Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

GAA Infastructure

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    No ground outside Croke Park or PUC will spend near that amount.
    It's not really a valid comparison

I don't see how it wouldn't be a valid comparison based upon the budget being potentially larger alone. When you're comparing two buildings it is that they serve the same function that is important. For example you wouldn't generally compare an office building with an apartment block. But likewise you wouldn't compare Wembley Stadium to the London GAA grounds, the difference in scale means that the function is different.

The budget and location and spec (how well finished the building aims to be) are variables which you take into consideration. All these things are factors that effect the overall costs

If you're saying that it is unlikely that the GAA would ever have the budget to redevelop an entire stadium then that's a fair point. But certainly it would be fair to compare a new stand in say Tullamore to the offering provided in a new Dalymount. You could compare the offerings provided for spectators, media facilities etc and still factor in that it's cheaper to build in Tullamore than Finglas and that the overall project was for a single stand + terracing rather than a whole stadium

In short the location and scale are certainly factors to consider when analysing value for money but do not in and of themselves preclude comparison
    20 million for 10k seems expensive

To be honest, it sounds about right when you look into it. Taking for example a number of similarly sized soccer stadiums built in the UK in recent years and presuming that the FAI/Dublin City Council will aim for a similar standard of finish we can see this. This is about 2000euro per seat shall we say.

For example Chesterfield's Proact Stadium. 10k capacity built in 2009 for £13million GBP or about 16million euro. Take into account 7 years worth of inflation, the exchange rate with sterling and the fact that it's Chesterfield not Phibbsboro then 20million euro in Dublin sounds about right
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proact_Stadium

Now if we bring this all back to the GAA grounds, even if we're only looking at it one stand at a time, we should be aiming to achieve the best value for whatever money is available. Looking at Cork in particular with a nominal budget of 60million, with 2k per seat as a rough guesstimate, you're looking at a capacity of about 30k and hopefully all the modern spectator, corporate and media facilities built in to state of the art.

Ultimately though it is the spec level of GAA grounds that needs improving across the board and not capacity. That is what has largely been missing from redevelopments in recent years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Longford have one of the most compact and nicest grounds in the county, and it didn't cost a fortune

Now, unfortunately it is falling apart and all the seating has been declared unsafe!

I just think counties want to develop the WHOLE stadium, whereas what is really needed is a good stand on one side and terrace on the other side. Like O'Connor Park in Tullamore or Portlaoise

Longford have one of the most compact and nicest grounds in the county, and it didn't cost a fortune

Now, unfortunately it is falling apart and all the seating has been declared unsafe!

I just think counties want to develop the WHOLE stadium, whereas what is really needed is a good stand on one side and terrace on the other side. Like O'Connor Park in Tullamore or Portlaoise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

On the Pairc ui Chaoimh debacle - the Cork senior footballers have had 7 pitch sessions so far this year because they haven't been able to beg/borrow/steal a pitch from any clubs.

Really can't see the one pitch centre of excellence mediocrity doing all that much to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

progress at Pairc Ui Chaoimh

CdsPlGcXIAA55dY.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

I see Clare have completed their new stand at Cusack Park;

http://clareherald.com/2016/03/cusack-park-gets-green-light-for-weekend-nhl-decider-56/

cusack-park.jpg

Although not everyone had a good view;

http://twitter.com/muirioch/status/711550975828484096/photo/1

Hoping that is just a case of bad positioning, i.e. standing half in front of a window, half in front of the wall! Probably should have put in glazed corner units.

Recent updates on the proposed new Casement Park;

http://www.casementpark.ie/
    The capacity of the Provincial Stadium is not pre-determined. Rather a proposed capacity will emerge following completion of the Environmental Impact Assessment, public consultation and consultation with statutory consultees and key stakeholders such as the Safety Technical Group, PSNI and others. Until these consultation processes are complete and detailed Environmental, Transport and Socio Economic Assessments are complete, the specific capacity for the Provincial Stadium simply cannot be determined.

The original plans and images seem to have been completely removed from the website and the new capacity is up for debate. It has also morphed into a "Provincial Stadium" apparently. Not sure what that means, I would guess that phrase is being used to try to justify the highest capacity possible. There were issues previously to do with lack of space for safe evacuation, not sure this can be overcome unless they buy some houses.

