Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Words or phrases that should be banned from the english language

• 19-11-2011 4:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

por ejemplo: "hubby"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

"we're pregnant"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Mum/Mom

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Bloody
    As in that's a bloody disgrace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

All corporate speak. all of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

I think management speak like 'going forward' should be banned, going forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

lol definitely should be.

O and people saying 'literally' when they don't mean it although I hav caught myself doing it sometimes, and literally died of enbarrassment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

People need to stop saying "I'm just saying" to follow an insult. It is NOT an excuse.

People saying 'enbarrassment' when they meant ' embarrassment'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

"I/We/they have slept together"

NO - there was no SLEEPING.
    Ye were shagging like a good thing - there was fcuk... all... sleeping! GRRRRR!!!!!!

That one really annoys me every time I hear/read it.

You humped the arse off her.
    You rode her/him silly.
    You DIY'd the whipped cream!
    You made whoopi!
    You had a quickie!
    You played the funky monkey.
    You went schtupping.
    You did the funky chicken.
    You done the wild thing.
    You were bumping uglies.
    You buttered the muffin.
    You tapped that ass.
    You knocked the boots off him!
    You done the nasty!
    You got a hole in one.
    You pounded the cat!
    You banger her so hard in the arse, she can't sit for a week!
    You fcuked her sideways!
    You cracked his nuts!
    You whipped the rod out and went poking!
    You diddled her pussy.
    You pulled his mackerel and it spit back at you!

What you did not do was sleep!

If ye just SLEPT with each other - how the fcuk did ya knock her up!
    (Should we just call ya Joseph and Mary? Another immaculate conception?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

'At the end of the day.'

:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Team Player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Banter, go away would ya with ye'r "banter". It's craic and always has and always will be craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

LOL, ROFL

No, you did not 'Laugh Out Loud' nor did you 'Roll Around the Floor Laughing'

You fucking muppet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

FML. I don't know what it means, but it can't be definitive.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

Rasmus wrote: »
    FML. I don't know what it means, but it can't be definitive.

I believe it means 'Fcuk My Life', if I'm not mistaken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

"Like, you know...you know...you know like...like...like you know like...." :mad:

These are fine if used in sentences, but not fine at all if used as a statement itself:
    Win.
    Fail.
    Epic win.
    Epic fail.

Also, the use of the word "retarded" as meaning "inconvenient".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Your pet dog wasn't "put to sleep", it was FUCKIN KILLED!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

MILF. An absolutely disgusting word to call a woman. It sounds like mould or something. "Yuck, there's milf growing on my bread".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Pataman

I done it
    I seen it
    :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

"Briefly!", especially when spoken by that cow Olivia O'Leary (and her clones) on RTE. If the bitch doesn't want to let people reply to her stupid questions in a precise and measured way, she shouldn't ask them for interviews. And those who are being interviewed should tell her to go and get herself fcuked if she tries to hustle them along in the bullying way she does.:D:D:D

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Wonderful idea for a book and i must scour the net. I hope the Clowns don't ruin this thread with idiotic remarks.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭DontBanMe

Completely agree with "Dionysus" :- 'Like'
    Drives me insane like you know like :mad: :( :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

mighty - when saying something was good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭mapaco

aw crap i use alot of these!
    hubby-cos husband sounds a bit serious whilst chatting informally
    mum-what else do you call her? mother? mammy? noooooooo!
    lol-i dont use it unless i genuinely DO laugh out loud at something!

it bugs the **** out of me when people use big words in the wrong context to sound intelligent-'we were so tired with anticipation':rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

It was a game of halves.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Political correctness. should be banned.

Both the phrase and political correctness itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

whatever gob****e came up with 'wimmins' should be shot...its not even an abbreviation & sounds like someone with brain damage trying to say 'women'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I hate the word 'overrated'. Even when used correctly I hate it but when used incorrectly it's even worse. A lot of people seem to think it means 'something popular that I don't like'. "Jedward are so overrated". No they're not because they're not rated in the first place, except by prepubescent girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

All of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

mapaco wrote: »
    aw crap i use alot of these!
    hubby-cos husband sounds a bit serious whilst chatting informally
    mum-what else do you call her? mother? mammy? noooooooo!
    lol-i dont use it unless i genuinely DO laugh out loud at something!

it bugs the **** out of me when people use big words in the wrong context to sound intelligent-'we were so tired with anticipation':rolleyes:

same to me with lol, I don't use it unless "actual" is typed before it.

I hate the way news groups say "all but over". "All but over" means it's almost over. What kind of dyslexic genius decided on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

we're seeing the "green shoots of recovery" - dreadful.
    from the "get go" - always sounds like "gekko".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

Biggins wrote: »
    (Should we just call ya Joseph and Mary? Another immaculate conception?)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

We don't like clear direct talk in Ireland and we are well known for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

The word "passed" as a euphemism for died should be immediately decommissioned and put beyond use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

'Stall it' and 'gaff'. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

The word 'black' when describing a person - It's racist and ignorant!

Gyalist wrote: »
    The word "passed" as a euphemism for died should be immediately decommissioned and put beyond use.

I actually like 'passed away'. It conveys death a bit more philosophically. It's usually said in a sad, resigned, bereft tone more appropriate for death than the clinical "he died" or even "he croaked it!". :D

paddyandy wrote: »
    We don't like clear direct talk in Ireland and we are well known for it.

There's an argument for that but on the other hand ... :P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Vino.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭acidskiffle

'Well lad'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

"Touch base". My boss actually said that to me on the phone the other day before asking me where I was. I really wanted to say "Limerick, and I presume you're still in 1990 are you?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Oranage2 wrote: »

Exactly, black doesn't even exist...they're just a really, really really really dark navy blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

But using 'white' is perfectly fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,236 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Defi-night-ly.

Go fúck yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭Archeron

Scutterpump. Just conjures up such a horrible image.

What would you prefer?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

lol definitely should be.
    A good mate of mine had his own forum back in the dialup days and he had a way of dealing with this. He wrote some script or other that resulted in anyone using "LOL" it would preview OK, but post as "I'm a fcuking moron". Amazing to see how long it took some numpties to spot the connection.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.