Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What job did you always want to be in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

No there's not :P

:(

In 5 years time when you see Pasta coming on for Shane Long in a Euro 2016 Quarter Final I'll run up to the camera and say "Fuck you Shanotheslayer, I proved you wrong" :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Wanted to go into business. Just like to look swanky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭acidskiffle

Psychiatrist. Someday maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

:(

In 5 years time when you see Pasta coming on for Shane Long in a Euro 2016 Quarter Final I'll run up to the camera and say "Fuck you Shanotheslayer, I proved you wrong" :cool:

And I'll be like Gewooonnn Pasta you ledgend getting us through!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Dave! wrote: »
    Have wanted to be a fireman for a long time now.

Will apply next time they're recruiting, but that won't be for a few years, and even then I'll probably be up against almost every tradesman in the country :(

I'm a web developer now.

They were recruiting a whole 1 person to join the Waterford fire service a few weeks back. Missed your chance man!

Also Im studying web development or something like it at least. I dont think I would be able to have it as a job but as a hobby is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

F1 engineer. I'm 17 doing Mech Eng in UL. Hopefully I'll be a chartered engineer by the time I'm 22 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Dave! wrote: »
    Have wanted to be a fireman for a long time now.

Will apply next time they're recruiting, but that won't be for a few years, and even then I'll probably be up against almost every tradesman in the country :(

I'm a web developer now. Would prefer if it was just a hobby though!

a web developer ? are you spider man ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

A television cameraman.

Strange, but I was a sixties child and whenever they showed behind the scenes in a tv studio,I was hooked.

Too late now,but I would have also liked to have been the guy who read out the football results on BBC.

PortVale 1

Gillingham 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭dermiek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I always wanted to be a homing pigeon, like my forefathers were. Ah, I dreamed when I was young. Alas, modern technology caught up with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

I wanted to be an F1 driver, hopes were dashed when I was 12 when I realized all the others were rich and could drive before they could walk and were Finnish.

Im 17 and I want to be a pilot, but I can see it all going horribly wrong, so if not I WILL BE A GANGLORD:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

As a child I wanted to be a soldier - and I'm a soldier :D

90% of the time its a 9-5'er and I bitch & moan like everyone else.

But the other 10% really is a life less ordinary :D
    Excuse my ignorance but what exactly does an Irish soldier do from 9-5, I often hear of some lads I play football with saying I can't do this or that because I'm on duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I always wanted to be a homing pigeon, like my forefathers were. Ah, I dreamed when I was young. Alas, modern technology caught up with us.

and now you're a fat wood pigeon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a vet. I soon realised that this was unrealistic, as I could never handle the thought of seeing animals in pain all day or putting a young creature to sleep.

I now work in advertising, or to paraphrase Bill Hicks, I 'suck satan's cock' every day. It's actually grand though, and pays enough money so that I can donate to local animal rescue centres regularly, without having to physically save their lives and endure constant mental torture in the process.

So I suppose everyone's a winner in the equation, except for Bill Hicks (RIP).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I wanted to be a drug-dealer when I was young. All I saw was on the news:

"... street value of £100,000" and I thought YES! If I could get some of that through I'd be set!

Had a great idea for a product there a few years ago. The whole patent thing and having no money to get it going is killing me. Need a job to make some dosh to start it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 SmartHass

I always had the perfectly acheivable goal of being a postman.... but it appears to be fecking impossible!! Im deadly serious about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭skylight1987

air hostess when i was kid, then a journalist,neither materialized, now work in customer service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

The one I'm in, VFX artist :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Excuse my ignorance but what exactly does an Irish soldier do from 9-5, I often hear of some lads I play football with saying I can't do this or that because I'm on duty.
    Drink a lot of tea, chat, gossip and doss a bit, moan and crib, go for a run during your break. Its a big school yard really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Airplane driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Deep sea salvage or Mass Demolition. Already do a fair bit of Demolition in strict environments, ie taking down concrete walls in busy, occupied office spaces without disturbing the people working 2 feet away and not leaving any mess, but I would love to be taking down large structures or Salvaging heavy stuff. I have cut up a lot of big, heavy metal items for salvage, but would love to do it full time. Demolition would be my ideal full time occupation though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

Tank Driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I'd like to be the official assistant to the Victoria Secret models in aiding them to slip in and out of their costumes. I'd use this power wisely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭tiredcity

SmartHass wrote: »
    I always had the perfectly acheivable goal of being a postman.... but it appears to be fecking impossible!! Im deadly serious about this.

Have you tried befriending someone who works in the post office? A guy I used to know worked in an post and used to recommend us for christmas temp jobs in the sorting office, other friends got jobs working as posties. Was decent enough money too (compared to minimum wage anyway!). Kind of loved my few weeks working there, it was a odd little subculture with all these characters, definitely fodder for a book or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I suppose I really wanted to be a Geography and or History Teacher. I was interested in many other professions like nursing, medicine, psychology, cookery, interior design, beautician, make up artist, childcare, social care work, work as an a SNA, aer hostess, secretary, receptionist, office administrator work or be an artist. Finally came down to Business/IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

I always dreamed of working behind the tills in a petrol station. Luckily my dream has come through and I am making a fortune (if I save up for many years) and doing a job that is totally fantastic and rewarding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

I'v always wanted too join the nypd. But since 9/11 I would like to join the fdny. But I still really want to join the nypd. I'v wanted to do it since I was a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ICE HOUSE

One of the A-Team members

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Red Hand wrote: »
    I'd like to be the official assistant to the Victoria Secret models in aiding them to slip in and out of their costumes. I'd use this power wisely.

