Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish open 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Still not on RTE player, just the Athletics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

AGC wrote: »
    Still not on RTE player, just the Athletics

I got onto them about that and this was their response:

Hi Denis,

You can watch the Irish Open on RTÉ Television.

However, no online streaming is available due to broadcasting rights restrictions.

Regards,

Sportonline team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭supernova84

Joanne must think the cut is after round one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

Be a shame if DC misses the cut - He's done a lot to bring the Irish Open to Portrush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I love the way the pga tour leaderboard updates the fed ex cup standings in running, wish the European tour would do the same for the R2D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Aidric wrote: »
    I love the way the pga tour leaderboard updates the fed ex cup standings in running, wish the European tour would do the same for the R2D.

The europeantour.com leaderboard is useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭abff

qwabercd wrote: »
    The europeantour.com leaderboard is useless.

On the other hand, the European Tour leaderboard shows each player's world ranking, which is not shown on the PGA Tour website.

But I agree that overall the PGA Tour site is better, particularly the shot tracker and the play by play feature on the overall leaderboard.

I also like the way you can click on a player and get that player's ranking in number of birdies, putts per round, driving distance, etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Bishop22

Quick ques, hope it's not a silly one ... We have tickets for Sunday, wondering if it's ok to bring in fold up canvas chairs? Understand we will be on the move as the play and day progress but a sit down for an old codger is a must ! Nothing on the tickets about that.

Thanks all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

I love the "hole by Hole" view on the European tour website.

On the projected fedEx cup standings, it's points that are earned so easy to work out, R2D to money based so you have to wait until the cut, and may be a little more problematic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Bishop22 wrote: »
    Quick ques, hope it's not a silly one ... We have tickets for Sunday, wondering if it's ok to bring in fold up canvas chairs? Understand we will be on the move as the play and day progress but a sit down for an old codger is a must ! Nothing on the tickets about that.

Thanks all

You'll be able to bring it in alright but I'd say you'll struggle to get a spot to sit and watch unless you stay in the same place for the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Keegan Bradley is on a charge.
    Started with a 7th on the 10th (AGAIN), and 4 straight birdies since.
    he's effectively lost 6 shots on the 10th so far as it's a very birdieable hole, and he's still under par for the tourney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Speaking of charges... McGinley is 4 under after 4 holes. Eagle on his first hole (10th)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭spiderman1885

Friend in China has asked me to email him a stream for this, cant find any decent myself. If anyone has one, could they PM it to me? Please!

Course getting ripped up.

he's effectively lost 6 shots on the 10th so far as it's a very birdieable hole, and he's still under par for the tourney.

He is going to need a lot more birdies on the back nine, currently 3 shots outside the cut.

yeah, I put a hex on him

Love the green trousers , Keegan

Love the green trousers, Keegan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭andyoz

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    Disappointed to see "Woz-whatever her name is" there to be honest - Let the man work in peace!

I was there yesterday and at the 14th tee Woz actually walked onto the tee with Rory's dad (and bodyguards) and stood just beside the players. Rory was chatting away with her. I know she is a semi-VIP in her own right but thought it was a bit much that she couldn't just stand in the crowd with her bodyguard beside her (or even further away not as close to the tee markers).

That's what the 'wives' normally do at tournaments. I imagine Rory's playing partners didn't really like it to be honest.
    It just added extra numbers to the Rory entourage that wasn't necessary IMO.

I saw the hole-in-one yesterday at the 14th. Noticed there were no TV camera's around to capture it though. Brilliant to witness - nice car he won too.

I overheard the lads on the 13th green mumble about the cars frigging gone already! Is there only one available??

I think the course would struggle to hold the British Open though to be honest. Would be very hard to move around with the sort of numbers that would attract....

andyoz wrote: »
    I saw the hole-in-one yesterday at the 14th. Noticed there were no TV camera's around to capture it though. Brilliant to witness - nice car he won too.

I overheard the lads on the 13th green mumble about the cars frigging gone already! Is there only one available??

I think the course would struggle to hold the British Open though to be honest. Would be very hard to move around with the sort of numbers that would attract....

Jamie Donaldson had one on the 6th. Take it he didn't get a car..

didn't know about that hole-in-one.

Imagine ringing the wife saying I just won you a new car!
    Golf can be great some times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

McGinley in great form prior to this, and doing well -7 now -4 for the day thru 11.

I'd say the cut will be about 3 or 4 under at this rate, reminds me of Baltray a few years ago.

It was my first time seeing Rory live...he does swing it sweet, great clubhead speed generated without apparent effort....a great role model for any young boy or girl watching him there yesterday. He just looks and acts so 'normal' unlike someone like Tiger that was from another planet when he burst onto the scene. I lost count of how many groups of young fellas I saw showing their mates how they can swing like Rory using the umbrellas as a club.

