Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpopular Opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

I wish sports would just disappear as anything other than something people do as a hobby.
    I'm sick of hearing about every season in football or rugby or whatever.
    I'm sick of there being a slot on the news every single newsbreak dedicated to sports.
    I'm sick of hearing people say 'we' - 'we won', 'we lost' etc...
    Eh no you are not in the team, so you did nothing but scream at a tv like a pathetic beered up loser!

I bet you watch an array of reality tv ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

pookiesboo wrote: »
    Holly Willoughby is fat

She's got meaty flaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Varied wrote: »
    I bet you watch an array of reality tv ****e.

Why?
    Because I'm female???
    No, I don't.
    I don't watch any tv at all.
    So, you can't find yourself to be superior to me on this occasion.
    Try again tomorrow ;)

deisedave wrote: »
    I love football and really enjoy watching it, I am not forcing you to watch it I bet you like some things that I dont that is life. The fact that it annoys you so much makes you the loser :rolleyes:

That made me laugh!
    It's like I'm 4 again, and being called a loser for some silly 4 year old reason!
    Anyway, if disliking sports makes me a loser, then fine - I'm a loser! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

I wish sports would just disappear as anything other than something people do as a hobby.
    I'm sick of there being a slot on the news every single newsbreak dedicated to sports.
    Eh no you are not in the team, so you did nothing but scream at a tv like a pathetic beered up loser!

Very good point. Some yob with a pot belly knocking back pints talking about "we" played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

That made me laugh!
    It's like I'm 4 again, and being called a loser for some silly 4 year old reason!
    Anyway, if disliking sports makes me a loser, then fine - I'm a loser! :)

Pot, kettle etc.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    In fact all Coen brothers films are ****e with the exception of Miller's Crossing

I think Raising Arizona is very good.

mackg wrote: »
    Pot, kettle etc.

Oh I see!
    That's what got his back up is it?!
    I didn't call anyone personally a loser, so it's not exactly the same.
    But meh...
    I get it now at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

mikemac1 wrote: »
    The Big Lebowski was not funny
    Not funny at all!
    Right. Never mind all the (not-so) thinly-veiled racist, homophobic and sexist bollocks that's being spouted in this thread - any more shit like this and I'm gonna start waving the ban hammer.

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭RoverZT

Better than the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Wibbs wrote: »
    True and it needs to be so fast paced too and the story has to happen within one episode for the most part. A mini movie that could stand on its own. Where once you had episodes, now you have story arcs.

Cracker a perfect example and it ITV! It tackled so many issues, Alcoholism which was pretty dated, Gambling, sexism in the police and Rape from a different angle.

It was the rampant alcoholic and gambler who could see the problems! All I see are cliches based upon Cracker or a couple of others. Supposed to be inventive apparently.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭BIG BAD JOHN

lizt wrote: »
    If marriage is a pillar of society, then we're pretty fecked tbh considering the amount of marriages that end in divorce.

I can't disagree with the logic of this. The number of divorces we have do weaken this particular pillar of society. It's my opinion that many (but not all) divorces are unnecessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Oh I see!
    That's what got his back up is it?!
    I didn't call anyone personally a loser, so it's not exactly the same.
    But meh...
    I get it now at least.

You pretty much made the assumption that anyone that is really into football is a beer guzzling loser. I love the sport and I support Manchester United but I do not see how that would annoy some people I wouldn't bother talking football with someone who does not follow it.

I will watch every euro match and probably not have one drink with any of the matches, I dont like star trek or twilight for example but I wont get so worked up because some people like them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Can you link to a picture of here where shes fat?

I could but I cant be arsed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Totally normal body size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,542 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Wow, she's only 31!
    She seems older than that somehow :)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

She's perfect size and shape, nobody likes a skeleton anyway.

You pretty much made the assumption that anyone that is really into football is a beer guzzling loser. I love the sport and I support Manchester United but I do not see how that would annoy some people I wouldn't bother talking football with someone who does not follow it.

I will watch every euro match and probably not have one drink with any of the matches, I dont like star trek or twilight for example but I wont get so worked up because some people like them.

It would be a good comparison if star trek or twilight were part of every news bulletin, were always shoved at you from every angle.
    And no, I didn't make that assumption, it was just a stereotype - I can tell the difference obviously.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,912 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The Departed is one of the worst films ever made.

Cats make better pets than dogs.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I could but I cant be arsed

You mean you're talking rubbish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

It would be a good comparison if star trek or twilight were part of every news bulletin, were always shoved at you from every angle.
    And no, I didn't make that assumption, it was just a stereotype - I can tell the difference obviously.

If the news talks about football its obviously because it has lots of fans I just don't understand why you don't change over channel rather than getting annoyed about it.

I do.
    Did you not read the title of this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Fear Uladh wrote: »
    That only works if if the lad is good looking.

Otherwise he is just a stalker.

Yep

"That gorgeous looking guy came over to talk to me in the book shop and asked me out.
    So nice to meet someone outside a pub"

"That ugly bald man came over to talk to me in a bookshop and bothered me on my lunchbreak, what a weirdo."

