Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

GAA Infastructure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

CwQuyrDW8AAYK0j.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

CwQuyrDW8AAYK0j.jpg

looking good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

salmocab wrote: »
    looking good

Fair play to the CCB - their PR strategy of releasing various photos of construction is a great way to convince folk that the project isn't it a state of chaos.

No need to look for anything concrete (pun intended) like the state of the budget or answer any questions about why new applications for planning permission to make alterations to the concourse, increase the amounts of signage or the fact that the location of some of the floodlights have to be moved, are being made in the middle of the project.

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Fair play to the CCB - their PR strategy of releasing various photos of construction is a great way to convince folk that the project isn't it a state of chaos.

No need to look for anything concrete (pun intended) like the state of the budget or answer any questions about why new applications for planning permission to make alterations to the concourse, increase the amounts of signage or the fact that the location of some of the floodlights have to be moved, are being made in the middle of the project.

I said its looking good which I think it does, I made no comment on the money or how its been run. Im aware of how badly the whole thing has been handled and run.

Wasn't intended as an attack on you.

It's just there is so much anger about the stadium in Cork GAA - everyone I meet interested in the GAA in Cork seems to be fuming about the situation, yet it doesn't seem to have been picked up by the media at all.

I'm almost tempted to go along to the launch of the season tickets in the Rochestown just to see what the atmosphere is like. It's utterly bizarre from everything I've heard.

Wasn't intended as an attack on you.

It's just there is so much anger about the stadium in Cork GAA - everyone I meet interested in the GAA in Cork seems to be fuming about the situation, yet it doesn't seem to have been picked up by the media at all.

I'm almost tempted to go along to the launch of the season tickets in the Rochestown just to see what the atmosphere is like. It's utterly bizarre from everything I've heard.

fair enough

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

I just think that stand looks like utter crap and that a good portion of those in it will get soaked on a wet day.

392527.jpg

looks like decent enough cover, stadium will barely ever be full to the point that people would need to be exposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

looks like decent enough cover, stadium will barely ever be full to the point that people would need to be exposed.

Classic solution to an Irish problem... or build it right in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭threeball

How about building it a bit smaller and covering everyone.
    Ahh shur the lads down the front hardly ever show up. Who cares if they get soaked.

threeball wrote: »
    How about building it a bit smaller and covering everyone.
    Ahh shur the lads down the front hardly ever show up. Who cares if they get soaked.

the roof looks about as far out as the front of the bottom tier, like most stands or even better than lots, Croke park if you sit at the front you get pi55ed on. This is all just people looking for problems that don't exist. The redevelopment of PUC has plenty of problems but for me the design of the 2 stands don't appear to be one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭threeball

the roof looks about as far out as the front of the bottom tier, like most stands or even better than lots, Croke park if you sit at the front you get pi55ed on. This is all just people looking for problems that don't exist. The redevelopment of PUC has plenty of problems but for me the design of the 2 stands don't appear to be one.

Croke Park is a joke also. It's ridiculous that it's just accepted that it's OK for water to drop off the roof onto paying customers. It's one thing if the wind blows rain into the stand but the former isn't acceptable. Like it or not the gaa is selling a product and the presentation and experience of that product matters hugely. Having rows of empty seats at the front and customers getting soaked is just as bad as having rain falling on cameras covering a game. It's amateur hour when these things are overlooked

threeball wrote: »
    Croke Park is a joke also. It's ridiculous that it's just accepted that it's OK for water to drop off the roof onto paying customers. It's one thing if the wind blows rain into the stand but the former isn't acceptable. Like it or not the gaa is selling a product and the presentation and experience of that product matters hugely. Having rows of empty seats at the front and customers getting soaked is just as bad as having rain falling on cameras covering a game. It's amateur hour when these things are overlooked

thats fair enough but if you look at the picture I quoted above the front of the roof appears to be about where the front of the stand is, presumably just beyond it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

thats fair enough but if you look at the picture I quoted above the front of the roof appears to be about where the front of the stand is, presumably just beyond it.
    I would think that the stand will be extended to ground level meaning some to the front would be exposed. To be fair, with the bigger main stand the combined covered area would probably be grand for league and club games and smaller football championship fixtures, with only the odd large or sell out game leaving people out in the rain and those in the summer when it isnt as miserable as your average Feburary afternoon.

