Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland lady looking for work - sends off CV - guess what job she gets! lol

• 25-11-2011 1:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

Fair play to this lady (here).

A lady and former Irish resident that is willing to return to her roots and jump into any role!
    She was looking for work and surprisingly was asked to take the role of Libya’s new Minister for Health!

So lads and lassies, get those CV's off to Libya.
    You never know, you could be helping to run the the country too next month! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭mathie

lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

2 months until she is killed in yet more protests.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

ha thats brilliant. fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

I am gonna apply for a ministerial job in libya too. Sounds like a bit of an oil train. You never know. They might take me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

So they offered an anonymous ex-pat the job of Minister for Health?

Loving the new democracy!!!! Lives and money well spent!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm good with weapons - I wonder can I run the army? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Meath based Dr Fatima Hamroush will return to her homeland on Sunday after 15 years in exile to take up the post in the first Libyan government since dictator Colonel Gadaffi was overthrown.

Dr Fatima Hamroush?
    I thought Libyan didn't do the whole pork thing.

Ps. irishcentral.com..... *spits*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Fair play to her !

It'll also be a step up working for the Lybian Health Service as opposed to ours. War, shortages, waiting lists, and all that considered. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Wow an Irish Minister for Health trying to improve a health service instead of destroy it. Haven't seen one of those in a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Biggins wrote: »
    Fair play to this lady (here).

A lady and former Irish resident that is willing to return to her roots and jump into any role!
    She was looking for work and surprisingly was asked to take the role of Libya’s new Minister for Health!

So lads and lassies, get those CV's off to Libya.
    You never know, you could be helping to run the the country too next month! :D

But she's Libyan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Getting the PS pension request in before the budget eh? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

If they give me a job I'm hiring Makikomi for personal security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

hopefully she won't base her model on the HSE otherwise the Libyans are even more f_cked

AeoNGriM wrote: »
    But she's Libyan?

Good for her.
    I mentioned that she was a resident here.
    (As it turns out, for a good number of years)

Amazing what you apply for and often get offered in return - possibly not what she was expecting! :eek:

Question: do they hand out application forms for minister of department jobs?
    Where do I get one! :D
    What would the rest of ye apply for? LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

If she does a good job she can come back here with a flame thrower and rapid fire machine gun and take on the Irish health system like Sigourney Weaver saving Newt from the Alien Queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

If she does a good job she can come back here with a flame thrower and rapid fire machine gun and take on the Irish health system like Sigourney Weaver saving Newt from the Alien Queen.

The electorate already blew her out the airlock. And then the smooth talking insider company man convinced us to go back in and fix it right this time. But now it's turning into a cluster**** since he isn't up to the job leaving the electorate in even deeper trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Onikage

I'm confused OP, are you saying she is eligible for the position of Minister based on her skills, knowledge and experience as opposed to the normal, decent and time-honoured traditions of nepotism, cronyism and blackmail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

touts wrote: »
    The electorate already blew her out the airlock. And then the smooth talking insider company man convinced us to go back in and fix it right this time. But now it's turning into a cluster**** since he isn't up to the job leaving the electorate in even deeper trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

not really irish though is she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

So you don't get elected to Parliament and handed a ministers portfolio in Libya? Where is all this democracy and change I hear about? It will probably last as long as the Egyptian democracy.

So?

Its one less well qualified doctor/specialist to boot by the way for our already starved health departments!

Onikage wrote: »
    I'm confused OP, are you saying she is eligible for the position of Minister based on her skills, knowledge and experience as opposed to the normal, decent and time-honoured traditions of nepotism, cronyism and blackmail?