If Provincial Stadium means it is replacing St Tiernachs Park I will not be happy. I would hate to see all big Ulster games moved away from Clones, the match crowd takes over the town on match days and is a great atmosphere. Casement is in a residential area with no parking, it is only suitable for an Antrim county ground, not a Provincial Stadium.

1 year since demolition began at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

video at bottom of page shows progress made to date - http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/national-sport/one-year-on-heres-a-video-timeline-of-the-pairc-ui-chaoimh-redevelopment/2001344/

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Public consultation started for the new Casement Park and a feedback survey available;[/font]
    [font=Arial, sans-serif] [/font]
    [font=Arial, sans-serif] http://www.casementpark.ie/consultation-update/[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Seems unnecessary to have an all-seat stadium, most GAA fans are happy to stand, the stadium would benefit from having a covered terrace. They also want to be able to host 18,000 attendance music events[/font]. I still don t understand the term "Provincial Stadium", what is that supposed to mean? Still get the feeling it is being used as a reason for pushing for a higher capacity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    [font=Arial, sans-serif]Public consultation started for the new Casement Park and a feedback survey available;[/font]
    [font=Arial, sans-serif] [/font]
    [font=Arial, sans-serif] http://www.casementpark.ie/consultation-update/[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Seems unnecessary to have an all-seat stadium, most GAA fans are happy to stand, the stadium would benefit from having a covered terrace. They also want to be able to host 18,000 attendance music events[/font]. I still don t understand the term "Provincial Stadium", what is that supposed to mean? Still get the feeling it is being used as a reason for pushing for a higher capacity.

The plan absolutely is to move Ulster finals to Casement once it's complete. I can see the reasoning behind it with it's infrastructure links to most of the province making it very easy to get to/

However, like yourself I'm more concerned with the match day experience and I'll put up with traffic in and out of Clones for an hour or so to experience one of the best in any sport. The whole town is just electric on Ulster final day and I wouldn't swap it for anything.

I'd also agree with stands in place of all-seater. Sure have a certain amount of seating, maybe half or even three sides but you have to have stands. Unless I'm going to watch a double header I'll always try to get stand tickets.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭CK22

Look, the main problem here is the logistics and structure of the GAA. A systematic and functionally sound fixture system would justify high quality stadia around the country in each county. Look at the Premier League formation in the early 90's. When a new oragnistaional structure was put in place, revenue and subsequently, infrastructure improved. If every county could be guaranteed at least 7 home league fixtures a year, with a subsequent championship structure, county boards would become able to provide quality facilities to its players, fans and media obligations.
    My proposal (for football anyway)
    Allianz Leagues become equilvanent of Premier League, where every team is known as a D1/2/3/4 team. 14 games (7 home and 7 away). Begins in January, finishing in August. Provincial Championships and All-Ireland played simultaneously (like all other sporting organisations in the world). Look at the Pro12 in Rugby. The league takes a break every few weeks to facilitate Champions Cup. Championship now is a group stage format, like the CL. Teams then progress to Quarter Finals in neutral venues. By having such structures, every county plays until August at the minimum, has a set list of fixtures at home, and can increase revenue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

CK22 wrote: »
    Look, the main problem here is the logistics and structure of the GAA. A systematic and functionally sound fixture system would justify high quality stadia around the country in each county. Look at the Premier League formation in the early 90's. When a new oragnistaional structure was put in place, revenue and subsequently, infrastructure improved. If every county could be guaranteed at least 7 home league fixtures a year, with a subsequent championship structure, county boards would become able to provide quality facilities to its players, fans and media obligations.
    My proposal (for football anyway)
    Allianz Leagues become equilvanent of Premier League, where every team is known as a D1/2/3/4 team. 14 games (7 home and 7 away). Begins in January, finishing in August. Provincial Championships and All-Ireland played simultaneously (like all other sporting organisations in the world). Look at the Pro12 in Rugby. The league takes a break every few weeks to facilitate Champions Cup. Championship now is a group stage format, like the CL. Teams then progress to Quarter Finals in neutral venues. By having such structures, every county plays until August at the minimum, has a set list of fixtures at home, and can increase revenue.
    Jaysus Joe Brolly would freak at that,The club scene is improving rapidly and will demand a cut back of the inter county season

