Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***ALL OT CHAT HERE***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

EPM wrote: »
    Thread title changed.

Fuuuu_by_ku127-png.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I think this thread has actually helped create a much better motors forum, its let people have a chat with each other in a non serious manner, let people get to know others posting style and humor and therefore helped create a more of a community feel that you get on other specialist forums.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Thanks Doctor Phil :pac:

Meeting in work was boring me so put my philosophy hat on. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I'm off for a smoke break. I'm the last of a dying breed of teachers who nip out during a free class to smoke their brains out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

johnos1984 wrote: »
    I'm off for a smoke break. I'm the last of a dying breed of teachers who nip out during a free class to smoke their brains out

what a cool teacher to have!

When i was a young fella, none of my teachers were petrol heads. Do you ever have any interesting conversations with your pupils about cars etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

MidlandsM wrote: »

When i was a young fella, none of my teachers were petrol heads. Do you ever have any interesting conversations with your pupils about cars etc?

Here's how his class started the other morning:

John - right get your books out
    Class - yes sir
    John - by the way, anyone here interested in a full leather interior from an MGF?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Teachers who smoke are NOT cool !

I had one who used to rob all mine when she ran out. The auld tyrant! She'd a fine arse all the same ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

It's a convent........... They hate when I give business examples usings cars in class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

We had a teacher who smoked in class once or twice as he didn't have time to go out for one. Just told us to read and went over to the window!

He had an 88 corolla that had nearly 300,000 miles ten years later....used to go somewhere every weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

draffodx wrote: »
    I think this thread has actually helped create a much better motors forum, its let people have a chat with each other in a non serious manner, let people get to know others posting style and humor and therefore helped create a more of a community feel that you get on other specialist forums.

Exactly why it wasn't nuked. And why meets are going to be a regular part of this forum. The aim is to make this place inclusive of everyone and open to new people if they wish. The last thing you want is it to become stagnated.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Exactly why it wasn't nuked. And why meets are going to be a regular part of this forum. The aim is to make this place inclusive of everyone and open to new people if they wish. The last thing you want is it to become stagnated.

You've abandonded plans to encourage every member to change to a Blue Octy vRS then ? :D

MugMugs wrote: »
    You've abandonded plans to encourage every member to change to a Blue Octy vRS then ? :D

That was only when I was trying to flog it;)

Covering what in stickers..?? Not my Alfa, I hope..:)

Nah, my 156 will be there too.

Confab wrote: »
    Nah, my 156 will be there too.

If you don't crash it.

Third time lucky, eh:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

If you don't crash it.

Or thanks to the new Off topic thread title, fate isn't tempted and something goes snap on his way down... :eek:

If you don't crash it.

Here! It was nudged once from someone reversing into it and I backed it into a pole with no very little damage. Haven't crashed it yet.
    Or thanks to the new Off topic thread title, fate isn't tempted and something goes snap on his way down...

That'd be suitably ironic. Anyone up for towing me to the meet to prevent that happening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

If it suits?

So that's 1015 in Cork and 1115 in Cashel for meeting up.

Jaysus we will be in Portlaoise for noon at that rate...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

whats the longest others have gone?

Have my E34 6 years in Sept :)

My dad has had his Fiat X1/9 since 1985...

Wait... 'pictures pending'?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Of you crying.

Just looked it up on Google Maps. Should be easy enough, but I've gotten lost in easier situations, like trying to go northbound and ending up going southbound.

If anyone sees a dark blue 156 on the M7 on Saturday, reg 01D24xxx, please inform the driver that they're going the wrong way.

How you have made it to adulthood astounds me.

That's a bit much tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Lousy, even for a Cork wanker :pac:

That's a bit much tbh.

Touchy, great at giving the insults though:rolleyes:

I still find it ridiculous that a sat nav is required to find a motorway exit.

I take your point, although insulting cars and people are separate matters in my book.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I still find it ridiculous that a sat nav is required to find a motorway exit.

Ah lads leave it out, if Confab wants/needs a reliable car* sat-nav to get to the meet, let him do it, sure has no effect on any of ye! :pac:

*also alfa owner..

I take your point, although insulting cars and people are separate matters in my book.

Most of your insults are aimed at the owners usually.

Anyway, your sarcasm detector must be turned off this afternoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Smoke?
    Bits of metal, oil and rubber on the road behind your car?
    A 3rd crash?

Most of your insults are aimed at the owners usually.

Anyway, your sarcasm detector must be turned off this afternoon.

It is. Anyway, I appear to have ruffled your feathers, the Octavia jokes must've taken their toll. Apologies for any past insults aimed at you, perceived or otherwise. I assure you I made it to adulthood with only minor scarring and a talent for inadvertent trolling. Octavia jokes are passe, it's Alfa self-deprecation that's the in thing.

Offtopic, I'm looking forward to a passenger seat in Lightning's 156 to hear what the noise levels are like. Maybe I can make off with his timing belt when he's not looking.

It is. Anyway, I appear to have ruffled your feathers, the Octavia jokes must've taken their toll. Apologies for any past insults aimed at you, perceived or otherwise. I assure you I made it to adulthood with only minor scarring and a talent for inadvertent trolling. Octavia jokes are passe, it's Alfa self-deprecation that's the in thing.

Offtopic, I'm looking forward to a passenger seat in Lightning's 156 to hear what the noise levels are like. Maybe I can make off with his timing belt when he's not looking.

My only issue with the Octavia jokes is their constant irrelevant presence in threads where they have no place tbh. It's stupid and thats what the off topic thread is for. And even then they are past their sell-by date.

I see at as a slightly sad attempt at gaining thanks tbh as they come from nowhere usually. But that's just my opinion.