Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Republic of Ireland Team Talk/News/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭eire4

Well like anybody delighted we got the win. But lets not kid ourselves if we play even remotely like that we have no chance against Sweden or Austria never mind Germany. For me last night showed again that it is time for Trap to move on. He has overall done a good job and can be proud of what he has done with Ireland. We were in total disarray when he took charge. He got us organised and with a good discpline in our shape quickly made us very difficult to beat. We had a very decent showing in the 2010 World Cup Qualifying campaign of course ending in that infamous night in Paris. Then we follow that up with qualification for the Euro Finals which all in all makes for a very good run over the 2 campaigns. But I think the Euro finals qualification hid the fact that our one dimensional direct style of play had been figured out by decent sides hence the dismal home performances against Russia and Slovakia. Then when we took the step up in class at the Euro Finals Traps approach was totally exposed. I actually have nothing very bad to say about the Euro Finals even other then they showed to me that Trap had taken us as far as he could and for us to develop we needed a new approach which involved us in advancing our game and not being so predictable and one dimensional.

Last night I expected to see at least an attempt to change our approach to the game last night. Instead it was the same old one dimensional direct style all night. We had plenty of the ball yet we constantly played big diagonal balls against a Kazakhstan side that was just sitting in.

Thankfully Kevin Doyle was able to come off the bench and rescue us from a horrific loss which would have killed any hopes we had before the campaign had even really got started. But in the end for me last night just comfirmed for me that Trap has taken this team as far as he can. I hope I am wrong and somehow he finds a way for us to finish second in the group and make the playoffs. But I fear we may finish as low as fourth behind Austria if last nights performance was anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,565 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Good to see Pearce and Brady called up .Brady is nowhere near ready for this level yet but the experience will do him no harm,hopefully he gets a loan from United this season and gets playing at a good level.If he could get time playing with one of the championship contenders it would be a huge boost.
    Pearce is a good player and we are fairly light at CB.It will be interesting to see does he get any game time.I wonder what Clark is thinking now,he cant even get called up and has been a Villa regualr for the past year and playing well.The decisions Trap makes are strange I doubt he has ever seen Pearce play yet he will probably get some game time with O'Dea and O'Shea gone home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/worldcup/2012/0908/336844-pearce-and-brady-called-up-by-trapattoni/
    Robbie Keane, Darren O'Dea, John O'Shea, Jon Walters, Glenn Whelan have departed the squad following last night's World Cup qualifying victory against Kazakhstan.

So I'm assuming McClean is still in the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,531 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Duff wrote: »
    He is.

Grovelling apology apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

noodler wrote: »
    Grovelling apology apparently.

I'm hearing he was pulled out in front of the whole squad in training and asked to explain the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Trap probably has half a mind to troll him and not play him against Oman. I'd laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

I'm hearing he was pulled out in front of the whole squad in training and asked to explain the situation.

In what language?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭buyer95

Ooooooh do you have some inside knowledge of the inner workings of the irish camp?lol, that is the story that was reported in irelands biggest selling paper, the indo ran with that story today! You said it like you have trap's number on speed dial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

dsmythy wrote: »
    Trap probably has half a mind to troll him and not play him against Oman. I'd laugh.

That wouldnt be trolling him. He'd have left him out even if nothing was said.

buyer95 wrote: »
    Ooooooh do you have some inside knowledge of the inner workings of the irish camp?lol, that is the story that was reported in irelands biggest selling paper, the indo ran with that story today! You said it like you have trap's number on speed dial

Have his mobile and his house number

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    That wouldnt be trolling him. He'd have left him out even if nothing was said.

He could do some serious trolling and bring him on with 10 minutes to go, then take him off for Paul Green with 9 minutes to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

He could do some serious trolling and bring him on with 10 minutes to go, then take him off for Paul Green with 9 minutes to go.

Green can't play as a winger. I know this because he isn't a centre-forward at club level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

kitakyushu wrote: »
    Green can't play as a winger. I know this because he shouldn't be playing at club level.

FYP there for ya.

Duff wrote: »
    FYP there for ya.

I thought Leeds fans were quite impressed with his form so far this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,541 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I thought Leeds fans were quite impressed with his form so far this season?

He did well in his 40 mins before getting injured. Prob one of the best players, and would have liked him not to be out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

And he was playing RW too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,913 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Supposed team v Oman, no McClean -

Forde; Coleman, Kelly, St Ledger or McShane, Wilson; Brady, McCarthy, Meyler, Keogh; Long, Doyle (c)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

I would be out of there if I was McClean .
    Brady/Keogh playing ahead of him is a joke .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

I would be out of there if I was McClean .
    Brady/Keogh playing ahead of him is a joke .

