Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Dad let us sit on the bonnet of the car while he drove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

We were allowed to sit in the boot while my Dad drove along. I also remember being very small visiting family in England and driving three hours to a theme park, there were three adults and four kids in a Cavalier, me and my cousin were the smallest so we had to sit in the boot, with it closed obviously, but people would never dream about doing such things these days and that was only about 10-15 years ago.

Also last year me and my friends got hold of a Moffet (Like a mix between a tractor and a digger) so 5 of us sat in the bucket while one drove around with the bucket raised as high as it would go some craic. Also field cars are pretty much the greatest thing since sliced bread. When I buy my own house I am going to have a couple of acres and a fleet of banjaxed old cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Does that make him an evil man?

Ah the memories.........dad driving his cortina like Gene Hunt , us kids on the bonnet , mum tied up in the boot,him pis$ed as a fart ,and all of us screaming "stop dad please stop,we weren't really going to leave"

:D dad's in the 70's n 80's were cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

I have fond memories of standing in the transport box of my grandad's leyland tractor going up the road holding onto a rope as the only protection against being splattered off the road. although with the max speed of the tractor being about 22 miles an hour i doubt there'd be much splaterring but still good times.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

that was it, the transport box, sitting on top of a load of turf on the way home from the bog, your arsé getting tenderised by the lumpy turf as you felt every bump and shake of the tractor as it went along the road! :D

jesus its coming flooding back now, sitting on top of a five foot high stack of square bales on top of a trailer as it trundled round the field... :)

and somebody mentioned a cortina, we had one and, and i can remember myself and my five brothers all packed into it, my mother parking in quinnsworth car park leaving all of us in the car in the height of a blistering summer, and one of us (cant remember which brother, i couldnt see as i was buried under another brother), but one of them shouts out the window- "maa, maaaaaa!! will ya get us a chilly willy!!"... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Down with this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

My Dad let us sit on the bonnet of the car while he drove.

So did my parents actually. But only around the yard/down the driveway. Or we'd also sit on the boot and hold onto the spoiler. Heh, I'd forgotten that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Youre dad sounds like this . Legend is right !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

My grandparents had a farm and we used to sit on the bonnet of my Grandads car when we were hunting cows along the road. It was then easy to hop off and steer the cattle whenever necessary. Not to mention hanging off the back of tractors all but standing on the working rotating utility axle.

And bringing in hay we used be up on top of a trailer stacked HIGH with square bales. We used to grab the overhead branches as we passed and pull off as many leaves as we could. That could have led to an accident but we didn't ever have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

hondasam wrote: »
    My dad would beat the shi* outta both yer dads.
    Ha! my ma could beat the sh1te out of all your dads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Maglight

My friends mam used to let us sit on the roof of the car with our feet dangling through the sunroof when she drove us home from school. Great fun. Wouldn't let my kids do it though, mad dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

That sounds fantastically dangerous exciting!
    It was!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

:(:o My da never had a car :o:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

we used to sit in the trailer on top of hay bales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

My Da used to let me steer from the passenger seat all the time. And when I was really small he'd let me sit on his lap and steer. No seat-belt or nothin.
    Was great craic altogether. If he did it nowadays though he'd probably be locked up.
    Plus the fact that at 24 years old I'm probably too big to sit on his lap while driving now :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A real legend of a Da would have braked suddenly for lols to see you all tumbling off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

no, my dad done the same with me and my 2 elder brothers , hanging onto the wipers on a triumph herald going up the clonskeagh road - god bless 1970's Ireland

( for those outside the pale clonskeagh rd is a busy road near dundrum :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

realies wrote: »

Some of the things my parents had could just about be called 'cars'.

Rust holes in the floors and all that crack!

Memory time:
    We were going around a corner to school in one of those death boxes and the ****ing front left wheel came off and it grinded to a halt with everyone looking.

Jesus the embarrassment. :D

Could have been killed if we were going around a bend at speed. Cripes! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

My father used to let myself and my twin brother stay in the silage trailer as he cut the silage,we would have a great time letting ourselves get buried under the incoming blast of silage before digging ourselves free, until the trailer was full to the top,then back to the yard where we would stay in the trailer as it was raised up to be emptied -sometimes just hanging onto the front of the trailer until it came back down,sometimes coming out with the silage.
    I would die of a heart attack if I saw my kids doing anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

I remenmber sitting in the transport box on top of the loads of timber i'd helped my grandad draw from the forestry near his house all throughout my childhood in fact i still give him a hand the odd weekend i'm free . rural upbringing was the best. although i also rememeber falling out of said transport box once and landing in a load of cow****, oh how my grandfather laughed , oh how seven year old me cried. good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Ainekav

Haha This brings back memories...

My dad used to do this too.

He also used to drive to places (fast) with the two of us in the trailer!

And the wheelbarrow... jaysus the wheelbarrow was the single best toy I ever had :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

Dudess wrote: »
    No, that was great fun. It's only frowned upon now because of political correctness gone mad!

I know, It's like this time when i was about 8, my dad and i were racing our bike's down the road in front of our house. I started gloating and laughing as i peered back at the old man, sweating and struggling on his old, black, postman like bike, but then he had this 'i know something you dont know' grin on his face. Little did i know he had loosened my back wheel. I went flying while he won. The crazy's today would call that a form of child abuse :rolleyes: 'We's was just havn a gud time y'all':pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

wish mine did, i just got to control the steering wheel driving up the lane...was epic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

realies wrote: »

Oh the shame, that's worse than having no tv licence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭glennb

I bet my Dad would beat your Dad up in a fight though? :pac:

My Da would beat your da and your da would enjoy it.

And we didn't have a car but we used to sit on our uncles back as he would slide down the stairs which is Boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

If all the dangerous things I did as a kid were denied me I think I'd be a much lesser man for it.

At risk of sounding like one of those 'when I were a lad' folks there are too many kids these days thinking completing level 8 is exciting.

stuck on level 7?

I remember my friends dad used to take us to the beach tie a plastic fish box to the back of his car with a fairly long rope, get 2 of us to sit into it and then pull us along, he didn't settle on a speed and just kept accelerating until the uneven ground caused the box to flip and the two of us went flying. Hurt a bit but was well worth it, some buzz.