Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunatic Ex Partners

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

sam34 wrote: »
    the worst one i've had was a guy who was ridiculously jealous and possessive... when i ended it with him he was phoning me up to 13 times a day, texting, threatening to kill himself, sleeping in his car outside my house etc...

it took intervention from the Gardai to tame it, hasnt yet stopped it but its not as intense thankfully (5 years later, its merely the occasional "can we meet?" text rather than the "you'll read about a man found hanging and it will be me" type of text)

That's nuts! Why didnt you change your number? Or get his number blocked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Kiera wrote: »
    That's nuts! Why didnt you change your number? Or get his number blocked?

no point changing my number as he was a work colleague and would have gotten it easily again. and, vodafone dont offer a number blocking servoce, unfortunately.

plus, a tiny stubborn part of me felt that i shouldnt have had to change my number, having had it for ten or more years, just cos of this psychopath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

no point changing my number as he was a work colleague and would have gotten it easily again. and, vodafone dont offer a number blocking servoce, unfortunately.

plus, a tiny stubborn part of me felt that i shouldnt have had to change my number, having had it for ten or more years, just cos of this psychopath

You worked with him? :eek:

I hope they got rid of him when he started all this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Going unreg for this.

Good thread.

I was about to post something about the absurdity of how most of the examples on here relate to other people being "lunatics" until I saw this post. Interesting story.

It certainly is a welcome illustration of how the partner who goes a little off the rail after a messy breakup is not simply "a lunatic". People act very irrationally when under extreme levels of stress and we would be doing a better service to ourselves and to our relationships if we tried to understand that.

I do have examples of my own for bad breakups, but I'm not going to describe them on the internet:pac: Needless to say, neither party was 100% right, and I have a feeling that this may have been the case in more examples on here than people are perhaps letting on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

no point changing my number as he was a work colleague

Jesus, aren't you a psychiatrist Sam?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

Does it have to be EX?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Kiera wrote: »
    You worked with him? :eek:

I hope they got rid of him when he started all this?
    strobe wrote: »
    Jesus, aren't you a psychiatrist Sam?

yep, and no they didn't.

he was a psych nurse, and seriously unstable. however, his line manager wasn't interested when i made a complaint :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭mehfesto

My boss gets two handwritten letters a day form his ex of several years ago.
    Sometimes theres even inappropriate photos and she once sellotaped a digestive to a letter once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Hmm, no psycho exes, but I tend not to go out with many people. I'll shag anyone, it takes a bit for me to actually want to go out with someone! :D

I do have one girl i shagged once, who said to me over facebook a few days later, "if I get to know ya we might shag again" I told her I don't do the whole get to know you thing, and she started asking about my past relationships and such, me being the honest type answered and she called my relationships I've had a farce cos they apparently weren't long enough to be real...I have ignored her since though she hasn't gotten the hint.
    You old smoothey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

You old smoothey...

Lets be fair, made love wasn't what it was and fcuked is a little vulgar! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

I have an ex-boyfriend who followed me to a niteclub one night, several weeks after I had broken up with him. He'd already been calling my parents house relentlessly and knew I no longer wanted anything to do with him. So I felt a little uneasy when I saw him approaching and was quite relieved when my friends told me he'd been subsequently thrown out.

What I didn't know was that he was waiting at the door for me and tried to force me into talking to him by grabbing my arm and physically pulling me back as I made my way out to meet my friends and my new boyfriend, who'd been at a party elsewhere.

Thankfully I managed to get away from him and thought that was the end of it until I was walking across a bridge with my boyfriend and heard my name being screamed from somewhere. So I stopped and looked around to see who was screaming my name like that until a lot of people came running up to me and telling me I had to 'Go quick'.

