Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Loyalty in a relationship

• 25-11-2011 5:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

I was out tonight having the craic. I have a girlfriend (albeit long distance for the time being) but I got chatting to a girl tonight and we really hit it off.

We were able to chat about absolutely anything, and were getting on great.

But the one thing I would never do is cheat on my girlfriend - I just am not like that, let alone attempt to deal with the guilt the next day.

This girl tried several times to get me to go back to her apartment, even trying several times to grab a hold of my crotch (!), but I stood my ground and said no.

And to be completely honest, I am damn proud of myself - I was hammered but still knew that I couldn't do anything like that (cue Meatloaf song).

A lot of you may call me "ghey" and a "wimp" but I feel on top of the world right now - not because I said no to that girl (let's be honest it should be a given anyway) but because I actually felt great saying no and great knowing that I have a girl in my life whom I absolutely love to bits.

Have any of yee been in this situation before? How did it turn out for ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Yep

Rode the hole off her.

Went home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

This girl tried several times to get me to go back to her apartment, even trying several times to grab a hold of my crotch (!), but I stood my ground and said no.

Ah, playing hard to get! She's a sly fox, this one

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I know I'll probably get torn apart for this but...

I don't get it. You feel proud that you didn't cheat on your girlfriend!? Are we giving out medals for this now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

A lot of you may call me "ghey" and a "wimp" but I feel on top of the world right now -

On top of the world when instead ya could'a been on top of a young wan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

....A lot of you may call me "ghey" and a "wimp" but I feel on top of the world right now

Good on you for saying no! .... ya gay wimp :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Jaxxy wrote: »
    I know I'll probably get torn apart for this but...

I don't get it. You feel proud that you didn't cheat on your girlfriend!? Are we giving out medals for this now?

Nope, not at all...I made this point very clear in my OP. Go back and have another read of it.

stoneill wrote: »
    Yep

Rode the hole off her.

Went home.

How'd you feel the next day?

Nope, not at all...I made this point very clear in my OP. Go back and have another read of it.
    And to be completely honest, I am damn proud of myself - I was hammered but still knew that I couldn't do anything like that (cue Meatloaf song).

What did you make clear? That you were proud of yourself for not cheating on your girlfriend?

Not trying to rain on your parade or anything here but I think that's a little weird. I get chatting to other men on nights out and I get to turn them down too, pride generally isn't the feeling that first springs to the fore. Does it really take that much moral fortitude for a man to turn down something that is being offered to him on a plate?

EDIT: Sorry, I'm dragging this off-topic, that just stuck out for me. I've been hearing a lot of cheating stories lately. :/
    AH answer: Hand in your man card OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

To be serious UglyBolloxFace,
    Well done. Most people in your situation wouldnt of done what you did.
    They would of had sex then play the BS 'conscience' game the next day. Feeling really bad but eventually chalking it up to "It was a drunken stupid mistake that will never happen again" (:rolleyes:) while justifying how they can never tell their partner.

So well done.
    (ps, i hope your girlfriend doesnt know your boards.ie username :o )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Itchy I would say.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

What did you make clear? That you were proud of yourself for not cheating on your girlfriend?

Not trying to rain on your parade or anything here but I think that's a little weird. I get chatting to other men on nights out and I get to turn them down too, pride generally isn't the feeling that first springs to the fore. Does it really take that much moral fortitude for a man to turn down something that is being offered to him on a plate?

EDIT: Sorry, I'm dragging this off-topic, that just stuck out for me. I've been hearing a lot of cheating stories lately. :/

what he was trying to make clear was the reason he felt great when declined her advances, ie. he is so into his GF that he would not consider another woman, its a feel good thread, dont be a hater Jaxxx, and anyway women get hit on so much more than men, so it is different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Ahh no..
    I didn't really.
    I just made it up for cheap laughs.

If a woman was coming onto me I'd probably just faint or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

stoneill wrote: »
    Ahh no..
    I didn't really.
    I just made it up for cheap laughs.

If a woman was coming onto me I'd probably just faint or something.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zSTEqHxh3fI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Isnt loyalty something that happens in a relationship anyway? *Shrug*

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

I was out tonight having the craic. I have a girlfriend (albeit long distance for the time being) but I got chatting to a girl tonight and we really hit it off.

But the one thing I would never do is cheat on my girlfriend - I just am not like that, let alone attempt to deal with the guilt the next day.

