themselves at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

psychward wrote: »
    because then we wouldn't have the obese for entertainment ?

Nope, because we would all look the same! Different shapes means more variety, especially from a lads point of view - from what I've learnt, lads like a lot of different things, if we were all the exact same the 'boob men', 'arse men' and 'leg men' (to name a few) would be quite dissappointed!

Let's say you're more into blonds than brunettes/or white girls more than asian girls.

Are you still going to say incredulously 'would anyone really choose a brunette over a blond/Or an asian girl over a white girl all other things equal?...

Answer - of course they are. Just because it doesn't appeal to you, doesn't mean it doesn't appeal to someone else. Or else you are saying weight/size is a completely different category to hair colour/eye colour/skin colour/height/ etc etc etc which is nonsense.

I see where you're coming from.............but is blond hair healthier than red? Are we not more attracted to healthier looking people as a general rule?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Rubenesque women used to be in vogue..

Whenever a mate used to describe a new girlfriend as such (or "voluptuous"), one or two of the others would cruely and silently mouth fat to each other behind his back.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Define Irony: The topic of the Thread, the defence she uses and her username lmao:D

stovelid wrote: »
    Whenever a mate used to describe a new girlfriend as such (or "voluptuous"), one or two of the others would cruely and silently mouth fat to each other behind his back.....

Cruel