My ex-boyfriend had seen me walking across the bridge with my new boyfriend and jumped in the river. Luckily there were enough people around to get to him in time and I'm always grateful that there were because I hate to think what my life would be like if anything had have happened to him that night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Hmm, no psycho exes, but I tend not to go out with many people. I'll shag anyone, it takes a bit for me to actually want to go out with someone! :D

You do realise you don't have to actually go out with someone for them to become a crazy psycho stalker? I think its actually one of the strongest reasons against one night stands - by definition you don't know what you are getting into.
    mehfesto wrote: »
    Sometimes theres even inappropriate photos and she once sellotaped a digestive to a letter once.

:eek::confused:
    Does this have some kinky significance I don't of ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Laalaaa

I remember this one guy I had only been seeing for about a month when he decided we should move in together. There was no way I was going to move in with someone I had known for such a short time so when I told him it was too soon he ended it.
    Fair enough, I thought, put it down to experience and move on.

After about 2 weeks he decided he wanted me back. Considering he had spent that time telling stories about me that were straight out of his imagination to anyone who would listen, I not so politely refused and sent him on his way.
    He stomped down the stairs and slammed the door. Then keyed the side of my car and threw a rock through my windscreen. What a gentleman!

Another ex used to sit in his car around the corner from my house for hours on end watching who was coming or going. He had been found out as a cheater so obviously I wasn't taking his calls but he would text saying he could see me and that I still belonged to him!
    One night he waited until I was the only person in the house, broke into my neighbour's shed, stole a ladder and climbed up and into my bedroom window, fell onto the floor in a drunken mess and started wailing about how I had to take him back.

Yep, I sure know how to pick em :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Bullsh*t.

Facepalm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

But yea, insanely jealous of a horse, never seen the likes before.

Holy Moses of the Mount of Facepalms!
    Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Still predictably the best canoodle I ever had with a man....it's always the mad ones, isn't it?

Christ, I'm glad I'm not alone there! :pac:

I had a couple who were just normal mad (by the standards of this thread).

The last serious relationship I had she was too nice. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I've had a few haha.

The one that stands out the most, was the ex who 'banned' me from seeing my horse, he was jealous of her because I had to go up to her every day to take care of her. Aparently I got her just so 'I could have a smoke', bloody expensive reason to have a smoke I think.

But yea he started to threathen to kill her, saying stuff like "I'll slash her troat if you go up to her" etc. I had to sneak up to her, which caused war if he found out. She had to have an operation on her leg, but he just accused me of making it up so I could avoid seeing him.

Same ex used to make me stay in his house untill all hours, even if I had to get up early for college/work, he wouldn't let me leave!

I went to a funeral for a very young relative of mine who died, apparently it was just an excuse not to see him :confused:

But yea, insanely jealous of a horse, never seen the likes before.
    Jenny what in gods earth were you doing with a man who threatened to kill your horse? You should have taken out a barring order against him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Dudess wrote: »
    No particularly lunatic ex for me. I kinda feel left out... :(

Pm sent.

I said!!!....Pm sent!!!!

Pm sent!!! Why aren't you answering me?!!!!!

Godammit!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

:eek::confused:
    Does this have some kinky significance I don't of ?

It's what we lunatics in the trade refer to as a suggestive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I have a protection order out against an ex. I don't even have any amusing stories about him, he is pure evil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

kraggy wrote: »
    Pm sent!!! Why aren't you answering me?!!!!!

Godammit!!!!!!!!!!!
    Your woman be not listening to you. Go sit outside her house. That'll get her back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I have a bullet dodged one.

I have an online dating profile up and this guy asked me out and took my number. We chatted for a while and arranged a date which I then cancelled as there was
    something about him which made me uneasy and I decided trust my instincts - he was so extremely persistent and wanted to know where I lived (I told him vague area).

