Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Big "beautiful" women, are some overweight women really this delusional?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

the last girl I saw was a fair bit overweight - she had a bodyfat percentage of 41% so was obese by clinical standards. A very pretty girl she was and had no problem turning me on but BY-JAYSIS once the clothes came off there was nothing ya could do to keep wood - she'd turn a hard-on into a soft-off in no time.......it gave the saying "she'd give it back to you soft" a whole new meaning. If she turned around and ya went to go at it doggy style - above and beyond the fact it was hard to actually get it in there - once ya saw that 3 foot wide saggy arse that was the end of it
    Trying to be supportive I kept it to myself, got a supply of cialis/viagra/levitra and would neck 1 (sometimes 2 required!) about 30 mins before ya had an idea sex was about to commence. I carried on like this for a number of months whilst trying to help her lose a bit of weight. I kept this up until 1 night she ambushed me when I called around................dressed up like a secretary she was but it was not a pretty sight looking at her all squashed and squeezed into her little outfit........the little fella was less impressed and trying to get as far back into my body as possible "i'm not goin in there"................and it was no go that night and she got quite abusive, slagging me off and the like cos i couldn't do the business.............i slept on it for the night and the next day tried to talk to her about it - fessing up about the viagra and that and how i ACTUALLY felt about her weight............(this was after 3 months of mutual exercise, mutual diets, light encouragement/healthy encouragement etc, etc)..............anyway I broke it to her (as gently as I could) that I found the extra weight (must have been about 3 stone easy) as a real turn off and that while i liked/loved her etc, etc it wasn't doing anything for me BUT i wanted her to lose it for herself and I'd support her all the way. That was it after that conversation - it was no more - i was the worse cnut in the world, insensitive, an @rsehole all that sort of stuff......."you're supposed to love me etc, etc" "you're not suppose to care about that etc, etc"......................there was nothing I could do about the physical effect her body had on my (physical) state of arousal.........what was i supposed to do?

I remember her at one stage early in the relationship "i'm not fat I'm curvy"

41% Bodyfat
    5' 10" and 14.5 stone
    (and disillusioned)

"you're not curvy, yer fat"............is what I should have said.

Anyway bitter and all I am about the way the whole thing ended...................what should have been the appropriate line of behaviour here...............????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Nothing wrong with bangin' a few fatties just to get it out of your system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

rambutman wrote: »
    Anyway bitter and all I am about the way the whole thing ended...................what should have been the appropriate line of behaviour here...............????

If she had a big set of baps to go with it I would have put up with it. Nothin' worse than a fat bird with no t1ts! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭Attabear

Never heard the expression "she'd give it back to you soft" before.

It's going in the vocabulary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Nothing wrong with bangin' a few fatties just to get it out of your system
    Why would that need be in your system?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Nothin' worse than a fat bird with no t1ts! :o

A predicament for ya

She's got a cracking pair BUT you know that if she loses the weight that'll be the first place it will go so ya've a choice

1) Nice "normal" weight girl with a miniature pair
    2) Yer nice comfortable (overweight) girl was a good set of jabs

Regarding the "she'd give it back to ya soft"

This normally refers to a girl of amazing sexual prowess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

A predicament for ya

She's got a cracking pair BUT you know that if she loses the weight that'll be the first place it will go so ya've a choice

1) Nice "normal" weight girl with a miniature pair
    2) Yer nice comfortable (overweight) girl was a good set of jabs

Regarding the "she'd give it back to ya soft"

This normally refers to a girl of amazing sexual prowess

Big Bird, Big Baps all the way for me. :)

Would find missy two backs a bigger turn off TBH!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Obesity is an epidemic and causing unnecessary problems for health services worldwide. It's one thing to have a bit of a belly, but saying people should be happy that they're 6/7 stone overweight is ludricous. To say that people are shallow because they don't find this attractive is PC b*******.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

cloptrop wrote: »
    You would be detained until you were better and given whatever cured you .

And just cause someone pays health insurance doesnt mean they have a right to use all the operations. Thats like saying I have car insurance I should be allowed drink drive. Its just silly.

