Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hennessey Gold Cup 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

UrbanSea wrote: »
    He goes for Osric,Titan De Sarti and Hey Big Spender

Was thinking he tipped Titan, I backed it last night at 12/1, much shorter now

Stan James are 6/5 Bino. I tried have a grand on (using best prices the book is under round so I'm arbing). Max stake is 291.91 (probably GBP250)

Still, free 120 odd euros isn't to be sniffed at! And with guaranteed prices it could pay more if the winner drifts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Fancy Carruthers to run a big race in this today, but im slightly leaning towards Tullamore Dew for my e.w bet :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

You're guaranteed a minimum of 120 Colonel is it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭newuser89

I was going to back beshabar all week and when it came to the day i had to go with great endevour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭gudede

Went for two in the Hennessy - Sarando @ 16/1 and Balthazar King 66/1 (both bet365)

Wayward Prince is at top of the market for this and there is alot of talk about him, but AP is getting off him and heading to Newcastle to ride Binocular (who has a CRAP history in that race), I think myself if AP taught he had a good chance to ride a Hennessy winner then he would be there, I know he has a contract to ride for JP McManus but it wouldn't be the first time he would of got off a McManus ride to ride another. Others at the top of the market are Great Endeavour (deserves to be on top of the market but not for me at that price) , Aiteen Thirtythree (got out beat by Somersby last time out and he really gave nothing at the end of that race, Somersby loves finishing second so I don't like the fact he couldn't beat Somersby) , Michel Le Bon (out a long time and not worth a chance at short odds) , Wymott (ran really bad at Cheltenham, I know he was injured but there was question marks about him going into the race so I would prefer to watch him this time out).

Next in the Market is Beshabar who I like but this race distance could be abit short, Sarando ran a very good race in Aintree last year to finish just behind Quito De La Roque (who I feel will line up in the gold cup and have a cracking chance of winning it) with Wayward Prince seven lengths back. Quito de la roque he is great form so I think losing a neck to him is a good run.

I'm also taking a chance on Balthazar King, I backed him last time out but never got into the race so at nice big odds I'll have a small bet again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

AP doesnt have a choice, he has to ride Binocular over Wayward Prince, This isnt any JP horse

This isn't any JP Horse is a fair comment but his form was so bad last year, I was at Punchestown last year when he was third last year and you wouldn't of even have know the horse was racing. He needs to really improve this year. The fighting fifth will be interesting, if he finishing behind Celestial Halo he mite has well retire and Overturn doesn't have a chance at the champion hurdle so you would expect him to finish ahead of him. But Overturn has fitness on his side so getting close to him mite not be that bad of a run for Binocular

Gudede-He has to ride JP's horse

Also we will not see him retire if he is beat today.

How about 2 seasons ago when he was written off and went on to win the Champion

gudede wrote: »
    I know he has a contract to ride for JP McManus but it wouldn't be the first time he would of got off a McManus ride to ride another.

Lads I think ye missed this part of my post...I know he has to ride but I often heard JP saying AP could ride another horse if he wanted to

Fair enough,but there is no way he would let him miss out on a ride in a grade 1,unless he had another one fancied in the Hennessy

My Coy said Binocular is just not good enough

I thought McCoy could have pushed the button on Binocular earlier. He switched him about 2 furlongs out and looked to have Overturn in trouble and I thought that he should have put his head in front and put him under pressure. Found little in the end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Huntey

Binocular had every chance there, he just isn't good enough anymore.

He is probably only the fourth best 2m hurdler in the yard at this stage. Beautifully judged ride by Maguire all the same, turned the screw at the right times.

That was some money for Overturn,went from 7/2 into 7/4 in one move according to channel 4,don't know how accurate that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭chipsdave

That was some money for Overturn,went from 7/2 into 7/4 in one move according to channel 4,don't know how accurate that was.

5-2 into 7-4 more like it I would say ,Tommo said 7-2 alright just because the screen showed it ,but shure Hes clueless.

Haha that is quite true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭chipsdave

Quite a strong market too there Urban I would imagine so market wouldnt have shifted in 1 go ,more like 5-2 9-4 2-1 7-4.

That's what I'd think as that's the usual. I think it must have been a misprint by channel 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Backed the Giant Bolster here after

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Fancy Carruthers to run a big race in this today, but im slightly leaning towards Tullamore Dew for my e.w bet :confused:

Absolutely tremendous ride by the jockey there, delighted I backed the horse now :D

Overturn was 7/2 with Ladbrokes last night & I think with bet365 this morning

Didn't have a bet there.

Usually won by an unexposed 2nd season chaser but I wasn't a fan of the staying novices last year so no real surprise that was turned on it's head

On another note (and given his owner I'd say it'll happen next season if not this) I'd love to see Wymott tried at Aintree with a view to a Grand National bid

Wymott actually looked like he was staying on about 2 out having looked beaten. Maybe it was a bit quick for him today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Lads, is anyone watching the Channel 4 Racing on Chorus? The feckin sound has been gone on Channel 4 since this morning :mad:

Chorus is useless. Off topic,would you not consider even getting a free view box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

the winner was 14s on paddy power ,sweet :D

Wymott actually looked like he was staying on about 2 out having looked beaten. Maybe it was a bit quick for him today

Welsh National type possibly too

Or possibly for a trip to Fairyhouse on Easter Monday......

Stays all day but is a bit slow. As you said probably the softer the better too

Chorus is useless. Off topic,would you not consider even getting a free view box?

I would do but then I wouldn't have ATR. All the other channels are fine, just seems to be a problem with Channel 4. Feckin Chorus. I swear they're doing this to me because it's Hennessy Gold Cup day! :mad: ;)

What are you paying per month Harry

30 a month Urban.

Ah right. I was going to ask about considering sky,but much more.

the winner was 14s on paddy power ,sweet :D

I got it at 16's half n hour before they went off :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Morgans wrote: »
    The one horse that looks something of a forgotten horse and at 20/1 catches my eye is Planet of Sound. Assuming What A Friend staying to help the weights for the other Nicholls horses, I think he has a nice weight for a grade 1 winner (not the strongest Grade 1) and is unexposed at the trip.

Close. Didnt see Carruthers bouncing back. First time he came into the reckoning for me was when the support game. Very game horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

i backed Great Endeavor ew, he didnt get 3m2 and he just ran out of steam, but i have to say how good a ride did timmy murphy give it, i'd given up on him halfway around and next thing he appeared beside carruthers at the 2nd last. terrific ride i thought.

Agreed. He nursed him round almost at the back of the field preserving his suspect stamina and came there with a well timed run but as you say he just didn't get home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭pudzy

I would do but then I wouldn't have ATR. All the other channels are fine, just seems to be a problem with Channel 4. Feckin Chorus. I swear they're doing this to me because it's Hennessy Gold Cup day! :mad: ;)

forget the subs guys, i got box from m8, works tru internet, a1. so far so good, atr and racing uk.