The two lads probably said pretty much the exact same thing but one is confident and the other is a creep
    Ah ye wimmins :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Men who shave their heads daily to hide baldness are betraying their bald brothers. Shame on you traitors.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 363 ✭✭FishBowel

Joe Duffy says 'why' too often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

FishBowel wrote: »

Dude, that may well not be an unpopular opinion. Just sayin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

Using male/female as a noun is dehumanising — always sounds to me like people are talking about animals.

The move to having two parents working didn't work out & now has an adverse affect on mental health, family life & cost of living. (Not that it couldn't work, just that we all got screwed over by house prices conveniently doubling when two incomes started coming in)

FishBowel wrote: »

How does it make you feel when you do be hearing Joe say "why" too often?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 363 ✭✭FishBowel

It's the way he says it: whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

Feathers wrote: »
    Using male/female as a noun is dehumanising — always sounds to me like people are talking about animals.

I took the bitch for a walk earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

The X-Factor is a great entertainment show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

That's true when it comes to fences, not so much marriage. 2 gay men or 2 gay women getting married doesn't effect 2 straight people in any way. It's not like the love of your life is going to suddenly turn gay and marry just because it's legal.:confused:
    If you don't support gay marriage, don't get gay married!

I reckon if they want to get married they should start their own religion , (other than that I think they are cool to get civil partner ships and such.
    K-9 wrote: »
    Cracker a perfect example and it ITV! It tackled so many issues, Alcoholism which was pretty dated, Gambling, sexism in the police and Rape from a different angle.

Awh the karma sutra of rape you say??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The news does talk about twilight.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-15766506
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-15589932
    http://www.rte.ie/ten/2012/0415/twilight.html

I could post dozens more.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

How does it affect you if you don't watch any television at all? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

I am a footie fan but she has a point. A whole RTE channel is being taken over for 5-6 hours, every day for two weeks. If something similar happened for Twilight we would complain.

because of all the houses and pubs being repainted, listening to idiots beep horns and yell outside all day long, even our workplace is drowned in irish flags and colours and we should all wear a sports jersey to work on match days
    and everyone won't shut up about it
    nowhere near a tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

The news does talk about twilight.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-15766506
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-15589932
    http://www.rte.ie/ten/2012/0415/twilight.html

I could post dozens more.

The difference is that content is online, you can elect to read it. It's not the same as sitting down to the 6.1 news and having to watch the content.

The links you posted are all from the entertainment sections anyway, it's not like they're on the front page of the website.

Hardly to the same measure now in fairness!
    It doesn't have it's own segment in every single news report!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The difference is that content is online, you can elect to read it. It's not the same as sitting down to the 6.1 news and having to watch the content.

The links you posted are all from the entertainment sections anyway, it's not like they're on the front page of the website.

I can't post links to the television, but similar reports appear there.
    Hardly to the same measure now in fairness!
    It doesn't have it's own segment in every single news report!

There isn't a new Twilight book or movie every day or week, so the comparison is nonsensical. When anything newsworthy happens in the Twilight universe, it does show up on the news.

Maybe we watch different news?!

I can't post links to the television, but similar reports appear there.

I'm sorry but that is BS. Maybe it shows up on Sky News, but I've never heard a mention of Twilight on any Irish news broadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Holly Willoughby is fat

Phat, don't you mean.
    Holly Willaboobies is one of the most gorgeous women i've ever seen!
    cloptrop wrote: »
    I reckon if they want to get married they should start their own religion , (other than that I think they are cool to get civil partner ships and such.

What's marriage got to do with religion?
    I'm an athiest, should i not be able to get married too, gay or otherwise?
    If the church don't want them durty gays marrying, then fine don't let them marry in your church, but the state has no reason to bar it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

What's marriage got to do with religion?
    I'm an athiest, should i not be able to get married too, gay or otherwise?
    If the church don't want them durty gays marrying, then fine don't let them marry in your church, but the state has no reason to bar it

Its a religeous ceremony , a civil partnership is pretty much a marriage without the religion as far as I can see.

Phat, don't you mean.
    Holly Willaboobies is one of the most gorgeous women i've ever seen!
    They were going to post a picture to prove she was fat, but couldn't find any!

If this is fat, then I don't know what to say :eek:

Its a religeous ceremony , a civil partnership is pretty much a marriage without the religion as far as I can see.

No, you're wrong there. You don't need a church at all to get married.
    http://www.groireland.ie/getting_married.htm

Most hotels that specialise in weddings have a room for the reception, and one for the wedding if you choose to do it there instead of a church. A wedding and marriage doesn't need an ounce of religion in it.

no it isn't, it's a legal ceremony which people often like to tag religious things on to

I got married in a hotel with an official registrar and a celebrant.
    I am legally married, and I had a beautiful ceremony with music and poems and old Irish traditions etc...
    Not a single religious thing about the entire ceremony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

If this is fat, then I don't know what to say :eek:

Posting an airbrushed-te-f*ck photo probably wasn't the greatest way to argue the point.

But yeh, she's not fat. At all. It's fairly irresponsible to call someone fat, but especially when it's someone who very clearly is not.