At first I didn't want to be rude so I told him I'd too much on my plate at the moment, best of luck with everything and sorry for wasting his time. A couple days later he texted something like "coffee this evening in the XXX hotel" which I declined again this time no explanation just no. Then missed calls and next day another suggested meeting. I stopped replying but the messages kept coming and coming. I then answered very sternly and said he was bothering me, delete my number and don't contact me again. He's still messaging me after a brief blissful silence, I really don't know what to do, it's kind of freaking me out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

Don't start me on Ex's

Sure I knew a woman once, but she died soon afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Katgurl wrote: »
    He's still messaging me after a brief blissful silence, I really don't know what to do, it's kind of freaking me out :(

Arrange to meet him, but send a few big blokes instead :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭vtec_vixen

Lol I think everyone has encountered the Psycho Ex situation at one stage or another. My Ex was a complete psycho had to block every form of communication and then when he copped that he started writing letters, trying to blackmail me into getting back with him :pac::pac:
    I started just sending them back unopened, he soon got tired of it.
    Thank god he doesnt drive :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭MrVestek

MrPirate wrote: »
    Gunslinger92 is a lovely person, so I don't think this is the case at all.

ANYWAY, my story. It's a rather recent one. I went out with this girl for a while, and she was... Very manipulative. And obsessive. Told me she loved me within a week or so of us officially going out. There was many times where I had to do something important to do with college or something else and I ended up being late to it/not being able to go because she wouldn't let me leave. I would get abuse for pretty much ANYTHING I did. I was working on assignments that she knew I needed to do, I got slack for it, big time. The abuse seemed to be an everyday thing, now that I think of it. It was really demoralizing. If I went out with my friends, I would get in trouble for it. If I was at a friend's birthday, I'd get in trouble with it. If I was doing something important that needed to be done, I'd get in trouble for it. She helped ruin my holiday back home to the states over the summer, where I was going to a wedding of a close family member. She knew I was going to be very busy with my family members that I never get to see because I just can't afford to go home, as well as the old friends of mine that still mean so much to me. But, irrespective of this, she wanted me to be constantly in touch with her too. She knew of the time difference, and I'd get abuse for not waking up at 5am EST when she was awake back in Dublin at 10am.

Another thing, she hated the fact that I have hot friends. My best friend for the last three years is rather hot, and my ex would get jealous when I'd spend time with her, considering I didn't get to see her much. It got to the stage where I was barely allowed to talk to my best friend, which hurt. She also hated me talking to anyone who I ever went out with/met/etc. I'm the kind of guy who tries to be friends with an ex. I just don't believe in bad blood and the likes. But she was having none of this. One example was when I sent a link to an ex (who I had been pretty good friends with again, prior to me going out with evil ex) about a movie that I remembered she loved coming out. As it showed on my facebook wall, she could see it. I got sooooo much sh/t for it. She accused me of trying to get back with her and of cheating on her (I never have cheated.). This kind of thing was regular enough, so I won't say too much. :P

Also, she hated my cat. The feeling was mutual, though. Now, I'm an animal person, and I love cats. I'm probably going to end up like Lenin and his cat. But she didn't like this one bit. She would regularly accuse me of spending more time with my cat than her (Which was bs, considering my cat wasn't up at college and I went back down to my non-college place every 2/3 weeks), and that I cared more about the cat than her. During this, I could only go "Are you actually serious?", which only got me in more trouble.

There's a lot more, but you can probably get the jist of it.

She finally ended it a few months ago, in which she has called me a couple of times drunk asking why it happened, despite her knowing she did it...

I like being single again.
    SHE ended it with you?

Was she really good in the sack or something that you put up with all that ****e for so long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

All my ex's are brilliant, we all get on so well and meet up as a huge gang regularly and reminisce about past times , my wife comes too and they all share tales about me. Its so lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

CJC999 wrote: »
    All my ex's are brilliant, we all get on so well and meet up as a huge gang regularly and reminisce about past times , my wife comes too and they all share tales about me. Its so lovely.
    That sounds like some kind of weird, Friend-zone place. Were you actually going out with these people?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Proxy wrote: »
    That sounds like some kind of weird, Friend-zone place. Were you actually going out with these people?? :)

Ok, let me spell it out for you...The above is not true. It was written in AH fashion. I apologise for any concern i may have caused you with my post. It was not my intention to mislead you in any way, i thought most people here had a sense of humour and didnt take everything posted too seriously, i was mistaken and for that i'm truely sorry.

