Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cool stuff to do on first date

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

44leto wrote: »
    A few drinks is a better first date, it loosens innovations and you get to know each other better, but don't go mad.

It loosens WHAT ????

"inhibitions", maybe ?

I reckon the more innovations the better! :D

Re the cinema - woeful for a first date.....you won't get a chance to talk.

If dinner is "boring" then you're not exactly suited to the other person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Fart wrote: »
    A few drinks is a better first date, it loosens innovations and you get to know each other better, but don't go mad.

Good luck

I dare say darling, this fine Scotch that you bought me has me more innovative than ever. How about a dildo with a clock inside it? That should have you coming on time, every time.
    Brilliant!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭dumbbell

leprochon museum!

DO NOT go the cinema..

blast her with piss,

if you cant fingbumb her the first night its not gonna work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,968 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Dotrel wrote: »
    Bring her on a twilight tour of the Wicklow mountains and show her the spots where Larry Murphy didn't kill those women in the mid 90's.

Larry is on a date in the Dublin Mountains with a young lady late at night.

His date:Larry, I'm very scared up here.

Larry:How do you think I feel, I've to walk back to the car on my own?

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭niallu

Not sure when ice skating starts in the rds... Xmas on ice thing.

But it's a great first date, and you get to have your hands all over her "to save her from falling".

After that, take her for a few schoops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Find out from her mates what kind of music she is into, then find out a couple of places in town that have that kind of music, better still a gig with that kind. Then:

Meet up for a pint ot two. Beforehand look up the thread here in AH "Whats the best joke you ever heard". Memorise some of the longer ones and a good few of the one-liners. They will be good ice breakers.

After the pint go to one of the comedy clubs, theres plenty around. Women love a laugh, it doesn't matter if its you or someone on the stage, once they are laughing its good.

Find somewhere a bit different to go for a drink after, Odessa or Grogans are good, and are good places for people watching, alternatively go to a gig or a place that plays good trad, most people find trad ok but find this out beforehand.

If you go to a gig try to pick a venue where there is a quiet spot where ye can chat if ye want. If you go to a pub dont go to a place which is a meat market, you might have some other bloke trying to chat her up.

Best of luck and keep us posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Meet for coffee, book a hotel room and get to know each other, no point in messing about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Bring her out to meet your ex. Always goes down well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Felching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

We live in such an amazing country really, there is loads to do during the day, climb a hill, go to the beach, visit a museum, see a few old buildings or castles, horse ride, roller blade, go to a funfare, visit a bird sanctuary strip joint, go to a sports event, the list is pretty endless.

all roads end in a nice bar though :D, if he plays his cards right ;)

We live in such an amazing country and the first thing you could come up with was climb a hill ?

well done :pac:
    snafuk35 wrote: »
    Bring her back to your place and show her your collection of Star Trek memorabilia. She'll just gagging for action then!

Look how sexy this guy is!

http://resources1.news.com.au/images/2009/05/24/1225715/461449-star-trek.jpg

Oh god you just reminded me i have to kill PabloD for this.

On the cieling of my room and miniature ster trek ships hanging by string that my brother put there donkeys ago.

First time i brought a girl back and got her on her back on the bed she looked up and thought "WTF !"

that was interesting.

(still got the shift though so all cool.)

after that others didnt actually notice or were too drunk or something :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

get a blowjob finish on her forehead and draw a line across it and whisper simba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

bijapos wrote: »
    Beforehand look up the thread here in AH "Whats the best joke you ever heard". Memorise some of the longer ones and a good few of the one-liners. They will be good ice breakers.

All you need to remember is the "what's the difference between jam and marmalade" one.

You'll be in like Flynn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Iang87 wrote: »
    get a blowjob finish on her forehead and draw a line across it and whisper simba

You just ruined my favorite movie :mad:

/but it did make me laugh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

You can rent segways and go on a tour of the phoenix park, I did this once and it work out great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Kiera wrote: »
    Off to the blind date thread with the both of you so :D

Where is this thread? And why have I not heard of it ? :confused: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

hoorsmelt wrote: »
    Bring her to see Santy

And get her to empty his sack ;) - submit to pornhub!... A Christmas WIN/WIN!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

hondasam wrote: »
    Meet for coffee, book a hotel room and get to know each other, no point in messing about.

Eh, if they shouldn't mess about why are they meeting for coffee? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

We live in such an amazing country really, there is loads to do during the day, climb a hill, go to the beach, visit a museum, see a few old buildings or castles, horse ride, roller blade, go to a funfare, visit a bird sanctuary strip joint, go to a sports event, the list is pretty endless.

all roads end in a nice bar though :D, if he plays his cards right ;)

You remind me of this guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

kfallon wrote: »
    Eh, if they shouldn't mess about why are they meeting for coffee? :confused:

Coffee is just an excuse really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

Met this girl in college, got talking to her in lectures and we hit it off, asked her out for this weekend. Just realized I don't have a clue what to do, any suggestions so we don't just end up going for a boring dinner?

