Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

If we are all equal in the eyes of the law...

• 24-11-2011 3:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

...then why is a longer sentence given for the killing/murder of police officers?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Cause they represent the state and you are basically targeting a person and the state i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Even if they are off duty, it is the same I think? Or is that incorrect?
    Actually, that can't be right, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Why, what are you planning OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The-Rigger wrote: »

Depends if they are wearing their hat I think............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Where in irish criminal law does it say this again?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

mikom wrote: »
    Depends if they are wearing their hat I think............

Legally if you need to do a dump, they must give you their hat. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

bloody public servants again, it because of the Croke Park agreement. if u kill a cop up until 2014 u will get 50 years extra in jail and will have to pay the widow of the cop, his ma, his dog and also anyone else he ever knew 100 euros per week from ur dole until ur boke and the whole fooking country is broke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

If we are all equal in the eyes of the law ...... Then why is Sean Quinn not in jail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

...then why is a longer sentence given for the killing/murder of police officers?

I don't think it is man. The sentence for murder in Ireland is a 'mandatory life sentence' whether it is a member of the Gardai murdered or not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

The more money you have the more equal you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

The-Rigger wrote: »

A Guard is never off duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭okedoke

There used to be a death sentence (theroetically until the 1960's I think - but not used for a long time) for "capital murder" (killing a Garda). As a previous poster said you are not only killing a person you are attacking the state (and the people who are tasked with maintaining order). Now though you just get life for any murder - but when you get out depends on the Minister for Justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

okedoke wrote: »
    There used to be a death sentence (theroetically until the 1960's I think - but not used for a long time) for "capital murder" (killing a Garda).
    It was actually a lot later than the 60s.

Edit: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capital_punishment_in_Ireland#Commuted_death_sentences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

We are not all equal in the eyes of the law and far from it.

Money is the great equaliser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Justice is blind.

No wait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

There used to be a death sentence (theroetically until the 1960's I think - but not used for a long time) for "capital murder" (killing a Garda). As a previous poster said you are not only killing a person you are attacking the state (and the people who are tasked with maintaining order). Now though you just get life for any murder - but when you get out depends on the Minister for Justice.

Death sentance was abolished in 1990, but they came close to using it in the seventies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

El Weirdo wrote: »
    It was actually a lot later than the 60s.

Wasn't it part of the 1st Nice treaty referendum.

The one when not enough people voted so they had to have a 2nd one, but not for the referendums which gave our glorious leaders the results they wanted.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

Not money alone. Money AND connections. I would say the EDIT: former latter is probably even more important when it comes to skipping justice, but it's debatable.

Don't forget: All serviced and maintained by an obedient, cap-tipping electorate. So the responsibility for injustice is pretty evenly spread.

You can't just hand justice over to the authorities and then forget about it as though the problem has been solved.

(Not unless you have money and connections, that is.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Faing

Life, on the whole, is a 5h1t sandwich.

The more bread ye have, the less 5h1t ye get............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

If we are all equal, how come I get arrested for pitching my tent in Merrion Sq. but a dozen malcontents can pitch tents on the roadside in Dame st and nothing is done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Del2005 wrote: »
    Wasn't it part of the 1st Nice treaty referendum.

The one when not enough people voted so they had to have a 2nd one, but not for the referendums which gave our glorious leaders the results they wanted.

Enough people voted, just not enough people voted the way the politicians wanted us to vote. So they told us to vote again.

There is no minimum amount of people required to vote in an election or referendum here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭naoise80

Brendog wrote: »
    If we are all equal in the eyes of the law ...... Then why is Sean Quinn not in jail?

What law did he break?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Guill

The Garda are on the front line every day, and obviously come into more contact with criminals as us regular Joes, (well exceptions made for AHers) So as an extra level of protection for the gards it has to be seen as more serious to kill a Gaurd as opposed to me or you. Can't see what is unfair about that, it just means our force are ever so slightly saver doing their jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

youre looking at it all wrong. Gardaí are much harder to kill because they have stab vests and trunceons. So if you manage to kill one you 'win' a longer sentence as a reward.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

We are all equal in the sight of the law. But that is theory, not necessarily practice.:rolleyes:

It's even worse than some of you think, because not only are there tougher penalties for crimes against members of the Garda than for crimes of which ordinary citizens are the victims, on the rare occasions when a Garda is convicted of a crime, especially a violent one, the penalty is usually a lot softer than an ordinary scumbag is likely to get.:mad:

Sometimes you couldn't make it up. I remember one recent case where a judge suspended a sentence that clearly should have been a custodial one because - no kidding! - a Garda would find it hard to do prison time.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

We are not all equal,rich get richer, poor get poorer and FF fcuked up the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭okedoke

El Weirdo wrote: »

I stand corrected

Justice is blind.

No wait..

It is it is an institution for the blind.

But they can smell money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

This is Ireland, we don't send the rich to jail. Jail is for the poor who won't pay their bin charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

naoise80 wrote: »
    What law did he break?

Defrauding the state and robbing tax payer's money.

This is Ireland, we don't send the rich to jail. Jail is for the poor who won't pay their bin charges.

And rightly so, the bastards,,

But I think you are right it seems to be more about deterrent and control then actual justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'm missing something here but what's illegal about bankrupting yourself? What crime should he be in prison for and wheres the evidence to support your case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

Now though you just get life for any murder - but when you get out depends on the Minister for Justice.
    This is another thing I don't get (along with the OPs question) - why are they called Life Sentences, when either a) you can get out for behaviour or whatever, b) you can get multiple ones ("3 consecutive life sentences"). Wouldn't it make sense that a life sentence means you don't get out (generally speaking; in theory) at all.
    Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Sometimes you couldn't make it up. I remember one recent case where a judge suspended a sentence that clearly should have been a custodial one because - no kidding! - a Garda would find it hard to do prison time.biggrin.gif
    There is some merit in that, though. A guard, or people who commit especially bad crimes (in the eyes of society - e.g. being in posession of Child Porn, pedophilia, etc - the ones that some people in prison get praised (:rolleyes:) for attacking people who commit these crimes in prison) would have a much greater risks for their lives than yer man that stole stuff (or some lesser/minor crime that'd get prison time). In some prisons, such as the US, they'd be put in an area where they're on their own, away from the main population, and much less likely to be killed/stabbed/etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    We are all equal in the sight of the law. But that is theory, not necessarily practice.:rolleyes:

It's even worse than some of you think, because not only are there tougher penalties for crimes against members of the Garda than for crimes of which ordinary citizens are the victims, on the rare occasions when a Garda is convicted of a crime, especially a violent one, the penalty is usually a lot softer than an ordinary scumbag is likely to get.:mad:

Sometimes you couldn't make it up. I remember one recent case where a judge suspended a sentence that clearly should have been a custodial one because - no kidding! - a Garda would find it hard to do prison time.:D

I'm sure if the scumbag had spent the majority of his adult life helping people he would also get a light sentence.