Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mallow 10 mile Monday 19th March 2012

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

3 stars (average)
    Im doing this in a similar vein. Say hi if you spot me, I'll do likewise

Look down and you'll find me. I'll be bringing cake. :D
    tunguska wrote: »
    I heard there was a sub 60 pacer, is that true?
    Gonna give this a lash as craughwell is off the menu now.

They're meant to. Were still looking for people to pace 60 and 90 minutes on facebook on Friday though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭psychozeb

tunguska wrote: »
    I heard there was a sub 60 pacer, is that true?
    Gonna give this a lash as craughwell is off the menu now.

i will try and find out tonight at the meeting if there is a 60 min pacer but we're after approaching a few people with no luck yet.

over 900 entries as of this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

3 stars (average)
    psychozeb wrote: »
    i will try and find out tonight at the meeting if there is a 60 min pacer but we're after approaching a few people with no luck yet.

over 900 entries as of this evening.

No worries, its not for me personally, Im sure there'll be a good group going for that target anyway.
    Hopefully the weather behaves itself though.........

60 min pacer available now for the race for anyone trying to break the hour mark.
    links for entries will be taken down sometime on friday and after that people can enter on the day for €20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

3 stars (average)
    BobMac104 wrote: »

Aha, it's going to be easy to spot a few of you boardsies so !
    I'll join in as well, 75 min pace bands it is !
    Garmins are soo 2011 :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 dubrich

hi, anyone driving down monday from dublin with a spare seat in car? will chip in for all exps of course. thanks, richie

I will not wear a wristband to help me count off 7.30...15...22.30...30...!

When I improve and hit an awkward one, like trying to do it in 73.30, then perhaps!

3 stars (average)
    Ah, but you do know its not a 4 mile race?:pac:

I'll wear one cause I'll have enough on my mind , what with trying not to choke on the water, and choccie cake ( subtle hint RQ! )...:D

Mr.W

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭bart simpson

i see the forecast is for another windy day tomorrow, feic sake :( , might try and hold on the the sub 60 pacer....hope he is a big huge lad :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

3 stars (average)
    i see the forecast is for another windy day tomorrow, feic sake :( , might try and hold on the the sub 60 pacer....hope he is a big huge lad :)
    There was a hail storm an hour or so ago, then the sun came back out again. Mad weather they have down Cork direction.

good preview for anybody that hasn't done the race before here: http://corkrunning.blogspot.com/2012/03/preview-of-mallow-10-mile-race-mon-19th.html

best of luck to all tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

3 stars (average)
    looking forward to this now, the wait over Paddy's day and staying off the booze makes Monday even more welcome:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭CorkonianRebel

Its my first time doing this and I am looking forward to it! I will be doing it slowly but it should be fun! Best of Luck to all doing this!

3 stars (average)
    Just stuck my head outside the door, literally, and not a breeze to be felt:D
    Bear in mind I'm in one of the windier spots just outside Mallow,so I reckon we're in for a smashing day, just like last year...Pb's are achievable !
    ( Cue thunder storms with gale force winds in the next 3 hours! )

Mr.W~

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

3 stars (average)
    mr.wiggle wrote: »
    Just stuck my head outside the door, literally, and not a breeze to be felt:D
    Bear in mind I'm in one of the windier spots just outside Mallow,so I reckon we're in for a smashing day, just like last year...Pb's are achievable !
    ( Cue thunder storms with gale force winds in the next 3 hours! )

Mr.W~
    Yep, weather is looking good. Bit of a chill just standing around, but will soon get over that once running.

Just can't decide if I should wear my shades or not. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

robinph wrote: »
    Yep, weather is looking good. Bit of a chill just standing around, but will soon get over that once running.

i dont think i've ever seen you race without shades, even in winter XC races....

3 stars (average)
    shels4ever wrote: »

i dont think i've ever seen you race without shades, even in winter XC races....
    I'm still waiting for the call back from Oakley about the sponsorship deal.

