Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Floyd Mayweather v Amir Khan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

I have a rapidshare link if you want to download it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭colly10

kkelly77 wrote: »
    Missed this last night. Anywhere to watch it again online?

I can't check on this laptop (due to lock) but go to boxingscene video trading block forum and i'd be fairly positive Obama has uploaded it. Download the fight rather than stream it, the quality is much higher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=QXHWP6D4

Much quicker download time than fileserve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

mayweather is a definite hall of famer but i think he might be "over the hill" now sad too say..

He's not close to over the hill, if anything he's got more to his game now.

Khan would not get near to mayweather

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

cowzerp wrote: »
    He's not close to over the hill, if anything he's got more to his game now.

Khan would not get near to mayweather

Mayweather is over the hill. I'm pretty sure, but not certain. When I have time I'll watch the Ortiz fight again and report back, but I think he's done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

Mayweather is over the hill. I'm pretty sure, but not certain. When I have time I'll watch the Ortiz fight again and report back, but I think he's done.

We'll await with bated breathed for your confirmation that Mayweather is 'done'. :rolleyes:

Tucker.Tim wrote: »
    We'll await with bated breathed for your confirmation that Mayweather is 'done'. :rolleyes:

Good lad.

Mayweather was deadly in that fight so if your basing it on anything bar his age then he's not over the hill or close as I already said-he lives a clean life and does not fight too regular so takes little punishment, he's fresher than most 27 yr old boxers.

He was accurate as usual and made Ortiz look stupid but the fight didn't really last long enough to judge if he's still got it. Ortiz didn't really get much of a chance to unleash on him. Though that's obviously his fault.

He made Ortiz look like a low level amateur as he also did Marquez, I watched that in awe at the ease in which he fought-his last few fights he's been amazing, only bad thing was been rocked by mosley and how he reacted after that was a major plus.

I think his legs are gone and a pressure fighter or a fairly mobile big hitter would get to him, but only time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The Ortiz fight only lasted 4 rds. 2-1 Mayweather with Ortiz doing ok in rd 4.

I don't see how anyone can say it was dominance.

Guys, like it or not, Floyd is not at his best. I don't think he is a great welter at this time. He was at his peak as a lower weight fighter. 130-140 lbs.

He was still very good above this, but now I think he relies more on the brain and experience.

JMM? Well, what is impressive in beating a LW aged 37?

Mosley? Aprat from rd 2 Mosley was nothing, and has been past his best for a few years.

Money is still very competitive, but the weakness in the world of boxing can allow this that bit more.

Still like watching him and still think he is competitive, but I do not believe he is close to his best.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭minty16

He is not at his very best no. At 34/35 not many fighters are. He is still the best Welter out there though , I don't know how that can be questioned?

minty16 wrote: »
    He is not at his very best no. At 34/35 not many fighters are. He is still the best Welter out there though , I don't know how that can be questioned?

Why can't it be questioned?

Others would say Manny is the best. Mayweather has beaten Mosley and Ortiz and JMM. Manny has beaten Mosley. Struggled with JMM, always did.

Obliterated Cotto and Margaritio. Dominated Clottey.

One could argue Money is the best, but you cannot discount those who beleieve that Manny is the best.

walshb wrote: »

Others would say Manny is the best. Mayweather has beaten Mosley and Ortiz and JMM. Manny has beaten Mosley. Struggled with JMM, always did.

One could argue Money is the best, but you cannot discount those who beleieve that Manny is the best.

PBF has never put in a performance that has as much of a serious question mark over it as Pac Man's last fight does. Regardless of if you think he won, which in my own humble opinion he didnt, it was still a poor performance from Manny. I think most boxing fans could see it was a clear level below that of Mayweather.

Don't make much of Ortiz, I surely wouldn't make it much of a bragging rite in Floyd's case.

Quit on the stool against Maidana.
    Went up about 5-6 rounds on Peterson only to piss it away.
    Got frustrated within three rounds against Floyd and lost his head.

Doesn't seem to have that will to win or that cutting edge. After the Floyd fight I was shocked by his interview. These things happen, I'm just glad to have gotten the chance.

Ahhh what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

To be honest, I think if Pacman and Khan were in the ring together against Floyd they still would'nt beat him.

ebbsy wrote: »
    To be honest, I think if Pacman and Khan were in the ring together against Floyd they still would'nt beat him.

