Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***ALL OT CHAT HERE***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

860 :o

Jammy sod! When I as your age insurance on a 1.2 was €1150 :( Also with Quinn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Johntegr

How? Are you under someone?
    Yeh I was €1900 on a 1.8 Mazda. My own name, 3 Years NCB. Went up €100 for the DC5 LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

langdang wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be useful/sensible if insuring and taxing a 2L plus car automatically entitled you to run a sub 1.2L runabout?
    We could all have a fun car and a sensible car without having to compromise somewhere in the middle. (Fair play to those who say to hell with compromise!)

I just don't need the load carrying capability of my main car day to day, a suzuki swift would do me fine for commuting. But with an extra insurance policy and tax it would take a long time to break even despite it being a "greener" proposition.

Insurance companies in other countries tend to allow you to mirror your NCB on a second car, they do here too but it seems to be much more strict and much more limited, would be great if it was legally required of them to mirror NCB.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

liberty my friend! my insurance is up next month and thats the quote i got. i only paid 1050 last year at 19
    Johntegr wrote: »
    Yeh I was €1900 on a 1.8 Mazda. My own name, 3 Years NCB. Went up €100 for the DC5 LOL

i'm getting robbed! 850 on a poxy diesel estate @ 21!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

its gone up 4e since i checked last

Your Premium
    This quote is valid until the end of 14/05/2012 and is inclusive of the government levy/insurance premium tax.
    Single Payment Online

Pay in full now with credit or debit card.
    Total Premium: €864.80
    Please tick to indicate that you agree with our assumptions
    Car Insurance FAQ's
    Easy Payment Plan

Easy Payment Plan (APR 19.66%):
    €184.58 + €73.79
    deposit for 10 months

Please tick to indicate that you agree with our assumptions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Johntegr wrote: »

That's a very good quote for a DC5 at your age

i'm getting robbed! 850 on a poxy diesel estate @ 21!

I was paying IR£2000+ when I was 21 iirc with 3 years NCB and a full license on a 1.4, ye have it easy these days :pac:

...yeah but you live in Togher :D

RoverJames wrote: »
    I was paying IR£2000+ when I was 21 iirc with 3 years NCB and a full license on a 1.4, ye have it easy these days :pac:

My insurance has been

16 - Honda Nsr - €1300
    17 - Vw Polo - €2500 (300 back when i passed my test)
    18- Golf 1.4 - €1800
    19-Golf 1.4 - €1400
    20- Golf 1.4 -€990
    21- Golf 1.9 -€890

No claims and 2 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I never did the named driver thing.

My first insurance was over 4k on a 1.0 corsa and I payed €2400 on my first skyline.

My last skyline was €700 fully comp and i'm only paying €400and a bit(can't remember exactly) on the Astra.

Full no claims now and no points.

...yeah but you live in Togher :D

Chuckle chuckle :)

I don't actually, I live in the neighbouring parish to Togher.

Chuckle chuckle :)

I don't actually, I live in the neighbouring parish to Togher.

i have a friend living in Wilton driving a blue 70's Beetle with a roofrack.

sorry :)
    the 'hane? :D

just got a quote of 1250 on a 06 1.7diesel astravan. 400e euro more than my astra at present? is van insurance always more?

Normally less because of less seats = less people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Johntegr

BDJW wrote: »
    That's a very good quote for a DC5 at your age
    Yeh but I bet I'll be raped on renewal. Just keeping me sweet for now I reckon.
    My insurance has been

16 - Honda Nsr - €1300
    17 - Vw Polo - €2500 (300 back when i passed my test)
    18- Golf 1.4 - €1800
    19-Golf 1.4 - €1400
    20- Golf 1.4 -€990
    21- Golf 1.9 -€890

No claims and 2 points.

17 - Pug 206 1.1 €2700
    18 - Impreza TS €2500
    19 - 1.8 626 €1900
    20 - DC5 +€100 from the 626

NCB and 2 points.
    I never did the named driver thing.