A lot of you may call me "ghey" and a "wimp" but I feel on top of the world right now - not because I said no to that girl (let's be honest it should be a given anyway) but because I actually felt great saying no and great knowing that I have a girl in my life whom I absolutely love to bits.

Fúcking ejjit :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Loyalty in a relationship is a must if you really want to make it work,it can be a personal sacrifice from both people to make the relationship stronger.well done I say :-)

you can get more of my great advice in my dear realies column in the him&her magazine.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Meanwhile your missus is gettin' fourballed by a bunch of mexicans.

ARRREBA!!!! ARREBA!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Fair play to you OP, your girlfriend is probably riding all around her when she's out but at least you're not stooping to her level.

You should text her and tell her that some random girl was grabbing the crotch off you all night and you could have pulled her, like really easily, and she would never have known but you didn't because you're a stand-up guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Fair play OP.

She sounded like a bit of a slapper anyhow. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭A.G.S

I bet your girlfriend is getting the box rode off her now! so your a gay wimp not to do it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Please hand in your man card & collect your skirt which is
    >>> this way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

ya feckin flaptease! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Is this your first relationship?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

If your not married it don't mean sh1t. You missed out on some good sex pal.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Was this the cleaning lady again, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Yes, yes it does!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

I didn't know I should be proud of myself every time I didn't sleep with someone who isn't my girlfriend.

Going to go buy myself an ice-cream at lunch for being such a good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

If you would never do it, then why are you proud. :confused:

Now if you said you used to cheat all the time but were trying to mend your ways, you would have a reason to be proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

"kids, say no to drugs cheating"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Does it really take that much moral fortitude for a man to turn down something that is being offered to him on a plate?

Vagina, no.

Steak, yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

This annoys me, why do girls think it's ok to do this? Imagine me or any other fella chatting up some stranger in a pub and constantly grabbing her tits and feeling the fanny off her when she wansn't interested. We'd probably be locked up ffs!

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

baraca wrote: »
    This annoys me, why do girls think it's ok to do this? Imagine me or any other fella chatting up some stranger in a pub and constantly grabbing her tits and feeling the fanny off her when she wansn't interested. We'd probably be locked up ffs!

In fairness I think there's very few girls who would do that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,348 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Loyalty is very important in any kind of relationship!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Bring it on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Well done. Most people in your situation wouldnt of done what you did.

Yeah? Do you really believe that? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

What annoys me is that I can't do it and get away with it! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Two poins to make on the subject...

If you were single that bird wouldn't have been interested. the smell of want off you would have scared her off.

You should also be able to claim brownie points from your bird for this, but instead if you mentioned it to her you'd be murdered.

You can't win

what he was trying to make clear was the reason he felt great when declined her advances, ie. he is so into his GF that he would not consider another woman, its a feel good thread, dont be a hater Jaxxx, and anyway women get hit on so much more than men, so it is different

Ah I don't know about that, I don't think asking AH posters how they felt the next morning after banging the box off some chick that wasn't their girlfriend constitutes "feel good" thread to be honest.

And why is it different when women get hit on? Because it happens more frequently? Surely then that would mean we deserve all the medals! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

It's easy to avoid this situation, as easy as to be into it... and if you don't chat up girls, this won't happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

Ah I don't know about that, I don't think asking AH posters how they felt the next morning after banging the box off some chick that wasn't their girlfriend constitutes "feel good" thread to be honest.

And why is it different when women get hit on? Because it happens more frequently? Surely then that would mean we deserve all the medals! :D

Chris Rock did a pretty sunny bit on this, women have been rejecting sex all their lives, it's second nature to ye. Men have been chasing sex all their lives . . . .:pac:

Update - now that I'm sober, I'm even more delighted with meself. Again, not in a "oh look at me" way, but in a "thank fúck I didn't do anything, I'm happy I didn't" way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

It was your girlfriends mother , wasn't it ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

You loyalists should get out of this country:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

Stick the experince in the 'what could have been' **** bank and move on. Not sleeping with a girl really is not that interesting a story.

Well I apologise for my thread not being as interesting as your ones. Such as this highly interesting gem....http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=73720524

:confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

You weren't hammered at all. Not one typo in your post! So for that reason, you weren't put to the test at all:pac:. If you got that girl's number as well, then your 'proud moment' is null and void.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Tbh I'd be more than happy to appease.

"Work away there love"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Very admirable OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Whats the point of loyalty if there isnt a loyalty card with points and vouchers, says this observer