Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpopular Opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

thejuggler wrote: »
    I believe welfare/state support should not be available to individuals not born in Ireland or their offspring. Furthermore asylum claims should be rejected where the applicant is 'fleeing' from a country with no direct transport links to Ireland.

I completely agree with you. Also it annoyed me when the Brazillian girl on the RTE news was giving out about having to pay college fees €7000, when her Irish friends don't. WTF. Makes my blood boil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

The Northern Ireland accent is the most annoying accent in the world. I switch station on radio or tv the second any of those politicians from up there come on. The same for those British golfers who think that they're Irish.
    "deedle deedle sit-chee-ashen deedle deedle norm narn"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I believe welfare/state support should not be available to individuals not born in Ireland or their offspring. .

Once they become citizens, they're entitled to it. If you want to start first and second class categories of citizenship, I'd suggest you're going to be a long time waiting.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,926 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

MJ23 wrote: »
    The Northern Ireland accent is the most annoying accent in the world. I switch station on radio or tv the second any of those politicians from up there come on. The same for those British golfers who think that they're Irish.

The scouse and geordie accents are far worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭thejuggler

Welfare/asylum seeking tourism is a fact. The word gets around where the best treatment and benefits are available and this attracts more claiments. I don't blame them really. Benefits are simply too generous in Ireland compared to everywhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭BIG BAD JOHN

The most recent opinions expressed ("rights" of those not born here and Northern Ireland accents) are perhaps deplorable but they're hardly unpopular!
    Anyway, not all Nordie accents are hard to listen to. Many people have told me how much they like the way I speak. (Mind you, I did take elocution lessons as a teenager.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 363 ✭✭FishBowel

We'll never have a united Ireland.

Welfare/asylum seeking tourism is a fact. The word gets around where the best treatment and benefits are available and this attracts more claiments. I don't blame them really. Benefits are simply too generous in Ireland compared to everywhere else.

You can't just arrive and claim, as has been pointed out here on numerous occassions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

McDowell was a great justice minister.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    There was a time when you could

There was a time there was no such thing as a passport, yet funny enough nobody seems to forget you need one now.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Green Diesel

Mrs Browns Boys is a funny show.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

MJ23 wrote: »
    I used to think differently but after spending a few months listening to them I can't help but agree. Horrible accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I used to think differently but after spending a few months listening to them I can't help but agree. Horrible accent.

Its the overuse of the word wee.it's wee this and a little wee that as if it's a term of endearment.
    To top that they have another most grating turn of phrase "ach aye"
    nadine coyle,Daniel o donnell,patrick kielty.
    I rest my case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

me bolly wrote: »
    Its the overuse of the word wee.it's wee this and a little wee that as if it's a term of endearment.
    To top that they have another most grating turn of phrase "ach aye"
    nadine coyle,Daniel o donnell,patrick kielty.
    I rest my case

Ach aye, sure tis only a wee stain. http://www.flickr.com/photos/wezism/219243152/

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Coca Cola tastes nicer when it is flat than when it is fizzy.

How I Met Your Mother is an awful awful programme - I'll never understand why it has such a large fanbase :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭BIG BAD JOHN

People who keep giving out about the Northern accent are a big (NB not wee) pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

How I Met Your Mother is an awful awful programme - I'll never understand why it has such a large fanbase :eek:

+1. It's annoying, unfunny, cloying shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Suas11 wrote: »
    The scouse and geordie accents are far worse

I was talking to a Management Consultant once who specialized in the area of Call Centres ( or Contact Centres as they prefer to be known ). He was telling me that Liverpool is chosen by very few companies as a location for their Call Centres due to '' negative customer perceptions '' associated with the scouse accent.
    I asked him to expand on this and he replied thus : '' Well , look at it this way , would you give your Credit Card number to a scouser ? '' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Tea is a horrible drink. Except for iced tea with lots of sugar and lemon on a very hot day.

The strongest South Dublin accent will always sound better than the strongest North/Inner City Dublin accent.

Football is not an entertaining sport, its players are paid far too much and it's ridiculous how emotionally invested in matches people get especially when THE TEAM THEY SUPPORT ISN'T EVEN FROM THEIR OWN ****ING COUNTRY!

It's possible to be pro-life, economically conservative (ie, not a socialist) and still be a feminist.

Austerity measures are needed for the quickest possible repayment of debts and I don't care who suffers as long as nobody is left starving/homeless. I don't want to be paying for someone else's recession when I start work.

Cultural biases exist even when legislation makes things apparently equal (eg. sexism and discrimination against gay people) and just because these are insidious and pernicious doesn't mean the people who point them out are "just a load of whingers".

Some posters on boards are ****ing idiots who make me despair for humanity, but then I realise the majority seem to be sound folk who realise the complexities and nuances of various situations and don't see the world in black and white.

My God that felt good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

The Geordie accent is nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I found the picture of that Irish lad licking some Croatian supporter's boob at the match last week to be cringey and not really that funny. I'm sure it was hilarious at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Piste wrote: »
    Austerity measures are needed for the quickest possible repayment of debts and I don't care who suffers as long as nobody is left starving/homeless. I don't want to be paying for someone else's recession when I start work.

And what sort of time frame did we have in mind for that exciting day ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Reloc8 wrote: »

Back to normal when s/he graduates.

Reloc8 wrote: »

Piste - the awful truth is that you and your children should you have any, will be paying for the debt burden.

All Moderators are...............

Nice, friendly & fair people.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Friends is one the most annoying shows ever, its almost as bad as 2 and a half Gobsh|ts. Eejits sitting around laughing at nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Football is not an entertaining sport, its players are paid far too much and it's ridiculous how emotionally invested in matches people get especially when THE TEAM THEY SUPPORT ISN'T EVEN FROM THEIR OWN ****ING COUNTRY!