As you already know her, it'll be easier. You've talked to her, etc. A dinner won't be boring, it also depends on what you both like. I'd have asked her what she likes etc. if you haven't it doesn't matter, you can also go for lunch and then a walk, or ice skating if you both like this (you help - show her if she finds it difficult ;):D).
    To be honest, it's not a big deal as long as there's chemistry - attraction on both sides...
    There's no rule for dating, unless you end up with someone childish or narrow minded. Cinema might be boring for a first, though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Shhh

Cinema?? Nooo.... No chance to get to know each other..

Daytime Zoo or Flea Market or IMMA?.
    evening.. comedy club or Low key casual gig?
    Late dinner or snack in wine bar..

Enjoy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Pub, concert, ice-skating, bowling, walk along the beach, dinner at the beach, picnic, dance class, go to the zoo (nice not too heavy and simple might not be as awkward), a gig, comedy club, opera, play/theatre, chocolate fondue!

and... snorkelling + underwater kissing :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Good luck

Inhibitions?

doovdela wrote: »
    Pub, concert, ice-skating, bowling, walk along the beach, dinner at the beach, picnic, dance class, go to the zoo (nice not too heavy and simple might not be as awkward), a gig, comedy club, opera, play/theatre, chocolate fondue!

Jaysus you don't half ask for much do you?

Chloroform and some duct tape need I say more?

justryan wrote: »
    Inhibitions?

Nope, that's right. You have to be innovative when you date. If you drink, then you'll be more innovative. Fair play 44leto...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Bring her to Shelbourne park dogs for the night.

Nearly always a good night at the dogs.

That would be a great tag line at the end of their radio ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Go egging in your car, only coolers do this and she'll love you for it.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

doovdela wrote: »

You can bring me on that date anytime, doovdela! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

**** into your hand and fling it at her like you're Spiderman. She'll feel like a movie star.

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

OP, buy her a rose if your going for dinner, i was debating whether to get one for my GF the first time we went for dinner and it worked to my advantage;)

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

So what did you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Principal Skinner

So what did you do?

Oh God dont get me started, went ice skating with her..... Was on the ice for no longer than 5 minutes when she slipped, I tried to catch her but slipped myself in the process. I landed on her knee and I dont know she must have twisted it or something because she couldnt get up so I had to carry her off the ice and sit her down on a chair. I persumed she'd be OK after a minute or two rest but long story short her brother had to pick her up and bring her home.......... Should have just gone to dinner.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

The coolest thing you can do on a first date is ride her. My policy has always been: if you don't get your hole on the first date, you're wasting your time and there won't be any second date.:rolleyes:

Of course, and fortunately, I left Ireland at a very early age.:);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Oh God dont get me started, went ice skating with her..... Was on the ice for no longer than 5 minutes when she slipped, I tried to catch her but slipped myself in the process. I landed on her knee and I dont know she must have twisted it or something because she couldnt get up so I had to carry her off the ice and sit her down on a chair. I persumed she'd be OK after a minute or two rest but long story short her brother had to pick her up and bring her home.......... Should have just gone to dinner.....

Ah, the old "It's not you, it's just that you've broken my leg and I need to leave and never come back" excuse. If I had a quid for every time I've heard that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Try lose the chaperone and sneak a kiss behind the trees,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Principal Skinner

Ah, the old "It's not you, it's just that you've broken my leg and I need to leave and never come back" excuse. If I had a quid for every time I've heard that!

I said something like that as a joke when I was talking to her the next day, she didnt see the funny side at all!

If she can't see the joke in that, she'd have been a rubbish girlfriend and you're well shot of her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Live and learn Skinner, live and learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Can't believe that in 10 pages of suggestions for a cool first date no one uttered those two immortal words, 'fight club.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Get drawn into a tussle with some hobo's. always impresses the lady friend

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

:( aw! no chance of a second date then?

toodleytoo wrote: »
    :( aw! no chance of a second date then?

In fairness, assuming she's only got two legs, she's at half-capacity already and can't afford to have him immobilse her completely. It could be true love, but for Health and Safety reasons she'd still have to say no.

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

In fairness, assuming she's only got two legs, she's at half-capacity already and can't afford to have him immobilse her completely. It could be true love, but for Health and Safety reasons she'd still have to say no.

It's for the best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Don't forget to keep scrollin' down on this here missive, if you want to learn how to do it right:

http://homepages.theonion.com/PersonalPages/sB/content_openletter.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,017 ✭✭✭uch

Only cool thing I seen on a first date was when I looked in the mirror in the restaurant

21/25