Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HONOURING

• 21-11-2011 5:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

I read in “Irish Voice” out of New York that representatives of the Gardai Retired Members Association want to honour over 500 members of the Royal Irish Constabulary – including the Black and Tans -who were killed by the IRA in the War of Independence. They want to erect a memorial to the IRA ‘victims’ at Glasnevin Cemetery in Dublin, final resting place of the leaders of the 1916 Rising and many other patriots.
    Have you a view? Personally, and before they start honouring anyone, I think these retirees, with time on their hands and sitting on well-paid State pensions, should start researching into the Dublin and Monaghan bombings - something they failed to do when they were actually in uniform!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Easy on the caps lock there "warrior".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I thought this was a thread going to be about a new net craze like "I demand satisfaction!" *slaps glove*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

In before the inevitable endless debate on the troubles

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Mylesie wrote: »
    I read in “Irish Voice” out of New York that representatives of the Gardai Retired Members Association want to honour over 500 members of the Royal Irish Constabulary – including the Black and Tans -who were killed by the IRA in the War of Independence. They want to erect a memorial to the IRA ‘victims’ at Glasnevin Cemetery in Dublin, final resting place of the leaders of the 1916 Rising and many other patriots.
    Have you a view? Personally, and before they start honouring anyone, I think these retirees, with time on their hands and sitting on well-paid State pensions, should start researching into the Dublin and Monaghan bombings - something they failed to do when they were actually in uniform!

I think they should probably be allowed honour who they want to honour, and bringing up the pensions is churlish and unbecoming if you're trying to make it a patriotic issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Wtf has pension's got to do with anything.

Of all the people on state pension's I'd say a guard's is one of the more deserving of it.

Btw, have you a link to the story OP?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I,ve a family member buried there who served in the RIC ,died peacefully in his bed at a grand old age...lots of his descendants went on to serve as RIC,AGS members here and soldiers both in Ireland and abroad...so if a memorial is ever raised I'll look forward to seeing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I think these retirees, with time on their hands and sitting on well-paid State pensions, should start researching into the Dublin and Monaghan bombings - something they failed to do when they were actually in uniform!

Really you just want to start a garda bashing thread. They earn their state pension and have every right to have time on their hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I'd be interested in a link to the story too.

Any kind of memorial to include Black and Tans and Auxilliaries is going to be grotesque and bizzare.

An apolitical memorial to include those in the RIC or DMP would be a different thing. Not sure why it would have to be at Glasnevin though.

Moochin' war widows.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Wait, I've changed my mind, Kevin Myers approves of this. I'm against it.

Link eventually goes to . . . the independent and it's inhouse anti-republican revisionist on call Myers.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/retired-gardai-to-honour-ric-2940192.html
    Independent.ie
    Retired gardai to honour RIC

By JIM CUSACK
    Sunday November 20 2011

RETIRED gardai are seeking permission from the Government to erect a monument in Glasnevin Cemetery to 500 members of the Royal Irish Constabulary, including the 'Black and Tans', who were killed by the IRA in the War of Independence .

The Garda Siochana Retired Members Association has written to Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Minister for Justice Alan Shatter seeking the go-ahead to erect a monument in an existing plot in the cemetery, which is famous for its links to 1916 and the War of Independence.

The 100-foot long plot contains the remains of 102 RIC men who died of natural causes. The association backed a motion at its annual conference in August to support and pay for the erection of a memorial to the RIC and the Dublin Metropolitan Police (DMP), including the names of all those killed.

The retired gardai propose to erect commemorative marble headstones bearing the names of 514 RIC members who have otherwise been written out of the official history of the Republic. The list would include policemen like Cornelius Crean, brother of the Antarctic explorer and British Navy sailor, Tom Crean, who has only had national recognition in recent years.

Retired Garda Pat McCarthy, who has headed the campaign to have the RIC commemorated, said the time had come for the State to recognise all who were killed in the War of Independence.

"We have a Garden of Remembrance in Dublin Castle for our 87 members of An Garda Siochana who have lost their lives since the foundation of this State. There is also a Garden of Remembrance in Belfast for 304 members of the RUC and the PSNI.

"Why don't we have a memorial for the RIC and the DMP? Are they a forgotten race?

"I am appealing to the Government to give the green light and its full approval for this very worthy project."

The Irish Independent columnist and historian Kevin Myers said: "There is this mystique about flying columns of IRA men fighting the British army, but for the most part the killing was of RIC men, some coming out of Mass or in front of their families when off-duty.

"Many were killed on patrol and always in ambushes, where 20 or 30 IRA men were involved in killing these policemen, who were alone or in two-man patrols."

He agreed that they should be remembered.

- JIM CUSACK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Mylesie

chin_grin wrote: »
    Easy on the caps lock there "warrior".
    Apologies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Hey it's 2011 not 1911

Let them Honour who they want.

It affects NO-ONE today other than the usual soapbox bigots brigade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Are there memorials to fallen German soldiers in Britain/France/Poland???

Why commemorate the fallen of the oppressor?

Now times have moved on and our neighbors are our friends but that doesn't mean we should stick on the rose tinted Ray-Bans.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    Are there memorials to fallen German soldiers in Britain/France/Poland???Why commemorate the fallen of the oppressor?

Now times have moved on and our neighbors are our friends but that doesn't mean we should stick on the rose tinted Ray-Bans.

Yes.

Many as it happens.

I was in one whilst Hiking outside Paris where they had a French soilder and a German soilder buried side by side in every grave.

Typical mis-informed ignorance.

Black and Tans and auxilliaries were guilty of Murder rape and torture, burning entire towns to the ground etc. Even the British were horrified at the things they did in their name. So my vote is NO we do not build a memorial to them.

Yes.

Many as it happens.

I was in one whilst Hiking outside Paris where they had a French soilder and a German soilder buried side by side in every grave.

That is not a memorial though. Also comparing the Black and Tans and Auxilliaries to the German infantry is a false analogy. A more accurate one would be to the SS-Einsatsgruppen killing units. And no, there are no memorials to them in Poland Ukraine or Russia.

Yes.

Many as it happens.

Well as you can see I asked the question!

Typical smug response!

I'm not a rabble rabble hurr durr English hater I just feel they caused so much strife in this country over the centuries for us to be erecting memorials to their soldiers.

Dear Lord.

Can anyone even do a bit of basic research and education before they reach for the rabble stick.

Here is a Link to the RIC history

http://www.royalirishconstabulary.com/

The Black and Tans were the RIC Auxilary Devision.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_and_Tans

Both were responsible for civilian Atrocoties.

Personally I don't give a flying Monkeys. Murder is murder in anyone's book be that the IRA, RIC, Black and Tan or Iraq wars.

Any memorial to War that glorifies it in any form is stupid.

Rememberance of persons killed- well each their own. Let them erect what they want.

If you dig me up someone who you know was killed by the Black and Tans then sure, be bitter, oh- wait - It was a hundred years ago.

Might as well be angry that Ceasar killed a Hun. Makes no perceptible difference to any of our lives only that you have something " to be outraged" by. Big whoop.