You must have missed out on applying for the role of being "Nipple Tweakers" for Pamela Anderson or Christina Aguilera. EXAMPLE (SAFE FOR WORK)
    Genuine jobs that were filled. :D

Damn I missed out on that opertunity too! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Childhood - trucker, artist, then nurse then discoverd how I can't handle studying science.

I am an artist now. But I hope to be a therapist, I've worked in a few different care orientated roles as part of my arts practice I know I'd love to do it full time but I went for the wrong degree and can't afford the masters.

So art therpaist but I think what I will get is a min wage job part time artist role.
    Curse you education and lack of funds curse you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Abrean

I want to be a veterinary nurse one day, used to want to be a vet when I was a kid but didn't have the brains for that many points :o:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

skip hop and jump around IED's whilst catching bullets.

Really its duty free in bastion with a slice of pizza from pizza hut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

a gunsmith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

Princess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

I always wanted to be a marine archaeologist and study shipwrecks and lost underwater cities...kinda like an underwater Indiana Jones... But now I work in IT :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

A navy seal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

twinytwo wrote: »
    A navy seal...

I'm just the cook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Red Hand wrote: »

jobsbump.com used to do similarish jobs, such as this:
    http://www.jobsbump.com/2011/06/assistant-designer-trend-jobs-victorias-secret-new-york/
    but there doesn't seem to have been any new jobs posted there in a couple of months :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭csi vegas

So what job did you always want?

Isn't it just blatantly obvious? C'mon - this thread was made for me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Musefan

Started at age 4, with the intention of being a scientist or a doctor, after telling my ma that I didn't like injections because they had antibodies and corpuscles in them. She almost crashed the car (I had been listening to my sister explaining her Leaving Cert Biology notes).

Switched to wanting to be an astronaut or an astrophysicist. My brother told me he saw an alien come into my room at night and try to stick a fork in my head. Quickly changed my mind, because I was then too afraid to look at the sky in the event I might have seen a UFO.

Then I made quite a bit of money as a child writer & poet and wanted to continue with that, until I realized that nobody would care at all about my writing once I hit adulthood.

Threw myself back into science with the intention of studying medicine and genetics.

Instead I took up Psychology and now I hope to be a clinical neuropsychologist.

If money was no object, I would give it all up to study meteorology.....so yeah.....varied interests really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

always wanna be a dealer (on horse racing).

Trading and hedging and laying. I love everything about it.

I love maths and I love horse racing but I've been working in investment banks since I graduated and don't have the balls to make the changeover ! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Wanted to be a cop like me father and me grandfather. Didn't work out. I was I'm court alright but on the wrong side. My twin brother and my eldest brother followed in the father and grandfather's footsteps.
    Now all I want is a job, doesn't really matter what it is as long as it pays and I enjoy it.
    A road sweeper would be good. Honestly. I loves talking to people. Roadsweeper would be a great job for me. Fook I think I found my calling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

seanybiker wrote: »
    Wanted to be a cop like me father and me grandfather. Didn't work out. I was I'm court alright but on the wrong side. My twin brother and my eldest brother followed in the father and grandfather's footsteps.
    Now all I want is a job, doesn't really matter what it is as long as it pays and I enjoy it.
    A road sweeper would be good. Honestly. I loves talking to people. Roadsweeper would be a great job for me. Fook I think I found my calling.

You're there to sweep, not yap to the general public all day long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You're there to sweep, not yap to the general public all day long.

Ill put them in me little wheelie bin and do nicksers as a really slow rickshaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

I had a few but when I told my Mam I wanted to be a vet she said to aim more for vet nursing. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

A Doctor - but if I don't get 8 hours a sleep a night I turn into an evil bitch from hell so I decided it probably wouldn't be a good idea. I would have liked to have been a vet too but I couldn't put old pets down and see how upset their families were or even worse see mistreated animals - I couldn't cope with that at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭White Wolf Airsoft

Game Design

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭ICANN

I've wanted to be a teacher since I was 10 and now that I am a teacher I want to work in Dunnes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

John Doe1 wrote: »
    as a child i wanted to be a lawyer or paeleontologist(i was on odd child)

In my opinion, the kids who didn't want to be a palaeontologist at some point in their lives are the odd ones.

When I was about four I heard about the hacker group the Legion of Doom and the havoc they wreaked and I wanted to join them. Then sometime during puberty I learned about ethics and how hacking was wrong and everything so I changed my mind and wanted to be an Ethical Hacker / Pentester.

Wohoo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭howwedoin

Always wanted to be a procastinator, never got around to it.