I'm saying "fair play to her".
    She was good enough to work hard here (I assume) and when things turned bad economy-wise, she looked for work.
    She applied for a medical job and was asked to run the whole country health-wise!
    I must have been a hell of a CV! LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

Maybe that's why the OP called her 'Ireland lady'. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

Was I the only one going "Please be Mary Harney"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

WTF! Some of the comments on that site.
    Posted by patrickdowney on Nov 24, 2011, 05:10 PM EST
    I KNEW THAT SOMETHING GOOD WOULD COME OUT OF THE U.S. GOVERNMENT REGIME-CHANGE OPERATION IN LIBYA!!! Let's hope and pray that more "Lybian Irish" return to Libya, and soon, and that they take their entire families along with them. It would appear that big-business and the U.S. Military Industrial Complex did Ireland something of a favor in this respect, would it not?
    Posted by GeorgeDillon on Nov 24, 2011, 12:37 PM EST
    This woman's citizenship should be revoken. Is she loyal to Ireland or to Libya? Only the dumb Irish would accept this kind of two-timing.
    Posted by awoken32 on Nov 24, 2011, 09:45 AM EST
    her citizenship should be revoked,alquaeda has took over libye,sponsered by the imperialist usa an uk in their illegal takeover

Posted by awoken32 on Nov 24, 2011, 11:05 AM EST
    My brother is an independant journo over in the middle east,dont beleive me or the corrupted westen media,look into it for youself,its a fact that alqaeuda were the socalled rebels,finaced by the uk an usa secret sevises as they are doin throughtout the whole destablization of the middle east,syria next an then onto iran,look into,just one word of advise go thruogh independant sources

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Good on her,a Health Minister job for a Country that actually HAVE the billions to waste on a health service(if its badly run).

iguana wrote: »

Looks like someone needs a new Minister of Education - or at least one teacher for an English department.

*Blows dust off CV - soon to be sand instead* (with a bit of luck!) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭vicM

On the same link, dr. fathi from IT tallaght, got deputy minister of education, was my lecturer, wonder of he would remember me for a big contract

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

iguana wrote: »

Why are none of these idiots ever capable of spelling???

"My brudder is a solder un Libbyya an he is good solder, state of teh palce"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Well maybe I should send off my cv to positions I may not get.

I'll make sure to include "I'm not a doctor but I'll give it a go. I'm a good communicator and I like walking at the weekends, lol, jk."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I bags the position of Minister for Partying Down!

Yeeeaahhhh!!!!! :cool:

saa wrote: »
    Well maybe I should send off my cv to positions I may not get.

I'll make sure to include "I'm not a doctor but I'll give it a go. I'm a good communicator and I like walking at the weekends, lol, jk."

Minister for roads right here! :D
    I'll lend you my support - for the bridges of course! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

She was very active with the political movements seeking change in Libya this year, (so she said on RTE news the other night, anyway). So maybe it's not all THAT strange that she should be rewarded with a position for her efforts. Minister is a powerful position though: I wonder what tribe she is from?

More important from the Irish point of view is that she takes at least half of the overpaid HSE admins with her! :D

EDIT: P.S. I want to be Minister for Exoplanetary Exploration and Bungee Jumping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I bags the position of Minister for Partying Down!

Yeeeaahhhh!!!!! :cool:

Sorry to break it to you but that's not a real ministry.

texidub wrote: »
    P.S. I want to be Minister for Exoplanetary Exploration and Bungee Jumping

So you want to be space cadet and bouncer?
    Good luck! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

I think its time to change my name to mohammed al-libya, is an arts degree good enough for dictator?

John Doe1 wrote: »
    I think its time to change my name to mohammed al-libya, is an arts degree good enough for dictator?

Good enough to draw the dole there I suspect!
    You can do a lot of oil painting too! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Biggins wrote: »
    Good enough to draw the dole there I suspect!
    You can do a lot of oil painting too! :D

I assume draw the dole is arabic for 'commander of the national harem'

*boom tish*:rolleyes:

John Doe1 wrote: »
    I assume draw the dole is arabic for 'commander of the national harem'

...If only! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Ireland Lady sounds like a good name for a superhero. Her powers might be turning her enemies into leprechauns and stepping on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Not so much an "Ireland lady" as an exiled Libyan doctor who happened to live for a time in Ireland. Pretty sure you'd want to have some connection.

Having said that I wouldnt mind having a pop at a nice cushy guvment job. Minister for Internet exploration perhaps, with a nice quite office where I wouldnt be disturbed.