I'm sure he'd be playing ahead of them if it wasn't for his twitter comments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,824 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Xavi6 wrote: »

Forde; Coleman, Kelly, St Ledger or McShane, Wilson; Brady, McCarthy, Meyler, Keogh; Long, Doyle (c)
    Andy fcking Keogh on the wing?

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭clsmooth

nbar12 wrote: »
    I'm sure he'd be playing ahead of them if it wasn't for his twitter comments!

He has apologised and a line should be drawn under it. What's the point of accepting an apology and then leaving him out? 100% guaranteed to alienate a player further

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Felexicon

clsmooth wrote: »
    He has apologised and a line should be drawn under it. What's the point of accepting an apology and then leaving him out? 100% guaranteed to alienate a player further
    You know Trap is still the manager right?
    He specialises in alienating young talent.

Apologey or not McClean was never going to start this game. The manager will be out to show him who's boss. I'll be surprised if he gets a run out at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Link for 'supposed team'??

McClean has nobody to blame but himself.

True. But you would also wonder why he feels the need to broadcast his feelings on Twitter.
    Is it a case that he feels unable to approach the manager to voice his concerns?
    I have never heard any of the players (old or young) talk about sitting down and having a conversation with the manager.

Felexicon wrote: »
    True. But you would also wonder why he feels the need to broadcast his feelings on Twitter.
    Is it a case that he feels unable to approach the manager to voice his concerns?
    I have never heard any of the players (old or young) talk about sitting down and having a conversation with the manager.

The reason he did it is because he is starting to believe his own hype.

What other possible reason could there be for a player who has so little EPL experience and has only been part of the setup such a short time to think he has the right to throw his toys out of his pram like that in public?

I can't imagine a new squad young squad member in any other nation reacting the way he did to staying on the bench, particularly when there were other senior pros who didn't get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

What other possible reason could there be for a player who has so little EPL experience and has only been part of the setup such a short time to think he has the right to throw his toys out of his pram like that in public?

I can't imagine a new squad young squad member in any other nation reacting the way he did to staying on the bench, particularly when there were other senior pros who didn't get on.
    And do you not think that because he is such a young player, Trap could have taken 5 minutes to sit him down before the game and set some sort of expectation that he won't see any game time if it remains tight.

Maybe he has started to beleive his own hype but again his managers at club and national level need to keep that in check.

And just because players are more senior doesn't mean they're more deserving of game time. That's the kind of attitude that has left Ireland in the shít before.

And do you not think that because he is such a young player, Trap could have taken 5 minutes to sit him down before the game and set some sort of expectation that he won't see any game time if it remains tight.

For all Trap's failings, I am not sure any new manager should have to outline to all members of the squad what the chances are of them coming on if the game is tight.
    Maybe he has started to beleive his own hype but again his managers at club and national level need to keep that in check.

Well, I am glad it is O'Neil in the long run.
    And just because players are more senior doesn't mean they're more deserving of game time. That's the kind of attitude that has left Ireland in the shít before.

Come on now, don't put words in my mouth. That is not what I said.

The fact other, more established pros didn't get a game but still didn't go and slate those who did on twitter was the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

Xavi6 wrote: »

WTF is McSambles and Keogh doing out there? Surely Trap knows they are ****e

No Mclean on the wing instead if Keogh , the mind boggles

Glad to see Wilson/ Coleman /Brady /Meylar and McCarthy getting run outs though but Keogh?

For all Trap's failings, I am not sure any new manager should have to outline to all members of the squad what the chances are of them coming on if the game is tight.

Come on now, don't put words in my mouth. That is not what I said.

The fact other, more established pros didn't get a game but still didn't go and slate those who did on twitter was the point.

Not to all players. But to the younger ones who may be starting to feel disillusioned with the lack of game time they are receiving.

Sorry I took up your point about more senior players incorrectly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Hopefully Marc Wilson has a stormer and makes the LB position his own.