You wouldnt be detained you would just get the necessary treatment. Your not held down and given chemo.

And if they pay for those services then they absolutely have a right to use them, you yourself said a solution to the problem is higher taxes to pay for the services. So if they pay privately then whats the problem ?. Its not like saying you can drink drive because you have car insurance (as that is illegal). Its like saying you have a right to claim on your insurance within the terms of the service.

Not sure you are in the right position to be calling what anything silly considering your talking absolute shíte.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

MungBean wrote: »
    You wouldnt be detained you would just get the necessary treatment. Your not held down and given chemo.

And if they pay for those services then they absolutely have a right to use them. Its not like saying you can drink drive because you have car insurance (as that is illegal). Its like saying you have a right to claim on your insurance within the terms of the service.

Not sure you are in the right position to be calling what anything silly considering your talking absolute shíte.

I think what they mean is just because you choose to be obese and have health insurance, doesn't mean you should allow yourself become morbidly obese and use your insurance to cover the cost of treating the consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Your entire point was that these women promote an unhealthy lifestyle. You even reiterated it at the end of that post. I know its not healthy, she knows its not healthy. Your issue with the unhealthy lifestyle is the health risks. You say your friend is ignoring the risks, you say anyone who does so is promoting an unhealthy lifestyle so why are you trying to draw a distinction between everyone else and your friend ? You say in her case its fine to be happy and then contradict it later on by saying happy or not its promoting the health risks and that in your opinion seems to be wrong.

Yes, "these woman" being obese woman who hide behind the BBW thing. The distinction with my friend is that she is not obese. Overweight, yes. Obese, no.

Is she promoting an unhealthy lifestyle? No. She isn't walking around trying to justify her size and eating habits by saying "I'm a real woman" or refering to herself as a BBW.

But there are obese woman who do that. That's my issue.

I think what they mean is just because you choose to be obese and have health insurance, doesn't mean you should allow yourself become morbidly obese and use your insurance to cover the cost of treating the consequences.

We are talking about rights here and what was said is that an obese person shouldnt have the right to live a certain lifestyle because the cost of that has to be paid by the tax payer. When asked if that means private health insurance gives them the right to be that way seeing as they pay themselves the response was no, they have no right to use services they are paying for.

Its bullshít and considering the other point was that they should be detained and forceful treated just like cancer patents (apparently :rolleyes:) then it amounts to someone who hasnt a clue what they are talking about wanting other people forced to do something because they personally dont agree with it. Regardless of monetary or societal cost they should be forced to live a certain way because of other peoples views. Extremist, bigoted bullshít if ever I seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Of course some people can become addicted to food, just like some can become addicted to exercise and sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

I think you are reading into it too much.

When a woman says she is a 'BBW' she is saying 'I'm overweight to obese'. It's just a slightly nicer way to say it. If you are talking to a woman, you know if she is overweight/obese/beautiful/whatever - so who cares? If you are online or on a dating site or reading personal ads - you know that BBW == weight to obese. Respond accordingly to your tastes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Underdraft

Dudess wrote: »
    Of course some people can become addicted to food, just like some can become addicted to exercise

Now if people could become addicted to both at the same time there'd probably be no problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭Mr NoTV

I detest those overweight girls, dressed in pink [tracksuits included] who think they're sexy. They're not little girls anymore, they're big women ... dress correctly, for your size and your age. ... ... ... ... ... if it's pink and big...it's a pig.

We are talking about rights here and what was said is that an obese person shouldnt have the right to live a certain lifestyle because the cost of that has to be paid by the tax payer. When asked if that means private health insurance gives them the right to be that way seeing as they pay themselves the response was no, they have no right to use services they are paying for.

Obese people should be allowed lead whatever lifestyle they like but why should the consequences of that lifestyle be paid for by the taxpayer?

If someone has been found to eat crap all day and make no effort to lead even the most basic of healthy lifestyles then they should have some health benefits cut.

However, just as alcoholics and drug addicts are to be treated the same as everyone else, should they require medical care, so too must obese people.

This is not right, but it is a reality.