Shame that a large proportion of the Thur afternoon crowd didn't show more respect for the other players out on the course - they were all brilliant and worth watching as far as I am concerned. Many were moving off once Rory had finished with other players to play.

According the the european tour website:
    Not to mention holes in one (two) from James Morrison, who wins a 120,000 euro BMW, and Jamie Donaldson, who bags the more modest reward of a lovely bottle of Bushmills Whiskey. 93 players in total under par on day one, and at the helm – an Indian and a Frenchman.

not quite the same as a BMW, tasty and all as Bushmills is. :pac:

Lot of no marks crowding the top of the leaderboard. Hopefully the cream can come through in the afternoon. :cool:

definitely looks like the advantage is with the afternoon crowd.
    except for Bourdy, nobody else will break -10.
    great chance for those on -6 to put in a big round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

The afternoon will probably play a lot tougher though

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

definitely looks like the advantage is with the afternoon crowd.
    except for Bourdy, nobody else will break -10.
    great chance for those on -6 to put in a big round.
    With the weather after turning the lads in the afternoon will be happy with a level par round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 jula81

tang1 wrote: »
    Joanne Cantwell hasn't a clue about golf. She likes saying birdie though. And John McHenry trying to predict the winning score already, same old sh1te with him.

What is it they say, "you pay peanuts, you get monkeys". RTE all over.

she is driving me crazy,she hasnt a clue and all she can talk about is people looking uncomfortable.Typical RTE hiring idiots to host shows they know nothing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 swn

jula81 wrote: »
    she is driving me crazy,she hasnt a clue and all she can talk about is people looking uncomfortable.Typical RTE hiring idiots to host shows they know nothing about.

I've switched over to sky sports. Head wrecking.

Thank God I'm not watching on RTE, I'm just amazed its not Kathryn Thomas presenting it.

Harrington & GMac playing some nice stuff now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

RTE seem to be more 'live' than Sky. I've watching both channels and Sky are at least 2 or 3 shots behind on average. The on-course commentary on RTE isn't bad but the studio is excruciating; McHenry is wooden (or persimmon :)) and she hasn't a clue. Did I hear her say yesterday that McDowell 'did' a birdie :confused: ?

Sky has big Darren in the box there for the last hour, was interesting to listen to. Hopefully he'll take over from Monty after he captains the Ryder Cup team in a few years.

Did I hear her say yesterday that McDowell 'did' a birdie :confused: ?

Jesus she sounds out of her depth. Who usually presents on RTE, Shane O Donoghue no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Grandstand finish from G-Mac, brilliant! Great watching, fair play to all the top Irish players, a lot of expectations on the likes of Clarke, McDowell, McGinley, McIlroy and Harrington and they've really put on a show. All safely around for the weekend and all still in with a shot, should guarantee a great atmosphere for the weekend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,020 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Grandstand finish from G-Mac, brilliant! Great watching, fair play to all the top Irish players, a lot of expectations on the likes of Clarke, McDowell, McGinley, McIlroy and Harrington and they've really put on a show. All safely around for the weekend and all still in with a shot, should guarantee a great atmosphere for the weekend :)

Dont kow what it is about harrington but when he smiles ye just cant help smiling with him

Cut looks pretty secure at 2 under now. Eleven Irish golfers through to the weekend (is this a record?) with the big four all safely there.

Looking forward to a great weekend, hopefully crowned by a win for Padraig.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Hijpo wrote: »
    Dont kow what it is about harrington but when he smiles ye just cant help smiling with him

haha i know im the same, deadly he is,its like hes a handicap golfer just delighted to be out there making pars and birdies or something

Tougher conditions today, Daly made the cut which is cool but im sad to see Keegan out, was great to see him play here but he just didnt look comfortable did he?
    Crazy the way such talented long hitters like himself cant shoot well around a shortish course, just goes to show you length is not everything! a 475 yard par 5 in america would be getting eagles left right and centre, wasnt too many out there today was there?! :)

Mark Murphy had an eagle on the 9th (His 18th) to make the cat. Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Mark Murphy had an eagle on the 9th (His 18th) to make the cat. Fair play to him.

Make the cat? What are you a kiwi? :)

Darren Clarke out with Shane Lowery tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Hope Harrington can upstage all these nordies.

Tones69 wrote: »
    Make the cat? What are you a kiwi? :)

Must engage the spell checker.

Just spotted this Tournament Tracker feature on europeantour.com. Looks interesting.

They're predicting 20 MPH winds from midday onwards. That should cause some interesting scoring.

Clarke has started birdie eagle to move to 7 under.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Some great scoring so far this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Scoring seems a lot tougher today

The weather is starting to play a part.

European tour site says Harrington is +1 after 1 hole, yet has his score down as a 4 on a par 4 :confused:

edit: Never mind they fixed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

welcome to ireland, bitches!!!!

this is going to be an interesting afternoon in breezy wet conditions....