3 stars (average)
    60:32 according to the Garmin. Happy with that and can't complain about the extra 32 seconds as that is so close to the limit it's not worth being worried about. :D:D:D

3 stars (average)
    Good race, bit shambolic in places. Took it easy today myself but enjoyed it all the same - boardsies out in force, well done all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭nellocono

4 stars (good)
    Very nice race today i must say...only grip was the water stations got a bit overwhelmed...

Other than that was a nice course...

3 stars (average)
    Yip, agree on the water stations, but don't know what can be done about it really? Enjoyed the whole race day experience, from build up ,to grub and prize givings afterwards.( it did help to have an inside track on the tea and cakes! - Thanks Mrs.W :D)
    I was looking out for ALL us 75min pace-banders, but found no-one. In the end, I pushed on & really surprised myself with a 71.30 finish , a full 5 minutes up on last year, so I'm doing something right! ( And if that little fecker who forced me to sprint the last 100m to the finish line is reading this.......beat ya!!!:pac:)

Mr.W~

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

3 stars (average)
    I blew up completely at around 6.5 miles, right after I was passed by the 80 min pacers and the large group that were with them, had to walk for a bit to get my pulse to come down, pins and needles in my head was not a nice feeling.
    Seeing as I've been out sick all last week and not getting any running since Wednesday I won't hang my head too far.
    Beat my time from last year, so a new PB. ;) and a new target for next year.
    Big congrats to my running buddy mr.wiggle who proved, in style, that he will kick my ass on the "short" flat courses.
    Looking forward to our next LLLLLLLLSR in the hills. :)
    Much better organised this year, even with the bigger numbers. The traffic management seemed better and being allowed to stay on the road back along the park made it a bit nicer, that footpath can be rough.
    I carried a small bottle of water with me, but yeah the water stations, especially the one at mile 4 was overwhelmed.
    Having said that, with the volume of people running today and how tightly packed some pace blocks were a big pat on the back to the people who gave up their time to marshal and give out water it wasn't easy.
    Well done to all, see you next year.

I was looking out for ALL us 75min pace-banders, but found no-one. In the end, I pushed on & really surprised myself with a 71.30 finish , a full 5 minutes up on last year, so I'm doing something right!

Fair play. Was aiming for 75 too, but set off with the 70 pacers and did the first 5 in 35 mins. Couldn't really hang on after that, slowed down a bit and got 72.30. Pleased overall, think I'm gonna work on getting a sub 70 next, think I'd be very happy with my year if I got 10 miles near that and marathon below 3.40.

3 stars (average)
    did it in 62:40, happy enough. Nice fast course but I think the strong breeze along the straight road at the horse racing track caught a lot of people out.

A good race and nice tech tops at the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

3 stars (average)
    Great course, reminded me of the National Half in Waterford last year. Organisation, timing etc spot on. Lovely t-shirt too.

Big thanks to all in Mallow especially the sub-60 pacer who did cracking work all the way around.

4 stars (good)
    @RunForrestRun was that your crew in the jeep with the sign?

When i saw it i wondered if it was for the guy on boards :D

thanks for all turning up today,over 250 registering on the day which wasn't ideal! 1088 finishers which was well up on last year.results can be found here http://www.mallowac.ie/detres2012.pdf
    agree it wasn't great in a few spots,a few things i'll be bringing up myself in the post mortem meeting.would like to thank all that helped out on the day and by and large it went off smoothly.
    on a personal note went out to do 65 and finished 65:02 so happy overall,had to work hard in that wind out the navigation road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,067 ✭✭✭opus

4 stars (good)
    Bit breezy in places today but enjoyed the run especially as I came in around a min faster than I expected :) No complaints from me about any part of it really!

Btw why is the poll on the race closed :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

3 stars (average)
    Really enjoyable race - and very happy with my time..

Great organisation, only downside is water stations - but no drama there tbh - people still go for first table, leaving 2nd and 3rd tables standing idle, never understood that. But I hate damn cups of water :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

3 stars (average)
    Good day, good weather, good race, great grub - says it all really.