However,as I've said before, at least alcoholics/drug addicts have an addiction which is a disease. Obese people just don't give a fcuk about their health and the impact it has on others.

Of course some people can become addicted to food, just like some can become addicted to exercise and sex.

Addiction to food probably accounts for less than 1% of obese people. The vast majority simply eat too much and do fcuk all exercise. Although I'm sure a significant number say they have an addiction or that its "glandular" just to make themselves feel better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

the last girl I saw was a fair bit overweight - she had a bodyfat percentage of 41% so was obese by clinical standards. A very pretty girl she was and had no problem turning me on but BY-JAYSIS once the clothes came off there was nothing ya could do to keep wood - she'd turn a hard-on into a soft-off in no time.......it gave the saying "she'd give it back to you soft" a whole new meaning. If she turned around and ya went to go at it doggy style - above and beyond the fact it was hard to actually get it in there - once ya saw that 3 foot wide saggy arse that was the end of it
    Trying to be supportive I kept it to myself, got a supply of cialis/viagra/levitra and would neck 1 (sometimes 2 required!) about 30 mins before ya had an idea sex was about to commence. I carried on like this for a number of months whilst trying to help her lose a bit of weight. I kept this up until 1 night she ambushed me when I called around................dressed up like a secretary she was but it was not a pretty sight looking at her all squashed and squeezed into her little outfit........the little fella was less impressed and trying to get as far back into my body as possible "i'm not goin in there"................and it was no go that night and she got quite abusive, slagging me off and the like cos i couldn't do the business.............i slept on it for the night and the next day tried to talk to her about it - fessing up about the viagra and that and how i ACTUALLY felt about her weight............(this was after 3 months of mutual exercise, mutual diets, light encouragement/healthy encouragement etc, etc)..............anyway I broke it to her (as gently as I could) that I found the extra weight (must have been about 3 stone easy) as a real turn off and that while i liked/loved her etc, etc it wasn't doing anything for me BUT i wanted her to lose it for herself and I'd support her all the way. That was it after that conversation - it was no more - i was the worse cnut in the world, insensitive, an @rsehole all that sort of stuff......."you're supposed to love me etc, etc" "you're not suppose to care about that etc, etc"......................there was nothing I could do about the physical effect her body had on my (physical) state of arousal.........what was i supposed to do?

I remember her at one stage early in the relationship "i'm not fat I'm curvy"

41% Bodyfat
    5' 10" and 14.5 stone
    (and disillusioned)

"you're not curvy, yer fat"............is what I should have said.

Wtf dude. whyd you start boning her in the first place if you dont fancy her, that is serious desperation , getting her cheap and doing her up . Like an old punto.The problem there is she would have left you if she lost all the weight and became hot , jesus man use yer head she was only with ye because she was fugly , if she was pretty she'd have been with a fella that can get pretty girls

And if they pay for those services then they absolutely have a right to use them, you yourself said a solution to the problem is higher taxes to pay for the services. So if they pay privately then whats the problem ?. Its not like saying you can drink drive because you have car insurance (as that is illegal). Its like saying you have a right to claim on your insurance within the terms of the service.

Ok mungbean if an overweight dude can account for his finances to be able to cover the full cost of a whole range of operations and services and was willing to deposit that money as soon as he became obese , Id have no problem with him living his life washing him/herself with a rag on a stick.

In other words if an obese person has private health insurance you have no issues with them on moral grounds ? Even though you have already said the exact opposite earlier in the thread and claimed it was wrong whether it was paid for nor not.

You really dont have any clue what your saying do ya ?

In other words if an obese person has private health insurance you have no issues with them on moral grounds ? Even though you have already said the exact opposite earlier in the thread and claimed it was wrong whether it was paid for nor not.

You really dont have any clue what your saying do ya ?

You are getting very agitated mung bean may I suggest you have something sugary. I didnt say it was ok if they had health insurance. I said it would be OK if they paid in full once they became obese. The insurance company should not have to pay for their life of excess. On moral grounds I have absolutely no problem with someone getting as fat as they want once nobody else has to pick up the pieces. As long as its your business its none of my business. Im sure you will just call me an asshole and pretend I said something completely different again rather than face the truth. If your obese your pretty much the same as a junkie . No self control , Its pitiful.