Also excited to see Coleman, Meyler, Brady and Doyle/Long as a partnership.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Andy Keogh is not a winger. To be fair to the lad, he is starting to become a very good Championship striker, but playing him there just unbalances the team. If McClean gets 30 mins it won't be too bad though, it's just a friendly and Trap obviously wants to send out the message he won't bow to a player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Think McClean has deleted his twitter account!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

L0XaO.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

The team I would play against Oman

Henderson
    -O'Brien-Pearce-St.Ledger-Wilson
    Coleman-Meyler-McCarthy-McClean
    Brady
    Long

The team I we will see

Forde
    Coleman-Kelly-St.Ledger-Wilson
    Keogh-Meyler-McCarthy-Brady
    Long-Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭blue-army

Henderson
    Brady
    Long

The team I we will see

Forde
    Long-Doyle

Crazy to play Robbie Brady in my opinion. Far more lads deserve a chance ahead of him. He's no where near the first team at United yet, and although I'm sure he will be in a few years, he needs more than a handful of games at Hull City before he's ready for international football.
    Good idea to have him training with the squad though, as the lad clearly has the potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

And not because he had to watch Trap send three players on in a position they don't play in but he does? Imagine how that feels for a minute. Your manager thinks playing players out of position is better than giving you any game time. Add in Trap's history and it's easy to see why he would get annoyed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

blue-army wrote: »

Henderson
    Brady
    Long

The team I we will see

Forde
    Long-Doyle

Crazy to play Robbie Brady in my opinion. Far more lads deserve a chance ahead of him. He's no where near the first team at United yet, and although I'm sure he will be in a few years, he needs more than a handful of games at Hull City before he's ready for international football.
    Good idea to have him training with the squad though, as the lad clearly has the potential.

Robbie Brady shouldn't play a friendly against Oman, yet Paul Green gets a run out against Spain?

I think you should re evaluate your definition of crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭blue-army

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Robbie Brady shouldn't play a friendly against Oman, yet Paul Green gets a run out against Spain?

I think you should re evaluate your definition of crazy.

Two wrongs don't make a right!

Hoolahan and Pilkington, both regular Premier League starters, fúck, even Andy Reid deserve game time ahead of a lad who's yet to make an appearance for Man Utd yet. I'd be pissed off if I was them anyway!

...saying that, Brady has serious talent, and I wouldn't be surprised if he does well tomorrow.

blue-army wrote: »
    Two wrongs don't make a right!

Hoolahan and Pilkington, both regular Premier League starters, fúck, even Andy Reid deserve game time ahead of a lad who's yet to make an appearance for Man Utd yet. I'd be pissed off if I was them anyway!

...saying that, Brady has serious talent, and I wouldn't be surprised if he does well tomorrow.
    Now come on. Are we back to this again.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    And not because he had to watch Trap send three players on in a position they don't play in but he does? Imagine how that feels for a minute. Your manager thinks playing players out of position is better than giving you any game time. Add in Trap's history and it's easy to see why he would get annoyed.

You say it like he has some sort of entitlement to vent vitriol at his boss and colleagues when things don't go his way.

He does not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭AdpRo

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Hopefully Marc Wilson has a stormer and makes the LB position his own.

Also excited to see Coleman, Meyler, Brady and Doyle/Long as a partnership.

Even if Wilson has a stormer, scores a hat-trick, wins man of the match, etc, etc he will be back on the bench for the next competitve game so long as Ward is fit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Weetabix wrote: »
    Even if Wilson has a stormer, scores a hat-trick, wins man of the match, etc, etc he will be back on the bench for the next competitve game so long as Ward is fit....

If Trap's left back scores a hat trick he'll be out of the squad, never mind on the bench!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,881 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Now come on. Are we back to this again.

He's fresh in peoples minds coz he was on TG4 last night playing the banjo for a documentary in Leitrim or somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

I don't like to get involved in the 'this player is 10 times better than this player' type arguments but I really hope Wilson is given a chance to become first choice left-back. Ward has individually been our worst player for the last year. He gave away an absolutely idiotic free-kick that led to the goal on Friday. My biggest pet hate in football is giving an opposition player an easy way out by fouling them when they're in trouble or going nowhere. It's incompetent and unprofessional. These 'little details' as Trap says are very important to a team like us. Trap should slaughter him for that. Whelan also for not marking his man properly from the free-kick.

It will also be interesting to see if Meyler can become a big player in the squad. I think McCarthy proved the other night(the few times the ball wasn't flying over his head) that he can do what Whelan and Andrews do plus a lot more so hopefully he has cemented a starting place and another option in centre midfield is desperately needed.

I'm glad McClean isn't starting tomorrow. What an absolute idiot. He's not 16. He's 23 I think. Needs to get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Jaysus have ye gone mad? Brady doesn't play in the middle behind the striker, he plays on the wing or at full back..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

under 21s a man down, and gone 1-3 up against Italy in Italy. Some pretty well-known names in the Italy lineup too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Team confirmed by FAI as:

Forde, Coleman, Kelly, McShane, Wilson, Meyler, McCarthy, Brady, Doyle, Long, Keogh