My God that felt good.

So true, soccer is possibly the dullest sport going played by soft lads in pink boots, more worried about their hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Youth who think looking like a complete scum bag is cool and there parents who let them out of the house with there pants tucked into there socks should all be wiped out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Peep Show is the best English comedy show of the last ten, if not twenty years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Some may have been mentioned, and I won't be debating all these....I'm just putting them donw

- John Lennon was a gob****e.

- "Freinds" was 5hit

- So was "Cheers"

- Sex is overrated

- Global warming is POSSIBLY a myth.

- Germany are winning WW III, without firing a single shot

- Eric Cantona was kinda crap

- Munich 1958 was the best thing that ever happened to Manchester United

- People love tragedy (as long as it's not themselves or their family)

- Hitler escaped!

- I don't agree that Premier League footballers are overpaid

- Karen Brady is do-able!

- Humans, despite claiming to be the most intelligent of all creatures, are infact the stupidest of all creatures because of the way they destroy their own habitat

- Easily passing exams doesn't mean you're intelligent or "brainy" (may depend on the type of exam)

- The GAA gets huge credit for the good it's done for Ireland - why does nobody ever balance it by pointing out the harm it has done?

- Our corporation tax should be increased at least 2 or 3 points.

- George W Bush wasn't a thicko

- Jim Corr is not a nut job :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Some may have been mentioned, and I won't be debating all these....I'm just putting them donw

- Sex is overrated

You're doing it wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Timbuk3

Coca Cola tastes nicer when it is flat than when it is fizzy.

AGREED!

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭qrrgprgua

seanybiker wrote: »
    I think non nationals are welcome to apply for jobs in ireland considering the amount of us Irish that work all around the world.

That is actually a popular opinion.. Not an unpopular one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    Peep Show is the best English comedy show of the last ten, if not twenty years.

This isn't an unpopular opinion!

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    This isn't an unpopular opinion!

I don't think it has a great viewership at all.

krudler wrote: »
    You're doing it wrong

In fairness, tv, movies, magazines, friends in school etc. make it out to be the most spectacular event in human history every time you do it.. I chose to play my brand new game of Skyrim instead of sex with my girlfriend tonight. And I am doing it right, I'll just do it tomorrow intead. The way sex is portrayed between friends and in the media, that's an utterly mad and physically impossible decision for a man to make. In reality, most people aren't so sex craved that it's the be all end all of their lives.

This is an excellent point however the biological drive for sex is just exchanged for something else (Marlo in The Wire is the perfect example of somebody who cares little for sex but craves power, money, etc) therefore it is always there but we just deceive ourselves into thinking it is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

- Global warming is POSSIBLY a myth.

Try to keep up
    Global warming is over, it's climate change now ;)

- The GAA gets huge credit for the good it's done for Ireland - why does nobody ever balance it by pointing out the harm it has done?

Any examples?

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Any examples?

A good example would be the lack of funding and energy into other sports.. I never took to football but it was the big one in my county. Hurling was ignored completely at the age I'd have ideally been able to take it up. By the time I realised I could hit a sliotar alot better than average, I was already too old to start into field sports.

If my father hadn't got me into golf from a young age or one of my secondary school teachers was good enough to start a handball lunchtime club, I'd have never had a sport in my life cause I didnt like Gaelic football.

The people I've met from other developed countries have a much wider range of sports available to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

A good example would be the lack of funding and energy into other sports.. I never took to football but it was the big one in my county. Hurling was ignored completely at the age I'd have ideally been able to take it up. By the time I realised I could hit a sliotar alot better than average, I was already too old to start into field sports.

If my father hadn't got me into golf from a young age or one of my secondary school teachers was good enough to start a handball lunchtime club, I'd have never had a sport in my life cause I didnt like Gaelic football.

The people I've met from other developed countries have a much wider range of sports available to them.

I agree it is a shame that some counties only concentrate on one code, usually but not always football, to the detriment of the other. However, you can't really accuse the GAA of harming Ireland because it does not promote other sports. That would be a bit like expecting Tesco to remind you to shop in Dunnes every now and again.

If you have an interest in other sports, it is up to you and other like minded people to try and promote them, much like the teacher in your school did with handball. I know I'm making it sound very simplistic but sitting back and blaming the GAA while expecting someone else to actually do the hard work of setting up and running an alternative sports club is not the best attitude either. By the way, I don't mean you as in you specifically, I mean the general attitude a lot of the population has in excpecting others to always make the effort and get things done.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

I don't like The King Of Moo

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I don't like The King Of Moo

That's not an unpopular opinion at all. Pfft.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

That's not an unpopular opinion at all. Pfft.

Well in that case, I like The King Of Moo

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 250 ✭✭DuPLeX

Hitler was Jewish .

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 250 ✭✭DuPLeX

There are not "too many people on the planet"

The Provos were great. They took care of business. Drug dealers didn't act the bollix when they were around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

IrishAm wrote: »
    The Provos were great. They took care of business. Drug dealers didn't act the bollix when they were around.

Who was acting the bollix in Warrington?
    Three-year-old Johnathan Ball died at the scene, while his babysitter survived. The second victim, 12-year-old Tim Parry, who received the full force of the blast, was gravely wounded.

He died on 25 March 1993 when doctors switched his life support machine off, having asked permission to do so from his family, after a series of tests had found minimal brain activity.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Who was acting the bollix in Warrington?

Brit army area.

Sad that non BA died. God rest them.

Still, great folk. Irish patriots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,715 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I don't like Wayne Rooney or the England team and I was hoping they would loose and I feel Ukraine were cheated tonight.

Heres a popular one. I shall remain on the couch. For life.

No problem scoring mots, mind. Its keeping them thats the problem. Divorced at 25. :(