Obese people should be allowed lead whatever lifestyle they like but why should the consequences of that lifestyle be paid for by the taxpayer?

I dont use the bus why should taxes pay for buses ? I have never needed the fire brigade why do taxes pay for that ? You cant pick and choose what taxes should go to what services and for what people. Would you let an obese person die because they shouldnt be treated ? If you wouldnt then you'd agree they should be treated.
    If someone has been found to eat crap all day and make no effort to lead even the most basic of healthy lifestyles then they should have some health benefits cut.

Because they increase the risk of health problems like people who drink, smoke, drive faster cars, go rock climbing, play contact sports, work physical jobs....etc etc. Why is it only overweight people who should be singled out based on what the possible cost to the state is ?

However,as I've said before, at least alcoholics/drug addicts have an addiction which is a disease. Obese people just don't give a fcuk about their health and the impact it has on others.

Yeah alcoholics and drug addicts are victims but fat people are the real problem in society. I assume your differentiating obese people with addictions from the lazy ones just as your differentiating alcoholics and drug addicts from those who costs the state through normal weekend drunken behaviour and crimial aspects of drug use ? Or would you just be ignoring all that as not in the same league of social issues as someone who feels happy despite being overweight ?

You are getting very agitated mung bean may I suggest you have something sugary. I didnt say it was ok if they had health insurance. I said it would be OK if they paid in full once they became obese. The insurance company should not have to pay for their life of excess.

I get agitated when dealing with people who dont know what they are talking about. You think these people who pay for health insurance are taking advantage of the insurance companies by claiming for weight related problems ? You do realise insurance companies are no goms and charge based on risk so if your 30 stone and paying for health insurance you are paying for every single thing you need to claim for that arises from you being 30 stone ? So thats another ridiculuous statement of yours shot out of the water. Lets see what other gems you have in store.
    On moral grounds I have absolutely no problem with someone getting as fat as they want once nobody else has to pick up the pieces. As long as its your business its none of my business

If you have no moral issue and your financial one is unfounded then I guess that wraps things up then. You just dont like fat people and will invent any reason to justify that fact regardless of how logical or truthful it actually is.
    Im sure you will just call me an asshole and pretend I said something completely different again rather than face the truth. If your obese your pretty much the same as a junkie . No self control , Its pitiful.

I dont have to call you anything or imply you said anything other than what you did. And I'm not obese so your little digs are quite pitiful.

mungbean:
    I dont have to call you anything or imply you said anything other than what you did. And I'm not obese so your little digs are quite pitiful.

Oh right I forgot its glandular ;)

mungbean:

Oh right I forgot its glandular ;)

Yeah thats about all your upto alright, ignore all issues and every contradictory thing you have said and just throw out an insult. I'm done talking to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

I've read a fair few pages of this thread.
    I'm a size 16, definitely overweight, but really trying to do something about it. When I was a kid I was a little stick person, but I dislocated my knee so many times I had to have it pinned in place, in my early 20's I had to have the same done to the other leg. My weight ballooned because I had to learn to walk again, keep my balance, I can't run, and am very limited to what kind of sports I can do..

I decided a couple of years ago that I would start just walking home from work (Grafton St to Santry 3 nights a week), lost two stone and was very delighted with myself. Still slightly overweight for where I'd like to be but I'm starting to get there, it's just hard especially now I've moved to Limerick and it's not really safe for me to walk home from where I go to college to where I live, and it's winter. I'm joining the gym when I get paid this month.

My point is I lasted 6 months after my last operation before I felt the need that I actually had to do something, I couldn't live with being like that. I hated my body, I'm a lot healthier now, a good bit slimmer, but still not exactly Callista Flockhart. I think people are automatically happier when they're healthier, and these women say "I'm sexy, I'm big", but I don't think anyone could be genuinely happy like that!