Yes, the water stations were a bit overwhelmed but with cups that will always be an issue, only problem. Worth the trip down from Waterford, 9 out of 10 Mallow AC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Blooming

3 stars (average)
    Conor74 wrote: »
    I was looking out for ALL us 75min pace-banders, but found no-one. In the end, I pushed on & really surprised myself with a 71.30 finish , a full 5 minutes up on last year, so I'm doing something right!

Fair play. Was aiming for 75 too, but set off with the 70 pacers and did the first 5 in 35 mins. Couldn't really hang on after that, slowed down a bit and got 72.30. Pleased overall, think I'm gonna work on getting a sub 70 next, think I'd be very happy with my year if I got 10 miles near that and marathon below 3.40.

Wow, that's brilliant!! Well done! I knew this weekend I would struggle to hit 75 mins, so i avoided the 75 min group :-) came in under 78 mins , little slower than ballycotton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

3 stars (average)
    Well done to Mallow AC on a well organised race and at €15, it is good value.

As people mentioned the water stations were a bit hectic and I would love to see small bottles instead of cups.

Thanks to all who helped out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Some photos here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/39020932@N05/sets/72157629620788751/with/6997235949/

Nice race, good atmosphere and a good crowd out for it. Good to meet with Robin this morning, nearly managed to avoid taking his picture but he just about sneaked into one (58)!! I'll get ya the next time :-)

There's one or two Boards runners in there somewhere - just shout if anybody wants a full res photo. Only uploaded in 800x600 and the full res is far superior.

3 stars (average)
    Really enjoyable race - and very happy with my time..

Great organisation, only downside is water stations - but no drama there tbh - people still go for first table, leaving 2nd and 3rd tables standing idle, never understood that. But I hate damn cups of water :mad:

Got a bit crowded at the 4 mile water station for me as well, but with it only possible to have water on one side of the road there isn't much they could do about it. If we get caught then it's our own fault for not allowing for the fact that other people will do unexpected things at the water station.

I should have known better and just ignored the water, but I was trying my best to miss the first few tables and leave a bit of room but still ended up with someone slowing suddenly infront of me as people were grabbing for water as if their life depended on it. Not like we would have died of thirst today for the lack of a small sip of water at 4 miles. Had the water station to myself at the 7 mile one, but still didn't manage to get much more out of it than just tipping the cup over my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭EauRouge79

Very enjoyable event, PB at the end of it. Was finished early enough to have my choice of sandwiches/cake etc. Thanks to all involved.

3 stars (average)
    Finally been able to check what my old PB was and I smashed it by 3:54.

6997235949_d8fdce1828.jpg
    Mallow 10 Mile Road Race 2012 058 [800x600] by Twowheelsonly, on Flickr

With the shades on I'm just too fast to be caught on camera. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,071 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

completed race and got new PB :D Beat my Ballycotton time by about 7 mins which was great as ive been sick recently. Found it tough going today which meant lots of stop/start running and finished well towards back of race. Bit disappointed that they had run out of L tshirts by time i got there but thems the breaks.

3 stars (average)
    nellocono wrote: »
    @RunForrestRun was that your crew in the jeep with the sign?

When i saw it i wondered if it was for the guy on boards :D

who, me? No, unfortunately I've never had much support with me out at races (boo hoo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

3 stars (average)
    This was my second year doing this and last year I gave it 5 stars, this year I don't think they were prepared for the amount of people that showed up.

Negatives.

1. The first water station staff were scrambling to fill cups and I did well to get the teaspoon full of water that I did. (cups don't work btw)

2. It got very warm out there at times and in Dunshaughlin last year they positioned people well to offer a 'splash' of water from 2ltr bottles which would have been very welcome.

3. It was announced in the clubhouse that there would be a van at the start to take bags and bring them to the finish, we were accomodated by one of the stewards at the start line but they weren't aware of the arrangement.