I dont really speak to any of my ex's, we dont meet up on a regular basis, my wife doesnt join me in these meetings (which dont actually happen) and they dont all swap stories about me (because we dont actually meet up at all, it was all just a story i made up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Ok, let me spell it out for you...The above is not true. It was written in AH fashion. I apologise for any concern i may have caused you with my post. It was not my intention to mislead you in any way, i thought most people here had a sense of humour and didnt take everything posted too seriously, i was mistaken and for that i'm truely sorry.

I dont really speak to any of my ex's, we dont meet up on a regular basis, my wife doesnt join me in these meetings (which dont actually happen) and they dont all swap stories about me (because we dont actually meet up at all, it was all just a story i made up)

In fairness, its not all THAT unusual to be friends with exs so it could be kinda believable. One of my closest friends is an ex, although the bit about bringing the wife along sends alarm bells-thats when **** gets weird! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I misread that as your boss getting "two handwritten letters a day" from your ex of several years ago :pac:
    It was written in AH fashion
    To be fair, there are some weird ones out there :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

****ing brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

LighterGuy wrote: »
    I dont mean to be rude to you but I ABSOLUTELY hate when people say "well, why resort to violence, why not punch your girlfriend by the same token then" .. thats so fucking retarded.

yes, pointing out your innate hypocrisy is indeed "retarded"
    Call me old fashioned but I cant hit a woman for emotionally hurting me. I would verbally give her loads for cheating. But hitting? no. Is that not a good thing right? (I can only imagine you'd have a field day if someone said they would :rolleyes: )
    but in my example a supposed mate. someone I thought I could trust backstabbed me by sleeping with my girl? .. bloody hell i'd punch him. Same rule dont apply to him.

Enjoy your shitty double standards
    I dont know if you're a man or a woman. I am guessing woman tho. A person without balls wouldn't punch his so called mate for sleeping with his partner. A man would.
    Nope, not macho bullshit at all, is it.
    Just what a "man" would do.

You can live in your unrealistic world of how you think people should handle things all you want. Fact is if I slept with any of my friends girlfriends there would be a stiff punch coming my way. No macho crap. Just the way things are.

Yup, we all know thinking about things in an anathema to manly people such as yourself.
    Good job, boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

Yes, I dated a nutter compulsive liar about 4 years ago. The whole story takes about half an hour told in person, so just the cliffnotes;

Would text messages to her own phone pretending to be guys flirting with her, to make me jealous, or friends/parents arguing with her, to make me worry.

Set up at least three fake male accounts on Myspace, and in one instance had badly photoshopped herself into photos with complete strangers. She used one of these profiles to flirt with a mutual friend of ours.

This mutual friend eventually turned against me, when I tried to tell her all of this.

Made up a story about finding her ex-boyfriend's body after he committed suicide (well, I'm pretty certain it was made up, just because everything else was).

After an argument, she later made up a story about being sexually assaulted at a bar, so I would stop being angry.

After another argument, she made up another story about being in a car crash, so I would stop being angry.

One of her fake Myspace friends "bought her a guitar" for her birthday, so that I would get jealous and buy her something more expensive (didn't work, I was onto her at this point).

One night she stood in the hallway having a HUGEEE argument with someone. Turns out one of her imaginary friends was getting her name tattood on his arm.

After I dumped her, she faked a suicide attempt so I would take her back...yeah, I don't see the logical progression either.

After I got a new girlfriend, she set up a fake female Myspace account and started flirting with me through it. Happily I knew what was going on right away and called her on it.