Yeah thats about all your upto alright, ignore all issues and every contradictory thing you have said and just throw out an insult. I'm done talking to you.

awh come on this is a thread about BBWs why so serious,
    Look it is wrong , they smell they sweat and they dont bother changing their knickers, they eat and drink and talk really loudly and crassly . They suck money out of the health service by needing more operations. But even having a off BMI you are more likely to get everything from flu to custard for blood.
    If they paid the full cost of their healthcare for life , not the insurance cost the full cost .If they promised to pay twice the price for any service that involves them taking up twice the seating room , eg pub bus taxi ,, aeroplane. Then they would be cool enough I suppose . But why cant they just eat normal portions and move about now and again. Its not actually starving yourself staying a normal size , like how many meals are these people eating . Its definatly not just the three squares anyway .

I've read a fair few pages of this thread.
    I'm a size 16, definitely overweight, but really trying to do something about it. When I was a kid I was a little stick person, but I dislocated my knee so many times I had to have it pinned in place, in my early 20's I had to have the same done to the other leg. My weight ballooned because I had to learn to walk again, keep my balance, I can't run, and am very limited to what kind of sports I can do..

I decided a couple of years ago that I would start just walking home from work (Grafton St to Santry 3 nights a week), lost two stone and was very delighted with myself. Still slightly overweight for where I'd like to be but I'm starting to get there, it's just hard especially now I've moved to Limerick and it's not really safe for me to walk home from where I go to college to where I live, and it's winter. I'm joining the gym when I get paid this month.

My point is I lasted 6 months after my last operation before I felt the need that I actually had to do something, I couldn't live with being like that. I hated my body, I'm a lot healthier now, a good bit slimmer, but still not exactly Callista Flockhart. I think people are automatically happier when they're healthier, and these women say "I'm sexy, I'm big", but I don't think anyone could be genuinely happy like that!

fair play to ye.
    +1 on that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

foxyboxer wrote: »
    It's good to see the Stop the Spread tape measures in Boots.

They're free to take.

If someone is determined to be overweight when using the tape measure and the light bulb fails to go off then there really no point in trying to convince them to lose the extra weight.

How high do they go up? I'm a fair bit above the recommended size. :pac:

Addiction to food probably accounts for less than 1% of obese people. The vast majority simply eat too much and do fcuk all exercise. Although I'm sure a significant number say they have an addiction or that its "glandular" just to make themselves feel better.
    Probably? Where do you get the one per cent figure from? And how do you know the people who simply eat too much aren't addicted to food?
    I don't agree with complacency re obesity and I do think the "big is beautiful" stuff is self delusion, but the stuff on the thread at this point is the other side of the coin - complete bollocks being made up as to the reasons some people do this kind of damage to their health.
    And how the fuk does a government tax fat people? Get them to take a pic of themselves when filling out their tax form? :confused:
    The only way a fat tax be enforced is: everyone pay for it, including those who don't eat junk.

Probably? Where do you get the one per cent figure from? And how do you know the people who simply eat too much aren't addicted to food?
    I don't agree with complacency re obesity and I do think the "big is beautiful" stuff is self delusion, but the stuff on the thread at this point is the other side of the coin - complete bollocks being made up as to the reasons some people do this kind of damage to their health.
    And how the fuk does a government tax fat people? Get them to take a pic of themselves when filling out their tax form? :confused:
    The only way a fat tax be enforced is: everyone pay for it, including those who don't eat junk.

I think you should be able to shop a fatty , just like how they caught all the rioters.

You also think they - all of them - don't have an addiction... then you said they're like junkies. Which is it?

I never said they dont have an addiction , addictions dont make it right.

I think they have no sense of when they are full . I get full I stop eating. I dont eat much crap . The type of stuff you can grab and start eating on your way from the kitchen to the sitting room. I wouldnt say im always active but a few months of the year Id be doing some sort of exercise and keeping my metabolism ticking over.

I do however know what BBws really do behind closed doors. When they arnt in the work canteen talking abut weightwatcher points and how they just cant seem to shift it. They are at home putting half jars of mayo on pizzas , constantly eating , always having a pack of crisps or a box of chocolates at hand.
    Like the terminator but programmed to eat cake instead of protect John Connor.