Anyhow, regarding filling the Pairc, Kerry arent playing ball if it finishes late.
    Kerry believe they won’t owe Cork another home game should both county’s senior footballers reach next year’s Munster final and Páirc Uí Chaoimh is not ready to stage it.

Kingdom sources say they, as part of the counties’ home-away arrangement, would not be obliged to their neighbours if the 45,000- capacity stadium is not completed in time for the would-be provincial decider.
    <snip>
    In the event Cork and Kerry do reach the final and Páirc Uí Chaoimh can’t host it, there remains the possibility of a neutral venue.
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/kerry-insist-no-comeback-games-for-cork-if-pairc-ui-chaoimh-isnt-ready-429906.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Pairc Uí Rinn ia perfect for Cork league games and clubs. Great atmosphere. How often will PUC be used? It is also beyond doubt worst situated big stadium in the country.

Surely; Cork be better investing at moment in coaching and other factors that effect the teams?

Pairc Uí Rinn ia perfect for Cork league games and clubs. Great atmosphere. How often will PUC be used? It is also beyond doubt worst situated big stadium in the country.

Surely; Cork be better investing at moment in coaching and other factors that effect the teams?

Bonniedog wrote: »

Invest in coaching? Sure Frankie thinks running a few laps and a game of backs v forwards wil do us fine

roof going up on new stand at PUC

CyWdFHwXEAAzAOt.png

CyTCOFbXcAQRmo-.jpg

Just need a few hurlers to put under it now!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Ruislip nearing completion,A perfect example of fitting for its needs, a 2,000 seater stand, New Dressing rooms & Media Facilities.Phase 2 will include a Terrace being build to increase capacity.

403319.jpg

403320.jpg

seats going into Pairc Ui Chaoimh. Why they are not red and white is bizarre tbh. leg room looks good though

http://www.irishexaminer.com/video/sport/the-new-stand-in-pairc-ui-chaoimh-is-nothing-if-not-spectacular-445792.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

But it's not "Cork's" ground though, it's Munster's. Would be odd if it was red tbf. Isn't the point to get more games staged there and have it as a proper "neutral" venue a la Croker.

(I know the CCB own it though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

But it's not "Cork's" ground though, it's Munster's. Would be odd if it was red tbf.

Sure Munster's colour is red ;)

Stoner wrote: »
    Sure Munster's colour is red ;)

Only team in red in Munster that might win something :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Red fades much quicker
    Grey barely fades
    I presume they'll have some coloured seats to spell out Parc Ui Chaoimh or something?

I wonder were the seats moulded in Castlepollard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

The Munster colours are blue and navy in fact, which is why Kerry's second strip is usually something along these lines:

af1698ca1b267986471ba240047692ff.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

keane2097 wrote:
    The Munster colours are blue and navy in fact, which is why Kerry's second strip is usually something along these lines:
    Noooo that's Leinster it's all about the world cup these days Keane!!

Cork wore blue back in the day too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Honestly the idea of giving a fiddler's fart about rugby is just alien to me these days.

on course for early June opening according to the Cork Co Board

17917453_1683961655239224_8648650575697476983_o.jpg?oh=20a195fd40fa51dddc53259f8ffd5349&oe=59559B1D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

on course for early June opening according to the Cork Co Board

17917453_1683961655239224_8648650575697476983_o.jpg?oh=20a195fd40fa51dddc53259f8ffd5349&oe=59559B1D

Who decided to put such a big roof on it, most the pitch is in the shade!

(Tongue in cheek)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Will there be any championship games there this year?

