Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sick of people saying there are no jobs. There are, but the market has just changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Nation 98

The arrogance and ignorance of the OP in this thread is truely amazing. Almost as good as John Delaney.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

bluewolf wrote: »
    So you're saying they all buy the drink in tesco and all manage to smuggle all this drink into the pubs every day?

By jove, I think you've got it! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Leave her alone!!:mad:

Any chance of a loan til Thursday OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,257 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Yes, but Tesco's off licence department is booming.

Lol!

OP, now I know why you chose to open up by telling everyone your educational record.

"I can do this and that and i'm awesome" is always the trademark of a very insecure human being.

And if I had the intellect you had then i'd certainly be insecure! Holy mother!

Millicent wrote: »
    By jove, I think you've got it! :pac:

You'd think the bouncers and barmen would cop on, wha?
    Nevermind, the OP has a masters in business! He'll be along shortly to tell them what to do.

staker wrote: »
    Leave her alone!!:mad:

Any chance of a loan til Thursday OP?

Is that the day you get paid from doing your FAS course?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 How Many Users

Posy wrote: »
    My friend did this. She got a 1.1. Then she did a masters. Then spent a year abroad teaching English as a foreign language before doing her H.Dip.
    She now can't find a full time teaching job and mostly works in call centres.
    Should she retrain as something else now, is that what you're saying? :confused:

Fair enough, but it is an 80/20 rule. I would say 80% of the unemployed have given up and are now just taking the money and not even trying. I heard about a guy today who has been on the live register for 10 years now. I think that is just taking the piss. Maybe when he started years ago he would have said the same thing, too late to upskill, but now he has waisted the last 10 years.

This recession started in 2008, it's now 3 years on and a lot of people have never left the dole. You're telling me they couldn't have learned something new in all that time? What about in another 7 years when a lot of them will still be claiming, will that be enough time for them?

I heard about a guy today who has been on the live register for 10 years now.
    I would say 80% of the unemployed have given up and are now just taking the money and not even trying.
    Once again, I commend your fine logic skills.
    you heard about one guy on the live register for 10 years so 80% of unemployed aren't trying.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Fair enough, but it is an 80/20 rule. I would say 80% of the unemployed have given up and are now just taking the money and not even trying. I heard about a guy today who has been on the live register for 10 years now. I think that is just taking the piss. Maybe when he started years ago he would have said the same thing, too late to upskill, but now he has waisted the last 10 years.

This recession started in 2008, it's now 3 years on and a lot of people have never left the dole. You're telling me they couldn't have learned something new in all that time? What about in another 7 years when a lot of them will still be claiming, will that be enough time for them?

Impressive figures, as would be expected given your great qualifications, but where are you getting them from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Aaaannnd another thing, OP. I too got the first job I interviewed for out of college. It was in the UK because in 2009, there was nothing here for a science grad with no experience, even with a good degree from the "best" uni in the country.

Two things:

a) I didn't gloat about getting that very good graduate job, I was SHOCKED. In fact, I still don't know how that happened.

b) Life throws you curve-balls. I ended up having to leave that job after six months to come back to Ireland to deal with some health issues. Said health issues are now resolved but now I'm back in this country, with marginally more experience than I had before, trying to get a job with only six months in the last job and a huge gap after working against me. I'm also tied to this country this time around because I am now in a relationship. I can't shake the feeling that I had my chance and blew it. Life is messy, you never know what is around the corner.

So, be glad of your position, OP, be glad to have your health and a healthy income. You never know what life will hurl at you.

OP give it up, you're talking ballocks and everyone knows it but you.

You remind me of the auld lads down the pub who sit there and talk sh*te like "Bleedin Nigerians. They get off the boat and the Government give them free cars and houses and haircuts!". *

I wish you well in your new job OP, I hope your employer knows what he's let himself in for!

*I know this because i'm unemployed, therefore I spend all day in the pub

You'd think the bouncers and barmen would cop on, wha?
    Nevermind, the OP has a masters in business! He'll be along shortly to tell them what to do.

Hahahaha! They should charge stupid amounts for mixers allow smoking in pubs push for greater taxes on off licence alcohol bitch every chance they get about the recession get the OP in to show them the errors of their ways.

Over 200,000 people sitting a pub every day and only a Diet Coke and a packet of peanuts between them? You'd think the vintners would twig something.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Amzie

I have a first because I worked my ass off. While I was in college I worked 2 jobs to support myself. I didn't go out and get drunk or take drugs the whole time. In fact I don't drink.