Prop Joe wrote: »
    Jaysus Joe Brolly would freak at that,The club scene is improving rapidly and will demand a cut back of the inter county season

If you cut out the pre league tournaments the number of county games would be about the same. You'd also have more fixture date certainty.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭CK22

This a provisional calendar I have created that would represent such formatting. Along with proper marketing and promotion by the GAA, a proper season would occur. With such money in the new system through increased gate receipts, funding could go into relaying pitches, under soil heating, sprinkler systems, professional groundsmen at county grounds. Maybe the facilities will not be Premier League quality, but if we can have quality pitches, in small high quality grounds, the game will flourish. Professional values must be instilled in this organisation. The TV rights could be sold in such packages as League games, Championship, and with more games live than ever. Sunday matches like the Premier League could be provided in two bumper time slots of 2pm and 4pm. Not deferred, not interrupted, like Super Sunday. With championship still taking precedence, the traditionalists will not be aggrieved.
    Club is also given dedicated slots in teh calendar, and teams who do not make provincial/all ireland finals etc. can complete club games in these weeks. club championships will be under guidance from the GAA and will not be postponed due to county fixtures. Replays are scrapped.
    once county boards know what games they will have, they can budget accordingly and begin to create a solid infrastructural base. No need for M50 stadiums or mergers. No county wants that.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

CK22 wrote: »
    This a provisional calendar I have created that would represent such formatting. Along with proper marketing and promotion by the GAA, a proper season would occur. With such money in the new system through increased gate receipts, funding could go into relaying pitches, under soil heating, sprinkler systems, professional groundsmen at county grounds. Maybe the facilities will not be Premier League quality, but if we can have quality pitches, in small high quality grounds, the game will flourish. Professional values must be instilled in this organisation. The TV rights could be sold in such packages as League games, Championship, and with more games live than ever. Sunday matches like the Premier League could be provided in two bumper time slots of 2pm and 4pm. Not deferred, not interrupted, like Super Sunday. With championship still taking precedence, the traditionalists will not be aggrieved.
    Club is also given dedicated slots in teh calendar, and teams who do not make provincial/all ireland finals etc. can complete club games in these weeks. club championships will be under guidance from the GAA and will not be postponed due to county fixtures. Replays are scrapped.
    once county boards know what games they will have, they can budget accordingly and begin to create a solid infrastructural base. No need for M50 stadiums or mergers. No county wants that.
    All of that is common sense and is the way most sports are more or less organised, the gaa would never go for it! Too like soccer/rugby! You'd get bluster about the clubs, burnout etc. Etc. From all sides

• Registered Users Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭blue note

Did anyone watch the BBC spotlight documentary last night on casement park? It was fairly damning of the plans - it seems downright unsafe and you'd have to question how it got to the stage it got to.

The really scary thing is I think if it was down south it would be pushed through and you'd have a potential catastrophe built. Looking at what has been pushed through with Pairc Ui Caoimh you'd have to say that it's a scary thought.

p.s. I'm not saying PuC is going to be dangerous (in fact it was before) but it's clearly a massively waste of taxpayer money but it's going ahead anyway.

Didn t see the programme but with even a basic knowledge of the project its not hard to see why it would be damning. I don t think your comment about it being pushed through if it was down south is accurate. The reason Casement is being pushed through is because it is in the North and the Executive already paid for the upgrade of Windsor Park and Ravenhill so the other side need to get their cut. The project seems to be based one-up-manship on the part of northern sporting bodies more than anything else.

While there is a comparison to be made with PUC in terms of wasting money, at least PUC is in a suitable site and has the potential to get a large crowd more than once a year. The Casement site is not suitable for a large stadium in terms of access/parking, facilities in the surrounding area and basic safety for entering and exiting the stadium. Casement plans to be all seated and for premium, corporate and VIP areas all around mean it is even further over the top than PUC where one stand is the problem.