I'd be fairly confident they would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I'd be fairly confident they would.

Fair enough. However I think he would knock Khan out and beat Pac on points, by a wide margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭megadodge

I know I'm probably going to hear some "alternate" views but strangely enough, after the weekend's fight, I still believe Khan would give Mayweather a serious test. It's all about styles.

The way to beat Khan is to get close (rush him) and work inside, not stand off countering. Khan's high punch output from outside is the best possible way to beat Floyd. I think he actually has faster hands than Floyd, which is taking away one of Floyd's main assets.

Obviously Mayweather's brilliant defence makes it hard for anyone to land, but with Khan throwing 4 or 5 blisteringly fast punches and then getting out and Floyd not the type to get particularly aggressive it could make for a very interesting fight. Of course one well placed counter could undo all good work by Khan, but this is not as obvious as one would think at first glance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

megadodge wrote: »
    I know I'm probably going to hear some "alternate" views but strangely enough, after the weekend's fight, I still believe Khan would give Mayweather a serious test. It's all about styles.

The way to beat Khan is to get close (rush him) and work inside, not stand off countering. Khan's high punch output from outside is the best possible way to beat Floyd. I think he actually has faster hands than Floyd, which is taking away one of Floyd's main assets.

Obviously Mayweather's brilliant defence makes it hard for anyone to land, but with Khan throwing 4 or 5 blisteringly fast punches and then getting out and Floyd not the type to get particularly aggressive it could make for a very interesting fight. Of course one well placed counter could undo all good work by Khan, but this is not as obvious as one would think at first glance.

I had similar thoughts. While Khan will always struggle against a less gifted offensive fighter, i think he'd fare well against a defensive fighter like Mayweather due to his blistering hand speed. Floyd isn't a huge puncher, so i don't think Khan's questionable defense would lead to a stoppage. Floyd is showing signs of not being as fleet footed as he was, so i think this would help Khan to land frequently. Floyd may well win, but i think it would be closer than people think.

megadodge wrote: »

I do not think it's crazy at all, and as you say, it is all about styles. But, Floyd is so experienced and slick, that I could see him walk through Khan and make it his (Floyd's) fight. If Floyd, or anyone, stays outside against Khan, I think they lose. Floyd will be 36 next year, and IF they meet then it's Khan's best chance.

To beat Khan you have to make it a war, a fight, a brawl. LP did that, BUT, Amir still didn't fold, and IMO earned the win. So, he still has a lot going for himk even when you try to make it a brawl.

Pacman struggles against technical Boxers and Mayweather is way more technical and fast than JMM-Pacman would be an easy fight for Floyd and Pacman would only have a punchers chance in my eyes.

Pacman has only beat dried out lads at the weight anyway so i don't think he deserves to be mentioned as possibly the top in the class anyway, i'll even go as far to say Ortiz would trouble Pacman.

Pacman struggles against technical Boxers and Mayweather is way more technical and fast than JMM-Pacman would be an easy fight for Floyd and Pacman would only have a punchers chance in my eyes.

Pacman has only beat dried out lads at the weight anyway so i don't think he deserves to be mentioned as possibly the top in the class anyway, i'll even go as far to say Ortiz would trouble Pacman.

Well, one could say that Ortiz was troubling, or at least, doing quite well against Floyd? Nobody knows how that fight would have went had Floyd not sucker punched Ortiz.

I think Manny dominates Ortiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭The Irish Riddler

I would much prefer Manny to win if it ever happened but going on styles I think Floyd takes it on points.

Well, one could say that Ortiz was troubling, or at least, doing quite well against Floyd? Nobody knows how that fight would have went had Floyd not sucker punched Ortiz.

I think Manny dominates Ortiz.

Seriously Bren-Mayweather was having an easy time of it in that fight, Ortiz was landing nothing and getting hit at will, thats why he got frustrated and fought dirty-Fact of the matter is Pacman has struggled on 3 occasions against a technical boxer type that Mayweather made look terrible, why because he is far more technical, faster and stronger.

Pacman v Mayweather is only going to be a fight where Mayweather get's to show how great he is-this will be done by how embarrising he will make Pacman look, and anyone who thinks Mayweather cant stand and trade is crazy, when needed too he is well able too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭HovaBaby

Has Floyd every faced anyone with hands as fight as Manny? No.

Has Floyd ever faced anyone who hits from the angles Manny does? He hasn't IMO.

Has Floyd an awful lot of experiences against southpaws? No, seeing as the division (and all boxing divisions) are vast majority orthodox.

IMO those 3 factors make it hard to predict what Pacman-Money will be like. The first 2 factors will be unprecedented against Floyd if the fight happens, and he hasn't faced a lot of southpaws. While Manny has fought southpaws almost all his career. This is to Manny's advantage IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

I do not think it's crazy at all, and as you say, it is all about styles. But, Floyd is so experienced and slick, that I could see him walk through Khan and make it his (Floyd's) fight. If Floyd, or anyone, stays outside against Khan, I think they lose. Floyd will be 36 next year, and IF they meet then it's Khan's best chance.

To beat Khan you have to make it a war, a fight, a brawl. LP did that, BUT, Amir still didn't fold, and IMO earned the win. So, he still has a lot going for himk even when you try to make it a brawl.

He's 35 next year. He'll be 36 in February 2013.

Could have sworn he was born in 1976.

I think Mayweather will have a maximum of 2 more fights. I can't see him fighting at 36. The chances of Khan getting a shot at him are pretty much dead right now IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭HovaBaby

If Money were to fight once very 4-5 months he could have 4 more fights. Meanwhile, if he waits another 18 months, like between Mosley and Ortiz, he will have 1 more fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

HovaBaby wrote: »
    Has Floyd every faced anyone with hands as fight as Manny? No.

Has Floyd ever faced anyone who hits from the angles Manny does? He hasn't IMO.

Has Floyd an awful lot of experiences against southpaws? No, seeing as the division (and all boxing divisions) are vast majority orthodox.

IMO those 3 factors make it hard to predict what Pacman-Money will be like. The first 2 factors will be unprecedented against Floyd if the fight happens, and he hasn't faced a lot of southpaws. While Manny has fought southpaws almost all his career. This is to Manny's advantage IMO.

Nonsense post.

I am sick to death of all these meaningless debates about Mayweather vs Manny. Anyone who holds the opinion that Manny will beat Floyd is an idiot, their opinion is clouded by their hatred for Floyd.

Their is nothing to suggest Manny will beat Floyd, nothing, Floyd has adapted to everyone that has been put in front of him and won with ease. I really hope this fight happens, i just want all the clowns who think Manny will win proven wrong, which they will be, and this ridiculous back and fourth of who will win will be finally put to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

Nonsense post.

I am sick to death of all these meaningless debates about Mayweather vs Manny. Anyone who holds the opinion that Manny will beat Floyd is an idiot, their opinion is clouded by their hatred for Floyd.

Anyone who holds that opinion is an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts."

anyone that thinks this fight is an easy call either way is a fanboy. to any objective boxing fan it is a very interesting fight. i'd love to see it happen personally, khan would be a much harder fight for mayweather than the likes of cotto, margarito or even alvarez in my opinion.

Fall_Guy wrote: »
    "The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts."

anyone that thinks this fight is an easy call either way is a fanboy. to any objective boxing fan it is a very interesting fight. i'd love to see it happen personally, khan would be a much harder fight for mayweather than the likes of cotto, margarito or even alvarez in my opinion.

Why do you say that?:confused:

Khan couldn't even get past Peterson and your talking of a possible Floyd fight?!

Khan is a one dimensional overly-hyped British nobody who has a high opinion of himself. That's it. Manny would be more of a challenge to Floyd than Khan.

Manny cant even beat Marquez convincingly, in fact he should of lost twice to him out of the 3 times they fought while Mayweather beats him easily.

People are so easily led they get caught up in the hype of Manny and Khan its pathetic and sad, Manny struggles with counter puncehers, Floyd is the ultimate counter puncher and beats him easily. Its not fan-boy stuff at all to admit the truth, its head in the sand merchant stuff from half the people in here who think Manny even poses a threat to Floyd. Ridiculous.

Khan couldn't even get past Peterson and your talking of a possible Floyd fight?!

Khan is a one dimensional overly-hyped British nobody who has a high opinion of himself. That's it. Manny would be more of a challenge to Floyd than Khan.

Manny cant even beat Marquez convincingly, in fact he should of lost twice to him out of the 3 times they fought while Mayweather beats him easily.

People are so easily led they get caught up in the hype of Manny and Khan its pathetic and sad, Manny struggles with counter puncehers, Floyd is the ultimate counter puncher and beats him easily. Its not fan-boy stuff at all to admit the truth, its head in the sand merchant stuff from half the people in here who think Manny even poses a threat to Floyd. Ridiculous.

Oh my, the irony!

Nonsense post.

Their is nothing to suggest Manny will beat Floyd, nothing, Floyd has adapted to everyone that has been put in front of him and won with ease. I really hope this fight happens, i just want all the clowns who think Manny will win proven wrong, which they will be, and this ridiculous back and fourth of who will win will be finally put to bed.

The reason it hasn't happened is because Floyd has repeatedly avoided it.

And there's no denying it.

But of course you will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

your own point completely contradicts itself, to be fair. you ask me how i could say khan could cause more problems for mayweather than cotto, margorito etc.... but then you go on to argue that pacquiao would lose to mayweather because he is poor against counter-punchers. Basically going with the"styles make fights" approach.

Fair enough. But if you can't see how a fighter like khan would be more troublesome for floyd style-wise than a margarito or a cotto, i'd have to question your ability to look a fighter from an objective point of view

I hate to break it to you but anyone that certain of something thats pure speculation at this stage is either a fanboy or is talking through their hoop.

Point of order too. The reason the fight hasn't happened is because Floyd isn't keen on facing Mannys style not the other way round.

Cut the ****e talk will you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭politicsdude

kahn would certainly give him his toughest test in a while

corny wrote: »
    I hate to break it to you but anyone that certain of something thats pure speculation at this stage is either a fanboy or is talking through their hoop.

Point of order too. The reason the fight hasn't happened is because Floyd isn't keen on facing Mannys style not the other way round.

Cut the ****e talk will you?

That's bollix.

If Manny had agreed to the blood tests earlier it would of probably happened by now. Manny cant even handle a counter puncer like Marquez, how on earth do you expect him to deal with Floyd?

Only one talking ****e is you.

Fall_Guy wrote: »
    your own point completely contradicts itself, to be fair. you ask me how i could say khan could cause more problems for mayweather than cotto, margorito etc.... but then you go on to argue that pacquiao would lose to mayweather because he is poor against counter-punchers. Basically going with the"styles make fights" approach.

Fair enough. But if you can't see how a fighter like khan would be more troublesome for floyd style-wise than a margarito or a cotto, i'd have to question your ability to look a fighter from an objective point of view

Khan is one-dimensional. He cant adapt and has been beaten by low quality opponents. His style, ability would be no trouble to Floyd.

Khan is a victim of the over-hypeing nature of the British media, as was Ricky. People thought Hatton would give Floyd problems and look what happened their.

That's bollix.

If Manny had agreed to the blood tests earlier it would of probably happened by now. Manny cant even handle a counter puncer like Marquez, how on earth do you expect him to deal with Floyd?

One has to ask why didn't Floyd ask any of his previous opponents to take the test. Why did he only feel the need to "save boxing" when he came up against Manny?

Style's make fights... Triangle theories don't always work out.

That's bollix.

And you find it in no way suspicious that Floyd Mayweather asked none of his previous 42 opponents to comply with said blood tests? Rhetorical question. You probably don't.

And i don't expect him to deal with Mayweather. I think Mayweather will win (if it happens). I think only idiot discounts any other eventuality and ridicules those that don't agree though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Clooney George

As much as I amir khan as a attractive fighter, he is still a wee difficult looking as a pro. He doesn't have that easy and substance stability or rhythm. Yet to see his within activity. He hasn't required it yet, though something informs me he wouldn't be at all relaxed in a shut and cellphone unit booth styled fight.

That's bollix.

If only Floyd was as sure of victory as you. Pity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭politicsdude

If only Floyd was as sure of victory as you. Pity!

haha I get so fed up with these floyd/manny nuthuggers. Both fighters need their head examined if I stood with a chance of making a guaranteed 50 or 60 million for a fight I'd be bending over backwards to make it happen. Neither guy seems to be doing that.