Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Big "beautiful" women, are some overweight women really this delusional?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Because I why enjoy reading After Hours is for the craic & the odd bit of serious discussion dispersed by the craic.

What annoys me about it is the "let's bash the fatties / social welfare recipients / travellers / etc " threads that pop up here on a regular basis.

They are the type of threads that just make me think... "for the love of God, will you please just shut the fuck up?"

That's a nice trick you used to print the word fuck! One would think you are only giving out so you have the chance to use it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

That's a nice trick you used to print the word fuck! One would think you are only giving out so you have the chance to use it :p

No. But I do love the work 'fuck'. It's a fucking brilliant word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

It bothers you when you are trying to talk to their mate, yet some "gods gift to men" blimp with more orange than the sun in a tiny "figure hugging" dress interferes. Well according to some.

Well, if their gorgeous mate actually fancied you, it wouldn't make any difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Well, if their gorgeous mate actually fancied you, it wouldn't make any difference.

LOL

Are you trying to say that overweight girls aren't actually the source of all evil in the world? Get out of here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

dilbert2 wrote: »
    Now I'm not attacking anybody for been overweight and don't really consider it any of my business. However, I cannot help but comment on the increasing use of "bbw", or "big beautiful women" by many overweight women to describe themselves, particularly when it comes to looking for men. No offence, but anybody who is overweight, male or female, is not only in an unhealthy state, but is also generally considered (perhaps unfairly) to be unattractive by the opposite sex when it comes to dating.

I have never, once heard an overweight man refer to himself as a "big handsome man". Most seem to just accept that they are overweight and either laugh about it, or decide to lose to access weight. However a lot of overweight women seem to be living in a fantasy world were "to be big is to be beautiful". When on earth did been overweight and unhealthy become associated in the minds of many women with beauty and attractiveness to the opposite sex. Even worse is the cocky and arrogant bbw's, as if they weren't at enough of a disadvantage when it came to dating already!

bbw's are disguisting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Well they did, but blimpy got in the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Kitty-kitty

Yeah, that one is cringe-worthy.

Yeah, Jayne Mansfield was busty and had booty but her measurements were 40-21-35 when she appeared in Playboy putting her bottom half at only about size 6 to size 8, not feckin' size 16/18!

EDIT: I have heard overweight men described themselves as cuddly and loveable.

Yeah. In American sizes. Hips 36 is an Irish size 14.

There's an awful, awful lot of poison in this thread, and I came away from it feeling a lot worse about myself, despite being a healthy weight for my height. Would you not just let people be happy in themselves and get on with your life without nasty comments, all of you? Wow.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Well there you go, of course having such a visible erection is going to put a woman off, and giving it a name like "Blimpy" just makes it worse!

Ah right. You believe that if it makes you feel better. Am sure if she really fancied you no-one (whatever size) would have been too big a mountain for her to climb to get to you.

Just saying...

and giving it a name like "Blimpy" just makes it worse!

Too funny :D:D:D:D:D

Ah right. You believe that if it makes you feel better. Am sure if she really fancied you no-one (whatever size) would have been too big a mountain for her to climb to get to you.

Just saying...

Well I did get her number and a few good nights. So it wasn't all bad.

Well there you go, of course having such a visible erection is going to put a woman off, and giving it a name like "Blimpy" just makes it worse!

I admit I loled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

bbw's are disguisting...

people who cant spell for shít are... oh, that's right, we're not supposed to pick on the illiterate on boards, they can't help it, apparently... now, lets get back to picking on the fatties instead, because this hasn't been done to death on this forum already... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Yeah. In American sizes. Hips 36 is an Irish size 14.

Nope, it's not. According to the A-Wear website, 36" hips correlate to an Irish/UK size 8:

http://www.awear.com/bin/venda?ex=co_disp-view&page=sizinginfo&bsref=awear&layout=sizeguide

I take an Irish/UK size 10 in jeans and my hips measure 38".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

xsiborg wrote: »
    people who cant spell for shít are... oh, that's right, we're not supposed to pick on the illiterate on boards, they can't help it, apparently... now, lets get back to picking on the fatties instead, because this hasn't been done to death on this forum already... :confused:

disguisting = disguised disgusting.