I'll have a look later at that show. Should be interesting, thanks for hte heads up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I watched it. I thought the scaremongering that went on (about kicking the residents out of their homes) was a bit over the top, especially with the old man, with no legs. I mean, come on now....

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I watched it. I thought the scaremongering that went on (about kicking the residents out of their homes) was a bit over the top, especially with the old man, with no legs. I mean, come on now....

You gotta sex up any documentary though. Dark lights and people speaking from the shadows is where it's at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Jayop wrote: »
    You gotta sex up any documentary though. Dark lights and people speaking from the shadows is where it's at.

Especially in Andytown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Pairc Ui Caoimh is coming along pretty quickly now.

CONSTRUCTION WORK ACCELERATES ON REDEVELOPED PÁIRC UÍ CHAOIMH

it looks like they are re-building the old uncovered side pretty much as it was before. No idea if thats now going to get a roof seeing as the old one from the covered end (IIRC) was deemed not fit to be reused.

With the decking already on half of the "uncovered" end and it being such a simple structure, you'd think that at the worst of it they should definitely have 3 sides ready for next year with the only risk being the super stand innards not being ready in time for games in 2017.

After seeing the attendances at the weekend is anyone any more worried that redeveloping PUC is just a waste of money? Dublin and Cork in knock out hurling comfortably fit into Pairci Rinn a couple of weeks ago and now a triple header with two big knock out hurling games in Thurles attracted 15,000 people. I know Cork want this stadium because they're the 3rd biggest city in Ireland and feel that they should have one, but the attendances more and more are showing that it's not something anyone needs. And for €70m or so it's an expensive waste of money.

not a great pic but this is the editorial in yesterdays Evening Echo bearing in mind the results of the last few weeks in all grades. could have been written by Frank himself, particularly the final line.

echo_11_07_2016.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭threeball

not a great pic but this is the editorial in yesterdays Evening Echo bearing in mind the results of the last few weeks in all grades. could have been written by Frank himself, particularly the final line.

echo_11_07_2016.jpg

Thought it was the comments section where the headbangers have their say until I read your intro. Whoever wrote that should be sectioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

See a bit of a roof on the river side. I assumed the far side from the river was where the new stand was going or have I missed something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Mushy wrote: »
    See a bit of a roof on the river side. I assumed the far side from the river was where the new stand was going or have I missed something?

Both sides will be rooved.

old uncovered side taking shape now

ComrS6vXgAAioD-.jpg:large

old uncovered side taking shape now

ComrS6vXgAAioD-.jpg:large

Looks like a typical gaa roof, covering nothing except the back 10 rows and even those get soaked if there's a breeze. All they need now is to throw a few pillars in the middle.

threeball wrote: »
    Looks like a typical gaa roof, covering nothing except the back 10 rows and even those get soaked if there's a breeze. All they need now is to throw a few pillars in the middle.

It's exactly how it should turn out given the **** how its construction has been.

I hope you're wrong. You won't be.

It's exactly how it should turn out given the **** how its construction has been.

You can tell by the angle and the fact it's not cantilevered off the back that it's a sh1t short assed roof. But sure what could you expect when you only spend €76 million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

threeball wrote: »

You can tell by the angle and the fact it's not cantilevered off the back that it's a sh1t short assed roof. But sure what could you expect when you only spend 76 million

My exact thoughts. See it everyday, token gesture of a roof.

Mushy wrote: »
    My exact thoughts. See it everyday, token gesture of a roof.

Shur who'd want a roof in this wonderful climate 😕

392527.jpg

Looks like Frank will be auctioning off naming rights to pay for his boondoggle:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2016/0810/808170-pairc-ui-chaoimh-sponsorship/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

392527.jpg

Oh look. A well thought out, cantilevered roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/pairc-ui-chaoimh-redevelopment-wont-hit-investment-in-cork-teams-420123.html

More spin from Frank & co on the status of Pairc Ui Chaoimh - there's some doozies in it.
    The lads from the Sports department Examiner doing a bang up job of asking the hard questions.
    I wonder how long it will be before the folk from the news department are on the tale.

Worth remembering that when the application for funding when in to the Department of Finance there was no business plan whatsoever at that stage. Yup - that's correct a €70 million stadium being built and they didn't even have a sketch of the roughest outline of a business model. YCMIU.
    "I have been assured that there will be no lack of investment in Cork teams at all levels because of the investment in the stadium. It’s critical that that’s understood. No money from the current account, or let’s say the cash flow from regular operations, is going into this project. They’re insistent on that."

No one with any knowledge of Cork GAA is going to buy this whatsoever is going to buy this notion. All Mullins has done here is come across as daft/gullible by saying this.

The line about "No money from the current account, or let’s say the cash flow from regular operations", reminds me of the lad in Father Ted who was on about running the gas off the electricity and the electricity off the gas.
    “This is the opportunity to say: ‘Páirc Uí Chaoimh will need to be looked at not as a cost centre but as a profit centre, a business which will create income to invest in our games and in our up and coming players’. Páirc Uí Chaoimh will be home also to the most successful ladies GAA players in the country, our ladies football and camogie teams — teams that we have been so proud of over the last decade.”

It doesn't matter a damm what you call it, it's still going to have to be paid for (and all the over-runs are still going to have to be paid for) It's going to be a long time before the stadium actually turns into a real profit centre as opposed to a cost centre given the cost overruns/likely borrowings.

The stuff about the ladies teams is quality gold - I wonder how many games these ladies football and camogie teams actually played in Pairc Ui Chaoimh over the last 10/20 years. The fact that Frank and crew had nothing whatsoever to do with either organisation and their successes and yet are proud of them is just lovely. Also it manages the neat trick of suggesting no-one in Cork is proud of the hurlers or footballers.
    The premium tickets will have to be sold, and we’ll be launching that initiative in the next month or so. There’ll be about 2,000 premium tickets to be sold and the price point will be revealed at the launch, but we’ll be looking to create finance arrangements for people so that they can go to banks and credit unions to access the funds to buy those tickets. There are plenty of people who go to every national league match, and those people will get huge value from those tickets.”

Please for the love of God buy these tickets. "About 2000 tickets" as we're nervous as hell that these won't sell given the issues with the club draw and how that's going and we don't want anyone asking how many of these are sold in 6 months time.

We're setting up deals with some of the banks we're borrowing money from to build the stadium so that we can sell tickets for the stadium to pay for the loans on the stadium. No honestly this isn't some weird money laundering deal, we're just utterly desperate. We've modeled our financing plan for the stadium on the notion that Cork's new stadium is too big to fail and integral to the economy. That worked grand for the banks. Great value for league matches in 2018 when it wouldn't be a surprise to see both Cork's footballers and hurlers playing outside the top tier of the league.
    “That includes connectivity — we’re working on stadium wi-fi, which may become part of a different arrangement in terms of sponsorship, but that’s how stadia worldwide are going.

Boasting about putting WiFi in the stadium. Sweet suffering Jesus. Way to give the impression that you're not a technological dinosaur. Also the phrasing is just a tad worrying "we're working on stadium wi-fi" makes it sound like its an add-on and WiFi wasn't something that was one of the basic prerequisites from the get-go. I half expected him to come out with some line claiming that the stadium will have seats in some areas too because "that’s how stadia worldwide are going" Given how much of a hames the midget bucket seats were last time out I better be careful what I joke about though.

Overall, all the talk I've heard is that the finances are in an utter disaster and a few weeks back I heard that there was a real risk that the money the County Board have available to them at the moment isn't enough to finish the job for the scheduled date - Sisks have told them repeatedly they won't be doing any work until they get paid and the sub-contractors are all being very very careful as well. The Irish banks/financial institutions are not at all interested in being involved with the financing as they are very wary of a PR backlash. I have heard from one person that Pairc Ui Rinn is likely to be up for sale before too long. I wouldn't be surprised if this new stadium business committee was forced on Frank by Croke Park as Frank might have had to go to them and admit that there was a massive black hole. One person I spoke to used the line "the only way Frank's getting out of this is in a coffin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

It's a shame they're trying to fund this at a time when Cork's hurlers and footballers are in their poorest position in recent memory. 10 years ago they had a realistic chance of a Liam/Sam double, they should have tried to wring the money out of their support then. Both teams are struggling lately, so I doubt people are rushing to part with their cash.

What incentive is there to buy a long term ticket? Between hurling and football they'll have maybe 6 league games a year, and one big championship match every 2 years. It's not like Croke Park where people/companies from all over the country buy long term tickets, only Cork people will be interested in attending multiple games in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Expect to see a few 2017 Munster championship senior hurling and football games in puc next summer if they can get the place open.

Imagine it will be the premier outdoor Concert venue in Munster too and will host concerts during the summer months

First games there may be a challenge double header with Cork senior hurlers and footballers playing the All Ireland champions of both codes

Are they installing floodlights ??? Seems the logical thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

"Munsters premier concert venue" for what acts? How many acts in Munster require a 40'000 capacity arena? Aside from Bruce Springsteen I cant think of any mega acts in recent years who have played in provincial stadia.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Expect to see a few 2017 Munster championship senior hurling and football games in puc next summer if they can get the place open. <snip>
    will there though?

In Munster the counties have a heap of home and away arrangements, and the odd time a neutral venue is used.
    I cant see why the likes of a Clare or Limerick v Waterford hurling match which gets played in a neutral venue (i.e. Thurles) would opt for PUC when Thurles is just handier for both teams.

will there though?

In Munster the counties have a heap of home and away arrangements, and the odd time a neutral venue is used.
    I cant see why the likes of a Clare or Limerick v Waterford hurling match which gets played in a neutral venue (i.e. Thurles) would opt for PUC when Thurles is just handier for both teams.

Really, you can't see why? I can. Because Cork Dave spent a fortune on this stadium and Cork, the Munster council, the GAA will all try to stick games in it to help justify it's existence. I expect to see the AI quarter finals there next year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hurling

Waterford and Clare play all munster championship games in neutral venues

Cork have a home/away agreement with Limerick and Tipp (Limerick and Tipp have a home/away agreement too)

Cork vs Limerick munster championship game will be played in the Gaelic Grounds Limerick

Cork vs Tipp- PUC in Cork

Tipp vs Limerick- Semple Stadium Thurles

Cork GAA will be hoping the following draws too happen for the munster senior hurling championship in 2017

Cork vs Tipp
    Tipp vs Waterford

Waterford vs Limerick could be played in Cork also but Thurles would prob get chosen. Knowing The Waterford County board if Waterford get drawn with Cork and money is thrown there way to play the match in PUC than a Cork vs Waterford Munster Championship game could take place there next year

Football
    Kerry vs Cork- PUC Cork
    Tipp vs Cork- PUC Cork

home/away agreements for other counties i think

• Registered Users Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

So according to the picture, are they planning to light the stadium by siphoning all the power from Belfast's houses and streetlamps? :D

Seriously nice looking though

So according to the picture, are they planning to light the stadium by siphoning all the power from Belfast's houses and streetlamps? :D

Seriously nice looking though

A fully enclosed GAA stadium?

What sort of scheme hatchery is this?

even more crazy stuff - trying to wean the travelling gaa public of the idea that tens of thousands of cars can park within a 5minute walk of the stadium
    ‘We are also committed to delivering a travel culture change within the GAA with a sustainable transport strategy inclusive of coach travel, park and ride and integrated travel choices with ticket sales. This strategy is good for ease of access to and from the stadium, is cognisant of the needs and views of the local community and is good for the wider environment.
    http://ulster.gaa.ie/2016/10/proposed-new-casement-park-stadium-unveiled/

EDIT: restrospectively it'd be something to look into for the likes of Pearse Stadium in Galway which is even more landlocked and lacking in parking than Casement

even more crazy stuff - trying to wean the travelling gaa public of the idea that tens of thousands of cars can park within a 5minute walk of the stadium

EDIT: restrospectively it'd be something to look into for the likes of Pearse Stadium in Galway which is even more landlocked and lacking in parking than Casement

Aka, the wind tunnel

The only thing Pearse Stadium needs is a bulldozer or failing that a bill of sale to the Connaught Rugby team.