Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Unpopular Opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Cork lass with a strong Corkonian accent is just gorgeous :P

A nice accent, not the Knockna kind, there is a difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

mikemac1 wrote: »

It's ok but for me girls from up north have the sexiest accent by a mile.

Yes. Yes there is.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Duzzer

mackg wrote: »
    Sounds like good fun to me. In my own experience who spout pretentious nonsense when they return home after a bit of travelling were spouting pretentious nonsense about something else before they left and sure enough will be spouting it in a years time about something else. People just talking about it is hardly annoying though. If I haven't seen someone in ages and they have just travelled the world I am usually pretty interested in hearing about.

There you go

Your description of Kerry pretty much applies to the main street in Killarney and nowhere else. As far as the Kerry accent goes, it is what it is. I got a fair bit of stick for it when I first moved to Cork.

It's all around the county. The main industry in Kerry is tourism so everybody makes the effort there to live up to the notions of tourists. Doing their bit for the local economy there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

I wish that there was some way of ensuring people who had children raised them properly. However anything I can think of usually ends quite Orwellian. I think some people have children for very selfish reasons and sometimes just because it's the "done thing". I love children but I'm conscious that I'm responsible for not ****ing them up and that thought kinda freaks me out.

I think society should be less allowing of obesity. Obese people in the main got that way by themselves and tiptoeing around them is ridiculous. I also think the gastric band bypass was the worst invention of the last 30 years as it allows people an easy way out without ever learning what they should and shouldn't put in their bodies.

I find Miriam O'Callaghan kind of irritating.

I also really like Easy Singles on toast. Mmmmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I think holding hands in public and other displays of affection like hugging and kissing are perfectly ok :)

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Roadtrippin

While we're on the subject of accents - I don't like most Dublin accents. Never did, never will do.
    Particularly, contrived Dublin accents, i.e. people that aren't from Dublin adopting the accent because they think it makes them sound better in any way. I knew a girl from Galway that tried to sound like she was from D4... Nothing worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Christmas is an over commercialised false horrible time of the year with ****e weather

That's a very popular opinion combined with a fact - you're not as in-the-cool-minority as you hoped you were. Haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

While we're on the subject of accents - I don't like most Dublin accents. Never did, never will do.
    Particularly, contrived Dublin accents, i.e. people that aren't from Dublin adopting the accent because they think it makes them sound better in any way. I knew a girl from Galway that tried to sound like she was from D4... Nothing worse.

I'd say this is popular enough as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

frankosw wrote: »
    I dont understand whythe do-gooders always have to go abroad to do thier "charitable work" and never seem to want to help out with deprivation in thier own country.

I suppose its all about a free holiday and a sense of moral superiority.

First of all, why is "do-gooders" a negative phrase now? When did 'doing good' become a bad thing?

I work for an international NGO that is focused on developing countries; we do not work in Ireland. The reason for this is that most of the countries in the world have much greater needs than Ireland. Even the poorest, most deprived person in Ireland still has access to clean water. When is the last time you heard of an Irish child dying of diarrhoea/ dehydration?

As for 'free holidays' - don't make me laugh. I've spent time in Eastern Congo (one of the worst places in the world to live in my opinion) and in Somalia, these are certainly not 'holiday' destinations. Every night there were gunshots keeping us awake and there were several grenade attacks when I was in Congo. I did not enjoy it one bit but the work we do there is essential as many other NGOs do not operate there.

For the record, I consider myself extremely lucky; I got to come home to Ireland while many millions of people are stuck living in these awful places.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

First of all, why is "do-gooders" a negative phrase now? When did 'doing good' become a bad thing?

I work for an international NGO that is focused on developing countries; we do not work in Ireland. The reason for this is that most of the countries in the world have much greater needs than Ireland. Even the poorest, most deprived person in Ireland still has access to clean water. When is the last time you heard of an Irish child dying of diarrhoea/ dehydration?

As for 'free holidays' - don't make me laugh. I've spent time in Eastern Congo (one of the worst places in the world to live in my opinion) and in Somalia, these are certainly not 'holiday' destinations. Every night there were gunshots keeping us awake and there were several grenade attacks when I was in Congo. I did not enjoy it one bit but the work we do there is essential as many other NGOs do not operate there.

For the record, I consider myself extremely lucky; I got to come home to Ireland while many millions of people are stuck living in these awful places.

I guess what I'm trying to say is I'm a pretty fantastic guy....