The next day, I get a call from our mutual friend (same one mentioned above), to tell me she had received a text to say that this girl had fallen off a wall or something, and had "lost all memory of the last 6 months". I never spoke to the girl or the friend again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Columbia wrote: »
    Yes, I dated a nutter compulsive liar about 4 years ago. The whole story takes about half an hour told in person, so just the cliffnotes;

Would text messages to her own phone pretending to be guys flirting with her, to make me jealous, or friends/parents arguing with her, to make me worry.

Set up at least three fake male accounts on Myspace, and in one instance had badly photoshopped herself into photos with complete strangers. She used one of these profiles to flirt with a mutual friend of ours.

This mutual friend eventually turned against me, when I tried to tell her all of this.

Made up a story about finding her ex-boyfriend's body after he committed suicide (well, I'm pretty certain it was made up, just because everything else was).

After an argument, she later made up a story about being sexually assaulted at a bar, so I would stop being angry.

After another argument, she made up another story about being in a car crash, so I would stop being angry.

One of her fake Myspace friends "bought her a guitar" for her birthday, so that I would get jealous and buy her something more expensive (didn't work, I was onto her at this point).

One night she stood in the hallway having a HUGEEE argument with someone. Turns out one of her imaginary friends was getting her name tattood on his arm.

After I dumped her, she faked a suicide attempt so I would take her back...yeah, I don't see the logical progression either.

After I got a new girlfriend, she set up a fake female Myspace account and started flirting with me through it. Happily I knew what was going on right away and called her on it.

The next day, I get a call from our mutual friend (same one mentioned above), to tell me she had received a text to say that this girl had fallen off a wall or something, and had "lost all memory of the last 6 months". I never spoke to the girl or the friend again.

I think you win this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

*AHEM* Might I request the pleasure of your company for a drink this weekend, my dear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Dubchild

Oh Boys .-. Any bloke who's had very jealous girlfriends, stalkers or crazy selfish witches i sympatise with you. For a year i went out with this bloke and if another chap spoke to me or was nice i got it in the neck. How do you know him? what's he saying to you? Is something goin on there ? If he had drink in him i'd get him turning into a mad bull stomping and faffing all over the pub or outside. Very embarrasing and over crap. He Turned it to an immature agressive child with drink in him. I was always well behaved truly no other way for me as i'm reserved and decent but soon got sick of his harrasment when one evening i was walking home from the supermarket with a heavy bag of goods. My stupid phone got triggered on and it rang his number. So he's listening and jumping to the weirdest conclusions in my oponion. He can only hear me puffing and panting stomping home, struggling to get there with a load of spuds sausages and beans :) When he does finally get me on the moby he gives me HELL, Who were you with ? i could hear heavy breathing 0_0 ur doing it with someone oh for fuk sake i said i'm trying to walk from A to B and ur accusing me of shagging wah wah wah fuk off i said and grow up, ur brain is warped from all ur drinking. This guy would ring me and if i didn't answer there and then i'd get questioned and i'd get about 10 or more missed calls. If i didn't text back on time i'd get ''where are you???'' and non stop texts. Oh but it was ok for him to go awol on his phone or with txts. The icing on the cake was when someone dear to me in my family passed away one morning. I tried to contact him occasionally ring or text all day for support and he was in the pub pissed up all day i'm sure. 11pm that night i got him on the phone and told him my story, no sympathy, no support no kindness just rants and crap about his day so i said to myself i'm done and dusted here and told him on the phone next day. I love peace and tranquility and i'm Happier now than i've ever been :0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Achilles wrote: »
    Wins the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Reading this thread I wonder how things went before the popularity of mobile phones and the internet. Not just in terms of the post-breakup harrassment, but even all the paranoia about phonecalls and texting and facebook wall posts and stuff during the relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

Achilles wrote: »

A few weeks ago I came up with the idea of setting up a Facebook account with the same identity as her main imaginary friend. I'd love to see the fallout when I tried to add her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

That's called an intervention;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Columbia wrote: »

I was enjoying the story, and then that last paragraph has made it the best thing I've read all day.