Why are you making up bullsh1t about them not changing their knickers etc? It kinda... takes from your points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

Dont nigerians love the big women

Why are you making up bullsh1t about them not changing their knickers etc? It kinda... takes from your points.
    It is a generalisation of a woman who calls herself a BBW
    Ikinda get giddy sometimes too.

Remember this thread is about women who are overweight or obese but still claim to be massive or BBWs . AS in the first post . Not girls with a little extra .
    Its about girls who refuse to acknowledge they are grossly overweight and instead of dieting a bit , they make up a word for it and try to make it cool . There are very few men that have a fetish for this sort of thing . They have trust issues and want a girl so fat she cant leave the house . They are called feeders. They started this term , BBW. I think that is revolting but to a desparate 20 stone loudmouth , its cool .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

mayo on pizzas

You just gave me an idea there !

Very simply actually. You tax the products that cause obesity. So increase the VAT on processed foods, confectionery, anything with a high sugar content.

At the same time they could lower the VAT on healthier foods.

If people still want to pay more for unhealthy food, let them off.

The extra VAT generated could then be used to treat the obesity epidemic that has engulfed this country.

VAT on alcohol and cigarettes are so high as so much money is spent on treating those suffering from the ill effects!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

I am clinically obese. I do find a lot of the posts here quite insulting actually. I am beautiful. I'm don't have the body I had in my early twenties but I'm not a monster either.
    I am not, nor is any other over weight girl I know, happy with my weight. I do exercise, everyday. I have to I have 2 hyper dogs who need to be walked. I do watch what I eat, but god forbid I like good food. So that is NOT convenience foods, but cooked from scratch foods.
    I know my downfall is snacking, so I'm trying to cut that down, and I am a comfort and boredom eater, so I'm trying not to be bored.
    I am NOT a pig, I don't eat Pizza with 1/2 a jar of mayonaisse on it. I don't eat a full pack of biscuits in one sitting, or a six pack of crisps. In fact looked at logically I eat quite healthy, yesterday is actually a typical sample.
    Breakfast
    30g of porridge in skimmed milk with honey
    Coffee (no sugar)
    Yoplait Everybody
    Lunch
    A wrap with turkey and salad or something similar
    Full fat yogurt (cause I don't eat the sugar/sugar substitute laden low fat crap)
    Snack
    Orange, raisen filled biccies I think about 120 calories
    Dinner
    Homemade from scratch spagetti bolognese
    2 finger kit kat

Exercise
    30 minute walk/jog (doing couch to 5K)

My BMI is about 32. I don't believe is crash diets. I don't believe in cutting out whole food groups. I don't believe in crappy filled with additives low fat alternatives.

I spend my life bombarded with images of skinny girls and being told that skinny is good. I know I need to lose 1.5 stones, to be healthy and I am trying to do something about that. However being told, by some posters on here that I am disgusting does little to help my confidence or drive. I am and always have been curvy, even when I was under weight (which I was in my teens) I had hips and boobs. I look and feel best at a BMI of 24-27, below that my hips stick out in a most unflattering way.
    If I or any other girl is putting the BBW posts up it is not because she believes it, but usually just the opposite. She is trying to convince herself that she is, cause you see if she thinks she is as disgusting as some of you here make out, then she'll never go outside the door. When I am down about my weight I won't go out with our friends if I think they'll be dancing, cause I know I am now the fat one. I won't go shopping cause nothing will look good on me.

Perhaps some of you here could be a little more sensitive (I know it is AH :D). Nothing wrong with a discussion on the causes of the obesity epidemic, nothing wrong with looking at solutions. A lot wrong with being just plain mean.