Sorry mate, I hear NGO and i just think rip off. Maybe you are one of the genuine few, if so fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

I like the celebrity chef Anthony Worrall Thompson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Duzzer wrote: »
    It's all around the county. The main industry in Kerry is tourism so everybody makes the effort there to live up to the notions of tourists. Doing their bit for the local economy there

There are loads of places in Kerry where tourists never set foot and being from Kerry I know that the whole "playing it up for the Yanks" thing is something an awful lot of people, especially the younger generation, would want nothing to do with.
    I think holding hands in public and other displays of affection like hugging and kissing are perfectly ok

Agree 100% I really don't see why it bothers people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

People who use the world "liberals" in a sneering way, people who use the term "pc" to further their argument, people who say "do gooders".

They are clearly gifted individuals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Belfast accents are considerably worse than any Dublin accent. Even the fake D4 kind.

Belfast accents make your eardrums explode.

Just say ayyyyyyyyyye in a horrific Belfast accent.

I bet it's worse than "Daaaaaaaaaaaart"

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Pacly

Roisy7 wrote: »

I think society should be less allowing of obesity. Obese people in the main got that way by themselves and tiptoeing around them is ridiculous.

Haha this put a funny picture in my head. :D

I agree though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭lorebringer

I f*cking hate Christmas, everything about it - the build up, the day, the fake niceness, the decorations, the songs... everything... only good thing is getting time off and most of the time that doesn't even happen!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I like the celebrity chef Anthony Worrall Thompson.

Know someone who worked for him and said the was the soundest boss he's ever had. Not one of the idiot screamers with some sort of personality disorder that run most kitchens.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Green Diesel

Reloc8 wrote: »
    That's a very popular opinion combined with a fact - you're not as in-the-cool-minority as you hoped you were. Haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

old hippy wrote: »
    People who use the world "liberals" in a sneering way, people who use the term "pc" to further their argument, people who say "do gooders".

They are clearly gifted individuals.

Ugh, you're reminding me of the bad taste in my mouth whenever I see the words of the Axis of Drivel (John Waters, David Quinn and Breda O'Brien).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

I think we Irish people are far more racist than we realise. How many times have you heard the phrase "I'm not a racist but..."?

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Dublin City is a dirty, grey, smelly, scum-ridden shíthole.

-The transport system is a joke, dublin buses new "electronic signs" are a bigger waste of time for the amount of time buses disappear from it out of thin air.

- Even the nicer areas like St.Stephens green are riddled with junkies who won't let you eat a sandwich in peace.

- The place is filthy, when the tide is out; the sight of the liffey would make a person vomit.

- The price of a pint in the big schmoke is a joke compared to other cities like Galway.

- The people (not all, but lots) have this illusion that anything outside their scum-infested hellhole is GAA, spuds and Dial-Up

I cringe walking home from work where I see tourists eating their dinner at an outside table in a restaurant and some parasite is hounding them for change. I live here because I work here and arguably the best job opportunities are in Dublin (if not, definitely the best chance of landing a decent job). But for any friends I have that come visiting from other countries, I advise them right out of the city to the nicer, friendlier parts of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

A lot of people who say the country is a joke often don't even know why they're saying it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Drakares wrote: »

-The transport system is a joke, dublin buses new "electronic signs" are a bigger waste of time for the amount of time buses disappear from it out of thin air.

- Even the nicer areas like St.Stephens green are riddled with junkies who won't let you eat a sandwich in peace.

- The place is filthy, when the tide is out; the sight of the liffey would make a person vomit.

- The price of a pint in the big schmoke is a joke compared to other cities like Galway.

- The people (not all, but lots) have this illusion that anything outside their scum-infested hellhole is GAA, spuds and Dial-Up

I cringe walking home from work where I see tourists eating their dinner at an outside table in a restaurant and some parasite is hounding them for change. I live here because I work here and arguably the best job opportunities are in Dublin (if not, definitely the best chance of landing a decent job). But for any friends I have that come visiting from other countries, I advise them right out of the city to the nicer, friendlier parts of Ireland.

commute and stop complaining?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Where do you come from as a matter of interest?

I need a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭coonecb1

Will Ferrell is not that funny.

byrned17 wrote: »
    I think we Irish people are far more racist than we realise. How many times have you heard the phrase "I'm not a racist but..."?

Will that phrase be taken at face value ever again?

Seems to be a standard thing that if somebody says it they're automatically a racist.

E.g. "I'm not a racist, but white people really are the cause of so much death and misery".

Is that a racist statement? Am I racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I dont like any music by the Beetles (apart from 1 song), the Stones or the Red Hot Chilli's.