It's a perfectly cromulent word.

Well I did get her number and a few good nights. So it wasn't all bad.

So how did the other girl ruin it? You got the number???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I find it hard to see an extremely obese woman's body shape in terms of pear, cello, hourglass, apple etc.
    I have a good hip to waist ratio so that would make me a pear although I have the larger arms of an apple and narrow thighs. Men should appreciate those natural qualities and not look for a body that is so under or over weight that they are manipulated, why can't you get turned on by a body unless its meeting your type, maybe thats just me I don't have a body type I look for in partners.

sometimes I come across these weight loss videos on youtube through some of the vlogs i follow and I see a lot of the come on baby thats so sexy only 66 pounds to go until the "Big 250!!!"

Now go ahead watch BBW porn find that sexy whatever but its such a turn off to me that someone isn't chilled out, or over enthusiastic, obsessive over one body aesthetic

don't get the women who make youtube videos "stuffing" themselves, a lot of the time thin ladies binging for attention off these guys.

It's not fancying a bbw that bothers me its the obsessive and controlling elements of it,
    and the issue of being a feeder and wanting to be dominant over another person scares the hell out of me.

saa wrote: »
    I find it hard to see an extremely obese woman's body shape in terms of pear, cello, hourglass, apple etc.
    I have a good hip to waist ratio so that would make me a pear although I have the larger arms of an apple and narrow thighs. Men should appreciate those natural qualities and not look for a body that is so under or over weight that they are manipulated, why can't you get turned on by a body unless its meeting your type, maybe thats just me I don't have a body type I look for in partners.

sometimes I come across these weight loss videos on youtube through some of the vlogs i follow and I see a lot of the come on baby thats so sexy only 66 pounds to go until the "Big 250!!!"

Now go ahead watch BBW porn find that sexy whatever but its such a turn off to me that someone isn't chilled out, or over enthusiastic, obsessive over one body aesthetic

don't get the women who make youtube videos "stuffing" themselves, a lot of the time thin ladies binging for attention off these guys.

It's not fancying a bbw that bothers me its the obsessive and controlling elements of it,
    and the issue of being a feeder and wanting to be dominant over another person scares the hell out of me.

Pear, apple... you are a fruit salad ;)

sexysize14 wrote: »
    I don't understand what this discussion is about? This is obvious that it is hard to find obese person attractive, we usually think healthy people are sexy and this is normal and right.
    -but I think there is just as many ugly and sexy overweight girls as skinny or slim. Sure this is not true every slim girl is pretty or attractive, some just have ugly faces, disproportionate bodies, bad teeth or something else.. It is all about proportions and healthy looking skin, hair, nice eyes and face..

This is top model Anja Rubik :

nara140911112aaaa.jpg

-does she look sexy in your opinion? I think she looks very unhealthy and her face looks like skull/ :(

She is size 14 and she would be called fat by many :

unled1pt.jpg

I think beauty is not about size but few different things (including good taste and personality)

The girl in the second picture is fat, there is no question. Shes at least a stone and a half overweight.Whatever you want to believe about being healthy, people are not designed to carry that much excess weight on them and its purely a product of the comfortable environment we live in and the rubbish we eat and drink.

Her arms would put most mens arms to shame ffs.

edit, you are also 100% right about the other model aswell, who is clearly underweight by the same amount, neither is particularly healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Pear, apple... you are a fruit salad ;)

More of a nutcase really.