Cork's qualifiers ....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭blue note

What was the outcome of the EU investigation into the funding for this stadium? I remember it being an issue and I couldn't see how it was a justifiable use of public money, so I was interested in hearing how it was going to be answered. But as far as I can see the question was ignored and now it has gone away - is that accurate?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/shock-as-30m-pirc-u-chaoimh-grant-facing-eu-probe-34158532.html

Pairc Uí Rinn is perfect for Cork league games. The other place is hardly ever going to be used and is in probably worst location of any major stadium in the country. Besides that, the different arrangements between counties mean it would be seldom used, other than every second year for football final. Sounds like a bit of a vanity project to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

Surely it could be used for football 1/4 finals. Bar the dubs and Ulster teams. If a Munster team or Galway/Mayo were to be playing then would they not look at playing it there as opposed to a half empty Croke Park?

blue note wrote: »
    What was the outcome of the EU investigation into the funding for this stadium? I remember it being an issue and I couldn't see how it was a justifiable use of public money, so I was interested in hearing how it was going to be answered. But as far as I can see the question was ignored and now it has gone away - is that accurate?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/shock-as-30m-pirc-u-chaoimh-grant-facing-eu-probe-34158532.html

The EU approved it in the end but said that no more government money was allowed be used. I'd say there was some fun conversations behind closed doors on this one - had the whiff of political pressure being applied.

What no-one seems to be asking about is the shortfall in the funding.

A huge chunk of the premium tickets remain unsold (supposedly divisional boards have been pressured into using their funds to buy some), the amount they are going to get for naming rights is supposedly less than budgeted for, there's going to be no concert there this year when the plan was for up to 3 a year to be held, footballers are going to be in Division 2 again next year (which probably won't make much of an impact on the number of Cork supporters at the games but will have a serious impact in terms of away supporters)

The big one is the premium tickets which were supposed to raise €13 million but apparently there's something of the order of a €10 million short-fall there. The Cork County Board will continue releasing pictures of the stadium but won't say a word about the finances of the project.

This is in addition to there being a fairly severe over-run on the initial budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Surely it could be used for football 1/4 finals. Bar the dubs and Ulster teams. If a Munster team or Galway/Mayo were to be playing then would they not look at playing it there as opposed to a half empty Croke Park?

Cork is a hell of a lot harder to get to from Galway or Mayo than Dublin is.

Plus other the new AI QF structure each team will have a home, an away and a game in Croke Park.

It's a vanity project, just like every other redevelopment in the GAA, no centralized control over what makes sense to build where and what can be best utalized.

Whatever about a Munster team, driving from Galway/Mayo to Cork is an absolute disaster of a route. By comparison going from Galway/Mayo to Limerick and the Gaelic Grounds is a much easier route.

Why should PUC get preference over Semple, Limerick or Killarney in that case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,015 ✭✭✭shmeee

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Pairc Uí Rinn is perfect for Cork league games. The other place is hardly ever going to be used and is in probably worst location of any major stadium in the country. Besides that, the different arrangements between counties mean it would be seldom used, other than every second year for football final. Sounds like a bit of a vanity project to be honest.

The stadium will only ever be full for a concert. They will get the 30k or so maybe at some Munster Finals etc, but that's about it. It's out of the way for any AI 1/4 Finals etc or big double headers. It's in an awful location.

Cork County Board Just want something to show off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Where will the 'Centre of Mediocrity' be located?

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Where will the 'Centre of Mediocrity' be located?

They'll squeeze in 1 pitch behind the main stand. Sure what more do we want?

The EU approved it in the end but said that no more government money was allowed be used. I'd say there was some fun conversations behind closed doors on this one - had the whiff of political pressure being applied.

What no-one seems to be asking about is the shortfall in the funding.

A huge chunk of the premium tickets remain unsold (supposedly divisional boards have been pressured into using their funds to buy some), the amount they are going to get for naming rights is supposedly less than budgeted for, there's going to be no concert there this year when the plan was for up to 3 a year to be held, footballers are going to be in Division 2 again next year (which probably won't make much of an impact on the number of Cork supporters at the games but will have a serious impact in terms of away supporters)

The big one is the premium tickets which were supposed to raise €13 million but apparently there's something of the order of a €10 million short-fall there. The Cork County Board will continue releasing pictures of the stadium but won't say a word about the finances of the project.

This is in addition to there being a fairly severe over-run on the initial budget.