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    I dont like any music by the Beetles (apart from 1 song), the Stones or the Red Hot Chilli's.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭greenheart

Why don't you leave?
    If I despised a place as much as you appear to. No job no matter how good would make me stay.
    I never post here but I'm sick of reading posts like this :mad:
    Dublin is a great place if you open yourself up to it and look past the bad points that exist in every city, no matter where you are.
    Although I do think the more cultured/diverse we become the more the old community spirit is dying. Which is a shame because that is what was great about Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

pmcmahon wrote: »
    commute and stop complaining?

No, I don't want to commute. Although considering how terrible Dublin Bus is, maybe I'd be better off.
    Where do you come from as a matter of interest?

I need a laugh.
    You proved my point exactly. I come from a place where you've probably never been. But we love GAA, we're outside Dublin. When I'm not eating bacon and cabbage I'm footing turf and ridin' cattle

No, I don't want to commute. Although considering how terrible Dublin Bus is, maybe I'd be better off.

then shut up and get on with it.

You proved my point exactly. I come from a place where you've probably never been. But we love GAA, we're outside Dublin. When I'm not eating bacon and cabbage I'm footing turf and ridin' cattle

Would you care to proffer a positive opinion on a place to live?

Have you lived anywhere that you liked, and if so where is this place?

Or are you a relentlessly negative bore?

coonecb1 wrote: »
    Or are you a relentlessly negative bore?

i think he's one of those folk who feels dublin owes him something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i think he's one of those folk who feels dublin owes him something.

:confused: Who are "those folk"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I hate "down the country".

People are small minded and clique-ish.
    They bitch and gossip about their neighbours and friends with a venom I never witnessed while living in Dublin.

The children are practically feral and heaven for-fend if your child shows any form of intellect or education. The child becomes far game for being a "sissy wit al dat scoolin".

The women are butch and hate you if you wear make-up and dress nicely "who does yer wan think she is swannin around the place"

Damn you recession for my forced exile :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

byrned17 wrote: »
    You ever notice how whenever anybody uses the word "foreign", 95% of the time it's in a negative context.

I don't think people even realize what they're doing but it's been annoying me quite a bit lately.

Smidge wrote: »
    The children are practically feral and heaven for-fend if your child shows any form of intellect or education. The child becomes far game for being a "sissy wit al dat scoolin".

The women are butch and hate you if you wear make-up and dress nicely "who does yer wan think she is swannin around the place"

I've never witnessed any of that. "A sissy wit al day schoolin'" - wtf?

They bitch and gossip about their neighbours and friends with a venom I never witnessed while living in Dublin.

Agree with the bit about the gossipy-ness of ppl in the country.

Definitely worse than I've seen in South Dublin, despite what stereotypes would say.

In fact, I think there's more snobbery and prejudicial attitudes towards South Dublin than anything than the other way around.

I'm basing this on my life experience, including many summers spent in a country town.

I've never witnessed any of that. "A sissy wit al day schoolin'" - wtf?

It's the truth, sadly.

If you don't play Gaa or hurling but instead like more academic things as a child, not only does the child get targeted but the parents of the country kids are not very nice to that parent(bizarrely you get blackballed).

For some reason, not going out on the pitch and kicking the ****e out of one another on a Saturday morning makes you fair game for abuse and ridicule.

coonecb1 wrote: »
    Agree with the bit about the gossipy-ness of ppl in the country.

Definitely worse than I've seen in South Dublin, despite what stereotypes would say.

In fact, I think there's more snobbery and prejudicial attitudes towards South Dublin than anything than the other way around.

I'm basing this on my life experience, including many summers spent in a country town.

It was the sheer viciousness of the gossip that caught me off guard tbh.

I'm not saying that people in Dublin don't gossip but they seem to be more "careful" about what they say.

Not down the country. They go for the jugular and when they can't find anything to say about others the just make ****e up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Could not agree more!
    Curtains twitch all over the place if you so much as put out your bins.
    You're clearly full of yourself if you take pride in your appearance - no women will like you because of this.
    They don't even try to hide the fact that they are bitching about you.
    People you've never even met know you as 'That Dublin wan who's full of herself'.

Could not agree more!
    Curtains twitch all over the place if you so much as put out your bins.
    You're clearly full of yourself if you take pride in your appearance - no women will like you because of this.
    They don't even try to hide the fact that they are bitching about you.
    People you've never even met know you as 'That Dublin wan who's full of herself'.