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Yeeeah... so after re-examining some of the posts on this thread I'm gonna have to say there is perhaps some sexism behind this.
    There are just as many fat and obese men but no one seems to bitch about them, and there are plenty of fat men convinced they're god's gift to womankind.
    In fact the media is far more accepting of fat men than they are of women, just look at the likes of Seth Rogen in Knocked up, do you think they'd ever dream of casting an overweight woman as a lead in the average film? (without the movie being directly about her weight). People set far more restrictive standards of looks when it comes to women.
    Sorry I had to bring up gender, but the OP did specifically target women, so it was inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Yeeeah... so after re-examining some of the posts on this thread I'm gonna have to say there is perhaps some sexism behind this.
    There are just as many fat and obese men but no one seems to bitch about them, and there are plenty of fat men convinced they're god's gift to womankind.
    In fact the media is far more accepting of fat men than they are of women, just look at the likes of Seth Rogen in Knocked up, do you think they'd ever dream of casting an overweight woman as a lead in the average film? (without the movie being directly about her weight). People set far more restrictive standards of looks when it comes to women.
    Sorry I had to bring up gender, but the OP did specifically target women, so it was inevitable.

Are you a fatty? Wanna go out? I can give you donuts.

So how did the other girl ruin it? You got the number???

Well I was trying to get her home that night. Jesus does anyone have a piece of chalk?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 sexysize14

The girl in the second picture is fat, there is no question. Shes at least a stone and a half overweight.Whatever you want to believe about being healthy, people are not designed to carry that much excess weight on them and its purely a product of the comfortable environment we live in and the rubbish we eat and drink.

Her arms would put most mens arms to shame ffs.

Hmm, I am almost her size (my legs are much slimmer) and I NEVER eat or drink any rubbish - I use my bike to get to work, I walk my dog at least 1 and half hour a day. I am 170cm height and I weight almost 75kg, so ideallly I should lost 10kg, but I know I just look good and I am healthy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

strobe wrote: »
    The idea that what men find sexually attractive in terms of body shape is determined by the trend at a particular time is a myth that I'd imagine is perpetuated by the same women that describe themselves as BBW etc.

I often here people trying to spin the 'toned fit bodies being attractive is a creation of modern media' type stuff and it's simply not true.

Aphrodite was the Goddess of Love and Beauty in ancient Greek mythology, the epitome of female sexiness. Check out how she was depicted in sculptures, look at those abs on the Venus de Milo, that was sculpted 2200 years ago.

Two things:

1 - I'm not convinced that there's been enough evolutionary pressures on specific body types to produce a specific attractive female weight in male eyes. For it to happen, the women who didn't meet that body type would have had to meet with little to no reproductive success.

2 - If evolutionary pressures were strong enough to produce a reproductively critical preference in terms of female body shape, I'd assume that it'd tend towards heaviness, as in a small tribal society (where those pressures would be most likely to exist) a woman with a tendency to put on weight easily would be more reproductively successful due to getting more calories from the same amount of food and storing it for potential pregnancy.

Hmm, I am almost her size (my legs are much slimmer) and I NEVER eat or drink any rubbish - I use my bike to get to work, I walk my dog at least 1 and half hour a day. I am 170cm height and I weight almost 75kg, so ideallly I should lost 10kg, but I know I just look good and I am healthy.

Pics, please.

PM me your email address! :p (just kidding)

Are you a fatty? Wanna go out? I can give you donuts.

yeah because I must be fat to be able to think critically about the sexist implications of this thread.
    Size 10 FYI.

yeah because I must be fat to be able to think critically about the sexist implications of this thread.
    Size 10 FYI.

Never mind, so, you're too lean for me. It would be like rubbing two sticks together and I have no fire insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

This thread is going downhill fast ...

The only way was down.

I was wondering when the sexist stick would be brought in.

Everything ends up with a sexism battle I've noticed - that being said not much has been said about men and their weight issues ... just putting it out there :o

Exactly and half of them are probably internet addict and do nothing but eat crisps and sit online. (and weight 120kg)

Who posted the sexism crap in the recent legendary 'what to do with husband' thread?! Honestly, avoid AH if you get offended by this stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

Two things:

1 - I'm not convinced that there's been enough evolutionary pressures on specific body types to produce a specific attractive female weight in male eyes. For it to happen, the women who didn't meet that body type would have had to meet with little to no reproductive success.