My first insurance was over 4k on a 1.0 corsa and I payed €2400 on my first skyline.

My last skyline was €700 fully comp and i'm only paying €400and a bit(can't remember exactly) on the Astra.

Full no claims now and no points.

Neither did I. Father refused to put me under his name and told me it's better to start out myself and get a NCB.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Tight git ;)

I was driving my Dad's 2.0 vpi Camry at 17 :D Loved it

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

For me:

18 - Rover 400 - €2000
    19 - MG ZR - €2000
    21 - BMW 318i - €1800
    22 - Mazda RX-8 - €2500
    23 - Same - €1950 (+ 4 penalty points)
    24 - Same - €1200
    25 - Mazda6 MPS - €1100
    26 - Same - €700

That includes "NCB" as named driver on a 106 XN diesel when I was 17 and full NCB from when I was 18.

Well my astra is the cheapest insurance I've ever had.....I did come from a line of high performance cars though so not a great reference.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Fiona

1.3 Colt first time insured €950
    1.4 Leon - think it went down to around the €700
    318 - went down to €650
    325 - €340

Damn I love being a woman, sometimes ;)

OSI wrote: »
    Don't get used to, your premiums will be as bad as ours soon enough.

I know so I will enjoy it while it lasts :rolleyes:

mrs crilly wrote: »
    I know so I will enjoy it while it lasts :rolleyes:

If your insurance goes up just tell them its a 320 automatic;)

Ummmm it already is that.......well I declared it was a manual. That's all...

i have a friend living in Wilton driving a blue 70's Beetle with a roofrack.

Must keep an eye out for it, Wilton is but a stone's throw away :)
    the 'hane? :D.......

The Lough :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Always had my own policy.
    First car '96 Punto 1.1 - €2500 first yr at 18/19, had it until I was 25 then as the years went on slowly dropped €1500 > €1000 > €850 eventually down to €460 at 25

Then I got the Integra 2.0 at 25 was €627 :D
    Renewal coming up now in the next few wks will be interesting to see if it goes up or down.

The Lough :)

i thought the lough was included in togher...my bad :)

is your car a 02? and does it have 2 badges on the right hand side on the boot?

i thought the lough was included in togher...my bad :)

is your car a 02? and does it have 2 badges on the right hand side on the boot?

The Lough and Togher are separate parishes :) Togher starts at the traffic lights down the hill from SuperValue, it's all much of a muchness though (The Lough, Togher and Ballyphehane), when I was in primary school (Glasheen, again in the Lough parish) I'd say half the lads were from Togher.

My ZT is an 02, 02 TS, there's a ZT badge and a little flagy thing (Union Jack and a checquered flag thing). If you've seen one by the actual Lough I'd be fairly sure it's mine :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

The Alfa passed its Nct with flying colours:D:):p:cool:
    Everything was nearly perfect, biggest imbalance score 3%
    smoke test 0.06 (limit 1.5)
    Guy handed me back the keys and said "jaysus dats a nice yoke"

I knew there was nothing wrong but secretly i was still very worried.

The Lough and Togher are separate parishes :) Togher starts at the traffic lights down the hill from SuperValue, it's all much of a muchness though (The Lough, Togher and Ballyphehane), when I was in primary school (Glasheen, again in the Lough parish) I'd say half the lads were from Togher.

My ZT is an 02, 02 TS, there's a ZT badge and a little flagy thing (Union Jack and a checquered flag thing). If you've seen one by the actual Lough I'd be fairly sure it's mine :)

finally!! i was behind your car from the lough comm. centre to the carry out. i wasnt in my car but i told the driver to beep but he didnt :(

lol if you thought up around there was Togher :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Normally less because of less seats = less people.

4-doors-for-more-whores.jpg

Chipping in on the insurance costings...

17 - 1.2 Punto €2000
    18 - Same €1600
    18 - Swap to Almera €free
    19 - 1.4 N15 Almera €1200
    20 - Same €850
    20 - Swap to 320cd €150