4. A problem common to all races but I found the level incredible yesterday, I lined up paralell to the 70 min pacers but spent the first 300m at 10:30 pace, I passed loads of people in the first half mile who had gone in at the front and should have been right at the back, with the volume of people the race is attracting maybe a 2 wave start would be appropriate? Donadea 10k have wrist bands for those attempting sub 40 and they shoot off a few mins before the rest.

5. The finish was badly laid out, I started to cramp because I went from 7 min pace to a dead stop because people were backed up collecting their 'goody' bags, there should have been a water table here instead of the lone youngfella killing himself trying to get bottles to people. The 'goody' bags should have been away from the gate with areas marked 's' 'm' 'l', this would have sped things up immensely.

Positives.

1. Great welcome as per last year

2. Lightening fast course with a great atmosphere and support

3. Great spread afterwards and roasting hot showers in the swimming pool

4. Great value.

3 stars (average)
    Mr Slow wrote: »
    3. It was announced in the clubhouse that there would be a van at the start to take bags and bring them to the finish, we were accomodated by one of the stewards at the start line but they weren't aware of the arrangement.

4. A problem common to all races but I found the level incredible yesterday, I lined up paralell to the 70 min pacers but spent the first 300m at 10:30 pace, I passed loads of people in the first half mile who had gone in at the front and should have been right at the back, with the volume of people the race is attracting maybe a 2 wave start would be appropriate? Donadea 10k have wrist bands for those attempting sub 40 and they shoot off a few mins before the rest.

#3 wouldn't bother me really, it's only a short warm up run to the start and a short warm down walk/trot back to the registry hall or other nearby car parks. I'd only expect baggage collection and drop-off services at a marathon or in a remote area where the distance between the start and end is too much.

don't get me started on #4!!! Jesus some people need a wake up call! I spent the first mile running up and down footpaths to pass people who have no place near the start line of a 10mile race.
    I finished at 62:40 and I started about 10 rows back, I'm not one to push myself up to the top for the same reason...lads who clock 50+ would be fuming with good reason.

You can tell just by looking at people really, one common sign is anyone with Powerbar bottles strapped on should NOT be near the front:mad:

I felt there was a lack of stewarding along the mile 8.5-10 mark, at one stage a few of us were nearly knocked down by some idiot in a Skoda Octavia who was driving too fast in the opposite direction to us.

3 stars (average)
    The lining up at the start was probably made worse as everyone was milling around before the start already in front of the line, it was then impossible to get everyone back far enough. The 60 and 70 minute pacers were only a couple of feet apart at the start line, and that was more from being opposite side of the road than infront of each other. Was just impossible to get people to move back.

3 stars (average)
    The lining up at the start was probably made worse as everyone was milling around before the start already in front of the line, it was then impossible to get everyone back far enough. The 60 and 70 minute pacers were only a couple of feet apart at the start line, and that was more from being opposite side of the road than infront of each other. Was just impossible to get people to move back.

I've done Dunshaughlin twice and both times the crowd had to move back across the start line, it can be done, it just wasn't. Plus I saw loads making no effort to go back, they just lined up at the front to make a slow getaway.

3 stars (average)
    #3 wouldn't bother me really, it's only a short warm up run to the start and a short warm down walk/trot back to the registry hall or other nearby car parks. I'd only expect baggage collection and drop-off services at a marathon or in a remote area where the distance between the start and end is too much.

If they didn't have it I wouldn't have mentioned it but the fact that they made a point of announcing it annoyed me when I was at the start thinking one of us was losing rock, paper, scissors and not getting to race.;)

3 stars (average)
    Mr Slow wrote: »
    If they didn't have it I wouldn't have mentioned it but the fact that they made a point of announcing it annoyed me when I was at the start thinking one of us was losing rock, paper, scissors and not getting to race.;)

I did volunteer...

We'd travelled down on the train yesterday so we were a bit iffy about leaving our valuables in the hall. A baggage van is slightly more secure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

3 stars (average)
    The start was pretty poor tbh. I spent the first mile get through slower runners also. I couldn't find any of the pacers. It was done better at the start last year. More portoloos are needed. Last year there was a single men's cubicle for 700 + runners in the hall. Just used it before a que of 30 other fellas.

All in all it ain't a bad race. However the town does not really embrace it as an event.

There was nowhere open from the hall to the start or finish. Not a pub, restaurant etc.

The Garda who was spinning around on his/her bike on the hard shoulder on the Cork Mallow road should never be hired again. The hard shoulder was coned off for runners and there are two lanes that he/she could have used the other one.

An extra water station is needed not that I drank any water but just to wet the mouth.

There was no timing mat at the end which was strange one but the two guys with paddles only. One guy hugged his wife when he got over the line and they had to wait 15 secs to scan him for them to waste another 5 secs cause of course his number was on his back :) classic to watch.

I found it strange that the 70 min pacers were separated by 1/4 mile at about the 5 mile mark. I thought pacers should run together ?

I think the wind broke lost of hearts on the Killarney road.

A person with a megaphone and on a power trip would have made the start a lot more orderly.

3 stars (average)
    rom wrote: »
    The Garda who was spinning around on his/her bike on the hard shoulder on the Cork Mallow road should never be hired again. The hard shoulder was coned off for runners and there are two lanes that he/she could have used the other one.

It wasn't a Garda bike that was mostly around about where I was running and kept on riding past every now and then, was just a private one with some extra flashing lights. But I thought that guy was doing a decent job, bit of directing traffic at a couple of junctions and blocking the traffic at some bends where us runners taking shortcuts from one side to the other around tight bends.
    rom wrote: »
    There was no timing mat at the end which was strange one but the two guys with paddles only. One guy hugged his wife when he got over the line and they had to wait 15 secs to scan him for them to waste another 5 secs cause of course his number was on his back :) classic to watch.
    I didn't spot it at the first time through, but there was actually an arch way that we ran through at the end which I think took the actual timing and position. Those guys with paddles were just taking additional recordings in the event of someone getting missed by the archway. At least that is my best guess for how that system worked from looking at what was wired up after finishing.

The fact that my time is only a second quicker than my Garmin time and I pressed the button after the line but a couple before getting waved with the wand would suggest that is what it was doing anyway.

Generally enjoyed it, but the start was a bit of a melee, lots in front of me seemed to be a little inexperienced and not only were they forcing others to go around them but they were running across others. Couldn't find the 70 min pacers until I discovered they were behind me at around 2 miles. Maybe it would be better if the pacers took up a well signalled position before any crowd gathered, staggered say 50 yards apart and this would then not only help people locate them but also help people identify where they should be in the crowd.

4 stars (good)
    Look at the videos on the cork blog of the start of the race. In the second video, you can see the elite runners lining up, and right at the far left you can see some plonker as well right in the front row. A quick check on the result and he finished in over 90 minutes

What do these guys be thinking?

nellocono wrote: »
    Look at the videos on the cork blog of the start of the race. In the second video, you can see the elite runners lining up, and right at the far left you can see some plonker as well right in the front row. A quick check on the result and he finished in over 90 minutes

You have to admire his optimism, this was gonna be his day to shine!

Maybe he did have a thick neck. But I would also that some inexperienced runners really have no idea and need to be told stuff, he might have been more comfortable running with others around his pace and not watching hundreds cruise past him, but he genuinely may not have known. Another thing is that it can be very hard to tell where one is in the crowd. I think I was near the front but again would have been more comfortable if I was surrounded by 70-75 min runners, I just had no way of knowing how far back the crowd went or where that 'band' of runners might be. Again have seen races with signs up staggering the crowd on the basis of expected time, would fit in with the staggering of pacers I referred to above.

But still enjoyed it. Great value, and the showers nearby were a great bonus.

3 stars (average)
    ;)You have to admire his optimism, this was gonna be his day to shine!

Those lads are normally decked out in a local GAA jersey and a pair of bermudas.