Men don't turn down sex.
    2 - If evolutionary pressures were strong enough to produce a reproductively critical preference in terms of female body shape, I'd assume that it'd tend towards heaviness, as in a small tribal society (where those pressures would be most likely to exist) a woman with a tendency to put on weight easily would be more reproductively successful due to getting more calories from the same amount of food and storing it for potential pregnancy.

its interesting that we don't see fatness as attractive but we don't. The signalling that women are fertile is hip to waist ratio.

Exactly and half of them are probably internet addict and do nothing but eat crisps and sit online. (and weight 120kg)

I will admit I do love me some crisps hahaha :rolleyes:
    But yea there's not much input when it comes to men's weight, I personally would not like a man that's over weight - being 5'2 and weighing 8 1/2 stone he'd pretty much crush me :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

not much has been said about men and their weight issues ... just putting it out there :o

It is a thread specifically about women anyway however
    Its' the weight between my legs bothers me most of all :cool:
    Some of us have a heavy load to carry in life ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

You can just imagine the fat fifty-ish baldy hairy-arsed sweaty feckers looking at the pics of 'fat birds' and going 'look at the state o' tha'.

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭Randy Anders

Some women are naturally big and busty with big hips, boobs ass etc. They are not necessarily fat, it's just their build, same way as some fellas are well built and naturally bulky

Personally, I absolute love a girl who has a bit of meat on her, not massively overweight or anything but a busty gal with big thighs really does it for me!

I was wondering when the sexist stick would be brought in.

OP is the one who targeted just the women, how could this not end up being a gender issue??

Oh, I'm sorry, I just realised, this is AH. you neckbeards don't want challenging discussion, you just want to sit around thnking up names for fat women, well by all means its a free country.

FWI its 'shtick' not stick.

Does not compute, you are a stone and a half over your ideal weight for your height.

Thats simply not true, go into town any day of the week and your average female in the 20-30 bracket are in alot worse shape than their average male counterpart.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Yahew wrote: »
    Men don't turn down sex.

its interesting that we don't see fatness as attractive but we don't. The signalling that women are fertile is hip to waist ratio.

I have literally no idea what point you're trying to make with that first response. Are you agreeing/disagreeing/other?

And as for the second part, there's a fairly mild preference for a hip-to-waist ratio of 0.7, but certainly not very strong - and that's only among Indo-Europeans. It doesn't seem as though there's a single body type that we can point to as being "ideal" from an evolutionary point of view, and that's before we consider the cultural baggage of attractiveness - which shouldn't be underestimated.

Does not compute, you are a stone and a half over your ideal weight for your height.

As somebody mentioned before, different people have different body build. Do you think BMI is some perfect messure? How about the proportions between muscles and fat? I actually have some muscles, especially on legs -so how you can say I am less healthy then I for example my friend who is the same height and weights 46kg ? She can run slower then me and has some heart pains from time to time and no energy at all (plus she is pale, has dull hair and skin -but her BMI is perfect!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Zebra3 wrote: »
    What annoys me more is the use of the word fat when it should be obese.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

Johro wrote: »
    You can just imagine the fat fifty-ish baldy hairy-arsed sweaty feckers looking at the pics of 'fat birds' and going 'look at the state o' tha'.

Yeah women can be cruel to one another LOL

OP is the one who targeted just the women, how could this not end up being a gender issue??

Oh, I'm sorry, I just realised, this is AH. you neckbeards don't want challenging discussion, you just want to sit around thnking up names for fat women, well by all means its a free country.

FWI its 'shtick' not stick.

Conveniently ignored my other post. Well done, very unbiased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 hugsandkisses

I'm big, I'm 14 st 5'8 and my fella loves me for who I am and what I look like
    I'm really 7 stone and I'm 5'6 and my fella wishes I was bigger except my boobs, he says they are fine!!! But he says i could do wit a bigger ar*e, cheeky fecker and in fairness I'd love to be two stone heavier:eek: so I'd be more fuller:confused: