Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How often do you steal?

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭BlimpyBoy

I wouldn't steal from a shop in the traditional sense.

If I noticed a cashier forget to scan an item or give me more change than they should I probably wouldn't say anything though.

I would also download a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

stovelid wrote: »
    Your profundities are wasted here and possibly deserve their own field of research.

Why thank you. It took me literally seconds to come up with that profundity.

Profundity is profundity, after all.

Now excuse me while I retire to my profundity lab.(need a dump)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Your pretty easy then.....30 mins and a few posts and I already have your heart :D:D

I'm a dude! I reckon

My Sweet Talk + Your Lack of Morals = BINGO!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

troll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I stole a copy of Bonestorm once and got a dressing down from Lawrence Tierney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

foxyboxer wrote: »

Today you're stealing video games and comic books, but tomorrow it'll be football stadiums and quarries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

BlimpyBoy wrote: »
    If I noticed a cashier forget to scan an item or give me more change than they should I probably wouldn't say anything though.

I find the best way to make a cashier to forget to scan items is to hold a sawn off shotgun to their head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't steal things, there's very little I actually want. Most of the stuff sold in shops is all just pointless consumerist muck. I don't need any of it and wanting it just puts me under "the man's" spell. If you feel the need to steal tat then your clearly right where "the man" wants you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 feelingblue

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Seriously, what are the bets there will be an article in the Sindo this week exclaiming "<enter percentage of Boards users who say yes to stealing> % of Irish people admit to shoplifting"

Stuffins lol I don't work for a newspaper!!

Gee Bag wrote: »
    I find the best way to make a cashier to forget to scan items is to hold a sawn off shotgun to their head.

It also makes them give you plenty of extra change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The only thing I ever steal is THE SHOW. When I'm out socialising.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't steal things, there's very little I actually want. Most of the stuff sold in shops is all just pointless consumerist muck. I don't need any of it and wanting it just puts me under "the man's" spell. If you feel the need to steal tat then your clearly right where "the man" wants you.

In the dock at a courthouse near you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Once a year me and my surfing buddies dress up in president masks and rob a bank.

Besides that I don't steal at all. Except my new friends's heart and then he has to shoot his gun in the air and go "arrrggghhhhhh."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

OP you told me in another thread that you're a prostitute, so this doesn't surprise me.

Pure scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

let's play a game of spot the troll

phasers wrote: »
    OP you told me in another thread that you're a prostitute, so this doesn't surprise me.

Pure scumbag.

That was a joke Phasers I was referring to the college girls that are selling sex....it was in AH after all!

Lighten up I am no prostitute....just a petty thief :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭zyndacyclone

I've seen more well dressed women stealing than any other group.

I've never stolen anything, even as a kid. I think it's a pretty nasty thing to do to shopkeepers in a recession.

Stealing casually, like the OP does, is the worst kind of all as you accept no moral culpability for it. It's certainly not 'normal' or 'common', as the post suggests.

Stuffins lol I don't work for a newspaper!!

Neither do the people who work for the Sunday Indo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

That was a joke Phasers I was referring to the college girls that are selling sex....it was in AH after all!

Lighten up I am no prostitute....just a petty thief :eek:
    If you'll say that you're a hooker you'll say that you're a thief. How can we believe anything you say anymore?

Liars are scumbags too so you're still an awful human being.

If you'll say that you're a hooker you'll say that you're a thief. How can we believe anything you say anymore?

Your sound :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

A prostitute eh?, Good news, I've always wanted to get it on with a troll.

wow :pac: harsh judgement

Your sound :)

What made you decide to post on Boards after all those years of not posting on Boards?

I once stole a packet of Jolly Ranchers from a Quinnsworth years ago, got caught by a store detective and he took me into an office and rang my mum.

He ate a few of them in front of me!

Mum came and took me home for a deserved hiding.

Never stole again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The only thing I ever steal is THE SHOW. When I'm out socialising.....

http://glutenfreein2011.webs.com/photos/Winter-Blog-Photos/high-five-0808-lg-76258126.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Stole 50p from my mother to buy an ice cream when I was 9, got caught coming back in with said ice cream. First and last time I've stole something.

* Except music from the internet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Right I was in the chemist last weekend and casually stole a lipgloss, simply held it in the palm of my hand underneath my wallet..

You lost me here man...
    about once a day usually, nothing major, but if i had the chance i would defo download a car!

I present you with this informative video that should provide you with an alternative solution:

ejmaztec wrote: »
    What made you decide to post on Boards after all those years of not posting on Boards?

Years? I only joined boards this week. Am I not allowed to take part because I am new? Surely not. I think that anyone is allowed to form a thread, even newbies :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,048 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

foxyboxer wrote: »

Ah, Detective Don Brodka. You wouldn't want to mess with him, capiche!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I once sneaked into Benson's cabin and stole his whistle.

Ah it's only a bleedin' whistle!

Jordan 191 wrote: »
    Ah, Detective Don Brodka. You wouldn't wan't to mess with him, capiche!

I understood everything except capiche!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

What is stealing?

Is it stealing if you notice that the checkout girl has undercharged you but you don't say anything?

Is it stealing if you pretend that your Iphone was stolen but actually you dropped it in the toilet but that's not covered by the insurance?

Is it stealing if you drop a can in the supermarket and damage it, but just put it back and get an undamaged one instead?

Is it stealing if you lend a book dvd or game to a friend without express written consent of the copyright holder?

Is it stealing if you break into a shop at night and take all the cash from the safe and then put all the most expensive stock into the back of a van and drive off?

Years? I only joined boards this week. Am I not allowed to take part because I am new? Surely not. I think that anyone is allowed to form a thread, even newbies :confused:

Akrasia wrote: »
    What is stealing?

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/stealing
    Is it stealing if you notice that the checkout girl has undercharged you but you don't say anything?

Yes
    Is it stealing if you pretend that your Iphone was stolen but actually you dropped it in the toilet but that's not covered by the insurance?

No, that's fraud.
    Is it stealing if you drop a can in the supermarket and damage it, but just put it back and get an undamaged one instead?

No
    Is it stealing if you lend a book dvd or game to a friend without express written consent of the copyright holder?

No. Stealing and copyright infringement are 2 different things.
    Is it stealing if you break into a shop at night and take all the cash from the safe and then put all the most expensive stock into the back of a van and drive off?

That's a toughie!

^ I was going to post something almost identical but couldn't be arsed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 MegaWattKungFu

Akrasia wrote: »
    What is stealing?

All of these are stealing except the last one. That's just good planning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭lau1247

Right I was in the chemist last weekend and casually stole a lipgloss, simply held it in the palm of my hand underneath my wallet and paid for other items I had picked up at the counter.

Got me thinking, this happens every so often. I hardly ever pay for birthday cards, usually slip them inside a newspaper and pay for that.

I never steal necessities just things I want and can't be bothered to pay for.

Actually just remembered this minute that I stole from Macy's in New York (Mac foundation)......that is pretty bad.

I think it started with stuffing Mr. Freeze's up the sleeve of my school uniform jumper :D.

So does anyone else steal stuff for fun? If so what kind of stuff and how often?

Wow the morality compass of OP is completely screwed up.. whether you steal for necessities or stuff you can't be bother to pay for is still stealing.. the fact that you felt no guilt for what you have done is actually a bit of a concern..

oh BTW what you described is not stealing for fun at all.. you may not realised it but when you steal, other people suffer (Directly or indirectly)

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

eat most of the pick n mix before i weight it....fill up at the start of a shop, then munch through it the whole way round, then weight it with feck all sweets left. THE SHAME!!

lau1247 wrote: »
    oh BTW what you described is not stealing for fun at all.. you may not realised it but when you steal, other people suffer (Directly or indirectly)

Thanks for the heads up :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Apart from downloading I never steal.

A friend and I were in Amsterdam one time and when we got back to where we were staying we realised that we had forgotten to pay our bill in the coffeeshop, so we went back and settled up. They were chuffed, so they were, cos they thought we'd robbed them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

I don't think forgetting to pay for something is stealing..... I have forgotten to pay for stuff a few times and not gone back :eek::eek:

kylith wrote: »
    Apart from downloading I never steal.

I honestly don't think downloading is stealing TBH.

It's certainly illegal, it's very probably immoral, but stealing?? Not for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

It's not only scumbags that steal you know....look at Winona :eek:

Don't kid yourself. You steal from another person. You're a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I honestly don't think downloading is stealing TBH.

It's certainly illegal, it's very probably immoral, but stealing?? Not for me.

If I download a film or song the only thing I cost the producer is the 'opportunity cost' of me possibly buying that piece of work instead.

For me personally, I can't afford to spend 20 quid on a cd of 14 quid on a dvd, so if I didn't have the option of downloading the thing then I still wouldn't have bought it so the net effect for the producer is zero whether I download or not.

Except that If I download a song and really like it, I will tell others about it and some of them will probably buy the cd or go to a gig or buy a t-shirt or click on an advertising supported link on their website...

Net effect from my 'stealing a cd' is that the 'victim' might get some money he wouldn't otherwise have gotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

Never stole anything in my life, a couple of months back I went for lunch in O'Brien's on Wexford St, had soup and a sandwich plus a coke, I was having such a great chat with the other lads from work I left without paying.
    10 minutes later I was back at my desk in work and it dawned on me, so I immeadiately went back and paid and apologised for leaving, they didnt remember but I felt better for it.

I even correct people when they try and give me too much change back from a purchase, which happens quite ofter.

If you steal you will have no luck for it, I believe in karma and I try and stay on the good side as much as possible.

If I had a friend that told em they stole, it would change me entire opinion of them.
    OP I'd consider talking to someone about this as its not a healthy thing to be doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I used to shoplift up till around 13. Got caught, taken to an office in the back of the supermarket, with my five pack of polomints (which was probably my biggest score) on the desk in front of me. They kept me there for an hour, without saying anything, then said the gardai were waiting at him.

I stayed out in a field for the next 3 hours, terrified. Came in, my parents were curious about why I'd been out so late.

From this I learned that the law is a paper tiger and all adults are liars.

Well, actually, I got a good fright, and never stole again. I'll pay back incorrect change, catch people if they drop money etc. on the road, deliver wallets I find. I'm basically the best person because of my brush with crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

There is always one :rolleyes:

You sound actually quite proud of yourself :rolleyes:

Theft is theft, be it a big or small item. And its not a quality I personally find attractive in people.

On a bigger scale, you're stealing from shops that need all the business they can get. sure it might be a lip gloss or a card whatever, but Im sure theres more out there like you, and it all adds up.

It's a scumbag act, and eventually you will get caught someday.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

This is boards, where everybody is righteous and hopes you get what's coming to you, especially if that is a disturbingly violent punishment in no way commensurate with your indiscretions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't steal - it's not on. And if you do, don't brag about it.