Don't even try to tell me that everyone currently on the dole is actively looking for jobs 24/7. Half of them are down the pub everyday.

Your ignorance disgusts me! How dare you tar everyone on the dole with the same brush! I'm trying my bloody hardest to get a job, been to interviews but can't get the job cos don't have x amount of years exp, I can't get that exp cos no one will give me a job!! It's not all so simple and rosy as you put it!! And alot of jobs available are in specialised fields, FAS is not the answer it just makes the live register look good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Is that the day you get paid from doing your FAS course?

Yup, I'm doing a bit of research over here and I'll have loads left over to repay the OP,that's assuming I don't get too blotto tomorrow afternoon with the winnings.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Hmm. The OP said he walked out of college straight into a €40k a year job because he "worked hard" and deserved it.

Funny that, because 5 weeks ago he was complaining about people skipping him in the dole queue when he was signing on....

in the office I go to they split up the lines based on position in the alphabet. Normally the person doing the queue that isn't mine is about 10x faster then my queue so there will be nobody in the second queue but the first is almost out the door. What loads of people do is queue up for the wrong queue and get told to use the other hatch, so the skip the entire queue and sign on.

Some bloke tried to skip in front of me today and my reply was "Just because you don't know the alphabet does not mean you can skip the queue, back of the line you muppet"

Link: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74750499

I don't mean to be rude, but methinks that the OP might be full of shit.

aw, i was having fun :pac:

As was the OP I presume

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Great, you got a job. Some graduates get jobs. Some don't. Do you even watch the news? Have you not seen all the companies closing?
    Where are all these jobs hiding?!

There are very few part-time jobs to be had at the moment. A few years ago, people would give up the supermarket/restaurant/cafe/shop job when they graduated. Now they can't get any other work, so they don't leave, then undergraduates can't work.

And even when part-time jobs come up, there's hundreds upon hundreds applying. My old school used to constantly tell us not to work during school, because we needed to focus on the LC to get a good job later on - now loads of people who were in my year (left 2 and half years ago) can't get jobs because they had no experience - all because they wanted to do the LC right. Out of the people I was friends with at school, I was the only one to get a part-time job last year (because I'd worked a few hours in a newsagents when I was 16), even though the others keep applying relentlessly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

OP I'm glad you're not working somewhere where you could actually apply your flawed mass-psychoanalysis of those not employed in a way that would affect them any more than unemployment already does.

Every cloud huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭cackhanded

in the office I go to they split up the lines based on position in the alphabet. Normally the person doing the queue that isn't mine is about 10x faster then my queue so there will be nobody in the second queue but the first is almost out the door. What loads of people do is queue up for the wrong queue and get told to use the other hatch, so the skip the entire queue and sign on.

Some bloke tried to skip in front of me today and my reply was "Just because you don't know the alphabet does not mean you can skip the queue, back of the line you muppet"

Hmm, seems the op has a very short memory - this from just a month ago. BTW the queue he is referring to is the on in the DOLE office.:rolleyes:

Edit: Damn, came second again. That's never happened twice in the same night!

OP I'm glad you're not working somewhere

That's an awful thing to say to someone who's on the dole.

cackhanded wrote: »
    Hmm, seems the op has a very short memory - this from just a month ago. BTW the queue he is referring to is the on in the DOLE office.:rolleyes:

Edit: Damn, came second again. That's never happened twice in the same night!

Never feel bad about coming second... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭cackhanded

Millicent wrote: »
    Never feel bad about coming second... :pac:

I could be female......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Ah its all coming out of the wood work now, I don't see myself getting a first I've fallen off the thesis wagon for the last month oh fallen so hard... so..

In order to keep within the unpopular opinions them after falling off the thesis bandwagon I had to keep believing that one day I would get a masters to have applicable skills but the funding was cruelly taken from my spongy paws so now I shall go forth stay on the dole using more tax payers money than it would have cost to re train me, then I will march on to Coppers bed some culchies and pop out as many jung ones as I can just to get a bigger council house, I will then vow to keep up with Jeremy Kyle but pledge to never appear on it more than twice, I will then construct a contraption to transport pringles because they are some good shít, using the Pringle method I will become really massive just to piss people off, obviously.

It was nice knowing you all.
    *waddles off into the sunset*

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Point in case,I studied IT for my primary degree and got a first and recently graduated from a masters in business and got a 2.1.

When I finished I applied for one job and got it and am now on 40k a year including bonus. I don't feel I was particularly lucky, I worked hard and it paid off. Every time I look a job websites like jobs.ie etc, there are hundreds of jobs going, yet you walk past the dole office on sign on day and there are cues going out the door.

I think people in this country have become lazy and are no longer even trying to look for work. People have to start to face facts that the housing bubble has burst, there are no longer jobs in the building sector. It's time for the country to start upskilling again. Get into the fas centers and learn something new. But no, the people on the dole don't even bother any more.

Now I am not saying everyone on the dole is like this, but lets be honest most of the heads I see walking in there are.

Thoughts?

How about you **** off you ignorant twit.

OK, I was trolling :P

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭corkonion

The op is right, there are thousands of jobs available in this country that remain unfilled, and many of them do not require 3rd level qualifications. People with a driving licence should get a psv and join the taxi trade, there are guy's advertising for drivers all the time on most papers, and they cannot get enough, there are also numerous vacencies for commission only, inexpierienced sales people in the gas/electricity suppliers market, simply going door to door and having nice conversations with the residents. Another company is renting out tuc-tuc's where I believe the peddler can earn up to 20 euro per night.
    Get off the dole ye scroungers and start working tomorrow!
    The future is bright, there is no recession.

And tomorrow you'll be dole-ing.

Well done.

And tomorrow you'll be dole-ing.

Well done.

I do have a job though

cackhanded wrote: »
    I could be female......

Scissors? :D

corkonion wrote: »
    The op is right, there are thousands of jobs available in this country that remain unfilled, and many of them do not require 3rd level qualifications. People with a driving licence should get a psv and join the taxi trade, there are guy's advertising for drivers all the time on most papers, and they cannot get enough, there are also numerous vacencies for commission only, inexpierienced sales people in the gas/electricity suppliers market, simply going door to door and having nice conversations with the residents. Another company is renting out tuc-tuc's where I believe the peddler can earn up to 20 euro per night.
    Get off the dole ye scroungers and start working tomorrow!
    The future is bright, there is no recession.

I'd take the dole over that, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Full.Duck

Ah here now. I dont usually post in these types thread but my god is this guy an idiot. Fair balls to you for studying and all that, but being cooped up in that room off yours certainly hasn't given you any notion of what the real world is like.

I just can not comprehend how a person who got a first in masters could possibly be as thick as you.

Stupid *%^!&#*^.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Okay he admitted he was trolling, please just close the thread ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭nowayjosie

You would say 80% have given up, this is just your opinion WHICH YOU ARE ENTITLED TO but its not a survey is it? - its your guess which is groundless.

You say youve "worked your ass off!" well you can tell coz you sound so stressed out and so wound up you really do need to chill. Over the 3 years youve mentioned the unfortunate people you seem so down on would have learned a whole lot, like how to cope with unemployment, redundancy, loosing their homes etc... sound like you learned nothing, well, except to look down on thoes who have been hit. Well done, your education hasent helped you to be human!! :(

I'd take the dole over that, thanks!

You fat bastard, it's good exercise! :pac:

I seriously hope as many people report your posts as possible and I really hope you get banned

You fat bastard, it's good exercise! :pac:

You're right, I could skip ahead of the OP in the dole queue even faster! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Let me guess. You're an artist?

You draw the dole.

Nah, he's counting all the cues coming out of the dole office.... there's fuck all snooker being played by all the dole scroungers in the pub these days what with all those missing cues.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Don't even try to tell me that everyone currently on the dole is actively looking for jobs 24/7. Half of them are down the pub everyday.

For a guy who spent his whole life doing a Frank Grimes you sure do know how the other half live.

I suspect it's all second hand info from certain papers mind.

For a trolling effort the thread was pure ****...too much of a gulf between what you were claiming to have experienced and how you feel other people live.

Poor effort, 2/10 tops.

Well, that went well for you OP.. what's your next thread going to be about?

Keep me posted - I'm actually looking forward to it now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Well, that went well for you OP.. what's your next thread going to be about?

Keep me posted - I'm actually looking forward to it now!

Hopefully "Why did I get banned?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Captain Graphite

saa wrote: »
    Everyone has a 2.1

I don't. Thanks for making me feel bad. :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I guess we'll leave it at that on this one.

See you in the next incarnation.