I see in the paper that the Board are offering to arrange finance for the 10 year tickets

some up to date pics of PUC on the Cork City forum here on boards (page 55 and 56)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055945115&page=56

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭CK22

This is some farce by the county board, the contractors and anyone else involved in this joke

Statement from Cork County Board G.A.A.
    Issued 12/06/17

The new Pairc Ui Chaoimh stadium will not host either of the Munster Finals scheduled for July, as originally planned.

Cork County Board was informed this morning that the scheduled handover date of June 18th would not now be met. There are still some commissioning works to be completed and these will be finished by July 7th. The first game in the new stadium will take place in mid July.

Cork County chairman, Ger Lane said: “Clearly we are disappointed but we want everything to be pristine before the stadium hosts its first major games. We want to be certain that all the expectations for this tremendous new facility will be fully met and we are satisfied that this will be the case by mid July.”

disappointing but needs to be done right rather than rushed. Of course Our Dear Leader delayed his retirement to oversee the project, will he be held to account?

would imagine there will be club game or two there instead of having 30-40k on the very first day

Fears P?irc U? Chaoimh cost may rise to €85m

Friday, June 16, 2017
    Denis Hurley
    Cork County Board have refused to comment amid fears that the cost of the P?irc U? Chaoimh redevelopment project may rise to €85m.

With original estimates for the stadium redevelopment at €70m, in November 2015 a special meeting of county board delegates was informed that the figure had risen to €78m. It now appears that that figure had been revised upwards again, but there has been no official comment from Cork chiefs.

Board chairman Ger Lane would not comment on speculation that the cost had increased towards the €85m mark.

Lane did confirm yesterday that a stadium manager for the new P?irc U? Chaoimh will not be appointed immediately.

On Monday, it was revealed that the stadium wouldn’t be open in time for either Munster final this year, with an event in late July — expected to be the All-Ireland hurling quarter-finals — instead slated as the opening.

While delegates at Tuesday’s monthly county board meeting were not updated on the process of recruiting a stadium manager, Lane has revealed that an appointment is not in the offing.

“There’s no appointment and I don’t foresee any immediate appointment either,” he said.

“All of that will be dealt with by the executive and the steering committee. Anything in relation to that will come before the executive, but we’re not appointing a stadium manager in the short-to-medium term.”

Last November, John Mullins — chairman of the stadium business committee, charged with the commercial side of the operation — said the appointment of such a person was the next significant step.

“We’ve drawn up a job description and there have been conversations with a recruitment agency while, as you might expect, a number of people have been in touch and sent in CVs in advance of that happening,” said Mullins.

“We have to get this right, and in all our conversations on this topic we’ve mentioned people like Peter [McKenna, Croke Park stadium manager] and Martin [Murphy, Aviva Stadium].

“These guys were brought in ahead of the commissioning of the stadium, and generally with these guys you need people who know every nook and cranny of the stadium they’re managing, and that’s what we want.

“So we have a job description and we’ve had conversations with recruiters about this, because obviously these guys don’t grow on trees.”

However, the job was not advertised and no interviews took place. For now, it would appear that the organisation of the facility will be kept in-house.

“Before we had the stadium, a lot of that was done by the senior administrator anyway,” said Lane.

“If you were booking the stadium for Sciath na Scol or whatever, or P?irc U? Rinn for training, that was done through the office.”

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/fears-pairc-ui-chaoimh-cost-may-rise-to-85m-452595.html

When planning was being looked for back in 2014, the initial proposed cost was €67 million; then that got bumped up to €70 million and it's 18 months since the €78 million was admitted.Everything I've heard says they will be haunted to get away with €85 million.

As for the stadium manager position guff, it just stinks to high heaven.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/cork-county-board-decision-on-pairc-ui-chaoimh-planning-due-in-a-week-254593.html

not advertised, appoint from within, sounds liker normal practice for the CCB. Frank will need a job when he is finished overseeing the redevelopment

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

To be honest, that you could be selling 10 year tickets without even having a stadium manager in place to manage and promote the stadium is just a joke. They clearly have the job promised to "one of the boys"

GAA have confirmed hurling 1/4 finals in PUC on July 23

Did they check with the Cork County Board if the stadium will actually be ready for then ?:P