I was watching operation transformation during the week and I loved a suggestion by one guy that there be points given for being fit and healthy in the leaving cert. Obviously everyone would need a plan to suit them, but stats show that those who are fit leaving school are much more likely to stay fit into adulthood.

barbiegirl wrote: »
    I am clinically obese. I do find a lot of the posts here quite insulting actually. I am beautiful. I'm don't have the body I had in my early twenties but I'm not a monster either.
    I am not, nor is any other over weight girl I know, happy with my weight. I do exercise, everyday. I have to I have 2 hyper dogs who need to be walked. I do watch what I eat, but god forbid I like good food. So that is NOT convenience foods, but cooked from scratch foods.
    I know my downfall is snacking, so I'm trying to cut that down, and I am a comfort and boredom eater, so I'm trying not to be bored.
    I am NOT a pig, I don't eat Pizza with 1/2 a jar of mayonaisse on it. I don't eat a full pack of biscuits in one sitting, or a six pack of crisps. In fact looked at logically I eat quite healthy, yesterday is actually a typical sample.
    Breakfast
    30g of porridge in skimmed milk with honey
    Coffee (no sugar)
    Yoplait Everybody
    Lunch
    A wrap with turkey and salad or something similar
    Full fat yogurt (cause I don't eat the sugar/sugar substitute laden low fat crap)
    Snack
    Orange, raisen filled biccies I think about 120 calories
    Dinner
    Homemade from scratch spagetti bolognese
    2 finger kit kat

Exercise
    30 minute walk/jog (doing couch to 5K)

My BMI is about 32. I don't believe is crash diets. I don't believe in cutting out whole food groups. I don't believe in crappy filled with additives low fat alternatives.

I spend my life bombarded with images of skinny girls and being told that skinny is good. I know I need to lose 1.5 stones, to be healthy and I am trying to do something about that. However being told, by some posters on here that I am disgusting does little to help my confidence or drive. I am and always have been curvy, even when I was under weight (which I was in my teens) I had hips and boobs. I look and feel best at a BMI of 24-27, below that my hips stick out in a most unflattering way.
    If I or any other girl is putting the BBW posts up it is not because she believes it, but usually just the opposite. She is trying to convince herself that she is, cause you see if she thinks she is as disgusting as some of you here make out, then she'll never go outside the door. When I am down about my weight I won't go out with our friends if I think they'll be dancing, cause I know I am now the fat one. I won't go shopping cause nothing will look good on me.

Perhaps some of you here could be a little more sensitive (I know it is AH :D). Nothing wrong with a discussion on the causes of the obesity epidemic, nothing wrong with looking at solutions. A lot wrong with being just plain mean.

I was watching operation transformation during the week and I loved a suggestion by one guy that there be points given for being fit and healthy in the leaving cert. Obviously everyone would need a plan to suit them, but stats show that those who are fit leaving school are much more likely to stay fit into adulthood.

Fair play to your healthy regime barbie girl.

But obese people themselves are not being attacked here. I have the height of respect for overweight/obese people who are making a conscious effort like yourself to lose weight.

The issue that people have are with those big people who know they are obese and continue not to lead unhealthy lifestyles while trying to flaunt themselves as being beautiful.

Every obese person I know, I do mean every single one of them, wants to lose weight. Seriously they do. The problems they encounter are varied such as
    • Others in the same position not wanting them to lose the weight cause then it highlights their shortcomings.
    • A complete lack of confidence in themselves and their ability to lose weight generally related to a complete lack of confidence in other areas of their lives
    • Some have physical difficulties, such as one friend of mine who can barely move let alone walk with a bad back (under medical supervision so is real)
    • Food is way of coping with something much, much worse, such as unhappiness with another part of their life.
    None and I do mean none want to be overweight. They just know that in order to lose weight they have to deal with whatever their reason is for being there in the first place.
    Those like me where the weight kind of crept up, and then was exacerbated by health issues are the easiest to get to lose weight. Those who are seriously obese have it a lot harder.
    The discussion I completly agree with, the insults to overweight women not so much :mad:

barbiegirl wrote: »
    Every obese person I know, I do mean every single one of them, wants to lose weight. Seriously they do. The problems they encounter are varied such as
    • Others in the same position not wanting them to lose the weight cause then it highlights their shortcomings.
    • A complete lack of confidence in themselves and their ability to lose weight generally related to a complete lack of confidence in other areas of their lives
    • Some have physical difficulties, such as one friend of mine who can barely move let alone walk with a bad back (under medical supervision so is real)
    • Food is way of coping with something much, much worse, such as unhappiness with another part of their life.
    None and I do mean none want to be overweight. They just know that in order to lose weight they have to deal with whatever their reason is for being there in the first place.
    Those like me where the weight kind of crept up, and then was exacerbated by health issues are the easiest to get to lose weight. Those who are seriously obese have it a lot harder.
    The discussion I completly agree with, the insults to overweight women not so much :mad:

Alot of these problems would be solved with healthy eating and some form of exercise, excuses and peer pressure cant lift spoons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I loikes a choc ice.

Actually in order to be successful long term I think it is about giving other coping mechanisms for lifes problems rather than food. Obesity is often a symptom. It is not an excuse rather it becomes a never ending wheel.

I'm depressed I'll have a cup of tea and some choccie biscuits. This leads to weight gain which makes me more depressed. A better way would be if taught from when we are small, that if we are sad talking to friends, reading a funny book or going outside and playing are ways to be happy again, it leads to better coping mechanisms. However teaching a child this takes time, committment and thought, which are at a premium in todays busy households. Food is for most obese people how they comfort or punish themselves, depending on their mood. It's caught up with their emotions. The key has to be in breaking these associations, rather than sending them off again to the crisp packet because you've made them feel bad.

Peer pressure is actually huge, it is why things like weight watchers, operation transformation etc are sucessful in some ways. You don't want to let the peer group down. It can be used positively, which I why I think you start young and go from there.

I loikes a choc ice.

Me too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

I loikes a choc ice.

Fat...Sorry "BBW" people like choc ices with mayo! :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

#642 barbiegirl
    blue_star_3.gif

Adverts | Friends

Others in the same position not wanting them to lose the weight cause then it highlights their shortcomings.
    The discussion I completly agree with, the insults to overweight women not so much mad.gif
    user_online.gifreport.gif quote.gif
    I’m going to be frank here, the above post and some of your previous stuff is nothing more then a litany of excuses.
    Losing weight is hard work sometimes over a long time, I know because a few years ago I had to lose 3 stone. I also gave up smoking and I can tell you that are a lot harder then losing weight.

The fist step to success when it comes to losing weight is to stop making excuses of any kind for there are NO valid excuses.

losing weight is not rocket science its not complicated, its incredibly simple, take in less calories then you expand and you will lose weight. If you want to run 10 miles a day great or if you sit on the couch all day everyday it doesn’t matter, the above holds true.

Excuses nope. I don't believe in excuses. I agree there is an epidemic and I agree something needs to be done about it.
    However if you have actually been over weight then you know the self disgust you feel when you look in the mirror. You DON'T need someone else to tell you that it's bad.
    What you do need is to look at WHY you are eating so much and then tackle the why to achieve the result you want.
    Saying it's a simple equation without taking into account the complex emotions of human beings is like saying the Irish economy is booming let's be happy, without looking at why it's booming. Ooops yes we have been guilty of that too.
    My friends who have been most effective at losing and keeping to a healthy weight have been those where the help they have received is tackling the root cause whether it be boredom, habit etc. rather than those who attended the shout at you like your idiot type groups.

farmchoice wrote: »
    I’m going to be frank here, the above post and some of your previous stuff is nothing more then a litany of excuses.
    Losing weight is hard work sometimes over a long time, I know because a few years ago I had to lose 3 stone. I also gave up smoking and I can tell you that are a lot harder then losing weight.

The fist step to success when it comes to losing weight is to stop making excuses of any kind for there are NO valid excuses.

losing weight is not rocket science its not complicated, its incredibly simple, take in less calories then you expand and you will lose weight. If you want to run 10 miles a day great or if you sit on the couch all day everyday it doesn’t matter, the above holds true.

The reason you feel down is probably because of the unhealthy diet, healthy food makes you feel good ,
    Crappy food makes you feel crappy, and apparantly unable to admit its the crappy food making you feel this way and blaming it on your upbringing.