I take it flutterflye that you *gasp* have your hair done:eek::eek::D

I have never seen so many women (outside of a lesbian bar)who have, on purpose and not through any illness such as hair loss etc, short back and sides :eek:

You can only imagine the looks I get after a fresh head of meche lol

I'm from Dublin and moved with my parents to the country, and I never experienced anything like that in school, and I most certainly had no interest in sport. Also never noticed any reaction to people dressing up or anything like that. Pretty much every girl I know dolls herself up to the nines at every available opportunity. It's almost the opposite in my experience - if you aren't in full make-up, with a dress and high heels, the whole lot on a night out, you stand out like a sore thumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I take it flutterflye that you *gasp* have your hair done:eek::eek::D

I have never seen so many women (outside of a lesbian bar)who have, on purpose and not through any illness such as hair loss etc, short back and sides :eek:

You can only imagine the looks I get after a fresh head of meche lol

Well while I'm not in Dublin right now, they're not like that at all here - I actually think there are more Dubs here than natives!
    But I did live 'dowin de cuntry' for a year a while back - That was how long I lasted - One year.

Try not to get too shocked now, but not only did I always have my (long) hair nicely done, but I also wore make up ( :eek: ), and wore nice skirts, tops, boots etc... EVERY DAY! ( :eek::eek::eek:)

I'm from Dublin and moved with my parents to the country, and I never experienced anything like that in school, and I most certainly had no interest in sport. Also never noticed any reaction to people dressing up or anything like that. Pretty much every girl I know dolls herself up to the nines at every available opportunity. It's almost the opposite in my experience - if you aren't in full make-up, with a dress and high heels, the whole lot on a night out, you stand out like a sore thumb.

I think you may be a different age bracket shins, to me and Flutterflye tbf.

And I wasn't talking about "young" women going out on a night out to a club etc.

Where I am the girls wear the county Gaa top with jeans to the pub :eek:

Well while I'm not in Dublin right now, they're not like that at all here - I actually think there are more Dubs here than natives!
    But I did live 'dowin de cuntry' for a year a while back - That was how long I lasted - One year.

Try not to get too shocked now, but not only did I always have my (long) hair nicely done, but I also wore make up ( :eek: ), and wore nice skirts, tops, boots etc... EVERY DAY! ( :eek::eek::eek:)

Hussy :D

I am, for my sins, in de pure chunteree(say that phonetically and it gives you a clue to where I am :D)

I too have long hair and have the audacity to, wait for it, wear it loose and not scutched back in a scrunchy.
    For some reason I get the feeling that these women think I'm going to seduce their pot-bellied, unshaven, welly boot wearing, slurry smelling husbands :D:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I from rural Tipperary and what you've described is basically how things were and still are, towns like Thurles and Nenagh are like fashion parades on a Saturday night.

When I was in school if people weren't sporty they were encouraged to pursue other interests of theirs, I don't remember people being sneered at or ostracised because they didn't play hurling etc.

I from rural Tipperary and what you've described is basically how things were and still are, towns like Thurles and Nenagh are like fashion parades on a Saturday night.

When I was in school if people weren't sporty they were encouraged to pursue other interests of theirs, I don't remember people being sneered at or ostracised because they didn't play hurling etc.

Thurles and Nenagh would be fairly big towns though?

And I didn't say sneered at, I said fair game because they were not seen as tough and were not in the "Clique".
    I suppose I can only speak of my experience and that of a few other "outsiders":)

Same. I'm not really sure what the above are talking about. I've honestly never seen it. The school thing, definitely never encountered anything like that and I was not a sporty person by any stretch of the imagination. I was actually quite academic and was actively encouraged in that direction.

As far as dressing up, pretty much every young girl does it, but I've noticed it among women of a certain age too. Obviously not the short skirts and such, but my best friend's grandmother is one of the most glamorous women I've ever met - wears black shawls, eye make-up, foundation and lipstick, and lots of jewellery every single day. Likewise, I've seen some mothers around the town who often look very well (especially since most of them have a gang of children hanging out of them), and I can't say I've ever heard anyone passing comment.

Maybe it's that the town I live in is an exception, I don't know, but I've honestly never witnessed this stuff.

Same. I'm not really sure what the above are talking about. I've honestly never seen it. The school thing, definitely never encountered anything like that and I was not a sporty person by any stretch of the imagination. I was actually quite academic and was actively encouraged in that direction.

As far as dressing up, pretty much every young girl does it, but I've noticed it among women of a certain age too. Obviously not the short skirts and such, but my best friend's grandmother is one of the most glamorous women I've ever met - wears black shawls, eye make-up, foundation and lipstick, and lots of jewellery every single day. Likewise, I've seen some mothers around the town who often look very well (especially since most of them have a gang of children hanging out of them), and I can't say I've ever heard anyone passing comment.

Maybe it's that the town I live in is an exception, I don't know, but I've honestly never witnessed this stuff.

You have been lucky so and I'm glad for it:)
    It is horrible to see it and live it first hand.